How Much Does a Window World Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Direct earnings answer
About $67,000–$587,000 per year

This is an independent, manager-run pre-tax owner-earnings scenario range for a mature U.S. Window World single-territory business, using the 2026 FDD's 2025 median Gross Sales by market size and a 2.5%–8.5% net-margin sensitivity. The central 5.5% scenario is about $147,000–$380,000, from Small through Metro markets. Window World does not report owner profit in Item 19.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: Single licensed territory Sales period: 2025
Independent estimate

This range is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Window World, Inc. It combines identified facts from the March 26, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with an Internal Revenue Service industry-margin benchmark and explicit sensitivity assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, territory size, product mix, sales conversion, labor, local advertising, warranty work, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Window World, Inc. FDD: issued March 26, 2026. Item 19: reports 2025 Gross Sales and window/patio-door unit sales, but no operating profit, net income, EBITDA, owner compensation, or cash flow. Population used: 190 single-territory franchises open for all of 2025, separated into Small, Medium, Large, and Metro markets. External benchmarks: IRS Tax Year 2022 corporation data for Other Specialty Trade Contractors and May 2025 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data for General and Operations Managers in Specialty Trade Contractors. Checked: July 16, 2026.

Scenario
$147K–$380K
Central manager-run estimate

A 5.5% proxy margin applied to 2025 median Gross Sales from Small through Metro markets.

Official FDD
$2.66M–$6.88M
Median Gross Sales

The range across the four single-territory market-size cohorts in Item 19.

Benchmark
5.5%
Central net-margin proxy

IRS net income less deficits divided by business receipts for Other Specialty Trade Contractors.

Official FDD
208
Full-year franchises

Item 19's total 2025 reporting population; 190 were single-territory franchises used here.

Official FDD
7% minimum
Local advertising obligation

Generally based on the preceding calendar year's Gross Sales, absent approval for a different amount.

BLS benchmark
$124,940
Manager labor value

May 2025 annual mean wage for General and Operations Managers in Specialty Trade Contractors.

Item 19 evidence

What does Window World's FDD actually disclose?

Officially, Item 19 discloses Gross Sales—not owner earnings—for the January 1 through December 31, 2025 period. The disclosure covers 208 franchises that operated for the full year, including 190 single-territory franchises and 18 franchises reported through seven combined-market businesses.

Window World defines Gross Sales as total sales generated, without deductions, excluding sales tax. Item 19 expressly states that the figures do not reflect cost of sales, operating expenses, or other expenses needed to calculate net income or profit. That limitation is decisive: a $5 million revenue figure cannot be read as a $5 million owner-income figure.

Single-territory market Reporting franchises 2025 average Gross Sales 2025 median Gross Sales
Small
Up to 150,000 owner-occupied households
71 $3,253,942 $2,660,959
Medium
150,001–250,000 owner-occupied households
55 $5,510,231 $4,736,585
Large
250,001–550,000 owner-occupied households
44 $6,727,048 $5,278,521
Metro
At least 550,001 owner-occupied households
20 $12,067,609 $6,883,615

Source: 2026 Window World Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 66–70. The combined-market cohort is not used in the per-territory scenario because 18 licensed territories owned by five franchisees were consolidated into seven reporting businesses.

Revenue is not earnings

The Metro average of $12.1 million is almost twice the Metro median of $6.9 million, while only 30% of Metro franchises met or exceeded the average. That skew is why this analysis uses the median, not the average, as the central revenue anchor.

Scenario model

How is the owner-earnings range calculated?

The estimate multiplies each official 2025 median Gross Sales figure by a 2.5%, 5.5%, or 8.5% net-margin scenario. The 5.5% center comes from IRS Tax Year 2022 corporation data for Other Specialty Trade Contractors; the conservative and upside margins are explicit three-percentage-point sensitivities, not FDD-reported results.

Scenario formula Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = 2025 Item 19 median Gross Sales × scenario net margin

The IRS table reports $789.295 billion of business receipts and $43.606 billion of net income less deficits for the selected industry group, producing a 5.52% ratio before rounding. The proxy is broad: it covers corporations, not Window World franchisees specifically, and incorporates the accounting choices and expense structures reported on tax returns.

Because the IRS ratio is an all-in net-income measure, this model does not subtract Window World's recurring obligations a second time. That avoids obvious double counting, but it also creates the largest model uncertainty: the benchmark does not isolate how a Window World operator's embedded product royalties, required local advertising, technology fees, warranty labor, or owner compensation compare with the broader industry.

Market Official median Gross Sales Conservative
2.5%
Base
5.5%
Upside
8.5%
Small $2,660,959 $67,000 $147,000 $227,000
Medium $4,736,585 $120,000 $262,000 $404,000
Large $5,278,521 $133,000 $292,000 $450,000
Metro $6,883,615 $174,000 $380,000 $587,000

Calculations use full-precision margins of 2.5247%, 5.5247%, and 8.5247%, then round estimated earnings to the nearest $1,000. These are analytical scenarios, not probabilities or predictions.

Estimated manager-run earnings by market size

Each line shows the conservative-to-upside range; the solid marker is the 5.5% base scenario.

Window World estimated manager-run annual owner earnings scenarios by market size Small ranges from 67 thousand to 227 thousand dollars with a base of 147 thousand. Medium ranges from 120 thousand to 404 thousand with a base of 262 thousand. Large ranges from 133 thousand to 450 thousand with a base of 292 thousand. Metro ranges from 174 thousand to 587 thousand with a base of 380 thousand. $0 $150K $300K $450K $600K Small $67K $147K $227K Medium $120K $262K $404K Large $133K $292K $450K Metro $174K $380K $587K
Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: Territory market size changes the revenue anchor, while operating margin changes how much of that revenue remains. Neither dimension alone determines an owner's result. Sources: 2026 Window World FDD, Item 19, pp. 66–70; IRS Tax Year 2022 corporation table; independent calculations.

What is included in “estimated pre-tax owner earnings”?

The scenario is intended to represent residual business income after normal operating expenses and recurring franchise obligations, before personal income taxes and financing principal. It is estimated for a mature, manager-run single-territory operation and is not an after-tax take-home figure.

  • Gross SalesThe FDD's revenue measure before cost of products, installers, payroll, advertising, occupancy, technology, warranty service, and other operating expenses.
  • Estimated pre-tax owner earningsScenario cash economics after normal business expenses, but before personal income taxes and debt-principal payments. The IRS proxy may already reflect interest and depreciation, so this is not EBITDA.
  • Owner-operator benefitResidual business income plus the estimated market value of a manager's labor when the owner personally performs that full-time role. The labor component is compensation for work, not passive profit.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

An active owner who replaces a paid Operations Manager may capture about $124,940 of additional annual labor value, but that amount is not pure business profit. Item 15 requires either an Operating Owner or an Operations Manager to devote full time and best efforts to day-to-day management and on-site supervision.

The owner-operator scenario adds the May 2025 BLS annual mean wage for General and Operations Managers in Specialty Trade Contractors to the base manager-run residual. It does not add benefits or payroll taxes, and it assumes the broader industry margin already reflects a normal management expense. These limitations make the owner-role comparison directional, not a compensation promise.

Base manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit

The $124,940 gap represents full-time manager labor performed by the owner, not additional passive operating profit.

Window World base manager-run earnings and estimated owner-operator benefit by market size Small manager-run earnings are 147 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 272 thousand. Medium is 262 thousand and 387 thousand. Large is 292 thousand and 417 thousand. Metro is 380 thousand and 505 thousand. $0 $150K $300K $450K $600K Small $147K $272K Medium $262K $387K Large $292K $417K Metro $380K $505K
Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: Active ownership changes the economic character of the result. The added amount is the value of full-time management labor, while the underlying business-profit estimate is unchanged. Sources: 2026 Window World FDD, Item 15, pp. 55–56; BLS May 2025 industry-specific wage estimates; independent calculations.

Owner-operator effect

Window World permits non-operating owners, but the business still needs a full-time Operating Owner or Operations Manager. A manager-run structure is therefore not “passive” in the economic sense: the owner must fund competent day-to-day leadership and retain oversight of a sales, installation, service, and warranty organization.

Recurring economics

Which FDD obligations can materially move earnings?

Local advertising, product economics, management payroll, and warranty labor are likely to move owner earnings more than the fixed technology fee. This is official structural evidence from the 2026 FDD, but the FDD does not disclose a complete franchisee expense statement that would quantify each line as a share of sales.

  • Local advertising: the Minimum Local Advertising Amount generally cannot be less than 7% of the preceding calendar year's Gross Sales unless Window World approves otherwise. Cooperative advertising contributions count toward that requirement.
  • Product-based royalties: royalties are not stated as a percentage of Gross Sales. They are collected through approved vendors and currently range from $0.10 to $75 per option or unit, or up to 12% of product cost, so product mix and purchasing terms affect the burden.
  • Technology: the basic Technology Fee is $499 per month in 2026, or $5,988 for a full year, rising to $549 per month in 2027. Optional web and premium services cost extra.
  • Approved purchasing: the FDD estimates that approved-vendor purchases represent 38%–41% of purchases made in operating the business, and 100% of exterior-remodeling inventory must come from approved vendors.
  • Warranty service: the franchisee bears labor and non-product material costs for warranty repairs in its territory, including certain work it did not originally sell or install.

Sources: 2026 Window World FDD, Items 6 and 8, pp. 12–21 and 28–32. Initial investment from Item 7 is not treated as an annual operating expense in this model.

What is not included in the headline range?

Debt principal, personal income taxes, and startup-period losses are outside the headline range. The FDD does not provide standardized financing terms for every buyer, and personal tax outcomes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and individual circumstances.

Interest and depreciation may already be embedded in the IRS net-income proxy; the source does not allow a clean Window World-specific separation. Capital expenditures, replacement vehicles, facility upgrades, and working-capital swings are also not modeled as a uniform annual amount. A buyer should therefore test cash flow separately from accounting profit.

Uncertainty

How much confidence should a buyer place in this range?

Evidence confidence is LIMITED because the sales anchors are same-brand and current, but the profit margin is an external industry proxy. The 2025 Item 19 population is broad and well defined, yet the FDD does not report franchisee costs, operating profit, owner compensation, or a distribution of net margins.

The most important known driver is sales volume relative to territory size; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual cost structure of comparable Window World franchisees. The IRS margin source is from Tax Year 2022, covers corporations across a broad trade-contractor category, and may differ in owner pay, financing, depreciation, advertising intensity, product mix, and scale.

Item 20 adds useful context. The U.S. system ended 2025 with 211 franchised outlets, after four openings and one termination; four outlets transferred to new owners. Item 19, however, includes only the 208 franchises open for all of 2025. New, transferred, remodeling, or otherwise non-comparable operations may not resemble the mature cohort used for the scenarios.

Sample limitation

The published low-to-high Gross Sales ranges are very wide: from roughly $518,000 at the low end of the Large cohort to more than $42.4 million at the high end of the Metro cohort. The scenarios should be read as sensitivity boundaries around cohort medians—not as a forecast for a specific territory.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on any earnings estimate?

A buyer should replace the external margin proxy with comparable franchisee financial statements whenever possible. The FDD states that written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and Item 20 supplies current and former franchisee contacts for direct diligence.

  • Request the Item 19 substantiation and confirm the exact territory-market classification, reporting period, and treatment of combined markets.
  • Ask several franchisees for normalized profit-and-loss statements, separating owner salary, manager payroll, distributions, interest, depreciation, and one-time costs.
  • Verify whether the 7% local-advertising minimum is fully spent, whether cooperative contributions count as expected, and what lead-acquisition costs are producing.
  • Measure gross margin by product category after approved-vendor pricing, embedded royalties, installation labor, commissions, discounts, callbacks, and warranty service.
  • Compare an Operating Owner structure with a non-owner Operations Manager using the actual local salary, payroll tax, benefits, bonus, and recruiting cost.
  • Model debt service separately using the buyer's financed amount, interest rate, amortization, and required working capital; do not subtract startup investment from one year of sales.
  • Interview both current and former franchisees about seasonality, territory saturation, installation capacity, lead conversion, staffing, and the time required to reach mature sales.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings view?

The strongest defensible view is a scenario-based manager-run range of about $67,000–$587,000 per year, with a 5.5% central range of about $147,000–$380,000 across Small-to-Metro median-sales cohorts. These are independent pre-tax estimates, not official Window World profit figures. Sales volume is the clearest disclosed earnings driver; the actual franchisee cost structure is the largest unresolved uncertainty. An active owner may add roughly $124,940 of manager labor value, but that should be labeled owner-operator benefit rather than passive business profit.

Before making a decision, the buyer should verify the applicable Item 19 cohort, obtain the franchisor's substantiation, reconcile recurring FDD obligations to actual franchisee P&Ls, and test the range against interviews with comparable current and former franchisees. Debt service and personal taxes should remain separate from the operating-earnings analysis.