How Much Does a Sonic Drive-In Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
About $10,000–$156,000 per unit

For a franchised Sonic Traditional Restaurant with delegated day-to-day management, the strongest defensible range is an independent pre-tax scenario estimate, not an official Sonic profit disclosure. An owner who fully performs one paid food-service manager role could instead receive about $73,000–$219,000 in estimated owner-operator benefit; the added amount compensates the owner for labor and is not passive business profit.

Evidence mode: C — FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: LIMITED Population: 2025 franchised Traditional Restaurants Definition: pre-tax, before financing principal
Independent estimate

This estimate is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Sonic Franchising LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with the National Restaurant Association’s limited-service restaurant margin benchmark and an explicit sensitivity band. Actual results can differ materially because of location, format, Gross Sales, food cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Sonic Franchising LLC, the Delaware limited liability company identified in the 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document.
FDD and period
Issued March 26, 2026. Item 19 reports 2025 fiscal-year Annual Unit Volume from December 30, 2024 through December 28, 2025.
Item 19 evidence
Gross Sales, expressed as Annual Unit Volume, for 3,057 franchised Traditional Restaurants. Item 19 does not disclose costs, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or Cash Flow.
Formats
2,988 Free-Standing and Urban Storefront restaurants and 69 Gas/C-Store restaurants. Non-Traditional Locations and company-operated restaurants are outside the Item 19 population.
External benchmarks
The National Restaurant Association’s 2025 Restaurant Operations Data Abstract analysis and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics food-service-manager wage profile.
Date checked
July 18, 2026. The official U.S. Sonic franchise page identifies the current FDD issuance date and current franchise formats.
Item 19 evidence

What does Sonic’s Item 19 actually tell a buyer?

The official answer is that Item 19 discloses 2025 Annual Unit Volume, which Sonic defines as Gross Sales, for 3,057 franchised Traditional Restaurants. It does not disclose owner earnings. The all-restaurant median AUV was $1,465,090 and the average AUV was $1,552,145 for the fiscal year ended December 28, 2025.

Gross Sales is revenue before food, payroll, occupancy, royalty, advertising, technology, repairs, insurance, depreciation, interest, taxes, and other expenses. Sonic expressly states that its AUV figures do not reflect the costs needed to calculate Net Income or profit. Source: Sonic Franchising LLC, 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 63–66.

Official
$1.465M

Median Annual Unit Volume

All 3,057 reporting franchised Traditional Restaurants in 2025.

Official
3,057

Item 19 restaurants

Full-year franchised Traditional Restaurant reporting population.

Derived from FDD
9.15%

Standard percentage fees

5% royalty, 0.90% Brand Fund, and 3.25% minimum advertising for the principal traditional formats.

Benchmark
4.0%

Limited-service pre-tax margin

2024 median income before taxes in the National Restaurant Association sample.

Benchmark
$63,040

Manager labor value

May 2024 median annual wage for food-service managers in food services and drinking places.

Revenue is not earnings

A $1.465 million median AUV does not mean the owner receives $1.465 million. The decision-relevant number is what remains after normal unit-level expenses and recurring franchise obligations. Sonic does not publish that remainder in Item 19.

2025 Item 19 population Restaurants Median AUV Average AUV
All franchised Traditional Restaurants 3,057 $1,465,090 $1,552,145
Free-Standing and Urban Storefront 2,988 $1,472,566 $1,562,839
Gas/C-Store 69 $1,049,767 $1,089,017

The two venue groups are not interchangeable. The owner-earnings scenarios below use Sonic’s all-restaurant quartile medians as broad system revenue anchors; they should not be treated as a forecast for a specific Gas/C-Store, Non-Traditional Location, new restaurant, or acquired restaurant.

Scenario model

What annual owner earnings do the scenarios produce?

The estimated manager-run result is approximately $9,600 in the Conservative scenario, $58,600 in the Base scenario, and $156,000 in the Upside scenario. These are independent 2025-revenue scenarios for one franchised Traditional Restaurant, using a 2024 limited-service restaurant margin benchmark; they are not Sonic-reported profit figures and are not probabilities.

How were the three scenarios built?

The calculation is derived from official Sonic revenue observations and a separately sourced margin sensitivity. Conservative revenue uses the fourth-quartile median AUV, Base uses the all-restaurant median AUV, and Upside uses the first-quartile median AUV. The margin assumptions are 1%, 4%, and 7%, which apply the permitted minus-three and plus-three percentage-point sensitivity around the National Restaurant Association’s 4.0% median income-before-taxes benchmark for limited-service respondents in 2024.

Scenario Revenue anchor Margin assumption Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Conservative Fourth-quartile median AUV: $958,893 1.0% $9,600
Base All-restaurant median AUV: $1,465,090 4.0% $58,600
Upside First-quartile median AUV: $2,228,716 7.0% $156,000

Estimated manager-run owner earnings by scenario

Pre-tax residual business-income proxy per unit; rounded to the nearest $100.

Estimated annual manager-run owner earnings for Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios Conservative estimated owner earnings are 9,600 dollars, Base is 58,600 dollars, and Upside is 156,000 dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $9,600 $58,600 $156,000 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: Sales position and operating margin compound each other. The Base figure is a central analytical example, not the “most likely” outcome. Sources: Sonic Franchising LLC, 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 63–66; National Restaurant Association limited-service margin analysis.

What is included in “estimated pre-tax owner earnings”?

The estimated measure is an independent pre-tax business-income proxy for one unit after normal operating expenses and recurring franchise fees, but before personal income taxes and financing principal. The public benchmark does not provide enough detail to normalize interest, depreciation, and owner-compensation classification across every respondent, so those treatments remain uncertain.

Included conceptually
Food and beverage cost, payroll and benefits, a normal paid-manager cost in the manager-run case, occupancy, utilities, insurance, repairs, marketing, and recurring franchise obligations.
Not subtracted again
Sonic’s royalty and advertising charges are not deducted a second time after applying the all-in 1%, 4%, or 7% margin. Doing so could double count expenses.
Excluded
Personal income taxes, financing principal, distributions among multiple owners, capital expenditures, remodel reserves, and portfolio-level overhead.
Uncertain treatment
Interest expense, depreciation, and owner compensation within the external restaurant survey. This is a major reason the evidence confidence is LIMITED.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

The official FDD requires the franchisee or approved Principal to personally participate, devote best efforts, and devote sufficient time to management; a Sonic franchise is therefore not presented as a passive ownership model. The estimated owner-operator benefit rises by about $63,040 per year only when the owner fully replaces one paid food-service manager role, using the May 2024 BLS median for food-service managers in food services and drinking places.

Item 15 also requires at least one trained full-time individual at the restaurant and direct on-premises supervision by Management Personnel. An owner performing the general-manager function may satisfy part of that operating structure, but the owner cannot assume every supervisory or shift-management cost disappears. Source: Sonic Franchising LLC, 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 57–58.

Manager-run residual versus owner-operator benefit

The distance between each pair is the $63,040 market value of one manager role.

Manager-run residual business income Owner-operator benefit, including labor value
Comparison of manager-run residual income and owner-operator benefit Conservative manager-run residual is 9,600 dollars and owner-operator benefit is 72,600 dollars. Base is 58,600 dollars versus 121,600 dollars. Upside is 156,000 dollars versus 219,100 dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k Conservative Base Upside $9,600 $72,600 $58,600 $121,600 $156,000 $219,100

Interpretation: The owner-operator figures combine residual business income with the market value of labor performed by the owner. They are not pure profit and should not be compared directly with passive investment income. Source for labor value: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Food Service Managers.

Owner-operator effect

Owner involvement changes cash retained mainly by replacing payroll, not by creating additional restaurant profit. The model assumes the owner can fully replace one manager without reducing service, controls, training, or sales. That assumption must be tested with the specific operating plan and existing Sonic franchisees.

Recurring obligations

How much do recurring Sonic fees affect the earnings model?

The derived standard percentage burden for a Free-Standing or Urban Storefront restaurant is at least 9.15% of Gross Sales: 5% royalty, 0.90% Sonic Brand Fund contribution, and 3.25% minimum advertising cooperative or System Marketing Fund contribution. At the 2025 Free-Standing and Urban Storefront median AUV of $1,472,566, those percentage obligations equal about $134,740 per year before the separate payment-services charge and any higher cooperative assessment.

Recurring obligation FDD amount Annualized at $1,472,566 AUV Model treatment
Royalty fee 5.00% $73,628 Normal operating expense
Brand fee / Sonic Brand Fund 0.90% $13,253 Normal operating expense
Minimum advertising contribution 3.25% $47,858 Normal operating expense; may be higher
Inspire Payment Services $365–$565 monthly $4,380–$6,780 Additional fixed recurring service cost

These calculations are derived from the 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 23–29. They are shown to make the franchise burden visible, but they are not deducted again from the scenario earnings because the 1%, 4%, and 7% margins are applied as all-in income-before-tax proxies. Gas/C-Store and Non-Traditional formats have a 1.625% minimum advertising rate rather than 3.25%, so this fee illustration should not be transferred to those formats without adjustment.

Item 7’s $1,485,200–$2,522,900 initial investment range for a Traditional free-standing restaurant is not an annual operating expense and is not subtracted from one year of Gross Sales. Capital spending, financing principal, and future remodel requirements must be evaluated separately.

Evidence limits

Why is the evidence confidence LIMITED?

The answer is uncertain because Sonic’s 2026 Item 19 provides strong same-brand revenue evidence but no same-brand expense or profit data. The owner-earnings range therefore relies materially on a 2024 limited-service industry margin and editorial sensitivity assumptions rather than Sonic restaurant income statements.

What does Item 20 add to the interpretation?

The official 2025 outlet tables show that the franchised restaurant count fell from 3,144 to 3,120, while 32 restaurants opened or were purchased from the franchisor, two were terminated, 54 ceased operations for other reasons, and 100 transferred to new owners. Item 19 excluded the 56 franchised restaurants that closed during 2025, so its sales distribution is not a closed-unit-inclusive view of every restaurant that operated during the year.

Sample limitation

The 3,057-outlet Item 19 cohort is broad, but it excludes new partial-year restaurants, closed restaurants, Non-Traditional Locations, a Multi-Brand Location, certain long interruptions, and company-operated restaurants. A buyer should not interpret the quartile medians as the probability distribution for a new site.

  • Margin comparability: the National Restaurant Association benchmark covers more than 900 restaurant operators nationwide and reports a 4.0% median income-before-taxes margin for limited-service respondents in 2024. It is not Sonic-specific and is not a franchise-only sample.
  • Median line items are not additive: the Association separately reports median limited-service food cost of 32.4% and labor cost of 31.7%, but medians from different respondents cannot be assembled into a precise Sonic profit-and-loss statement.
  • Location and format: occupancy costs vary materially by urban, suburban, and small-community location. The Association’s 2024 occupancy analysis reported limited-service medians ranging from 3.2% in small communities or rural areas to 6.0% in urban areas.
  • Labor execution: the limited-service labor analysis reported a 31.7% median labor ratio, with profitable and loss-making respondents showing materially different labor burdens.
  • Financing: debt principal is outside the earnings definition. Interest treatment cannot be normalized from the public benchmark, and Item 10 states that Sonic and its affiliates do not offer financing.
  • Taxes and distributions: no after-tax take-home estimate is published. Entity structure, state and local taxes, owner basis, deductions, and distribution policy can materially change personal cash received.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?

The range remains uncertain until a buyer obtains same-format, same-market operating evidence. The strongest next step is to reconcile Sonic’s official Item 19 substantiation with actual profit-and-loss statements from comparable current and former franchisees, while keeping owner labor, debt service, capital spending, and personal taxes separate.

  • Request the written substantiation supporting the 2025 Item 19 AUV tables, including data definitions, restaurant-level distribution, and any amendments.
  • Ask Free-Standing or Urban Storefront franchisees with similar sales for food cost, hourly labor, management payroll, occupancy, utilities, repairs, insurance, technology, local advertising, and pre-tax income.
  • Interview operators below and above the $1,465,090 median AUV to identify which operating ratios move most as sales change.
  • Confirm whether the planned owner role satisfies Item 15 and exactly which paid management positions remain necessary for all operating hours.
  • Separate recurring operating expenses from initial investment, remodel capital, equipment replacement, loan principal, interest, and owner distributions.
  • Review Item 20 contacts for current, transferred, closed, and former franchisees rather than interviewing only high-performing operators supplied by a seller.
  • Use the FTC guide to evaluating Item 19 earnings claims: verify the population, geography, assumptions, exclusions, and written substantiation.
Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful takeaway?

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $10,000–$156,000 in estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per franchised Traditional Restaurant, or approximately $73,000–$219,000 in owner-operator benefit when the owner fully replaces one $63,040 manager role. Both ranges are scenario-based, not official Sonic earnings disclosures.

The largest earnings driver is the combination of Gross Sales and labor control: Sonic’s disclosed quartile medians range from $958,893 to $2,228,716, while limited-service labor ratios differ materially between profitable and loss-making operations. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand restaurant expense and profit data in Item 19. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain same-format profit-and-loss evidence, and test the manager structure through franchisee interviews.