How Much Does a Style Encore Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

$50,168–$65,110 per store, before owner salary

The strongest current evidence is the 2026 Style Encore Franchise Disclosure Document, which reports 2024 median Operating Income of $50,168 and average Operating Income of $65,110 for 40 franchised stores with complete, valid profit-and-loss statements. This is the most defensible central band for annual pre-tax owner economics, but it is not after-tax take-home pay and it is not automatically passive business profit.

Mode A: Official earnings disclosure Confidence: Moderate Format: 3,000–4,000 sq. ft. retail store Periods: 2024 P&L / 2025 sales

What the headline means: “Operating Income” is the FDD’s exact term. It is defined as net income before interest, tax, depreciation, amortization, and owner salary. The 40-store cohort combines U.S. and Canadian franchised stores, and the FDD does not publish a U.S.-only Operating Income result. Actual reported Operating Income ranged from a $102,359 loss to $315,180, so the central band is a decision aid rather than a promise.

Legal franchisorWinmark Corporation
FDD dateIssued March 16, 2026
Item 19 statusDirect Operating Income disclosure
Earnings cohort40 of 63 eligible franchised stores
Ownership populationFranchised stores; no company-owned Style Encore stores
Date checkedJuly 19, 2026

Data basis: 2026 Style Encore FDD, Items 6, 15, 19 and 20, pp. 7–10, 30–31 and 36–46; the official Style Encore franchise earnings page; the Winmark 2025 Form 10-K; and the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.

Official $50,168 Median Operating Income

2024 result for the 40-store P&L cohort; half of reporting stores were above and half below this line-item median.

Official $65,110 Average Operating Income

Equal to 7.3% of average Gross Sales before interest, tax, depreciation, amortization and owner salary.

Official range −$102K to $315K Reported store-level spread

The disclosed low and high show that individual outcomes were far wider than the median-to-average central band.

Official 7.3% Average Operating Income margin

Based on average 2024 Gross Sales of $894,114 and average Operating Income of $65,110.

Derived coverage 63.5% Eligible stores represented

40 valid P&Ls divided by 63 stores operated by the same owner for the full 2024 fiscal year.

Official $83,103 Continuing fees & marketing

Average 2024 spend in the P&L cohort, equal to 9.3% of average Gross Sales.

Item 19 evidence

What does Style Encore Item 19 actually measure?

It measures store-level Operating Income, not an owner’s salary, draw, distribution or after-tax income. The official 2024 P&L table covers 40 franchised stores that submitted complete and valid statements. Its definition starts with sales, deducts cost of goods sold and operating expenses, then stops before interest, taxes, depreciation, amortization and owner salary.

The distinction matters because the same FDD also reports 2025 average Gross Sales of $959,541 and average Gross Profit of $570,465 for 62 stores. Gross Sales is revenue. Gross Profit subtracts only cost of goods sold. Neither number is owner earnings. The official franchise site publishes those revenue and gross-profit figures, but the 2024 Operating Income table is the stronger evidence for the owner-income question.

Gross Sales
Store revenue after sales tax, refunds and returns. It does not measure owner income.
Gross Profit
Gross Sales minus cost of goods sold, including freight and shrinkage. Labor, occupancy, fees, marketing and other operating costs remain to be paid.
Operating Income
Net income before interest, tax, depreciation, amortization and owner salary. This is the closest same-brand FDD measure to pre-tax owner economics.
Owner take-home pay
Not disclosed. Personal taxes, financing principal, owner draws, distributions, retained cash and capital expenditures depend on the buyer’s circumstances.
How widely did reported Operating Income vary?

The median and average sit near $50,000–$65,000, but the store-level low and high are much farther apart.

Style Encore 2024 Operating Income range Range from negative 102,359 dollars to positive 315,180 dollars, with a median of 50,168 dollars and average of 65,110 dollars. $0 −$102,359 Low $50,168 Median $65,110 Average $315,180 High

Interpretation: A reasonable central reference is the median-to-average band, but the actual disclosed spread includes both a six-figure loss and a six-figure positive result. Source: 2026 Style Encore FDD, Item 19, pp. 39–40; 40 reporting stores, fiscal 2024.

Sample limitation

Only 40 of 63 eligible stores submitted complete, valid 2024 P&Ls. Winmark states that the 40 stores represent a fair cross-section, but the non-reporting 23 stores create selection uncertainty. The FDD also combines U.S. and Canadian stores and does not identify owner-operated and manager-run results separately.

Revenue-to-income bridge

How did average store sales become $65,110 of Operating Income?

The official average P&L converts $894,114 of Gross Sales into $65,110 of Operating Income after cost of goods sold and four operating-expense groups. The bridge is official Item 19 data for fiscal 2024, not an independent margin assumption.

Where each average sales dollar went

The components reconcile to average 2024 Gross Sales, subject to the FDD’s rounding.

Average Style Encore sales allocation Gross sales of 894,114 dollars allocated to cost of goods sold, labor, facility, continuing fees and marketing, other expenses, and operating income. Average Gross Sales $894,114 COGS 42.2% Labor 23.2% Facility 10.7% Fees & marketing Other 7.3% Income 7.3% Cost of goods sold $377,615 Labor + facility $302,937 Continuing fees, marketing + other expenses $148,452 Operating Income $65,110

Interpretation: Labor is the largest operating expense after inventory cost, while continuing fees and marketing consumed 9.3% of average sales. Source: 2026 Style Encore FDD, Item 19, pp. 39–40. Percentages are the FDD’s reported percentages; dollar groups use the disclosed averages.

Does the $65,110 include every cash demand on the owner?

No. The official Operating Income definition excludes interest, taxes, depreciation, amortization and owner salary. Financing principal payments are also not an operating expense in this measure. Capital expenditures, remodels, working-capital changes and owner distributions are not separately disclosed in Item 19. Winmark does not offer or guarantee financing, so debt service must be modeled from the buyer’s actual loan terms rather than assumed from the FDD.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the earnings interpretation?

For a first store, Style Encore is principally an owner-operator model, so the disclosed Operating Income should not be treated as passive income. Item 15 requires an individual franchisee to be the on-site owner/operator and personally manage the store unless Winmark gives prior consent to delegate. The official Winmark franchise FAQ likewise states that an owner-operator must be in the business.

Item 19 creates a second complication: Labor includes hourly payroll, salaried payroll and payroll taxes, but owner salary was excluded if reported. Consequently, an actively managed store’s Operating Income may contain both residual business profit and compensation for the owner’s labor. A manager-run owner must confirm that a full market manager cost is already included in the store’s labor line before treating the remaining Operating Income as owner cash flow.

Owner-operator effect

Estimated owner-operator benefit is not the same as pure business profit. If the owner performs work that would otherwise require a salaried manager, part of the economic benefit compensates the owner for that work. The FDD does not separate owner-operated stores from manager-run stores, so no reliable dollar adjustment can be published without store-specific payroll and role data.

Owner-operated first store
The central $50,168–$65,110 band may blend residual operating profit with the value of owner labor because owner salary is excluded.
Manager-run store
Residual owner earnings are meaningful only after a complete manager salary, payroll taxes and related employment costs are included in Labor. Delegation also requires Winmark consent for an individual first-store owner.
Additional stores
Item 15 permits management duties for additional stores to be delegated to trained managers. Per-unit results should not be multiplied mechanically because manager structure, shared overhead, ramp-up and store maturity differ.
Recurring obligations

Which franchise fees materially affect annual owner earnings?

The recurring fee structure is already reflected in the Item 19 P&L cohort’s “Continuing Fees & Marketing” line, which averaged $83,103, or 9.3% of sales. For a new store, Item 6 separately requires a 5% Continuing Fee, at least 5% of Gross Sales for cooperative and local marketing combined, a $1,500 annual Marketing Fee, and a $295 monthly Software Fee beginning on the later of the first month after opening or September 1, 2026.

The minimum marketing requirement may rise to 6% of Gross Sales with notice, including up to 3% paid into a North American Ad Fund. A technology fee was $0 at issuance, but Winmark reserved the right to establish one, estimated at $500–$2,500 per store annually. These obligations should not be subtracted again from the official Operating Income figures, because the P&L line already reflects reporting stores’ actual continuing fees and marketing spend.

No double counting

The 7.3% official Operating Income margin is after the cohort’s reported continuing fees and marketing expense. Subtracting the 5% Continuing Fee and marketing requirement again would understate the disclosed result.

Uncertainty

How much confidence should a U.S. buyer place in the $50,168–$65,110 band?

Use the band as a moderate-confidence central reference, not as a forecast. It is based on a current same-brand FDD and a direct earnings measure, which is stronger than a generic retail margin. Confidence is reduced because the operating-income data are one year older than the 2025 sales disclosure, only 40 of 63 eligible stores reported valid P&Ls, the population combines U.S. and Canadian stores, and owner roles are not separated.

Item 20 adds useful context. Style Encore ended 2025 with 67 franchised stores systemwide, including 51 in the United States and 16 in Canada, and no company-owned stores. During 2025 the system opened two stores and recorded four terminations, ending with two fewer stores than it began. The Winmark 2025 Form 10-K also confirms that Winmark did not own or operate corporate stores, so there is no company-operated Style Encore profit benchmark to compare with franchised stores.

  • Location economics: verify rent, common-area maintenance, utilities and local wage rates against the Item 19 facility and labor averages.
  • Owner labor: identify the weekly hours and functions the owner will perform, then separate labor compensation from residual business profit.
  • Inventory productivity: test buying discipline, shrinkage and gross-profit percentage; average Gross Profit was 57.8% in the 2024 P&L cohort and 59.45% in the broader 2025 sales cohort.
  • Financing: model interest and principal separately because neither is fully captured by the headline owner-earnings band.
  • Capital needs: reserve for remodels, equipment replacement and working-capital swings rather than treating all Operating Income as distributable cash.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on the earnings evidence?

Ask for written Item 19 substantiation and test the exact operating model planned for the proposed U.S. store. The FTC explains that an Item 19 claim must have a reasonable basis and that prospective buyers may request written substantiation. The official FDD also lists current and former franchisees who can clarify payroll, owner hours, rent, inventory turns, financing and cash distributions.

  • Request the store-by-store substantiation behind the 40-store 2024 P&L table and ask why 23 eligible stores did not submit valid statements.
  • Ask how many reporting stores were actively owner-operated, manager-run or multi-unit locations, and how owner salary was recorded.
  • Compare the target site’s rent, payroll and marketing plan with the disclosed averages rather than applying the 7.3% margin mechanically.
  • Interview both current and former U.S. franchisees, including stores near the proposed sales volume and maturity level.
  • Reconcile operating profit to actual owner cash: subtract interest, debt principal, capital expenditures, taxes and retained working capital separately.
Decision-useful synthesis

The strongest defensible annual owner-earnings reference is $50,168–$65,110 per store, based on official 2024 median and average Operating Income in the 2026 FDD. The most important earnings driver is the combination of sales volume, gross-profit discipline and labor cost. The largest unresolved uncertainty is owner labor: owner salary is excluded, while the FDD does not separate owner-operated from manager-run stores. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, store-specific payroll and occupancy, and actual owner distributions in franchisee interviews before translating Operating Income into personal income.