How much does a Snap-on franchise cost?
Snap-on Tools Company LLC estimates that opening a U.S. Snap-on mobile-store franchise requires a total initial investment of $223,439 to $509,283. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document uses one Item 7 range for the mobile-store model, with specific adjustments for a new franchise, transfer transaction, additional unit, or renewal transaction rather than separate brick-and-mortar formats.
The franchisor’s current U.S. franchise investment information publishes the same total range and separately states that out-of-pocket start-up expenses using Snap-on Credit financing may range from $20,778 to $82,943. That lower cash range depends on approval, financing structure, van choice, route circumstances, and the required operating cushion.
- Legal franchisor
- Snap-on Tools Company LLC
- Parent company
- Snap-on Incorporated
- FDD basis
- Issued February 13, 2026; no public official-franchisor FDD copy was located
- Offer analyzed
- U.S. Snap-on mobile store; new, Transfer, Additional, and Renewal Franchise circumstances
- Cost Items used
- Items 5, 6, and 7; cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11, and 17
- FDD pages
- Item 5, pp. 7–8; Item 6, pp. 8–14; Item 7, pp. 14–20; Item 10, pp. 25–35; Item 11, pp. 35–40; Item 17, pp. 48–56
- Information checked
- July 18, 2026
What are the key capital figures?
For the 2026 U.S. mobile-store offer, the most useful figures separate the full investment from financed cash outlay, initial fees, inventory, working capital, and fixed monthly system charges.
Source: 2026 Snap-on Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pp. 14–20. Values are official ranges, not midpoints or buyer-specific estimates.
The $20,778 minimum is not a $20,778 franchise price. It is an estimated out-of-pocket amount under a qualified financing structure. The business still carries the financed opening charges, vehicle obligations, possible Revolving Account financing, and other costs represented in the $223,439 to $509,283 total range.
What does the total initial investment include?
The investment table is dominated by opening stock and the vehicle, but its upper end also allows up to $85,000 for acquiring or developing customer-account balances and up to $38,461 for the first three months of operating expenses. Real Estate is listed at $0 because this is a mobile-store model, although local parking rules can still create an off-site parking expense.
Which payments go to Snap-on before opening?
For the 2026 U.S. mobile-store offer, the initial-fee disclosure states that $151,500 to $173,500 in initial charges must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate before opening for the license, opening stock, and software. The exact combination changes for a transfer, an added unit, or a renewal.
| Cost category | 2026 Item 7 range | When paid | Cost meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial License Fee | $8,000–$16,000 | Upon signing | The base new-franchise amount is $16,000; the lower amounts apply to stated transaction types. |
| Initial Inventory | $140,000–$154,000 | When invoiced | Starting inventory with suggested retail price of approximately $208,000–$230,000. |
| Supplies | $0–$600 | When invoiced | The turnkey office supply package is included in the Initial License Fee except for a Renewal Franchise. |
| Software License Fee | $3,500 | Before operation | One-time license for the proprietary Snap-on Chrome software; not applicable to a Renewal Franchise. |
Source: 2026 Snap-on FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–8 and Item 7, pp. 14–20.
What mobile-store and vehicle costs are included?
For the 2026 U.S. mobile-store offer, the vehicle range covers purchasing or leasing a fully equipped mobile store. A buyer using in-house franchise financing generally must lease a qualifying vehicle through the finance affiliate unless the stated waiver conditions apply.
| Cost category | 2026 Item 7 range | When paid | Cost driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electronic Signature Pad | $0–$270 | As agreed | May be unnecessary when leasing the compatible All-In-One Device. |
| Van | $65,000–$198,000 | As agreed | New or approved used Program Van; purchase and lease structures differ. |
| Van Insurance, first 3 months | $990–$5,982 | As agreed | Driving history and List of Calls location can change the premium. |
| Van Delivery Charge | $200–$4,900 | Before operation | Continental U.S. estimate; Alaska and Hawaii may exceed the range. |
| Vehicle License | $200–$2,400 | As agreed | First-year state licensing estimate. |
| Other Equipment, Fixtures, and Expenses | $150–$170 | As ordered | Miscellaneous and optional operating items. |
Source: 2026 Snap-on FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–20. The official mobile-store franchise overview confirms that the offered business is a franchised mobile store rather than a fixed retail unit.
Which route and working-capital items create the widest variation?
For the 2026 U.S. mobile-store offer, customer-account funding and the three-month operating cushion explain a substantial part of the range. The disclosure also lists Real Estate at $0, but warns that local restrictions on home parking can require separately negotiated parking or leased space.
| Cost category | 2026 Item 7 range | When paid | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Estate | $0 | Not applicable in the table | Off-site van parking or home-office needs may still create a local cost. |
| Acquisition / Development of Revolving Accounts | $0–$85,000 | Before operation | Depends on route circumstances, customer account balances, and financing. |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $5,399–$38,461 | As incurred | Includes listed start-up operating expenses, but excludes owner draw and employee compensation. |
| Estimated Total Initial Franchise Expense | $223,439–$509,283 | Multiple payment dates | Official Item 7 total; do not add the down payment again. |
Source: 2026 Snap-on FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–20.
The typical $25,000 in-house down payment is a funding source within the transaction, not another cost to add on top of $223,439 to $509,283. The $100 to $250 documentation charge appears only in the out-of-pocket financing column and is not an extra component of the total-investment column.
How do new, transfer, additional, and renewal franchises change the cost?
The system has one mobile-store cost structure, but the initial-fee terms change the license, included equipment, training, stock requirement, and financing eligibility according to the transaction type. A transfer can also include negotiated business assets and customer accounts that a simple fee comparison does not capture.
The four cost paths inside one mobile-store model
The labels below are contractual circumstances, not separate retail formats. Each one changes what is paid to Snap-on and what may need to be acquired from a predecessor franchisee.
| Transaction or incentive | Disclosed amount | What changes | FDD basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| New franchise | $16,000 | Includes initial training, technology package, and turnkey office supplies. | Item 5, pp. 7–8 |
| Additional Franchise | $10,000 | Includes employee training, technology package, and turnkey office supplies. | Item 5, pp. 7–8 |
| Renewal Franchise | $8,000 | Excludes initial training, technology package, and office supplies; five-year term. | Item 5, pp. 7–8; Item 17, pp. 48–56 |
| Transfer Franchise | $16,000 | Transfer fee unless the seller’s agreement states another amount; includes training and technology package. | Item 5, pp. 7–8; Item 6, pp. 8–14 |
| Veterans Discount | $25,000 | Inventory at franchisee cost provided without charge for a qualifying first franchise. | Item 5, p. 8 |
| Employee Discount | $20,000 | Inventory at franchisee cost provided without charge for a qualifying current employee’s first franchise. | Item 5, p. 8 |
Inventory incentives for an added unit, employee, or Unassociated Dealer may have a three-year operating condition. If the franchise terminates or the van stops operating during that period for a reason other than an approved transfer, the full original discount can become immediately due. The official Snap-on investment page also describes the $25,000 veteran inventory incentive and explains that Snap-on Credit may consider it as equity when assessing a down payment.
A Transfer Franchise may require more than the $16,000 transfer fee. The buyer and seller may negotiate the mobile store, opening stock, other assets, and Revolving Accounts, while Snap-on Credit may require a higher down payment when financing assets above standard amounts. Snap-on’s official transfer information explains the review, asset valuation, and financing context.
When is the money paid?
Snap-on costs are paid across several milestones rather than in one closing payment. The most important timing distinction is between the license fee at signing, inventory and software before operation, financing and van documents, and the operating cushion during the first three months.
The FDD says the period from signing the franchise contract to beginning operation typically runs from two to thirteen weeks. The exact interval depends on financing, obtaining and equipping the mobile store, opening inventory, and training. Snap-on’s official discovery information identifies financing, proof of funds, licensing, insurance, and vehicle-related preparation as pre-opening tasks.
Which fees continue after the mobile store opens?
The ongoing-fee table does not disclose a percentage-based royalty or an advertising-fund contribution. Instead, it lists a $156 monthly license charge, a $94 monthly software support charge, weekly remittances for purchases made on credit, insurance, and conditional financing or vehicle payments.
Source: 2026 Snap-on FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–14 and Item 10, pp. 29–32. The van amounts are conditional lease estimates, not universal franchise fees.
| Payment | Amount or basis | Timing | Applicability |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weekly remittance for products and services | Amount needed to remain $1 below the credit limit | Weekly | Purchases from Snap-on on credit; payment terms may change. |
| Monthly License Fee | $156 | Monthly upon invoice | Nonrefundable; annual increase limited to the lesser of $50 or 25% of the existing fee. |
| Software Development, Maintenance, and Support Fee | $94 | Monthly upon invoice | Nonrefundable; annual increase limited to the lesser of $50 or 25% after notice. |
| Required insurance, excluding life insurance | $7,397–$27,366 per year | Annually or monthly | Premium depends on coverage and circumstances; the estimate includes required coverage described in the ongoing-fee table. |
| Snap-on Credit van lease and maintenance | $2,839–$3,572 + $325 per month | Collected weekly in advance | Conditional on the Snap-on Credit Van Lease Program; taxes and other charges may increase cost. |
| Franchise Finance Program loan payment | Varies by option and amount borrowed | Weekly after applicable deferral | Conditional on credit approval; Item 6 provides payment illustrations, not a universal amount. |
- No percentage royalty disclosed
- Item 6 uses fixed monthly fees and purchase-payment obligations rather than a stated percentage of gross sales.
- No required advertising fund
- Item 11 says franchisees are not required to participate in an advertising cooperative or advertising fund.
- Product purchases remain variable
- The weekly remittance depends on the balance for products and services purchased from Snap-on.
- Technology can change
- Snap-on may require additional or replacement computer hardware and software during the franchise contract term at the franchisee’s cost.
The official Snap-on investment page describes a low monthly fee, no advertising fee, and no initial training fee. The binding cost detail remains the current FDD and signed agreements.
Why can customer-credit accounts materially change the capital requirement?
The customer-account model creates a franchise-specific funding obligation because a franchisee may acquire existing balances and fund customer purchases before collections arrive. The investment table therefore includes $0 to $85,000 for acquiring or developing those accounts, while the financing section describes separate credit arrangements.
The Revolving Account cost chain
In the 2026 mobile-store disclosure, this funding need can arise at acquisition, during account development, and when the initial credit line reaches its repayment date.
For an offered predecessor account, the FDD describes a 45-day written-rejection process unless a transfer agreement changes or removes that period. The stated purchase price is generally 75% of the balance due unless the buyer and predecessor franchisee agree otherwise. Because the exact account pool is transaction-specific, the $0 to $85,000 range does not resolve the amount for a particular List of Calls.
Before setting a cash budget, obtain the proposed Revolving Account schedule, confirm which balances are being acquired, identify the written rejection deadline, and separate the amount financed through the Franchise Finance Program from any amount to be funded through the RA Financing Program or the buyer’s own capital.
What credit-program obligations can become additional costs?
In the 2026 mobile-store disclosure, participation in the Extended Credit Program is optional, but it can create reserves and loss-sharing obligations. The EC Reserve Requirement may range from 0% to 15% of the total net cash price of an assigned contract. The FDD also states that a franchisee’s share of bad-debt losses will generally not exceed 25% of the outstanding customer balance, with up to 100% exposure in specified violation or full-recourse circumstances.
- Reserve trigger: Snap-on may hold an EC Reserve Requirement of 0% to 15% under the Extended Credit Program.
- Loss trigger: the ordinary disclosed share can reach 25% of a customer balance, while specified violations or full-recourse contracts can create 100% exposure.
- Repossessed-product trigger: a participating franchisee may have to repurchase qualifying repossessed products or merchandise at the disclosed fair-market-value basis.
- Open Account trigger: unpaid assigned Open Accounts can be charged back to the franchisee’s weekly statement under the timing rules in the financing section.
Source: 2026 Snap-on FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–14; Item 7, pp. 14–20; Item 10, pp. 25–35.
How much cash, liquidity, or net worth does Snap-on require?
The 2026 disclosure and current official U.S. franchise pages do not publish a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. They do disclose credit approval, proof-of-funds review, a typical $25,000 first-option down payment, personal guarantees, and security interests when in-house financing is used.
| Requirement or program | Disclosed amount | What it means | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid Capital minimum | Not disclosed | No fixed dollar threshold appears in the reviewed 2026 FDD or current official U.S. pages. | 2026 FDD; official franchise pages |
| Net Worth minimum | Not disclosed | Do not substitute third-party directory thresholds for an official requirement. | 2026 FDD; official franchise pages |
| First financing option down payment | Typically $25,000 | May be higher, reduced, or partly waived in stated circumstances; approval is not guaranteed. | Item 10, pp. 25–27 |
| Personal Guarantee | All financed obligations | Principal owners and applicable trustees jointly and severally guarantee finance-program obligations. | Item 10, p. 35 |
| Collateral | First security interest | Snap-on or Snap-on Credit generally takes a first security interest in business assets under its programs. | Item 10, p. 35 |
The finance affiliate offers two in-house loan options to approved applicants. The first finances eligible financed opening charges less the required down payment and has no scheduled payments for the first 90 days, although interest accrues from loan inception. The second uses a $25,000 nine-month bridge loan plus a longer loan for the remaining financed opening charges, but it is not available for an Additional, Transfer, or Renewal Franchise or for participants in certain discounts.
Current rates and payments are borrower-specific. The 2026 FDD illustrations use fixed rates calculated as of January 19, 2026, but the actual rate depends on the Treasury Rate, credit history, program limits, and the date the loan or lease is fixed. The franchisor’s official financing information lists Snap-on Credit, bank financing, SBA financing, and cash as possible sources. The SBA 7(a) program information explains the federal program, but an SBA guaranty does not replace lender underwriting or Snap-on’s collateral conditions.
Which fees appear only after a transfer, renewal, default, or other event?
Event-triggered charges are not part of every opening budget, but they can be material over the franchise contract term. The fee and contract tables disclose transfer, renewal, training, payment-default, vehicle-termination, technology-replacement, and multi-unit insurance obligations.
- Transfer: the current Transfer Fee is $16,000, paid by the buyer upon transfer, unless the selling franchisee’s agreement states a different amount.
- Renewal: the Renewal Fee is 50% of the then-current license fee and is currently $8,000. Renewal also requires satisfaction of monetary obligations and acceptance of then-current agreements.
- Additional Store Manager training: $3,900 for each additional classroom trainee after the initial Store Manager under an Additional Franchise; a missed session without sufficient notice may trigger a $1,200 rescheduling fee.
- Late payment: financing and van-lease late charges use the formulas in Item 6, and an insufficient-funds or dishonored-payment charge can be up to $25, subject to law.
- Van lease termination: return transportation is estimated at $200 to $4,900 in the continental United States, plus possible excess wear, refurbishment, outstanding amounts, and up to one month’s lease payment.
- Title transfer: the finance affiliate may charge up to $190 to process title transfer when the franchisee purchases the van.
- Fourth or later franchise: life insurance on the principal owner is required at a minimum benefit of $75,000 per franchise; the premium is not estimated in the FDD.
- Technology replacement: Snap-on may require updated computer hardware or software during the term at the franchisee’s cost; the current technology package estimate is approximately $3,500.
- Inventory incentive repayment: specified incentive recipients can owe the full discount if the franchise stops operating within the three-year condition period outside an approved transfer.
- Indemnification and administrative handling: Item 6 lists these amounts as “to be determined,” so they cannot be converted into a fixed budget figure.
These conditions are why the $223,439 to $509,283 Item 7 range should not be treated as a lifetime cost cap. The franchise contract and related finance, servicing, vehicle, and operating documents can create later obligations that depend on conduct, financing, vehicle condition, transaction type, and future system requirements.
What is not fully resolved by the official investment range?
The official total does not settle every cash need. The three-month operating cushion excludes owner draw, employee wages, payroll-related expenses, life-insurance premiums, and personal living expenses during periods before and after opening when the business may not support compensation.
- Confirm the exact transaction type. Determine whether the agreement is a new, Transfer, Additional, or Renewal Franchise and identify every related addendum.
- Obtain a specific mobile store quote. Separate purchase price or lease payment from delivery, taxes, registration, insurance, maintenance, down payment, security deposit, and residual purchase option.
- Audit the customer accounts. Verify balances, purchase price, rejection rights, financing source, reserve exposure, and repayment date.
- Build an excluded-cost schedule. Add owner living expenses, employee compensation, payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, life insurance when applicable, local parking, and professional fees based on the buyer’s actual circumstances.
- Confirm the current credit decision. Obtain the approved down payment, interest rate, weekly payment, collateral package, guarantee, and exact loan or lease documentation before committing to the van or leaving employment.
- Check for updates and state filings. Ask for the latest FDD and amendments before signing; use the California DFPI franchise resources or the regulator in the buyer’s state when a registration check is relevant.
Owner compensation is expressly excluded from the three-month operating cushion. Employee wages and related payroll costs are also excluded, and life-insurance premiums are not estimated. A buyer should therefore keep personal living reserves and any employee budget separate from the official three-month operating-cushion figure.
What capital figure should a prospective buyer use?
Use $223,439 to $509,283 as the verified 2026 total initial investment range for the U.S. Snap-on mobile-store offer, and treat $20,778 to $82,943 only as a qualified financing-based out-of-pocket scenario. The license fee is $8,000 to $16,000, opening stock is $140,000 to $154,000, and the operating cushion covers three months but excludes owner and employee compensation.
The largest unresolved buyer-specific variables are the vehicle, customer-account acquisition or development, actual insurance, financing approval and rates, local charges, and any assets acquired in a transfer or added unit. After opening, the fixed monthly license and software charges continue, while vehicle, credit-program, product-purchase, renewal, transfer, default, and technology obligations depend on the agreements and circumstances.