For one leased Snap-on mobile-store route, this is a defensible scenario span for estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit before financing payments. The base scenario is about $116,000. If a paid Store Manager replaces the owner's day-to-day route labor, the same model produces approximately -$60,000 to $133,000 in manager-run residual earnings, with a base near $24,000.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Snap-on Tools Company LLC. It combines current FDD facts with separately identified benchmark and editorial assumptions. Actual results can differ materially with route quality, product mix, selling prices, sales tax, labor, van and insurance costs, credit losses, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Snap-on Tools Company LLC. FDD: issued February 13, 2026. Item 19: 2025 Paid Sales for 2,802 full-year reporting franchises in the United States and Puerto Rico; the FDD does not disclose operating profit, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow. Format: mobile store serving a route or List of Calls. Benchmarks: 2025 BLS wage data, March 2026 BLS employer-cost data, and 2023 Census AIES data for NAICS 454390. Checked: July 18, 2026.
What does Snap-on's current FDD actually report?
The official disclosure reports Paid Sales, not owner earnings. For 2025, Snap-on divided 2,802 full-year reporting franchises into three equal groups of 934 and disclosed average, median, highest, and lowest Paid Sales. Paid Sales should approximate revenue, but it can omit outside-source product sales and trade-in value, while including sales tax to the extent reported.
The median is the cleaner central observation for this analysis because it is less sensitive than the average to unusually high or low routes. The model uses the bottom-, middle-, and top-third medians as three evidence-anchored revenue cases; those thirds are performance bands, not probabilities.
Each band contains 934 full-year reporting franchises. Values are route-level Paid Sales, not per-owner income.
Interpretation: sales dispersion is substantial before any cost differences are considered. A buyer should not translate the top-third bar into salary or take-home pay.
Source: Snap-on Tools Company LLC 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 57–59. Figures cover the United States and Puerto Rico and were reported by franchisees.
| 2025 reporting band | Franchises | Average Paid Sales | Median Paid Sales |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bottom third | 934 | $484,542 | $502,249 |
| Middle third | 934 | $761,425 | $756,291 |
| Top third | 934 | $1,143,457 | $1,072,587 |
The 32.19% figure is the average 2025 discount from suggested prices on products purchased from Snap-on. The FDD says it is only a guide to gross profit because actual selling prices, product mix, outside purchases, and extra discounts vary. It does not represent operating margin, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation.
How is the annual owner-earnings estimate calculated?
The estimate starts with Item 19 median Paid Sales and follows the structure of the FDD's Appendix M worksheet. It deducts a sales-tax reserve, applies the 32.19% gross-profit guide, then subtracts disclosed route costs and a labeled allowance for operating expenses the FDD identifies but does not quantify annually.
- Revenue anchors — official: $502,248.56, $756,290.69, and $1,072,587.48, the Item 19 bottom-, middle-, and top-third medians.
- Sales-tax reserve — scenario: 6% of Paid Sales because Item 19 may include tax but does not disclose the amount by route. This is not a reported system rate.
- Gross-profit guide — official: 32.19%, subject to the FDD's suggested-price and average-product-mix assumptions.
- Other route overhead — scenario: 9%, 7%, and 5% of tax-adjusted sales for fuel, communications, sales materials, bank and card fees, professional fees, travel, bad debt, and other unquantified Appendix M categories.
- Leased-van costs — official: $37,968–$46,764 annually including the disclosed maintenance fee; scenarios use the high, midpoint, and low amounts.
- Insurance — official: $7,397–$27,366 annually; scenarios use the high, midpoint, and low amounts.
- Labor structure — scenario: the owner-operator case assumes the owner performs the day-to-day route work with no paid assistant. The manager-run case includes one Store Manager and no assistant; it does not price the owner's continuing supervision time.
- Excluded: financing payments, depreciation, capital expenditures, owner health insurance, personal income taxes, and after-tax take-home pay.
| Calculation component | Conservative | Base | Upside |
|---|---|---|---|
| Item 19 median Paid Sales anchor | $502,249 | $756,291 | $1,072,587 |
| After 6% sales-tax reserve | $472,114 | $710,913 | $1,008,232 |
| 32.19% gross-profit guide | $151,973 | $228,843 | $324,550 |
| Other route overhead assumption | -$42,490 | -$49,764 | -$50,412 |
| License/software, van, insurance | -$77,130 | -$62,748 | -$48,365 |
| Owner-operator benefit | $32,353 | $116,332 | $225,773 |
| Manager-run residual earnings | -$60,202 | $23,777 | $133,219 |
Rounding occurs only after calculations. The scenario names describe analytical cases, not forecast probabilities or guaranteed outcomes.
How much does active owner involvement change the result?
In this model, active operation changes annual owner benefit by about $92,555 because the owner replaces a market-priced Store Manager. That amount is labor value, not passive business profit. Item 15 requires the owner to supervise the business and devote necessary attention and effort; for an Additional Franchise, a Store Manager is required for the added or existing route.
Pre-tax, before financing payments. Owner-operator benefit includes the value of work performed by the owner.
Interpretation: a manager-run route needs substantially more gross profit to preserve owner earnings. The gap is compensation for labor the owner would otherwise perform.
Sources: scenario calculations from the 2026 FDD; the BLS 2025 motor vehicle and parts dealer wage table for the $70,910 mean supervisor wage; and the March 2026 BLS retail compensation table for $26.64 of total compensation per $20.41 of wages.
Does Item 19 prove that employees increase earnings?
No. It shows an association with higher Paid Sales, not higher profit or causation. In the middle third, the employee-reporting median was $856,213 versus $710,424 for routes not reporting an employee, a $145,789 gap. Applying the model's 6% tax reserve and the 32.19% guide produces only about $44,114 of incremental gross profit before employee cost. Item 19 defines “employee” as any employee reported for any period, does not identify Store Managers, and does not control for route quality, tenure, hours, or owner skill.
Do not describe the $92,555 labor component as passive profit. It compensates the owner for route service, selling, collections, inventory management, administration, and supervision. A prospective owner should compare that workload with an alternative salary and with the residual business profit after hiring competent coverage.
Which recurring obligations can move cash available to the owner?
The largest modeled operating costs are product cost, the mobile store, insurance, route overhead, and labor—not the $250 monthly license/software charge. Item 6 also lists weekly remittances for products and services, but those are purchase payments rather than a percentage royalty; product cost is represented through the 32.19% gross-profit guide.
- Included in operating result
- Product cost through the gross-profit guide; license and software fees; leased-van payment and maintenance; insurance; scenario allowance for fuel, communications, card fees, materials, professional costs, travel, and bad debt; Store Manager employer cost in the manager-run case.
- Excluded from operating result
- Franchise Finance Program and RA loan payments, because scheduled payments combine interest and principal; depreciation; capital expenditures; personal income tax; owner health insurance; and owner-specific entity expenses.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Residual operating cash before financing and taxes plus the market value of management labor performed by the owner. It is not pure passive business profit.
- Manager-run earnings
- Residual operating result after a normal manager compensation proxy, before financing, taxes, depreciation, and capital expenditures.
How much can disclosed financing reduce annual cash?
A fully financed buyer can face tens of thousands of dollars in annual scheduled payments beyond operating expenses. The following annualized amounts are cash-flow sensitivities, not profit expenses, and actual borrowing can be lower, higher, or absent.
| FDD financing payment | Monthly range | Annualized range |
|---|---|---|
| First Franchise Finance Program option, after initial 90 days | $1,702–$1,923 | $20,424–$23,076 |
| RA Loan payment | $1,093–$1,221 | $13,116–$14,652 |
| Illustrative combined scheduled cash requirement | — | $33,540–$37,728 |
Applied to the base scenario, that combined payment would reduce pre-tax cash from approximately $116,332 to $78,604–$82,792 for an owner-operator, or from $23,777 to between -$13,951 and -$9,763 for a manager-run route. This is not a universal financing forecast: Item 10 terms depend on amount borrowed, rate, credit history, route type, and timing.
Why is the confidence rating limited?
Confidence is LIMITED because the same-brand FDD stops at Paid Sales and a gross-profit guide. The most consequential operating-expense categories are not disclosed as system averages, and the model therefore cannot reproduce an official profit figure.
- Reporting selection: Item 19 excludes franchises that did not operate all 12 months of 2025 or did not submit complete Paid Sales. It also excludes Independents and employee-operated company routes.
- Unverified reports: Snap-on states that franchisee-reported Paid Sales were not independently verified and may not follow generally accepted accounting principles.
- Geographic combination: the disclosure combines the United States and Puerto Rico rather than isolating a U.S.-only distribution.
- Sales-tax uncertainty: Paid Sales includes sales tax to the extent reported, but the FDD does not provide a route-level or system-wide tax amount.
- Gross-profit uncertainty: the 32.19% guide assumes suggested-price selling and an average mix of Snap-on products; actual discounts, outside purchases, and trade-ins differ.
- Expense uncertainty: fuel, merchant fees, bad debt, communications, sales materials, professional fees, travel, and employee structure are not disclosed as system averages.
- System movement: Item 20 shows franchised outlets declining from 3,201 to 3,159 during 2025. Item 19 also reports 232 franchises ceased and 141 transferred during the year; the Item 20 franchised count includes 29 Independents.
How do government benchmarks affect the estimate?
They provide a reasonableness check, not a Snap-on margin. The 2023 Census Annual Integrated Economic Survey table for NAICS 454390 reports $4.687 billion of payroll on $27.990 billion of sales for employer firms in Other Direct Selling Establishments—a derived payroll ratio of about 16.7%. That category includes heterogeneous direct-selling businesses and reports at the company level, so the ratio is not applied directly to a Snap-on route. The base Store Manager proxy is about 13.0% of tax-adjusted base sales before any assistant payroll, illustrating why labor structure can dominate manager-run economics.
Item 19's 2,802 franchises represent about 79.3% of the 3,532 franchises that operated during any part of 2025, but that percentage is not a success rate. Partial-year and incomplete reporters are excluded, and one owner operating multiple routes contributes multiple “franchises” to the tables.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
Verify the route-specific revenue bridge and every expense the FDD does not quantify. The FTC's franchise buyer guide advises buyers to study the source, assumptions, population, and limitations of Item 19 and to request written substantiation for financial performance representations.
- Request Item 19 substantiation and reconcile the target route's weekly Paid Sales to sales tax, outside-source products, trade-ins, discounts, and customer-credit activity.
- Interview current and former franchisees from Item 20 about fuel, insurance, merchant fees, bad debt, warranty work, inventory shrinkage, route miles, hours, and owner draws.
- Separate one-route performance from per-owner economics when a franchisee operates multiple routes or uses shared staff and overhead.
- Obtain written quotes for the actual van, maintenance program, insurance, payroll, workers' compensation, and benefits in the buyer's market.
- Build a loan schedule that separates interest from principal and tests lower sales during ramp-up; do not treat the Item 7 startup investment as a one-year expense.
- Confirm whether the intended role is owner-operated, manager-run, or multi-unit managing owner, and price the owner's actual weekly labor accordingly.
What is the strongest defensible earnings view?
For underwriting, use approximately $32,000–$226,000 as an estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit span, with a base near $116,000, for one leased mobile-store route before financing payments. Treat approximately -$60,000 to $133,000, with a base near $24,000, as the corresponding manager-run residual range. These are scenario results, not official earnings disclosed by Snap-on.
The most important driver is the combination of Paid Sales and the actual gross profit retained after product mix and pricing. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the route-specific operating-cost structure—especially bad debt, vehicle and insurance costs, unreported sales tax, and labor. Before purchasing, compare the target route's records with Item 19 substantiation and with detailed interviews of current and former franchisees, then rebuild the model using written local quotes and the buyer's actual financing schedule.