This is an independent estimate of manager-run, pre-tax owner earnings—not an official Rocket Fizz profit disclosure. The range combines 2025 Gross Revenue observations from the 2026 Rocket Fizz Franchise Disclosure Document with an official U.S. retail operating-margin benchmark. A working owner who replaces a paid store manager may instead receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $57,600–$118,100, but roughly $50,110 of that amount represents labor performed by the owner rather than passive business profit.
This estimate is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by RPM Summit Group, LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD with separately identified U.S. Census Bureau and Bureau of Labor Statistics benchmarks. Actual results can differ materially because of location, store size, merchandise mix, sales, product cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, local competition, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- RPM Summit Group, LLC
- Current disclosure
- 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD, issued March 27, 2026
- Item 19 status
- Official Gross Revenue only; no expense, profit, EBITDA, net income, cash-flow, or owner-compensation disclosure
- Applicable cohort
- 94 franchised Rocket Fizz Shops open more than one year on December 31, 2025
- Benchmark basis
- 2022 Census Annual Retail Trade Survey for NAICS 445 Food and Beverage Stores; 2025 BLS wage data for retail-sales supervisors/managers
- Date checked
- July 17, 2026
Estimated at the 2025 FDD system median Gross Revenue and the central benchmark margin.
Revenue—not owner income—for mature franchised shops in the 2025 Item 19 population.
The table represented 91.26% of franchised shops operating at year-end 2025.
The monthly royalty is the greater of 5% of Gross Revenue or $900.
2025 BLS median annual wage for first-line retail-sales supervisors/managers in NAICS 445.
What does the Rocket Fizz FDD actually disclose?
The official disclosure measures Gross Revenue, not owner earnings. Item 19 reports unaudited historical sales for franchised Rocket Fizz Shops that had operated for more than one year by December 31, 2025. It does not provide cost of goods sold, store payroll, rent, EBITDA, operating profit, net income, owner salary, distributions, or cash flow.
The 2025 population included 94 mature franchised shops and excluded nine of the 103 franchised shops operating at year-end because the excluded shops had not been open for more than one year. Six shops that ceased operating during 2025 were also outside Table A; the FDD says one had operated for less than 12 months and one was temporarily closed before relocation. These exclusions matter because the published revenue distribution does not represent every shop that operated during the year.
| 2025 Item 19 cohort | Shops | Average Gross Revenue | Median Gross Revenue |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quartile A, highest-revenue tier | 25 | $813,012 | $775,201 |
| Quartile B | 24 | $495,524 | $482,071 |
| Quartile C | 22 | $355,914 | $353,107 |
| Quartile D, lowest-revenue tier | 23 | $253,891 | $270,791 |
| All mature reporting shops | 94 | $488,165 | $410,687 |
Source: 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD, Item 19, pages 40–47. “Gross Revenue” follows the FDD definition and excludes bona fide refunds, specified taxes, and redeemed gift-certificate value. The FDD explicitly states that the figures do not reflect the costs and expenses needed to determine net income or loss.
The $488,165 average is higher than the $410,687 median, and only 37 of 94 shops met or exceeded the system average. A buyer should not use the average Gross Revenue as an owner-salary estimate. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise-buying guidance likewise warns that gross sales do not show costs or actual profit and recommends examining the basis for any earnings claim.
How is the annual earnings range estimated?
The model applies a transparent operating-margin range to three official FDD revenue anchors. Conservative revenue uses the 2025 Quartile D median, the base uses the 2025 system median, and upside revenue uses the 2025 Quartile A median. These are analytical scenarios, not probabilities or forecasts.
The central margin is derived from the Census Bureau’s 2022 data for U.S. employer firms in NAICS 445 Food and Beverage Stores. The Annual Retail Trade Survey tables report a 28.7% gross margin and $217.589 billion of operating expenses on $948.836 billion of sales. Operating expenses therefore equal 22.93% of sales, leaving a derived 5.77% operating residual before interest and income taxes.
The Census ARTS definitions exclude cost of goods sold, interest expense, income and sales taxes, capital expenditures, and invested funds from total operating expenses. They include payroll, benefits, occupancy-related costs, depreciation and amortization, license fees, and other operating expenses. Because “other operating expenses” can already contain franchise-like charges, the Rocket Fizz royalty is not subtracted a second time from the all-in benchmark margin. That avoids a known double-counting error but leaves uncertainty over whether the broad benchmark fully reflects Rocket Fizz’s 5% royalty and required-system expense profile.
- Conservative: $270,791 revenue × 2.77% margin, where the margin is the 5.77% benchmark minus three percentage points.
- Base: $410,687 revenue × 5.77% central benchmark margin.
- Upside: $775,201 revenue × 8.77% margin, where the margin is the benchmark plus three percentage points.
- Rounding: calculations use full-precision ratios and are rounded to the nearest $100 for publication.
- Exclusions: personal income taxes, debt principal, owner-specific financing, major replacement capital, and future remodeling are not deducted. Census operating expenses include depreciation; the benchmark excludes interest.
Independent pre-tax earnings scenarios based on 2025 FDD revenue anchors and a Census retail-margin sensitivity band.
Interpretation: revenue placement and realized margin both move the result. The $23,700 base is a central analytical case, not the “most likely” outcome. Sources: 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD, Item 19, pages 40–47; U.S. Census Bureau 2022 ARTS sales, gross-margin, and operating-expense tables.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Applied margin | Estimated pre-tax earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $270,791 | 2.77% | $7,500 |
| Base | $410,687 | 5.77% | $23,700 |
| Upside | $775,201 | 8.77% | $68,000 |
How does owner involvement change the result?
Replacing a paid General Manager can add approximately $50,110 of labor value to each scenario, but that addition is compensation for work—not pure profit. The 2026 FDD requires a Principal Owner to devote full time to the Rocket Fizz Shop and remain responsible for operational decisions. The shop may be under the direct control of the Principal Owner or a trained General Manager, so a manager-supported structure is possible, but the FDD does not support a passive-owner assumption.
The labor-value adjustment uses the BLS 2025 median annual wage for first-line supervisors/managers of retail sales workers in Food and Beverage Stores. It excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so the true avoidable manager cost could be higher. Conversely, a working owner may still need supervisory coverage, and the owner’s actual duties may not replace a full manager position dollar for dollar.
Each line adds the same $50,110 manager-wage benchmark to estimated manager-run residual earnings.
Interpretation: the owner-operator figures are higher because they include the market value of work performed by the owner. They should not be described as passive income or pure business profit. Sources: 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD, Item 15, pages 32–33; BLS 2025 NAICS 445 wage data.
- Manager-run residual earnings
- Cash modeled as remaining after ordinary store-level operating expenses, before personal income taxes and debt principal. The benchmark is intended to include normal payroll and depreciation.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Manager-run residual earnings plus $50,110 of manager-replacement labor value. The labor component compensates the owner for active work.
- Owner salary or draw
- A method of paying the owner; it does not by itself establish the shop’s economic profit. Entity structure and accounting treatment can move amounts between payroll, draws, distributions, and retained earnings.
- After-tax take-home pay
- Not estimated. Federal, state, local, payroll, and self-employment tax outcomes depend on the owner and entity.
How do Rocket Fizz fees affect the earnings interpretation?
The 5% royalty is the largest disclosed recurring system charge, and a future Marketing Fund could reduce cash flow by another 1%–2% of Gross Revenue. The 2026 FDD states that the Marketing Fund was not operating for 2025, but RPM Summit Group, LLC may establish it with 90 days’ notice.
At the $410,687 base revenue anchor, 5% equals approximately $20,534, which exceeds the $10,800 annualized minimum royalty. A 1% Marketing Fund would equal about $4,107; a 2% contribution would equal about $8,214. These calculations show fee exposure, but they are not deducted again from the scenario results because the Census operating-expense benchmark is already an all-in expense measure and does not isolate franchise fees. Subtracting both would risk double counting.
| Recurring FDD obligation | Official requirement | Base-revenue illustration |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of $900 per month or 5% of Gross Revenue | $20,534 |
| Marketing Fund | Currently 0%; may become 1%–2% of Gross Revenue | $0 now; $4,107–$8,214 if activated |
| POS support | $80–$180 per month | $960–$2,160 |
| Gift card, sticker, social media and POS maintenance | Multiple fixed monthly or annual charges | $1,000–$1,620 combined |
| Required inventory and supplier purchases | Variable; approved suppliers and specified products apply | Not disclosed as a store-level percentage |
Sources: 2026 Rocket Fizz FDD, Items 6, 8 and 11, pages 4–9, 14–17 and 20–28. Annualized fixed-fee amounts use the disclosed monthly ranges. Product purchases, occupancy, payroll and local operating costs are not supplied as Item 19 expense ratios.
The FDD does not disclose a Rocket Fizz store-level merchandise margin or operating-expense statement. That missing revenue-to-profit bridge is more consequential than any single small fixed fee. A few percentage points of product cost, labor, shrink, card fees, or rent can move annual owner earnings by tens of thousands of dollars at the upper Item 19 revenue levels.
Why is the evidence-confidence rating limited?
Confidence is limited because the same-brand FDD provides a strong revenue distribution but no same-brand profit data. The model must translate Rocket Fizz Gross Revenue through a broad government benchmark for Food and Beverage Stores. That benchmark is authoritative, but it combines multiple retail formats and cost structures rather than isolating candy-and-soda franchises.
Which variables can move annual earnings most?
Merchandise gross margin, occupancy, labor structure, and revenue level are the primary operating drivers. The FDD describes typical shops in high-traffic pedestrian, suburban, urban, downtown, mall, and lifestyle-center locations, so rent and common-area charges can vary substantially. Product mix and supplier economics can also differ from the broad NAICS 445 benchmark.
- Sales distribution: 2025 mature-shop Gross Revenue ranged from $159,305 to $1,186,181, showing substantial unit variation.
- Inventory economics: Rocket Fizz requires approved products, proprietary products, and a three-week inventory rotation, but the FDD does not disclose franchisee cost of goods as a percentage of sales.
- Labor: a paid General Manager lowers residual cash but can reduce the owner’s direct store-management workload; the FDD still requires a full-time Principal Owner.
- Occupancy: high-traffic retail locations may support sales but can carry materially different rent, common-area maintenance, insurance, and utility burdens.
- Debt: principal payments are not operating expenses. Interest is also outside the Census residual used here, so buyer-specific borrowing would reduce cash available to the owner.
- Capital needs: depreciation is embedded in the benchmark, but actual cash spending for replacements, refreshes, and future remodels will not match depreciation in a given year.
What does Item 20 add to the earnings decision?
Item 20 provides operating-population context, not a profit measure. Franchised outlets increased from 89 at the end of 2023 to 101 at the end of 2024 and 103 at the end of 2025. During 2025, eight franchised shops opened and six ceased operations for reasons classified outside termination, non-renewal, or franchisor reacquisition. There were no company-owned shops at year-end 2025, so no current company-store profit proxy is available.
Item 20 also lists current, former, transferred, and not-yet-open franchisees. The FDD notes that some current or former franchisees have signed confidentiality provisions that may restrict open discussion. That makes it important to contact a broad cross-section rather than relying on one high-performing operator or one promotional testimonial.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace every broad assumption with store-level evidence before making an investment decision. The FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and the FTC recommends comparing disclosed results with information from current and former franchisees.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how each 2025 shop was assigned to a quartile.
- Ask mature franchisees for annual sales, product cost, shrink, payroll, manager compensation, rent and common-area charges, card fees, insurance, utilities, royalty, technology charges, and store-level operating profit.
- Separate owner salary, draw, distributions, retained earnings, depreciation, interest, and debt principal in each interview.
- Compare owner-operated shops with shops using a General Manager, and record the owner’s actual weekly hours.
- Ask about stores that closed, relocated, transferred, or were excluded from the 2025 Item 19 population.
- Verify whether a Marketing Fund is active when the franchise agreement is signed and model both the 1% and 2% permitted levels.
- Obtain site-specific rent, common-area maintenance, utility, wage, insurance, and local tax quotes rather than using national averages.
- Confirm required inventory purchasing terms and calculate realized gross margin from invoices and point-of-sale data.
The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $7,500–$68,000 in manager-run, pre-tax owner earnings per mature Rocket Fizz Shop, with a $23,700 base scenario. This is scenario-based, not official Item 19 profit. An active owner who replaces a paid retail manager may realize approximately $57,600–$118,100 of owner-operator benefit, but about $50,110 of that total is labor compensation.
The most important earnings driver is the combination of store revenue and realized merchandise-and-operating margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand store-level expense statement. Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain actual profit-and-loss detail from multiple current and former franchisees, and reconcile owner labor, recurring fees, debt service, depreciation, and capital spending separately.