A manager-run U.S. Bar Method Studio may produce roughly $15,000 to $49,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings under the conservative, base, and upside scenarios below. This is not an official profit figure: the 2026 Item 19 reports Gross Revenue, not operating profit, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow. At the base revenue and margin assumptions, the manager-run estimate is about $30,700. An owner who personally performs the Principal Operator and studio-manager work may receive a larger estimated owner-operator benefit, but that additional value compensates labor and is not passive business profit.
What does The Bar Method’s 2026 Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures studio revenue and customer activity—not owner earnings. The disclosure covers 73 franchised Bar Method Studios that operated for the entire 12-month period ended February 28, 2026. It excludes one studio that permanently closed during that period and excludes units that were not open for the full measurement year.
The disclosed median Total Gross Revenue was $383,926, while the average was $422,969. Only 30 of 73 studios, or 41%, equaled or exceeded the average, which is a useful warning that the average is lifted by stronger performers. The FDD defines Gross Revenue broadly as revenue from studio operations after specified refunds, credits, and sales taxes; it does not deduct payroll, rent, royalties, marketing, technology, supplies, insurance, interest, or other operating costs.
All 73 full-year franchised studios; 12 months ended February 28, 2026.
Only 41% of included studios were at or above this average.
The Item 19 cohort out of 77 franchised studios operating at period-end.
6% royalty plus a 5% combined Marketing Fund and Local Marketing requirement.
$429 per month before any permitted future increase.
FDD references: The Bar Method 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13–19 for recurring fees; Item 19, pp. 65–69 for revenue and population data.
Median Total Gross Revenue for Item 19 quartiles and the full 73-studio population.
Interpretation: the spread between quartile medians is large enough that a single systemwide average is not a reliable owner-income forecast. Revenue placement is the strongest driver in the scenario model.
Source: The Bar Method 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 65–69. Values are Gross Revenue, not owner earnings.
How does Gross Revenue become estimated owner earnings?
The model applies transparent, all-in operating-margin assumptions to three official Item 19 revenue anchors. Conservative revenue uses the third-quartile median, the base uses the all-studio median, and upside uses the second-quartile median. These quartile observations are not probabilities, and the resulting earnings are independent estimates rather than franchisor-reported results.
The manager-run margin assumptions are 5%, 8%, and 11%. They are explicit editorial sensitivities because the current FDD supplies no operating-profit, EBITDA, net-income, cash-flow, or owner-compensation margin, and no sufficiently compatible official U.S. studio-level profit benchmark was identified. Each margin is defined after normal unit-level operating costs, including paid manager compensation, instructor and front-desk payroll, occupancy, the 6% royalty, the 5% combined marketing requirement, technology, music licensing, insurance, utilities, supplies, and ordinary administration. Those fees are therefore not subtracted a second time.
| Scenario | Official revenue anchor | Editorial margin | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Third-quartile median |
$305,743 | 5% | $15,300 |
|
Base All-studio median |
$383,926 | 8% | $30,700 |
|
Upside Second-quartile median |
$442,676 | 11% | $48,700 |
Estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings before financing principal and personal income taxes.
Interpretation: a three-percentage-point margin change and movement between adjacent Item 19 revenue cohorts materially changes owner earnings. The base figure is a scenario midpoint, not a prediction or “most likely” result.
Sources and calculation: revenue anchors from The Bar Method 2026 FDD, Item 19, p. 66; margin assumptions are editorial scenarios. Calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded to the nearest $100.
How much can active owner involvement change the result?
Active operation can convert a manager payroll cost into owner labor value, but it does not create the same amount of additional passive profit. Item 15 requires a Principal Operator to serve as the on-premises manager. The owner may fill that role, or the franchisee may employ another qualified operator. If the owner fully replaces a paid studio manager, the economic benefit can include both residual business profit and compensation for the owner’s work. FDD reference: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 58.
The table holds the base manager-run residual at $30,700 and applies a $45,000–$65,000 annual cash-pay sensitivity for the manager role. That pay band is an editorial assumption, not a Bar Method or U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage estimate. Buyers should replace it with local compensation quotes, payroll taxes, benefits, schedule coverage, and the actual division of duties. The closest federal occupational framework is BLS SOC 11-9072, Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling.
| Owner-role sensitivity | Base residual profit | Avoided manager cash pay | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lower manager-pay assumption | $30,700 | $45,000 | $75,700 |
| Central manager-pay assumption | $30,700 | $55,000 | $85,700 |
| Higher manager-pay assumption | $30,700 | $65,000 | $95,700 |
What is included, excluded, or still uncertain in the earnings range?
The published range is pre-tax operating cash available to an owner before financing principal, not after-tax take-home pay. The scenario includes ordinary unit-level costs through the all-in margin assumption, but it cannot resolve local payroll, lease, capital-replacement, debt, or tax outcomes that the FDD does not disclose for the Item 19 cohort.
The source-defined Item 19 sales measure. It is the revenue anchor and must not be read as income to the owner.
Residual pre-tax operating cash after normal expenses and a paid manager, before financing principal and personal taxes.
Manager-run residual plus the assumed value of management labor personally supplied by the owner.
A method of taking cash from the business, not a separate earnings measure and not proof that the unit generated profit.
- Included through the all-in margin: ordinary payroll and payroll burden, paid manager compensation in the manager-run case, occupancy, royalty, required marketing, technology, music licensing, utilities, insurance, supplies, inventory economics, and routine administration.
- Excluded from the published earnings figure: personal federal, state, and local income taxes; financing principal; acquisition price for an existing studio; and the one-time initial investment of $240,012–$491,082.
- Interest treatment: no uniform interest expense is modeled because Item 10 does not establish one financing structure for every buyer. Interest would reduce cash available to a financed owner.
- Depreciation and capital spending: depreciation is a non-cash accounting charge and is not separately modeled; equipment replacement, leasehold refreshes, and remodel reserves can reduce distributable cash even when accounting profit is positive.
- Unresolved operating uncertainty: Item 19 does not disclose studio-level labor ratios, occupancy ratios, EBITDA, net income, losses, owner pay, or manager-versus-owner-operated results.
How should the outlet population affect confidence?
The revenue evidence is broad for the active system, but the earnings confidence remains limited because the population supplies no expense data. Item 20 shows 77 franchised outlets and no company-owned outlets at December 31, 2025. During 2025, five franchised outlets opened, one terminated, and five transferred to new owners. The Item 19 analysis includes 73 full-year franchised studios and excludes astudio that permanently closed during the measurement period.
This structure helps with revenue comparability because the included studios offered substantially the same products and services, but it also creates survivor and maturity limitations. Newer units without a complete year are absent, the closed unit is absent, and the reporting studios opened across a long span from 2004 through 2024. A prospective owner should not assume that a new studio immediately earns the mature-cohort median. FDD references: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 65–69 and Item 20, pp. 69–74.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
Verify the missing expense bridge and the owner-role assumption before treating any scenario as decision-grade. The FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 is available upon reasonable request, and Item 20 provides current and former franchisee contacts for direct diligence.
- Request the Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how refunds, credits, chargebacks, presale revenue, closures, transfers, and partial-year studios were treated.
- Ask for anonymized mature-studio profit-and-loss ranges covering instructor payroll, front-desk payroll, Principal Operator compensation, occupancy, merchant fees, insurance, technology, music, supplies, and maintenance.
- Interview franchisees from the bottom, third, second, and top revenue quartiles rather than speaking only with high-revenue studios.
- Separate studios run by an owner-operator from those employing a full-time Principal Operator, and quantify every duty the owner would actually replace.
- Obtain a site-specific lease proposal with base rent, CAM, taxes, insurance, utilities, escalation clauses, tenant-improvement obligations, and required remodel timing.
- Model loan interest and principal separately, then establish reserves for equipment replacement, leasehold refreshes, refunds, and seasonal cash needs.
- Speak with transferred and former franchisees identified in Item 20 about ramp-up, management turnover, closures, and cash requirements that are not visible in Gross Revenue.
What is the strongest defensible annual earnings view?
The strongest defensible manager-run range is approximately $15,000 to $49,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings per mature studio, with a base scenario near $30,700. It is a limited-confidence, FDD-anchored scenario—not an official Item 19 profit result. The largest earnings driver is the combination of studio Gross Revenue and the operating margin retained after payroll and occupancy. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand expense, manager-pay, loss, and owner-compensation data for the 73-studio Item 19 cohort.
An active owner may capture an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $75,700 to $95,700 in the base case only if the owner genuinely replaces a $45,000–$65,000 paid manager role; part of that amount is compensation for labor performed. Before proceeding, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation to actual studio profit-and-loss statements, test local lease and payroll assumptions, and compare owner-operated, manager-run, transferred, and former-franchisee experiences.