Annual owner earnings estimate
This is an independent manager-run, pre-tax owner-earnings scenario—not an official profit disclosure. It uses 2025 Tropical Smoothie Cafe Net Revenue observations from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document and a limited-service restaurant margin benchmark. The base scenario is about $37,200. When an active owner fully replaces one paid food service manager, the modeled owner-operator benefit is about $82,100–$156,300, but much of that difference compensates the owner for labor performed rather than representing passive business profit.
Data basis
- Legal franchisor
- TSC Franchisor, LLC
- Current disclosure
- 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 17, 2026 and amended June 10, 2026
- Item 19 status
- Official Net Revenue disclosure only; no Restaurant costs, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income or Owner Compensation
- Applicable population
- 1,431 traditional franchised Restaurants open for at least 12 months and at least 357 days during fiscal 2025; nontraditional locations excluded
- External benchmarks
- National Restaurant Association 2025 Operations Data Abstract using 2024 limited-service results; BLS May 2025 Food Service Managers wage data
- Public brand source
- Official U.S. Tropical Smoothie Cafe franchise website
- Date checked
- July 17, 2026
What does Tropical Smoothie Cafe Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures Net Revenue, not owner earnings. For fiscal 2025, it reports sales results for 1,431 mature, traditional franchised Restaurants. It does not disclose food cost, labor, occupancy, manager pay, interest, depreciation, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow or owner distributions. The annual earnings figures in this article therefore cannot be described as franchisor-reported profit.
The central sales observation for all 1,431 eligible Restaurants.
An average, not a median and not owner income.
All eligible mature traditional franchised Restaurants supplied sufficient data.
643 of 1,431 Restaurants attained or surpassed $978,298.
6% Royalty Fee plus the current 5% National Marketing Fee.
2024 respondent median from the National Restaurant Association, not a Tropical Smoothie result.
The cohort is broad for a same-brand revenue disclosure but narrower than the system. Item 20 lists 1,650 franchised outlets at the end of 2025, while Item 19 excludes 33 nontraditional locations, 21 Restaurants that were not open for at least 357 days and other units that had not reached the required operating age. The FDD also states that first-year sales are likely to be significantly lower than sales at Restaurants open for a full year. These selection rules matter because the earnings range applies to a mature traditional cafe, not a new opening, seasonal site, college campus or other captive venue. (2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 55–59; Item 20, pp. 59–70.)
| 2025 Item 19 observation | Statistic | Net Revenue | Use in this analysis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bottom 50% cumulative cohort | Median | $720,632 | Conservative revenue anchor |
| All eligible Restaurants | Median | $931,173 | Base revenue anchor |
| Top 50% cumulative cohort | Median | $1,163,683 | Upside revenue anchor |
| All eligible Restaurants | Average | $978,298 | Context only; not the base case |
| All eligible Restaurants | Observed range | $270,301–$3,386,973 | Shows dispersion; not an earnings range |
Source: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 56–59. The FDD says the franchisee-submitted results were not independently audited or verified. The cumulative cohorts overlap; they are not separate probability buckets.
How does the manager-run earnings scenario work?
The estimated manager-run range is $7,200 to $81,500 per year before personal income taxes and debt principal. This is a scenario calculation for a mature traditional franchised Restaurant, not an official result. The revenue anchors are official 2025 Item 19 medians; the margins are an external 2024 limited-service benchmark and explicit sensitivity assumptions.
- Conservative: $720,632 bottom-50% median Net Revenue × 1.0% margin = $7,206, rounded to $7,200.
- Base: $931,173 total median Net Revenue × 4.0% margin = $37,247, rounded to $37,200.
- Upside: $1,163,683 top-50% median Net Revenue × 7.0% margin = $81,458, rounded to $81,500.
The 4.0% base margin is the 2024 median income-before-tax ratio for limited-service respondents in the National Restaurant Association’s 2025 operating analysis. The underlying 2025 Operations Data Abstract was based on surveys of more than 900 restaurants nationwide. The 1.0% and 7.0% margins are editorial sensitivity assumptions equal to the benchmark minus and plus three percentage points. They are not Tropical Smoothie Cafe margins, targets or forecasts.
Manager-run pre-tax owner-earnings scenarios
Annual per-cafe result after applying the stated margin to each official 2025 Net Revenue anchor
Interpretation: Revenue variation and a six-percentage-point margin spread move the modeled residual by more than $74,000 per cafe. These labels organize sensitivity cases; they do not assign probabilities.
Source and method: 2026 FDD Item 19, pp. 56–59; National Restaurant Association 2025 Operations Data Abstract using 2024 limited-service data; calculations rounded to the nearest $100.
How much does owner involvement change the result?
Full-time owner operation can add roughly $74,880 of labor value to each scenario, producing an estimated owner-operator benefit of $82,100 to $156,300. This is an estimated 2025 owner-role adjustment for a mature traditional cafe. It is not pure business profit: the added amount represents the national mean wage of a Food Service Manager whose work the owner is assumed to perform for a full year.
The 2026 FDD does not require personal day-to-day operation, although it recommends participation. A Restaurant must remain under direct on-site supervision by the owner or Operating Principal, or by an approved manager. That makes both manager-run and owner-operated structures possible, but manager-run should not be confused with passive ownership. (2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 48–49.)
Manager-run residual versus owner-operator benefit
The owner-operator point adds one year of national Food Service Manager wage value to the manager-run residual
Interpretation: The $74,880 gap is compensation for management labor. An owner who performs only part of the manager role should not add the full amount.
Source and method: BLS May 2025 national Food Service Managers wage table, annual mean wage $74,880; added to each manager-run scenario and rounded to the nearest $100.
- Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings
- The modeled residual after an all-in limited-service income-before-tax margin. Normal manager compensation is assumed to be embedded in the benchmark respondent’s operating costs, but the public summary does not provide a separate manager-pay line.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Manager-run residual plus the market wage value of one manager role performed by the owner. It includes labor compensation and is not passive profit, a guaranteed salary or an Item 19 result.
- Taxes, debt and capital spending
- Personal income taxes are excluded. Debt principal and capital expenditures are excluded. The benchmark’s public summary does not permit a reliable separation of interest, depreciation or owner-compensation treatment, so those are explicit uncertainties rather than hidden adjustments.
Which FDD fees most directly affect annual earnings?
The largest disclosed recurring percentage burden is currently 11% of Gross Sales: a 6% Royalty Fee and a 5% National Marketing Fee. This is an official 2026 FDD obligation for a franchised Restaurant. The National Marketing Fee may be increased to 6%, which would raise the combined percentage to 12%, and several technology fees add fixed or transaction-based costs.
| Recurring obligation | Current amount | Earnings-model treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Sales | Material percentage expense; payable weekly |
| National Marketing Fee | 5% currently | May rise to 6%; payable weekly |
| BOH subscription | $179/month | Known recurring technology fee |
| Digital ordering website and app | $54/month | Vendor-linked amount may change |
| Loyalty platform and owned digital marketing | $75/month | Known recurring per-cafe fee |
| Gift card transactions | Up to $18/month | $0.16 per qualified transaction, capped at $18 |
The named fixed recurring amounts above total up to $326 per month, or $3,912 per year, before transaction fees, taxes, future platform changes and any $8 monthly P&L software charge that is currently paid by the franchisor but may later be passed through. The FDD also expects—but does not require—an additional 1% to 2% of Gross Sales for restaurant-specific local marketing. (2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–18; Item 11, pp. 28–42.)
What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the cafe’s actual expense structure, because Item 19 provides no profit-and-loss data. The $7,200–$81,500 manager-run range is estimated for a mature traditional Restaurant using 2025 sales observations and a broad 2024 limited-service margin proxy. It can miss materially when local labor, food, rent, delivery economics, management coverage or financing differ from the benchmark population.
- Format mix: the official franchise format overview identifies end-cap, in-line, free-standing and drive-thru configurations, but Item 19 does not report separate Net Revenue or profit for those formats.
- Occupancy: rent and common-area charges vary by site. The FDD’s Item 7 build-out estimates do not establish annual occupancy cost and must not be subtracted from one year of sales.
- Labor: schedule efficiency, wage rates, benefits, turnover and whether the owner replaces a manager can change the economic result substantially.
- Food and delivery: menu mix, waste, supplier prices, third-party delivery commissions and promotional discounts affect the conversion of Net Revenue into income.
- Unit age: the FDD warns that first-year sales are likely to be significantly less than mature-unit sales, so this range should not be used as a ramp-up forecast.
- Debt: Item 10 states that the franchisor and its affiliates do not provide or guarantee financing. No uniform interest rate, financed amount or amortization term is supportable, so debt service is not modeled.
NAICS 722513 is the closest government operating-format reference because the U.S. Census Bureau defines Limited-Service Restaurants as establishments where patrons generally order or select items and pay before eating, including fast-casual restaurants. That classification supports the benchmark choice, but it does not make the industry median brand-specific.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace the external margin proxy with actual Tropical Smoothie Cafe operating evidence before making a decision. The following checks apply to the current 2026 offer and the intended unit format. They are designed to test the model’s most consequential unknowns rather than to validate a predetermined earnings number.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how each 2025 cohort, exclusion and “attained or surpassed” count was calculated.
- Interview multiple current franchisees with comparable end-cap, in-line, free-standing or drive-thru formats and ask for food cost, labor, occupancy, manager compensation, technology fees and pre-tax income as percentages of Net Revenue.
- Speak with former franchisees listed through Item 20 about sales ramp, losses, transfers, closures, lease pressure and the reason they left the system.
- Ask whether owner compensation is recorded above or below store-level profit in any P&L examples, and whether the operator works full time, supervises multiple units or employs a general manager.
- Model the exact lease, local wage schedule, delivery mix, insurance, utilities and current vendor fees for the proposed site; do not use Item 7 startup investment as an annual expense.
- Separate operating earnings from financing. Apply the buyer’s actual loan amount, rate, term and fees only after the unit-level operating model is complete.
- Confirm whether any updated FDD, quarterly amendment, fee change, kiosk requirement or digital-ordering transition has been issued before signing.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible manager-run estimate is approximately $7,200–$81,500 per mature traditional cafe per year, with a $37,200 base scenario; it is scenario-based, not official. The most important earnings driver is the conversion margin from Net Revenue after food, labor, occupancy, recurring fees and other operating costs. The largest uncertainty is that Tropical Smoothie Cafe Item 19 reports no expense or profit data and the external limited-service benchmark does not disclose fully comparable owner-compensation and franchise-fee treatment. An active owner who fully replaces a manager may realize an estimated owner-operator benefit of $82,100–$156,300, but the added $74,880 is labor value, not passive profit. Before relying on any figure, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable franchisee P&Ls and reconcile the proposed site’s actual staffing, rent, format, financing and fee structure.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Tropical Smoothie Cafe Franchise?
- How Does the Tropical Smoothie Cafe Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Tropical Smoothie Cafe Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Tropical Smoothie Cafe Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Tropical Smoothie Cafe Franchise?