Estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit for a mature, standard two-territory ShelfGenie Executive business. The range includes compensation for the owner’s operating labor; it is not passive business profit. Under the same modeled revenue band, a manager-run structure remains below break-even after a national market-wage manager proxy.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by ShelfGenie SPV LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified operating assumptions and a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage proxy. Actual results can differ materially by territory, sales volume, local marketing efficiency, designer and installer productivity, labor cost, vehicle and insurance cost, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis: ShelfGenie SPV LLC; ShelfGenie 2026 FDD issued April 1, 2026; Item 19 reporting period January 1–December 31, 2025; 48 reporting franchisees operating 234 approximately 125,000-household territories. Item 19 reports Gross Sales, Cost of Goods Sold, Gross Margin, order value, and appointment conversion—but not Operating Profit, Net Income, EBITDA, owner compensation, or cash flow. The estimate is limited because material post-COGS operating expenses require assumptions. Brand identity and the current U.S. offer were checked against the official ShelfGenie franchise page. Data checked July 16, 2026.
OFFICIAL · 2025 weighted system figure for an approximately 125,000-household territory. Revenue, not earnings.
OFFICIAL · Gross Sales after disclosed Cost of Goods Sold only; substantial expenses remain.
OFFICIAL · 48 reporting franchisees and 234 territories in Item 19.
OFFICIAL · 2025 system average excluding defined Excluded Orders.
OFFICIAL · 6,343 closed orders from 11,968 reported appointments.
OFFICIAL · After year two, the greater of $40,000 or 8% of prior-year Gross Sales.
What does ShelfGenie Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures sales activity and gross margin—not annual owner earnings. For the 2025 reporting period, the disclosure reports $28,873,113 of Gross Sales across 234 territories, equal to $123,918.94 per territory, and a 77.12% Gross Margin after the FDD-defined Cost of Goods Sold. The applicable population is franchised ShelfGenie territories, not company-operated outlets.
The distinction matters because ShelfGenie’s Cost of Goods Sold covers Core Products and specified freight, while the FDD says it excludes several other costs, including miscellaneous installation supplies, some shipping and delivery charges, insurance, and taxes connected with product purchases. Gross Margin therefore precedes royalties, advertising, software, call-center charges, payroll, vehicles, insurance, administration, and owner or manager compensation. Source: ShelfGenie 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 69–77.
- Gross Sales
- Customer revenue under the FDD definition. It is the top line and cannot be treated as an owner salary or distribution.
- Gross Margin
- Gross Sales less the source-defined Cost of Goods Sold. It is not Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, or owner benefit.
- Estimated owner-operator benefit
- Modeled cash after listed operating costs and recurring franchise fees, before owner compensation, personal income taxes, interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, and debt principal.
- Manager-run residual
- Estimated owner-operator benefit less a paid-manager wage proxy. The model excludes employer benefits and payroll burden, so actual manager cost may be higher.
The most searchable ShelfGenie figures—$4,912 per order and $123,919 per territory—are revenue measures. Neither answers what an owner keeps. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains why financial performance representations must be grounded in Item 19 and supported by a reasonable basis.
What annual owner earnings does the model produce?
The model produces about $7,000, $35,000, and $84,000 of annual owner-operator benefit in the Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios. These are estimated, labor-inclusive results for a mature standard Executive package of two approximately 125,000-household territories, using 2025 Item 19 evidence and post-year-two recurring obligations.
Annual pre-tax result before interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, debt principal, and personal income taxes
Interpretation: At the modeled revenue levels, the cash result depends heavily on the owner personally supplying management labor. The manager-run calculation subtracts $105,768, derived from the May 2025 BLS national median hourly wage of $50.85 for General and Operations Managers multiplied by 2,080 hours. It excludes benefits and payroll burden. Sources: ShelfGenie 2026 FDD, Items 6, 15, and 19; BLS May 2025 national occupational wage table.
Which assumptions drive the three scenarios?
The scenarios combine a FDD-derived revenue distribution with official recurring fees and clearly labeled expense assumptions. They apply to the 2025 reporting evidence and a mature two-territory Executive structure; they are not probabilities or franchisor forecasts.
- Revenue: $129,936, $183,504, and $272,937 for two territories, derived by doubling the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile of the 43 market-row Gross Sales per Territory observations disclosed in Item 19.
- Gross Margin: 77.12% in every scenario, the 2025 FDD system figure. Manufacturing rebates are excluded because eligibility and amounts vary.
- License Fee: the FDD’s progressive 5%–7% rate schedule, subject to the mature Executive minimum of $400 per month per territory. The Conservative scenario uses the $9,600 two-territory annual minimum.
- Marketing: 2% MAP Fee plus $40,000 Minimum Local Marketing Spending. At each modeled revenue level, 8% of prior-year sales is below the post-year-two $40,000 floor.
- Required software: $7,092 annually, based on one Business Management Software subscription, the listed Technology Package, one Cadsoft license, and Closet Pro. Optional QuickBooks and future increases are excluded.
- Call center: $4,800 annual fixed cost, using a $400 monthly midpoint within the FDD’s $349.99–$449.99 range, plus $30 for an assumed 65% of modeled appointments. The 65% share is an editorial assumption because Item 19 does not disclose how many appointments were call-center booked.
- Other operating expenses: 22%, 20%, and 18% of revenue for field labor, payroll burden, vehicles, insurance, non-COGS installation materials, delivery, professional fees, warranty work, and administration. These are explicit scenario assumptions, not ShelfGenie disclosures.
Estimated owner-operator benefit = Revenue × 77.12% Gross Margin − License Fee − 2% MAP Fee − Minimum Local Marketing Spending − required software − modeled call-center fees − other operating expenses.How was the two-territory revenue range selected?
The revenue range is derived from the current FDD’s market-by-market territory table, not from an outside industry average. Item 19 discloses 43 market rows that reconcile to 234 territories. The calculation takes the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile of those market-row Gross Sales per Territory figures, using linear interpolation, then doubles each value for the standard two-territory Executive offer.
| Scenario | Per-territory anchor | Two-territory revenue | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $64,968 | $129,936 | DERIVED · 25th percentile of 43 disclosed market rows |
| Base | $91,752 | $183,504 | DERIVED · median of 43 disclosed market rows |
| Upside | $136,468 | $272,937 | DERIVED · 75th percentile of 43 disclosed market rows |
Compatibility limitation: the FDD reports each market’s total Gross Sales divided by its number of territories. Doubling a per-territory observation assumes two similarly productive territories and does not capture shared overhead, territory age, or market-specific concentration. The FDD’s official weighted system figure of $123,918.94 per territory is higher than the independently calculated market-row median because larger markets receive more weight in the official average.
This estimate applies to the standard Executive offer of two approximately 125,000-household territories. The 2026 FDD also describes an Owner/Operator offer with a different territory structure, but Item 19 does not provide a separately identifiable Owner/Operator performance cohort. Applying the Executive scenario directly to that format would require guessing, so no Owner/Operator-format earnings number is published here.
Where does the Base scenario’s revenue go?
In the Base scenario, $183,504 of modeled Gross Sales becomes about $35,035 of owner-operator benefit after the listed deductions. This is a fully reconciled analytical bridge for a mature two-territory Executive business; only Gross Margin and recurring franchise obligations are official FDD facts, while call-center usage and other operating expenses are assumptions.
All figures are annual and rounded to the nearest $1,000 for display
Reconciliation: $183,503.66 revenue − $41,985.64 COGS − $12,845.26 License Fee − $3,670.07 MAP Fee − $40,000 local marketing − $13,266.50 required software and modeled call-center charges − $36,700.73 other operating expenses = $35,035.46 owner-operator benefit. Source facts: ShelfGenie 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 19, pp. 18–27 and 69–77.
The bridge excludes manufacturing rebates because the FDD says rebates begin only after a quarterly purchase threshold and the disclosed amounts are uneven. It also excludes interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, debt principal, and personal income taxes. Any owner draw above the modeled benefit would reduce working capital or require financing; any retained earnings would reduce the cash distributed to the owner.
Why does owner involvement change the result so much?
Owner involvement changes the result because the FDD generally requires direct owner performance or supervision unless ShelfGenie consents to a trained manager. The owner-operator scenarios omit a paid general manager and therefore combine residual business economics with compensation for work performed by the owner. This is an estimated labor-inclusive benefit, not passive profit.
For the manager-run comparison, the model uses the May 2025 national median hourly wage of $50.85 for General and Operations Managers, annualized to $105,768. The BLS OEWS program overview notes that its estimates cover wage-and-salary workers and exclude self-employed owners. The proxy is broad, varies by geography, and does not include employer-paid benefits or payroll taxes. A local compensation quote is therefore more decision-useful than the national figure.
At the Base scenario, the business produces about $35,000 before compensating the owner. That cash can look like “earnings,” but the owner is also supplying management labor. On an economic basis, the Base scenario does not cover the national market-wage proxy for a hired General and Operations Manager.
How much uncertainty surrounds the earnings range?
Uncertainty is substantial, so the evidence confidence is Limited. The revenue and Gross Margin anchors are official 2025 ShelfGenie data, but Item 19 does not disclose a complete operating statement or owner compensation. The $7,000–$84,000 range is therefore sensitive to expenses the FDD does not quantify for the reporting cohort.
- Population exclusions: Item 19 excludes seven franchisees operating 35 businesses that lacked at least one business open for the full reporting period, and it excludes eight businesses that closed during 2025. Excluding incomplete-year and closed businesses can make the reported cohort less representative of a new buyer’s early experience.
- Accounting consistency: franchisees supplied the Item 19 data through system software and were not required to use generally accepted accounting principles.
- Market concentration: one disclosed market had Gross Sales per Territory of $534,274.50, while the low was $24,041.50. The distribution is wide and market rows contain one to 16 territories.
- Fixed marketing burden: the mature $40,000 local-marketing floor absorbs about 31% of Conservative revenue, 22% of Base revenue, and 15% of Upside revenue before the separate 2% MAP Fee.
- Missing expense detail: the FDD does not publish reporting-cohort labor, vehicle, insurance, delivery, office, warranty, professional-fee, or manager costs.
- Ramp-up mismatch: the model is for a mature year. Year-one and year-two marketing minimums are lower, but new businesses may have lower sales, startup inefficiencies, and additional working-capital needs.
- System movement: Item 20 reports 262 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, a net increase of one during the year. Outlet counts alone do not establish profitability or owner income.
The FDD’s official warning is decisive: some franchisees achieved the reported sales, individual results may differ, and there is no assurance a buyer will earn as much. The FTC also advises buyers to scrutinize financial performance representations and consult independent professionals; see its franchise calculating and consulting guidance.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace every major scenario assumption with actual evidence from ShelfGenie substantiation, current franchisees, and local cost quotes. The verification should focus on mature two-territory Executive operators comparable in market size, territory age, and owner role.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile the market rows, territory counts, Gross Sales, Cost of Goods Sold, Gross Margin, and rebates.
- Ask current franchisees for annual designer and installer payroll, payroll burden, vehicle, insurance, delivery, supplies, warranty, software, call-center, and local-advertising costs.
- Separate owner salary, draws, distributions, retained earnings, and business profit in every interview. Ask how many hours the owner works and which paid role the owner replaces.
- Confirm the exact License Fee tier calculation, minimum fee, MAP Fee, local-marketing requirement, Local Marketing Group contribution, software licenses, and booked-appointment volume for the proposed territories.
- Ask whether the franchisor would consent to manager supervision under Item 15, then obtain a local wage-and-benefit quote rather than relying on a national proxy.
- Compare mature and ramp-up cohorts, including operators that closed, transferred, terminated, or did not renew. Item 20 and the current/former franchisee exhibits provide the relevant contact population.
- Model interest and principal separately using the buyer’s actual financing terms. Do not treat pre-tax operating benefit as after-tax take-home pay.
What is the decision-useful takeaway?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $7,000 to $84,000 of estimated annual owner-operator benefit for a mature, standard two-territory Executive business. It is scenario-based, not an official ShelfGenie owner-earnings disclosure. The dominant driver is Gross Sales per Territory relative to the fixed $40,000 mature local-marketing floor and the labor required to design, sell, install, and manage the operation.
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the missing post-COGS operating-expense profile for comparable franchisees. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain actual P&Ls from comparable franchisee interviews where available, separate owner labor from residual profit, and test the proposed territories under the buyer’s real labor, marketing, vehicle, insurance, and financing costs before treating any amount as distributable owner income.