How Much Does a TemperaturePro Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent annual earnings estimate
−$102K to $155K

Estimated owner-operator benefit for a mature TemperaturePro reporting outlet: roughly a $102,000 loss to a $155,000 benefit before personal income taxes and financing principal. A manager-run version models lower, at about a $208,000 loss to $50,000 of pre-tax owner earnings, because a full-time manager wage is deducted.

2026 U.S. FDD Mode C: FDD-anchored scenario Evidence confidence: LIMITED Per reporting outlet, not per territory
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by SystemForward America, LLC. It combines 2026 TemperaturePro FDD revenue medians and recurring obligations with an IRS industry-margin proxy, an IRS advertising adjustment, a BLS manager-wage benchmark, and explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by market, territory count, service mix, sales, technician productivity, labor, advertising efficiency, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution. The IRS proxy includes depreciation and aggregate business interest, so the result is not a free-cash-flow measure.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: SystemForward America, LLC. FDD: issued May 1, 2026. Item 19 period: April 1, 2025 through March 31, 2026. Population: 12 of 21 outlets, each open at least 12 months; some franchisees held multiple contiguous or noncontiguous territories. Item 19 reports gross annual revenue but no cost of sales, Operating Profit, EBITDA amount, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or Cash Flow. Benchmarks are the IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship data for Specialty Trade Contractors and the BLS May 2024 construction-industry wage for General and Operations Managers. Checked July 13, 2026.

Scenario −$22K Base owner-operator benefit

Independent estimate at the middle-cohort median revenue and midpoint required marketing spend.

Official $1.14M Middle-cohort median revenue

Gross annual revenue, not owner earnings, for the 2025–2026 Item 19 measurement period.

Official / derived 12 of 21 Outlets represented

57.1% of outlets that existed in calendar 2025 were included in the disclosure.

Official 7% Royalty plus ad fund

6% royalty and 1% Advertising and Marketing Fee, each assessed on Gross Sales.

Benchmark $105,260 Manager wage assumption

BLS May 2024 median for General and Operations Managers in construction; benefits are excluded.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 TemperaturePro Item 19 actually disclose?

Officially, Item 19 discloses revenue bands—not owner earnings. For April 1, 2025 through March 31, 2026, it reports Gross annual revenue for 12 outlets that had operated for at least 12 months. The FDD expressly says the figures do not reflect cost of sales, operating expenses, or other costs needed to calculate Net Income or profit.

The applicable entity is a TemperaturePro reporting outlet. It is not necessarily one 500,000-person territory or one owner: the disclosure says franchisees may have multiple territories in major or midsize markets. It also does not disclose the number of outlets in each performance band, the EBITDA values used to sort the bands, or a per-owner result.

Item 19 band Gross annual revenue range Average Median
Bottom 30% $378,961–$1,008,889 $798,419.25 $902,913.50
Middle 30% $1,077,841–$1,201,384 $1,138,070.00 $1,136,527.50
Top 30% $1,701,580–$3,717,190 $2,374,468.75 $2,039,552.50

Source: 2026 TemperaturePro Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 36–37. The three medians are used as scenario revenue anchors; the bands are historical groupings, not probabilities or forecasts.

Revenue is not earnings

A $1.14 million median revenue figure cannot be read as salary, business profit, cash flow, or take-home pay. Technician payroll, equipment and materials, vehicles, insurance, office costs, required advertising, royalty, technology, administration, debt, and taxes sit between Gross Sales and money available to an owner.

How complete is the Item 19 sample?

The official sample covers 12 of 21 outlets, or 57.1%, and excludes newer outlets. Item 19 requires at least 12 months of operation; the middle and bottom bands also refer to outlets in good standing. The FDD says the data came from available ServiceTitan records, but it does not provide a reporting rate by band or explain the other nine outlets individually.

Item 20 adds context: franchised outlets declined from 25 at the start of 2025 to 21 at year-end, with two openings and six outlets recorded as ceasing operations for other reasons. That does not establish why any outlet closed, but it makes survivor and exclusion effects important. Item 20 also reports one company-owned outlet even though the cover says the franchisor does not offer company-owned businesses; Item 19 does not reconcile that population difference.

Scenario model

How was the owner-earnings range estimated?

The estimate starts with the three official Item 19 revenue medians, then applies a transparent industry-margin bridge and TemperaturePro-specific recurring obligations. This is a Mode C estimate for a mature reporting outlet, not a franchisor-reported profit calculation.

Owner-operator benefit = Item 19 median revenue × (IRS Specialty Trade Contractors net-income margin + IRS advertising ratio − 7% TemperaturePro percentage fees ± 3 percentage points) − required core/growth marketing.

Manager-run owner earnings = owner-operator benefit − $105,260 manager wage.
  • Revenue: $902,913.50, $1,136,527.50, and $2,039,552.50, the official bottom-, middle-, and top-band medians.
  • Industry margin: 15.7056%, calculated as 2023 IRS net income less deficit divided by business receipts for all Specialty Trade Contractors, preserving loss-making returns.
  • Advertising replacement: the IRS sector’s 0.5959% advertising ratio is added back before substituting TemperaturePro’s disclosed required marketing spend, reducing double counting.
  • Percentage fees: 6% royalty plus 1% Advertising and Marketing Fee are subtracted from Gross Sales.
  • Fixed marketing: $159,176 conservative, $127,376 base, and $95,576 upside, based on annualized Core Digital Marketing Services, Growth Advertising, the annual analytics subscription, and approximate networking dues disclosed in Item 7.
  • Margin sensitivity: the IRS-based bridge is moved down or up by three percentage points because the government benchmark is broad and not franchise-specific.
Scenario Revenue anchor Owner-operator benefit Manager-run owner earnings
Conservative $902,914 −$102,278 −$207,538
Base $1,136,528 −$21,661 −$126,921
Upside $2,039,553 $155,321 $50,061
How owner involvement changes the three scenarios

Annual pre-tax result per modeled reporting outlet; $000s. Owner-operator benefit includes the value of full-time operating labor.

TemperaturePro estimated annual owner earnings by scenario and owner role Conservative owner-operator negative 102 thousand dollars and manager-run negative 208 thousand. Base owner-operator negative 22 thousand and manager-run negative 127 thousand. Upside owner-operator 155 thousand and manager-run 50 thousand. $180K $0 −$240K −$102K −$208K Conservative −$22K −$127K Base $155K $50K Upside
Owner-operator benefit Manager-run owner earnings

Interpretation: replacing the owner’s full-time operating labor with a paid manager lowers every scenario by $105,260 before benefits and payroll taxes. Source: independent calculation using 2026 TemperaturePro FDD Items 6, 7, 15, and 19; IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics; and the BLS Top Executives wage profile.

Owner role

Can TemperaturePro be manager-run, and what does that mean for earnings?

A business entity may designate a full-time manager, but the owner cannot assume that the franchise is passive. Item 15 says an individual proprietor must directly supervise the business full time. A corporation or other entity may appoint a full-time designated manager who completes training and directly supervises operations.

The owner-operator figure is therefore labeled estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit. It combines residual business economics with the market value of labor the owner performs. The manager-run figure subtracts the BLS construction-industry median wage of $105,260 for General and Operations Managers. It does not include employer payroll taxes, health benefits, bonuses, recruiting costs, or a local wage premium, so the manager-run result may be optimistic.

  • Owner-operator benefit: modeled pre-tax benefit after operating costs and franchise obligations, before personal taxes and financing principal, with no separate salary charged for the owner’s full-time labor.
  • Manager-run owner earnings: residual after subtracting a supported manager wage; it is not guaranteed passive income.
  • Debt treatment: Item 10 says SystemForward America, LLC offers no financing. Specific acquisition debt service is not modeled. The IRS margin embeds aggregate business interest and depreciation, but not a buyer’s particular loan principal or capital-expenditure schedule.
  • Tax treatment: all estimates are pre-tax. Personal federal, state, and local taxes depend on entity form, location, deductions, and owner circumstances.
Recurring obligations

Which TemperaturePro fees have the largest earnings impact?

The most visible recurring burden is not only the 7% royalty-and-fund charge; required digital and growth marketing can be larger in dollars. Item 6 requires a 6% royalty and 1% Advertising and Marketing Fee on Gross Sales. Item 7’s detailed note implies monthly Core Digital Marketing Services of $1,599–$2,899 ($1,200–$2,500 plus $399) and Growth Advertising of $6,000–$10,000, plus a $2,388 annual analytics subscription and approximately $2,000 of annual networking dues.

The 7% percentage-fee burden at each Item 19 median

Annual 6% royalty plus 1% Advertising and Marketing Fee; derived directly from the three official revenue medians.

TemperaturePro annual royalty and advertising fund fees at Item 19 median revenues At the bottom-band median revenue the combined seven percent fees are about 63 thousand dollars. At the middle-band median they are about 80 thousand dollars. At the top-band median they are about 143 thousand dollars. $0 $150K Bottom median $63,204 Middle median $79,557 Top median $142,769 Annual royalty plus Advertising and Marketing Fee

Interpretation: percentage fees scale with revenue; they do not replace the separate required core and growth marketing spend. Source: derived calculation from 2026 TemperaturePro FDD Item 6, pp. 8–10, and Item 19, pp. 36–37.

Which disclosed costs are outside the main mature-year model?

Several official obligations remain uncertain or period-specific. The main range excludes costs that cannot be assigned a reliable annual amount without guessing, and it separates first-two-year requirements from a mature-year view.

  • ProNetwork Shared Services: $1,200 monthly for the first two years. Subtracting $14,400 would lower every modeled first- or second-year result if that cost is not already absorbed in the industry proxy.
  • Online, digital, directory, and social advertising: Item 6 lists $2,500 upon billing but does not state a dependable annual frequency; the scenario does not add it.
  • ServiceTitan and technology: use is required, but the current FDD does not provide a complete annual amount for all software and mobile-device costs.
  • Annual meeting: $500–$1,000 plus travel, lodging, and meals; omitted because travel varies.
  • Insurance, office, vehicles, technicians, materials, and ordinary overhead: treated as embedded in the broad IRS margin proxy rather than subtracted again.
Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence limited?

Confidence is LIMITED because the same-brand evidence stops at Gross annual revenue and the profit bridge relies materially on an external government benchmark. The IRS data cover all Specialty Trade Contractors, a broader category than the U.S. Census NAICS 238220 category for Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors, and sole proprietorships may be smaller or more owner-dependent than a TemperaturePro outlet.

The three Item 19 revenue bands also represent selected mature reporting outlets, not all new franchisees. Customer relationships, branding, digital acquisition, commercial accounts, sales execution, operational efficiency, and relationships within the franchisor’s systems are listed as characteristics that may differ from a new franchisee. The FDD’s statement that 100% of each band met or exceeded its own average revenue is internally unclear; this analysis does not use that statement.

What variables can move earnings beyond the modeled range?

Advertising productivity, technician economics, and the owner’s labor choice are the largest modeled drivers, while territory composition is the largest unresolved same-brand uncertainty. A reporting outlet may reflect multiple territories, so a buyer cannot assume that a one-territory startup will reproduce a band median.

  • Revenue per technician, billable hours, average ticket, callback rate, and seasonal utilization.
  • Residential versus commercial mix, maintenance-plan penetration, equipment replacement mix, and gross margin by service line.
  • Actual annual spending and return from Core Digital Marketing Services and Growth Advertising.
  • Local wages for licensed technicians, dispatch, office staff, a Senior Technician, and a full-time Operations Manager.
  • Vehicle finance, inventory, equipment replacement, insurance, office/warehouse rent, and local licensing.
  • Whether one Item 19 “outlet” represents one territory, several territories, or a portfolio with shared overhead.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should obtain the Item 19 substantiation and reconstruct a territory-specific profit-and-loss statement before treating any number as decision-ready. The FDD permits written substantiation on reasonable request, and Item 20 supplies current and former franchisee contacts for independent interviews.

  • Ask for the exact count of outlets in each top, middle, and bottom band and the reason nine of 21 outlets were excluded.
  • Ask whether the reported “outlets” are single territories, multiple territories, or multi-market portfolios, and request revenue by territory where available.
  • Request the EBITDA definition used to rank the bands, including owner compensation, manager wages, depreciation, interest, shared overhead, and related-party charges.
  • Request actual 2025–2026 cost-of-sales, technician labor, advertising, occupancy, vehicle, software, and insurance ranges for the 12 reporting outlets.
  • Clarify whether the one company-owned outlet in Item 20 is included anywhere in Item 19 and why the cover and Item 20 describe company ownership differently.
  • Interview both current and former franchisees about owner hours, manager structure, advertising spend, working capital, closures, transfers, and cash available after debt service.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible range is scenario-based, not official: approximately −$102,000 to $155,000 of annual owner-operator benefit, or −$208,000 to $50,000 of manager-run pre-tax owner earnings for the modeled mature reporting outlet. The most important earnings driver is whether revenue and gross margin can support the FDD’s substantial required marketing and staffing structure. The largest unresolved uncertainty is what one Item 19 reporting outlet represents in territories, managers, and shared overhead.

Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify the Item 19 cohort counts, excluded outlets, territory composition, underlying expense records, and written substantiation, then compare those records with candid current- and former-franchisee interviews. Personal taxes and acquisition-loan principal remain outside the estimate.