How Much Does a Village Inn Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent annual earnings estimate

−$28,000 to $99,000

A manager-run Village Inn restaurant may produce roughly a $28,000 loss to $99,000 of estimated pre-tax owner earnings per year, with a base scenario near $24,000. An owner who personally fills the Director of Operations and General Manager role may instead realize about $47,000 to $174,000 of estimated owner-operator benefit, but that second range includes the value of the owner’s labor and is not passive business profit.

2026 U.S. FDD Mode C: FDD-anchored scenario One full-service restaurant Confidence: LIMITED

Data basis

The governing document is the Village Inn 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 27, 2026. The legal franchisor is VI BrandCo, LLC, doing business as Village Inn. The official U.S. Village Inn franchise website describes the current offer; no matching public FDD download was verified on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations below are plain-text Item and page references.

Item 19 statusOfficial Net Revenues only; no unit profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, or Owner Compensation.
Applicable population84 franchised U.S. restaurants open for the entire fiscal year ended November 30, 2025; cobranded locations without separately reported Village Inn sales were excluded.
External benchmarkIRS Statistics of Income, 2023 partnership data for Accommodation and Food Services; BLS May 2025 Food Service Managers wage data.
Date checkedJuly 21, 2026.
Official FDD fact
$1.947M

Median franchised Net Revenues

Fiscal 2025 revenue, not earnings. Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 62–64.

Official FDD fact
84

Full-year franchised restaurants

The Item 19 population represented franchised U.S. restaurants open for the full fiscal year.

Official FDD fact
6%

Current sales-based fee burden

4% Royalty Fee, 1% Marketing Fee, and 1% Local Marketing under the current Franchise Agreement.

External benchmark
1.22%

IRS partnership operating-income proxy

2023 Accommodation and Food Services ordinary business income divided by business receipts.

External benchmark
$74,880

Manager labor-value proxy

May 2025 national mean annual wage for Food Service Managers from BLS OEWS.

Evidence rating
LIMITED

Why confidence is constrained

The FDD supplies strong revenue evidence but no same-brand expense or profit data.

Scenario model

How much may a Village Inn owner earn annually?

The defensible answer is a scenario range, not an official owner-income figure. For one full-year U.S. restaurant, the model estimates manager-run pre-tax owner earnings from approximately −$28,000 in the Conservative scenario to $99,000 in the Upside scenario. The Base scenario is about $24,000.

The model starts with the official franchised median Net Revenues of $1,947,219. Because Item 19 supplies no quartiles or expense data, the revenue cases use 80%, 100%, and 120% of that median as explicit analytical assumptions. The margin cases use the 2023 IRS partnership-sector proxy of 1.22%, then subtract or add three percentage points for sensitivity. The IRS source is the 2023 Partnership Statistics Table 1.

Scenario Revenue anchor Margin assumption Manager-run earnings Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $1,558,000 −1.78% −$28,000 $47,000
Base $1,947,000 1.22% $24,000 $99,000
Upside $2,337,000 4.22% $99,000 $174,000

Formula: scenario revenue × scenario margin = estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings. Owner-operator benefit = manager-run earnings + $74,880 labor-value proxy. Calculations use full precision and are displayed to the nearest $1,000.

How do owner role and scenario change the annual result?

Estimated manager-run earnings compared with owner-operator benefit, before personal income taxes and financing principal.

Village Inn annual owner earnings scenarios Conservative manager-run earnings are negative 28 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 47 thousand dollars. Base manager-run earnings are 24 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 99 thousand dollars. Upside manager-run earnings are 99 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 174 thousand dollars. $175K $85K $0 −$28K $47K Conservative $24K $99K Base $99K $174K Upside
Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings Owner-operator benefit including labor value

Interpretation: owner involvement can add labor value, but it does not improve the restaurant’s underlying residual profit by itself. Sources: Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 61–64; IRS 2023 Partnership Statistics Table 1; BLS May 2025 national occupation wage table.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually measure?

Item 19 officially measures 2025 Net Revenues, not owner earnings. For 84 franchised restaurants open for the full fiscal year, average annual Net Revenues were $1,978,393 and median annual Net Revenues were $1,947,219. The reported low was $658,011 and the high was $3,484,052. Exactly 42 restaurants were above the median and 42 were below it. Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 61–64.

The Item 19 population excludes cobranded locations whose sales were not separately reported under the Village Inn brand. Franchisee figures came from historical information reported by franchisees and were not audited. The company-operated data used a uniform accounting system and were prepared on a GAAP-consistent basis, but those figures also were unaudited.

The FDD combines 84 franchised and 24 company-owned restaurants in its systemwide table, while also showing each ownership population separately. This article anchors revenue to the franchised population because franchisees pay the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fee, Local Marketing, and other obligations that company-operated restaurants do not bear in the same manner.

How wide was the official 2025 revenue range?

Low, median, average, and high Net Revenues for franchised and company-owned full-year restaurants.

Village Inn 2025 Net Revenues range by ownership population Franchised restaurants ranged from 658 thousand dollars to 3.484 million dollars, with median 1.947 million and average 1.978 million. Company-owned restaurants ranged from 843 thousand dollars to 2.442 million, with median 1.719 million and average 1.668 million. $0.5M $1.0M $1.5M $2.0M $2.5M $3.0M $3.5M Franchised $658K $3.484M Median $1.947M Avg. $1.978M Company-owned $843K $2.442M Median $1.719M Avg. $1.668M
Official low-to-high range Median Average

Interpretation: the official spread is wide, so one central sales figure cannot describe every restaurant. The low and high are extremes, not quartiles or probabilities. Source: Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 62–64.

Calculation method

How was revenue converted into an owner-earnings range?

The calculation uses one official revenue anchor and two separately identified analytical layers. The official anchor is the franchised median Net Revenues for fiscal 2025. The first analytical layer is a transparent 80%/100%/120% revenue spread. The second is a federal partnership-margin proxy with a three-percentage-point sensitivity band.

  • Revenue: $1,947,219 × 80%, 100%, and 120%. The spread is editorial, not reported by VI BrandCo, LLC.
  • Margin proxy: IRS 2023 Accommodation and Food Services ordinary business income of $4.430 billion divided by business receipts of $362.429 billion, producing 1.22%.
  • Margin sensitivity: 1.22% minus three percentage points, 1.22%, and 1.22% plus three percentage points. The range is analytical, not an IRS forecast.
  • Owner role: $74,880 is added only when the owner is assumed to replace one paid Food Service Manager position while serving as Director of Operations/General Manager.

The IRS sector is broader than Village Inn because it includes accommodation as well as food service businesses. It is also an aggregate partnership statistic, not a franchise restaurant P&L. That mismatch is the main reason the confidence rating is LIMITED. The closest federal format mapping is NAICS 722511 Full-Service Restaurants, which includes family restaurants and diners, but a current complete government profit table at that exact six-digit level was not used.

Net Revenues
The Item 19 sales measure: food, beverage, and merchandise sales net of discounts for the reported restaurants. It is not profit.
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Residual cash-generating business income after normal unit-level expenses represented by the margin proxy, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.
Owner-operator benefit
Estimated manager-run earnings plus the market value of one manager role performed by the owner. It combines business residual and compensation for labor.
Interest and depreciation
Included within the IRS aggregate deduction structure used to derive the margin proxy; they are not subtracted again. Actual restaurant financing and depreciation may differ materially.
Excluded from the estimate
Financing principal, personal income taxes, owner distributions, capital expenditures, future remodel spending, and site-specific working-capital changes.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

An owner may fill a senior operating role, but Village Inn is not modeled here as a passive or one-person business. Item 15 requires an approved and trained Director of Operations plus at least two full-time managers. One of those three people must be the General Manager responsible for direct on-premises supervision. The Director of Operations may also be the General Manager, and the franchise owner may serve in that combined role if qualified. Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 15, pages 55–56.

The owner-operator scenarios add the May 2025 BLS national mean annual wage of $74,880 for Food Service Managers. That is a labor-value proxy, not an FDD figure and not a promise that a specific Village Inn could eliminate an equivalent payroll amount. Local wage levels, benefits, bonus structure, hours, management depth, and the combined Director of Operations/General Manager scope can move the replacement value substantially.

Recurring obligations

Which FDD fees can materially affect owner earnings?

The current Franchise Agreement imposes a 4% Royalty Fee, a 1% Marketing Fee, and 1% Local Marketing requirement based on Gross Sales. These are official recurring obligations under Item 6, pages 25–29. The current combined sales-based burden is therefore 6%, although the agreement permits changes within disclosed limits.

Obligation Current amount Owner-earnings treatment
Royalty Fee 4.0% of Gross Sales Recurring operating obligation. A conditional annual prepayment option after one full fiscal year can reduce the royalty by 10%, subject to the FDD’s timing and reconciliation terms.
Marketing Fee 1.0% of Gross Sales Recurring system marketing expense.
Local Marketing 1.0% of Gross Sales Paid to third-party vendors as required; disclosed marketing and local-marketing requirements may be increased to a combined maximum of 3%.
Technology Support Fees $200–$325 monthly Item 6 recurring support charge; verify which services overlap with other required technology licensing.
POS and RMS licensing $300–$1,000 monthly Item 8 discloses $200–$600 monthly for POS licensing and $100–$400 monthly for the Back Office/RMS system, before hardware, connectivity, maintenance, and replacement.

The scenario model does not subtract these fees a second time because the IRS margin is an all-in aggregate business-income proxy after reported deductions. Double-charging the FDD fees would understate the result. At the same time, the model does not assume every IRS partnership paid franchise fees; that comparability gap reduces confidence.

There is also a measurement mismatch: Item 19 reports Net Revenues, while the Franchise Agreement calculates percentage fees on defined Gross Sales. Because the definitions are not identical, multiplying Item 19 Net Revenues by 6% would be an approximation rather than an exact fee calculation.

Uncertainty

What could move actual earnings outside the scenario range?

Unit-level labor, food cost, occupancy, and financing are the largest unresolved variables. Item 19 gives no restaurant-level expense distribution, so it cannot show whether a $1.95 million restaurant earns a positive or negative residual after manager payroll, hourly labor, food and paper, rent, utilities, repairs, insurance, technology, and franchise obligations.

Format also matters. The official Village Inn investment page describes traditional freestanding restaurants of roughly 4,000–5,000 square feet, plus approved end-cap and conversion possibilities. Item 19 does not separate Net Revenues or expenses by freestanding, end-cap, or conversion format, so this article does not merge or assign different profit assumptions to those formats.

Item 20 adds survivorship context. Franchised restaurant count fell from 90 at the start of fiscal 2025 to 84 at year-end, with zero openings, two non-renewals, and four outlets ceasing operations for other reasons. Because Item 19 includes only restaurants open for the entire fiscal year, it does not capture the six franchised outlets that left during 2025. Item 20 also reports three transfers to new owners and no projected openings as of November 30, 2025. These facts do not prove why an outlet left, but they make franchisee interviews and exit-level P&L review especially important. Village Inn 2026 FDD, Item 20, pages 64–71.

Debt service can move cash available to the owner sharply. The model includes the IRS sector’s aggregate interest treatment but excludes financing principal. It does not assume a loan amount, rate, amortization period, or down payment because the FDD does not provide uniform buyer financing terms. Personal income taxes are also excluded because entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances differ.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on this range?

Verify a location-specific profit bridge with written records and franchisee interviews. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that Item 19 is the required location for franchisor sales or earnings claims and that Item 20 contacts can help a buyer test those claims.

  • Request the franchisor’s written substantiation for Item 19 and confirm the 84-restaurant full-year cohort, exclusions, sales-reporting method, and treatment of discounts.
  • Ask current and former franchisees for a normalized 2025 restaurant P&L showing food and paper, hourly labor, manager payroll, payroll burden, occupancy, repairs, utilities, insurance, royalties, marketing, and technology.
  • Separate General Manager pay, Director of Operations pay, guaranteed payments, owner salary, owner draws, distributions, retained earnings, interest, depreciation, and capital expenditures.
  • Compare freestanding, end-cap, and conversion restaurants only when the operating format, square footage, hours, lease structure, and maturity are genuinely comparable.
  • Model debt principal and site-specific interest separately, then test whether cash flow remains adequate during low-sales and high-labor periods.
  • Ask why the six franchised restaurants left in fiscal 2025 and review any available records for transferred or previously owned restaurants under consideration.

Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings range?

For one manager-run Village Inn restaurant, the strongest defensible independent range is approximately a $28,000 annual loss to $99,000 of pre-tax owner earnings, with a Base scenario near $24,000. For a qualified owner who personally performs the combined Director of Operations/General Manager function, estimated owner-operator benefit is approximately $47,000 to $174,000, with a Base scenario near $99,000; that includes $74,880 of labor value.

The result is scenario-based, not official. The most important earnings driver is the unit-level operating margin after labor, food cost, occupancy, and the current franchise obligations. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Item 19 reports Net Revenues but no unit-level expenses or owner compensation. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation with actual restaurant P&Ls and structured interviews with current, former, and transferred-outlet franchisees.