How Much Does a Melting Pot Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
$27,000–$209,000 per restaurant

A reasonable manager-run scenario range for a mature U.S. Melting Pot restaurant is about $27,000 to $209,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $89,000. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports sales, not franchisee profit, so these figures are independent estimates anchored to the disclosed franchised-restaurant sales distribution and a restaurant-industry pre-tax margin sensitivity.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Single-location full-service restaurant Period: Fiscal year ended March 31, 2026
Data basis
Legal franchisor
The Melting Pot Restaurants, Inc., a Florida corporation.
Current disclosure
2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued June 12, 2026; Item 19 covers the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026.
Item 19 status
Official Gross Revenues/Average Unit Volume for 85 franchised Restaurants open for the full 12 months; no franchised-unit profit or owner-compensation disclosure.
Model inputs
FDD franchised-restaurant median sales by performance third, current recurring fees, the National Restaurant Association's 5% typical pre-tax margin reference, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics food-service-manager wage benchmark.
Date checked
July 13, 2026.
Evidence confidence
Limited

The sales evidence is current and same-brand, but the earnings result relies materially on an external industry margin and an editorial sensitivity band because Item 19 does not disclose franchised-restaurant operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation, or cash flow.

Official FDD fact
$1.77M
Median franchised AUV

Median Gross Revenues for the 85 full-year franchised Restaurants in fiscal 2026.

Official FDD fact
85
Full-year franchised units

The Item 19 franchised cohort excluded three Restaurants that opened during the fiscal year.

Derived from FDD
8.5%
Current sales-based burden

5% Royalty and Service Fee, 1.7% Brand Development Contribution, and 1.8% required Local Advertising.

Industry benchmark
5%
Typical pre-tax margin reference

National Restaurant Association baseline for a typical restaurant; not a Melting Pot result.

BLS benchmark
$63,040
Manager labor value

2024 median annual wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places.

Item 19 evidence

What does The Melting Pot's 2026 Item 19 actually report?

Item 19 officially reports restaurant sales, not owner earnings. For 85 franchised Restaurants open for the full 12 months ended March 31, 2026, average Gross Revenues—also called Average Unit Volume or AUV—were $2,041,839 and median AUV was $1,771,536. Only 27 of 85 Restaurants, or 32%, exceeded the average, which shows why the median is the more useful central sales anchor.

The Item 19 definition of Gross Revenues covers sales of food, beverages, merchandise, and connected services, generally excluding sales and similar taxes remitted to government authorities. Gross Revenues is revenue before restaurant-level expenses. It is not Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, owner salary, distributions, or take-home pay.

How widely did franchised-restaurant sales vary?

Official median AUV by Item 19 performance cohort, fiscal year ended March 31, 2026

Melting Pot median annual sales by performance cohort Bottom-third median AUV was 1,351,127 dollars, all-unit median AUV was 1,771,536 dollars, and top-third median AUV was 2,618,695 dollars. $0 $1M $2M $3M $1.351M $1.772M $2.619M Bottom-third median All-unit median Top-third median

Interpretation: the top-third median was nearly twice the bottom-third median. Sales position within the system is therefore a major driver of any owner-earnings estimate.

Source: The Melting Pot Restaurants, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 41–44. Cohorts are descriptive performance thirds, not probabilities or forecasts.

Scenario model

How is the estimated owner-earnings range calculated?

The model multiplies three official FDD sales anchors by three explicitly labeled pre-tax margin assumptions. Conservative revenue uses the bottom-third median AUV, the base uses the all-unit median AUV, and upside uses the top-third median AUV. The National Restaurant Association's July 2026 analysis identifies roughly 5% as a typical restaurant pre-tax margin baseline; the model applies a 2%, 5%, and 8% sensitivity, or three percentage points below, at, and above that benchmark.

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = Item 19 revenue anchor × scenario pre-tax margin. Results are rounded to the nearest $1,000 after calculation with full-precision inputs.
  • Conservative: $1,351,127 bottom-third median AUV × 2% margin = $27,023, rounded to $27,000.
  • Base: $1,771,536 all-unit median AUV × 5% margin = $88,577, rounded to $89,000.
  • Upside: $2,618,695 top-third median AUV × 8% margin = $209,496, rounded to $209,000. The 8% margin is an editorial high-efficiency sensitivity, not a published typical restaurant margin.
What do the three manager-run earnings scenarios show?

Independent annual pre-tax owner-earnings estimates before financing principal and personal income taxes

Manager-run owner earnings scenarios Conservative estimated earnings are 27,000 dollars, base estimated earnings are 89,000 dollars, and upside estimated earnings are 209,000 dollars. $0 $75k $150k $225k $27k $89k $209k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: both sales cohort and operating margin matter. The upside is not a forecast; it combines the top-third sales median with an above-typical margin sensitivity.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 41–44; National Restaurant Association analysis of restaurant profitability, July 8, 2026.

Scenario Revenue anchor Margin assumption Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Conservative $1,351,127 2% $27,000
Base $1,771,536 5% $89,000
Upside $2,618,695 8% $209,000

The margin benchmark is treated as an all-in restaurant pre-tax margin sensitivity. The FDD royalty, advertising obligations, and recurring technology charges are therefore not subtracted a second time. Whether a particular benchmark respondent paid franchise fees is not disclosed, which is a material comparability limitation.

Owner role

How does active owner operation change the economics?

An owner who personally performs the work of a paid restaurant manager may create an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $90,000 to $273,000 across the same scenarios. This is not pure business profit. It combines residual estimated pre-tax owner earnings with the market value of management labor performed by the owner.

The 2026 FDD does not describe this as a passive investment. Item 15 requires a controlling owner to directly supervise the Restaurant, while allowing the Restaurant to be under the direct, on-premises supervision of the owner or an approved designated manager who completed initial training. The franchisor may also require minimum owner hours. A manager-run model therefore still assumes meaningful owner oversight.

What is the value of replacing a paid manager?

Manager-run residual profit versus estimated owner-operator benefit using a $63,040 BLS wage benchmark

Manager-run owner earnings Owner-operator benefit
Manager-run owner earnings compared with owner-operator benefit Conservative manager-run earnings of 27,000 dollars rise to owner-operator benefit of 90,000 dollars. Base rises from 89,000 to 152,000 dollars. Upside rises from 209,000 to 273,000 dollars. Conservative Base Upside $0 $100k $200k $300k $27k $90k $89k $152k $209k $273k

Interpretation: the $63,040 difference is compensation for management work, not passive return. Actual replacement cost can be higher after payroll taxes, benefits, incentives, and local wage differences.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 35–36; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Food Service Managers, May 2024 wage data.

Manager-run scenario

Normal manager compensation is assumed to be inside the all-in restaurant margin. Residual profit is treated as estimated pre-tax owner earnings before financing principal and personal income taxes.

Owner-operator scenario

The supported manager-wage value is added to residual profit. The result is labeled owner-operator benefit because part of it compensates the owner for active labor.

Recurring obligations

How much of sales is committed before other restaurant expenses?

The currently stated Royalty and Service Fee, Brand Development Contribution, and Local Advertising requirement total 8.5% of Gross Revenues. At the $1,771,536 Item 19 median AUV, that equals approximately $150,671 per year: about $88,577 in royalty and service fees, $30,206 in Brand Development Fund contributions, and $31,888 in required local advertising spending.

This 8.5% is not the restaurant's total expense load. Food, hourly and salaried labor, payroll burden, rent, utilities, insurance, repairs, merchant processing, supplies, technology, depreciation, and other operating costs remain. Item 19 provides a 20.2% average food-and-beverage cost and a 20.8% average hourly-labor cost for four affiliate-operated Restaurants, but the FDD expressly does not provide those cost percentages for franchised Restaurants. The affiliate-operated figures should not be silently treated as franchisee results.

Royalty and Service Fee
5% of Gross Revenues under Item 6.
Brand Development Contribution
Currently 1.7% of Gross Revenues, with a contractual maximum of 3% in the disclosed table.
Local Advertising
Currently 1.8% of Gross Revenues, with a stated maximum of 3%; spent in the local market rather than paid as owner income.
Fixed and variable technology charges
Include a $150 monthly website enhancement/integration fee, gift-card-system charges, customer-comments software, and learning/communication charges. A separate Technology and User Fee of up to 1% is disclosed but is not currently charged.
Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside this range?

Occupancy, total labor, and the relationship between sales and margin are the largest unresolved variables. Item 7 estimates annual rent of $119,000 to $275,000 for a typical 3,400- to 5,000-square-foot Restaurant, but actual lease economics vary by market, tenant allowance, site condition, and pass-through charges. The FDD also does not show franchised-unit manager payroll, salaried labor, insurance, repairs, credit-card fees, utilities, or depreciation.

The National Restaurant Association's 5% benchmark is broad and describes a typical restaurant, not a polished-casual fondue franchise with an 8.5% current royalty-and-advertising burden. Its July 2026 analysis also says average restaurant expenses increased 36% from 2019 to 2026 and that 42% of operators reported their restaurant was not profitable in 2025. Those conditions support a wide sensitivity range rather than a single earnings claim.

Debt can materially reduce cash available to an owner. Item 10 states that The Melting Pot Restaurants, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases, or obligations. Because no standard loan amount, rate, or term is disclosed, debt service is not embedded in the estimate. Financing principal, capital expenditures, remodel reserves, and personal income taxes are excluded. Interest and depreciation treatment within the external margin benchmark is not separately specified, which further limits precision.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the estimate?

Verify the full profit-and-loss bridge directly with the franchisor's written substantiation and with operators in comparable markets. Item 19 says written substantiation for the sales figures is available upon reasonable request, and Item 20 identifies current and recently departed franchisees for due diligence.

  • Request the Item 19 substantiation and confirm the exact Gross Revenues reports for the 85 full-year franchised Restaurants.
  • Ask franchisees for food and beverage cost, hourly labor, salaried management, payroll burden, occupancy, utilities, merchant fees, insurance, repairs, and local advertising as percentages of Gross Revenues.
  • Separate owner salary or draws from restaurant Operating Profit, distributions, retained cash, depreciation, interest, and debt principal.
  • Compare a target site with the FDD's 3,400- to 5,000-square-foot format and $119,000 to $275,000 annual rent context.
  • Confirm whether the owner will personally cover general-manager duties, how many hours the franchisor expects, and whether an approved designated manager will be required.
  • Test results at the target lease terms and local wage rates rather than assuming the national scenario applies unchanged.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible estimate is approximately $27,000 to $209,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings per mature manager-run Restaurant, with a base scenario near $89,000. It is scenario-based, not official earnings guidance. An actively operating owner who replaces a paid manager may realize an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $90,000 to $273,000, but the added amount represents labor value rather than passive business profit.

The most important driver is the combination of Gross Revenues and restaurant-level margin: Item 19's top-third and bottom-third sales medians differ substantially, and each margin point at the system median is worth about $17,715. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the franchised-unit expense structure—especially total labor and occupancy. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements, and reconcile owner compensation, manager cost, financing, and local lease economics before treating any scenario as decision-grade.

FDD citations in this article refer to The Melting Pot Restaurants, Inc. 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document: cover; Items 5–7, 10, 15, 19, and 20. No public official copy matching the reviewed 2026 document was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so the FDD citations are intentionally unlinked.