How Much Does a Tim Hortons Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
$21,000-$141,000 per Standard Shop

A reasonable manager-run range for a U.S. Tim Hortons Standard Shop operating at the modeled sales levels is approximately $21,000 to $141,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings. An owner who personally replaces a paid food service manager could have approximately $84,000 to $204,000 of owner-operator benefit, but the added amount compensates labor performed by the owner and is not passive business profit.

Evidence mode: Mode C - FDD-anchored scenario estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Franchised Standard Shop Period: 2025 operating data in the 2026 FDD
Independent estimate, not an Item 19 earnings claim. The earnings figures in this article are independent analytical scenarios. Tim Hortons USA Inc. does not report net income, operating profit, EBITDA, cash flow, or owner compensation in Item 19. The model combines identified 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document facts with separately identified scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, shop format, sales, food cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Tim Hortons USA Inc. The Franchise Disclosure Document was issued March 13, 2026. Item 19 reports 2025 Gross Sales, Cost of Goods Sold, Labor Expense, and same-shop sales growth for defined franchised Standard Shop populations; it does not disclose owner earnings. The primary cohort is 585 of 659 franchised Standard Shops, with cost data from 510 Shops. Recurring fee inputs come from Item 6; owner-participation requirements come from Item 15. The manager-labor adjustment uses the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics median for Food Service Managers in food services and drinking places. The U.S. Economic Census framework is used only to identify limited-service restaurant comparability, not to substitute a Tim Hortons profit margin. Checked July 14, 2026.
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Tim Hortons FDD actually report?

Officially, Item 19 reports sales and two major operating-cost ratios, not owner earnings. For 2025, the 585 included franchised Standard Shops produced average monthly Gross Sales of $107,845 and median monthly Gross Sales of $103,122. Annualized, those figures are $1,294,140 and $1,237,464. Item 19, pp. 73-74.

For the 510-Shop cost cohort, average and median Cost of Goods Sold were both 29% of Gross Sales, while average and median Labor Expense were both 30%. The FDD defines Cost of Goods Sold as food, beverages, and supplies; Labor Expense includes payroll, payroll taxes, and benefits. These ratios consume 59% of revenue before occupancy, royalty, advertising, technology, utilities, insurance, repairs, financing, and other expenses.

Evidence status
LIMITED confidence
The same-brand FDD provides strong revenue, food-cost, labor, fee, and cohort evidence, but no official operating-profit or owner-compensation measure. The largest modeling uncertainty is the combined burden of occupancy and other unit-level operating expenses.
$1.237M
Median annualized Gross Sales
OFFICIAL calculation: $103,122 monthly median x 12. Revenue, not earnings.
$1.294M
Average annualized Gross Sales
OFFICIAL calculation: $107,845 monthly average x 12 for the 585-Shop cohort.
59%
COGS plus Labor Expense
OFFICIAL: 29% Cost of Goods Sold plus 30% Labor Expense for 510 Shops.
10%
Typical royalty and advertising
OFFICIAL FDD input: generally 6% royalty plus 4% Advertising Contribution.
585 / 659
Sales cohort coverage
OFFICIAL: approximately 88.8% of franchised Standard Shops were included.
$63,040
Manager labor benchmark
BENCHMARK: 2024 BLS median wage for Food Service Managers in food services and drinking places.
Revenue is not earnings

The $1.237 million median is Gross Sales. Item 19 expressly states that its food and labor figures omit royalties and other fees and do not include all operating expenses needed to determine net income or profit. The highest and lowest reported sales values also should not be treated as likely outcomes because the FDD does not provide quartiles or a full distribution.

Scenario model

How is the $21,000-$141,000 owner-earnings range calculated?

The range is estimated by applying a transparent operating-cost bridge to 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official median annualized Gross Sales. Because Item 19 gives no quartiles, the 80%-100%-120% revenue spread is an editorial sensitivity, not an FDD-reported distribution.

The model holds the official median Cost of Goods Sold at 29%, Labor Expense at 30%, royalty at 6%, and Advertising Contribution at 4%. It uses the FDD's 7%-13% lease range as an occupancy sensitivity, annual Restaurant Technology charges plus the Tim Horton Children's Foundation obligation, and a clearly labeled 14% allowance for other operating costs. The estimate is before interest, financing principal, personal income taxes, depreciation, and major capital expenditures.

Annual operating bridge Conservative Base Upside
Gross Sales anchor $989,971 $1,237,464 $1,484,957
Cost of Goods Sold - 29% ($287,092) ($358,865) ($430,637)
Labor Expense - 30% ($296,991) ($371,239) ($445,487)
Royalty - 6% ($59,398) ($74,248) ($89,097)
Advertising Contribution - 4% ($39,599) ($49,499) ($59,398)
Occupancy sensitivity - 13% / 10% / 7% ($128,696) ($123,746) ($103,947)
Technology and foundation fees ($18,550) ($12,850) ($7,150)
Other operating costs - 14% assumption ($138,596) ($173,245) ($207,894)
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings $21,049 $73,772 $141,346
Implied operating margin 2.1% 6.0% 9.5%
Estimated manager-run owner earnings by scenario
Annual pre-tax residual per franchised Standard Shop, before debt and personal taxes
Tim Hortons estimated manager-run owner earnings Conservative scenario 21 thousand dollars, base scenario 74 thousand dollars, and upside scenario 141 thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $21,049 $73,772 $141,346 Conservative Base Upside $990k sales $1.237M sales $1.485M sales

Interpretation: the model is highly sensitive to occupancy and the costs omitted from Item 19. A few percentage points of revenue can change annual owner earnings by tens of thousands of dollars.

Source: Independent calculation using Tim Hortons USA Inc. 2026 FDD Item 19, pp. 73-74; Item 6, pp. 20-27. Revenue spread and the 14% other-operating-cost allowance are editorial scenario assumptions.

Which assumptions are official and which are estimated?

  • Official FDD facts: 2025 median Gross Sales, 29% Cost of Goods Sold, 30% Labor Expense, 4.5%-6% royalty, 4% Advertising Contribution, $450-$1,400 monthly Restaurant Technology charges, $1,750 foundation obligation, and a 7%-13% franchisor lease range.
  • Derived calculations: annualized sales, annualized fixed fees, cohort percentages, implied margins, and the residual owner-earnings amounts.
  • Editorial scenario assumptions: 80%-100%-120% of median sales, 10% midpoint occupancy, and 14% of sales for utilities, CAM and pass-through charges, insurance, repairs, payment processing, local administration, routine maintenance, and other costs not quantified in Item 19.
  • Not modeled: financing interest and principal, personal income taxes, major remodels, replacement equipment, owner distributions, working-capital changes, and extraordinary expenses.
Owner role

How does active owner involvement change Tim Hortons earnings?

An active owner may capture the economic value of a manager position, but that value is compensation for work rather than additional passive profit. Adding the 2024 BLS median wage of $63,040 for Food Service Managers in food services and drinking places produces estimated owner-operator benefit of approximately $84,000, $137,000, and $204,000 across the three scenarios.

This adjustment is conservative in one respect because it uses wage only, not employer payroll taxes and benefits. It can be aggressive in another respect because an owner may not fully eliminate management payroll, particularly at a high-volume Shop or a multi-unit portfolio. The BLS Food Service Managers profile describes the wage benchmark and the operational duties being valued.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit
The teal extension is the market value of owner labor, not passive profit
Manager-run earnings compared with owner-operator benefit Conservative manager-run earnings are 21 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 84 thousand dollars. Base values are 74 thousand and 137 thousand. Upside values are 141 thousand and 204 thousand. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k Conservative Base Upside $21k $84k $74k $137k $141k $204k Manager-run residual profit Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: the owner-role decision changes the character of the return. The first value is business residual after the FDD labor ratio; the second includes $63,040 of market labor value for work the owner performs.

Source: Scenario results above plus U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2024 median annual wage for Food Service Managers in food services and drinking places.

Owner-operator effect

Tim Hortons is not presented in the 2026 FDD as a passive absentee model. Item 15 requires the franchisee or an approved managing director to operate the Shop full time and live within 30 miles of a Tim Hortons Shop the franchisee operates. A franchisee with more than one Shop must retain a full-time General Manager and at least one Restaurant Manager. Item 15, p. 60.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?

Actual earnings can fall below or rise above the scenario range because Item 19 does not disclose occupancy, utilities, insurance, maintenance, payment processing, depreciation, financing, or net profit. The most important unresolved variable is the total cost of the Shop's location and all other expenses omitted from the 59% food-and-labor ratio.

  • Shop maturity and exclusions. The sales cohort included Shops reporting at least 10 months of 2025 sales. Fifty-two Shops with fewer than 10 months, 12 Shops with inconsistent information, 10 Operator Agreement Shops, and 12 Shops that closed during 2025 were excluded. New-shop economics may therefore differ.
  • Occupancy structure. Item 6 lists 7%-13% of Gross Sales when Tim Hortons leases the premises to the franchisee, plus flow-through charges such as CAM, insurance, property taxes, and billing administration. A property-controlled Shop must replace the model's occupancy assumption with its actual lease or ownership costs.
  • Fee variation. The royalty range is 4.5%-6%, although the FDD states the royalty is generally 6% when the franchisee has property control. Captured-traffic locations may have a 3% rather than 4% Advertising Contribution, but they can have materially different volume and occupancy economics.
  • Sales dispersion. Average monthly Gross Sales ranged from $10,526 to $438,320, but Item 19 provides no quartiles. Those endpoints show variation, not a reliable probability range for a buyer's site.
  • System population. Item 20 reports 669 franchised outlets and 24 company-owned outlets at December 31, 2025. Eleven franchised outlets operated under Operator Agreements. The Item 19 sales cohort is a narrower Standard Shop population and should not be applied to Non-Standard Shops, Operator Agreements, or Co-Branded Restaurants without separate evidence.
  • Debt and taxes. Loan structure can materially reduce cash available to the owner. The scenarios exclude interest and principal and do not estimate personal income taxes, which depend on financing, entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on these estimates?

A buyer should replace every scenario assumption with location-specific evidence and operating records. The most useful diligence is a written bridge from Gross Sales to cash available to the owner for comparable mature Standard Shops in the same market and occupancy structure.

  • Request Item 19 substantiation. Confirm the 585-Shop and 510-Shop cohort definitions, exclusions, New Model representation, and whether a target market differs from the national population.
  • Interview current and former franchisees. Ask for trailing 12-month food cost, labor, royalty, advertising, technology, occupancy, utilities, repairs, insurance, merchant fees, manager compensation, and owner hours. The FTC's franchise-buying guidance explains why franchisee interviews and document review matter.
  • Separate formats and agreements. Confirm whether the opportunity is a Standard Shop, Non-Standard Shop, New Model Shop, Operator Agreement, or Co-Branded Restaurant. Do not apply Standard Shop Item 19 results to another format.
  • Obtain the actual occupancy package. Review base rent or percentage rent, CAM, property taxes, insurance, landlord administration, required remodels, and lease escalators.
  • Verify the owner-role plan. Determine whether the approved managing director is the owner or a paid employee, and whether the staffing plan still requires a General Manager or Restaurant Manager.
  • Model debt separately. Use the actual financed amount, interest rate, amortization, fees, and required reserves rather than subtracting startup investment from one year of sales.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible Tim Hortons owner-earnings range?

The strongest defensible range from the available 2026 U.S. evidence is approximately $21,000 to $141,000 in manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per franchised Standard Shop operating at the modeled sales levels. This is a scenario-based estimate, not an official Item 19 profit disclosure. An owner who genuinely replaces a paid food service manager may have approximately $84,000 to $204,000 of owner-operator benefit, including the value of labor performed.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of sales volume and occupancy burden. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the full set of operating expenses omitted from Item 19. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, actual location-level occupancy and expense records, and comparable franchisee results under the same Shop format and management structure.