For a mature, near-recommended-size U.S. Salons by JC franchised outlet, this is a defensible manager-run, pre-tax annual owner-earnings scenario range. The central analytical case is approximately $194,000. These figures are estimates, not results reported by Salons by JC.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by J ‘N C Real Estate Development, LLC. It combines 2026 FDD Gross Sales facts with a separately identified 2025 salon-suite EBITDA benchmark and explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially with location, square footage, suite count, occupancy, rent, payroll, manager structure, financing, owner involvement, maintenance, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- J ‘N C Real Estate Development, LLC
- Current FDD
- Salons by JC Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 17, 2026
- Item 19 evidence
- 2025 Gross Sales and Occupancy Rate for Operational Franchise Outlets; no franchised-unit profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation, or cash-flow result
- Applicable population
- 142 representative Operational Franchise Outlets; seven new outlets, four outlets without accurate and reliable data, and one partial-year closure were excluded
- Scenario benchmark
- 2025 EBITDA margins from 175 reporting U.S. locations in a comparable salon-suite system
- Date checked
- July 22, 2026
The matching 2026 FDD is cited by year, Item, and page because no matching public copy on an official franchise-controlled domain was verified.
How much may a Salons by JC owner earn annually?
A reasonable planning range is approximately $86,000 to $279,000 per mature outlet per year before personal income taxes, financing costs, depreciation, amortization, capital expenditures, and debt principal. The $194,000 base case is a scenario midpoint, not a forecast and not the most likely result. The $86,000 lower case is not a floor; actual operating results can be lower or negative.
The estimate is for a manager-run outlet close to the FDD's recommended 5,000-to-7,000-square-foot format. It is based on two adjacent Item 19 size bands because the FDD's bands do not align exactly with the recommended format. The result is per unit, not per owner or multi-unit portfolio.
The strongest same-brand evidence is Gross Sales. Item 19 defines Gross Sales as revenue after specified sales-tax, discount, allowance, and return adjustments. It does not disclose the unit's rent, manager payroll, repairs, utilities, insurance, marketing, interest, or owner distributions. The Federal Trade Commission likewise cautions that gross sales do not reveal actual costs or profit.
Median Gross Sales
All 142 representative Operational Franchise Outlets in 2025. Revenue, not owner earnings.
Representative outlets
The Item 19 franchised-unit cohort after stated exclusions.
Median Occupancy Rate
Measured at year-end across the representative operational cohort.
Royalty rate
Greater of 5.5% of Gross Sales or $500 per month under Item 6.
Central EBITDA margin proxy
All-location average from 175 reporting U.S. outlets in a comparable salon-suite system.
What does the 2026 Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 officially measures Gross Sales and year-end Occupancy Rate, not business profit or owner take-home pay. The relevant reporting period is calendar year 2025, and the primary population is 142 Operational Franchise Outlets that were open before January 1, 2025 and met the franchisor's data and representativeness criteria. The cohort represented 96.6% of the 147 operational franchised outlets and 92.2% of all 154 franchised outlets in 2025.
| Salon square footage | Outlets | Average Occupancy Rate | Average Gross Sales |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4,500–6,500 | 30 | 89.59% | $459,379.97 |
| 6,500–7,500 | 39 | 85.81% | $509,568.59 |
| 7,500–8,500 | 36 | 84.18% | $562,664.29 |
| >8,500 | 37 | 78.42% | $714,041.30 |
Source: Salons by JC 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Table 2, p. 45, and Item 20, Table 1, p. 47. The franchisor reports that 112 of the 142 representative outlets exceeded its recommended approximately 5,000-to-7,000-square-foot format. Overall franchised-unit Gross Sales ranged from $21,464.87 to $2,097,651.08, showing why a single average cannot define owner earnings.
For 49 Operational Franchise Outlets opened from 2021 through 2024, Item 19 reports average Occupancy Rate at 12 months ranging from 68.36% to 90.89% by size band, with a 79.55% overall median. This is a first-year snapshot, not a mature-unit earnings result, and it supports keeping the headline range limited to mature outlets. Source: Salons by JC 2026 FDD, Item 19, Table 3, p. 46.
Why are the company-owned results not the main anchor?
The company-owned results are an official but less compatible proxy. The FDD says those outlets may differ because of experienced management, favorable lease terms, local brand recognition, and the absence of Royalty Fees and Brand Development Fund Fees. For that reason, this analysis anchors revenue to franchised outlets and does not use company-owned sales to raise the estimate.
How was the owner-earnings range calculated?
The calculation multiplies a same-brand FDD revenue anchor by a separately sourced EBITDA margin proxy. It is a Mode C FDD-anchored scenario because Salons by JC Item 19 does not disclose a compatible franchised-unit earnings measure.
- Conservative: $459,379.97 average Gross Sales for the 4,500–6,500-square-foot band × 18.7% comparable bottom-quartile EBITDA margin = $85,904, rounded to $86,000.
- Base: $484,474.28, the derived midpoint of the two adjacent FDD size-band averages, × 40.0% comparable all-location EBITDA margin = $193,790, rounded to $194,000.
- Upside: $509,568.59 average Gross Sales for the 6,500–7,500-square-foot band × 54.8% comparable top-quartile EBITDA margin = $279,244, rounded to $279,000.
Three manager-run owner-earnings scenarios
Annual pre-tax EBITDA proxy per mature, near-recommended-size franchised outlet
Interpretation: The range is wide because both the Salons by JC revenue anchor and the external EBITDA margin change across scenarios. The scenarios are analytical cases, not probabilities or franchisor projections.
Sources: Salons by JC 2026 FDD, Item 19, Table 2, p. 45; My Salon Suite's official 2026 FDD performance summary, reporting 2025 EBITDA margins of 18.7%, 40.0%, and 54.8% for specified salon-suite cohorts.
Why is the comparable EBITDA evidence usable but limited?
The benchmark is structurally relevant: both systems rent private suites to independent beauty professionals, and the business resembles a nonresidential subleasing model described within U.S. Census Bureau NAICS 531120. The comparable disclosure also covers U.S. full-year 2025 franchised locations and separately identifies general operating expense, rent, royalties, and EBITDA.
It remains a different franchise system. Lease terms, manager payroll, suite mix, local pricing, required marketing, technology charges, insurance, maintenance standards, and expense classifications may differ. The comparable EBITDA margin therefore cannot be treated as a Salons by JC fact.
For this article, the comparable system's EBITDA is used as a manager-run proxy for estimated pre-tax owner earnings. Interest, personal and entity income taxes, depreciation, amortization, capital expenditures, financing principal, and after-tax take-home pay are excluded. The model does not assume that all EBITDA is distributed; an owner may retain cash in the business.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement can increase the owner's total economic benefit only when the owner performs paid management work that the business would otherwise purchase. That labor value is compensation for work, not passive residual profit.
Item 15 requires the Managing Owner to remain responsible for management and overall supervision. Day-to-day on-site operations must be managed by either the Managing Owner or an approved Operating Manager, and each unit in a multi-unit portfolio must have an Operating Manager. The official Salons by JC franchise model also describes a full-time Concierge Manager at each location, so an active owner should not assume that all manager or concierge payroll disappears.
Base-case owner-role sensitivity
Residual EBITDA proxy plus illustrative value of management labor personally performed
Interpretation: The first bar is residual business EBITDA. The additional amounts in the second and third bars are labor-value add-backs, not extra passive profit. The 100% case is an analytical ceiling and may be incompatible with actual staffing requirements.
Benchmark: The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a May 2024 median annual wage of $63,680 for property, real estate, and community association managers in the real-estate industry. BLS wage data are not Salons by JC compensation data and do not include self-employed workers.
Which fees and operating costs can move owner earnings most?
Occupancy, master-lease rent, and manager or Concierge payroll are likely to dominate unit economics, while Item 6 establishes recurring franchise obligations that must be captured in a location-specific profit-and-loss statement. The figures below are official current FDD terms, not a complete annual expense budget.
| Fee | Current amount | Annual treatment | Earnings relevance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 5.5% of Gross Sales or $500/month | Variable with revenue; minimum waived for first 90 days | Comparable EBITDA table separately reports a 5.5% royalty, so it is not subtracted twice. |
| Brand Development Fund Fee | Currently 1% of Gross Sales; may rise to 3% | Variable with revenue | Exact treatment inside the comparable system's general operating expense is not stated publicly. |
| Franchisee Directed Local Marketing | $600, $1,000, or $1,500/month based on occupancy | $7,200–$18,000 | At 75% or greater occupancy, the current minimum is $7,200 annually. |
| Property Management Software | Currently $90/month plus merchant processing | $1,080 plus processing | Processing expense remains location-specific. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $125/month; cap $500/month | $1,500 currently; up to $6,000 | Future fee changes can reduce residual cash flow. |
Source: Salons by JC 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–10. Item 7's $1,352,200–$1,900,500 initial-investment range is a startup-capital estimate, not an annual operating expense, and is not subtracted from one year's sales.
At the $484,474 base revenue anchor and occupancy of at least 75%, the identified current Royalty Fee, Brand Development Fund Fee, local marketing minimum, property-management software, and Technology Fee total approximately $41,271 per year, before merchant processing and conference costs. Of that amount, approximately $14,625 is non-royalty expense. The scenario does not subtract this layer again because the comparable EBITDA is an all-in result and a second subtraction could double count analogous costs. A buyer should replace this proxy with actual Salons by JC franchisee expense classifications.
How much confidence should a buyer place in the range?
Evidence confidence is LIMITED. The revenue anchors are current same-brand FDD facts, but the earnings margins come from a comparable franchise system and the owner-labor sensitivity uses a government wage benchmark rather than Salons by JC unit-level payroll.
- Occupancy timing: Item 19 reports year-end Occupancy Rate, not average occupied suites across the full year. A location that leased up late can show a high year-end rate without earning a full year of corresponding rent.
- Lease economics: The master lease, common-area charges, tenant-improvement structure, renewal escalators, and local property taxes can move the margin materially.
- Expense classification: The comparable EBITDA summary does not prove that every Salons by JC marketing, technology, insurance, payroll, maintenance, and merchant-processing cost is classified identically.
- Outlet dispersion: Item 19's franchised Gross Sales range is exceptionally broad, and the overall median includes many locations larger than the recommended format.
- Financing: EBITDA excludes interest and debt principal. A heavily financed build-out can leave substantially less distributable cash than the operating estimate.
- Owner labor: Any owner-operator add-back compensates work performed and may not eliminate the full-time Concierge Manager or other required staffing.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this estimate?
The strongest defensible planning range is $86,000–$279,000 per mature, manager-run outlet, with a $194,000 central analytical case. It is scenario-based, not official Salons by JC profit guidance. Occupancy and master-lease cost are the most important operating drivers; the largest unresolved uncertainty is whether the comparable EBITDA expense definitions map cleanly to Salons by JC's complete unit-level cost structure.
- Request the written substantiation supporting the 2026 Item 19 tables and confirm how each outlet's Gross Sales and year-end Occupancy Rate were validated.
- Obtain full-year profit-and-loss statements from several current franchisees in the 4,500–7,500-square-foot bands, separating rent, payroll, Concierge compensation, repairs, utilities, insurance, marketing, software, merchant fees, and franchise fees.
- Ask whether owner compensation, related-party rent, capital expenditures, and nonrecurring costs are included or excluded from each franchisee's reported result.
- Use Item 20 contacts to interview current and former franchisees about lease-up time, occupancy retention, rent escalations, manager turnover, unexpected maintenance, transfers, and closures.
- Model interest and principal separately for the buyer's actual financing structure; do not convert EBITDA into after-tax take-home pay.
The Federal Trade Commission's franchise buyer guide explains why Item 19's source, sample, assumptions, limitations, and written substantiation matter. The official Salons by JC U.S. website provides brand and operating-model context, but the earnings decision should be grounded in the current FDD, substantiation, location-specific lease economics, and franchisee interviews.