$174,000–$310,000 owner-operated
For a U.S. Real Property Management business operating more than three years, the strongest defensible range is an independent pre-tax scenario estimate, not an official profit disclosure. The manager-run range represents residual business earnings after a manager-wage proxy. The owner-operated range is an estimated owner-operator benefit that includes both business profit and compensation for the owner’s labor.
- Legal franchisor
- Real Property Management SPV LLC, a Delaware limited liability company and a wholly owned subsidiary within the Neighborly structure.
- Disclosure reviewed
- 2026 Real Property Management Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 2, 2026; Item 19 measures calendar-year 2025 revenue and managed-unit metrics.
- Item 19 status
- Official Annual Revenue per property unit and units under management are disclosed. Owner compensation, operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, and cash flow are not disclosed.
- Applicable population
- Franchised U.S. businesses. The earnings scenarios focus on the 340 reporting franchises that were more than three years old.
- Benchmark basis
- IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics and BLS 2025 real-estate-sector wage data.
- Date checked
- July 21, 2026. No matching public FDD copy was verified on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations below are plain-text Item and page references.
What does Real Property Management Item 19 actually report?
Item 19 reports revenue activity, not owner earnings. For calendar 2025, the franchisor defined “Annual Revenue” as Non-Maintenance Gross Sales plus Maintenance Revenues, with no costs or expenses deducted. That means the official figures cannot be read as salary, take-home pay, operating profit, or cash flow. The distinction is consistent with the Federal Trade Commission’s guidance on gross sales and Item 19.
The 2026 FDD says 421 franchised businesses were in operation and reporting sales for the full 2025 calendar year. It excluded 31 businesses opened during 2025 and 26 businesses that closed without a full reporting period; two December closures had sufficient data to remain in the dataset. Franchise-owner reports were not audited or independently verified, and franchisees were not required to use generally accepted accounting principles. No geographic adjustment was made. These limitations materially reduce confidence in any profit estimate built from the data. (2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 68–70.)
How different were newer and mature franchises?
Mature franchises managed more property units but reported lower revenue per unit. Businesses more than three years old had a median 155 units and median Annual Revenue per unit of $4,397. Businesses more than one year and less than three years old had a median 57 units and median Annual Revenue per unit of $5,075. These are official 2025 cohort metrics, but neither cohort includes a total-revenue or profit distribution.
| Cohort | Reporting franchises | Median units managed | Median Annual Revenue per unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| More than 1 year and less than 3 years | 81 | 57 | $5,075 |
| More than 3 years | 340 | 155 | $4,397 |
| Overall table | 421 stated | 123 | $4,256 |
Source: 2026 Real Property Management FDD, Item 19, pp. 69–70. The overall table states 421 franchises while its revenue-per-unit footnote refers to 420 reporting franchises; the mature 340-franchise cohort used in this analysis does not have that denominator ambiguity.
How was the owner-earnings range calculated?
The model starts with a mature-business revenue proxy and applies a broad all-in owner-operated industry margin. Real Property Management’s recurring fees are evaluated as a comparability check, but they are not subtracted again because the IRS margin already reflects an all-in deductions envelope. Because Item 19 does not disclose total franchise revenue or profit, each result remains an estimate. The base revenue proxy is 155 median managed units multiplied by $4,397 median Annual Revenue per unit, or $681,535.
What margin benchmark was used?
The starting owner-operated margin is 34.96%, derived from 2023 IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship data. The IRS reported $23.168 billion of net income less deficit on $66.261 billion of business receipts for sole proprietorships classified as offices of real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers. The calculation is $23.168 billion ÷ $66.261 billion = 34.96%. This is an official government aggregate, but it is broader than residential property management and reflects sole proprietors whose own labor is not deducted as salary.
As a fee-burden check, the mature cohort’s rounded revenue mix was 56% non-maintenance revenue and 43% maintenance revenue. Applying the FDD rates produces an estimated 5.21% License Fee burden and 1.12% MAP burden, or approximately 6.33% of Annual Revenue before local marketing and fixed systems costs. Because the source mix totals 99% due to rounding, the result is approximate. The 6.33% is not deducted again from the IRS all-in margin; doing so could double count expenses. (2026 FDD, Items 6 and 19, pp. 19–28 and 69–70.)
- Conservative: 80% of the derived revenue proxy and a 31.96% margin, three percentage points below the IRS benchmark.
- Base: the $681,535 revenue proxy and the 34.96% IRS owner-operated net-income margin.
- Upside: 120% of the derived revenue proxy and a 37.96% margin, three percentage points above the IRS benchmark.
- Manager-run: subtracts the $78,350 BLS 2025 mean annual wage from owner-operator benefit; employer payroll taxes and benefits are not added, so manager-run residual may be overstated.
| Scenario | Revenue proxy | Owner-operator benefit | Manager-run owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $545,000 | $174,000 | $96,000 |
| Base | $682,000 | $238,000 | $160,000 |
| Upside | $818,000 | $310,000 | $232,000 |
Annual pre-tax scenario values; rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Interpretation: owner operation adds roughly $78,350 in modeled labor value because the owner replaces a paid property-management manager. That difference is compensation for work, not passive profit.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 15, and 19; IRS tax year 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship Table 1; BLS May 2025 wages for property, real estate, and community association managers in the real estate and rental and leasing sector.
What is included in “estimated pre-tax owner earnings”?
The manager-run figure is residual operating benefit after a manager-wage proxy, while the owner-operated figure includes owner labor. The model is before personal income taxes and before financing principal payments. It does not calculate after-tax take-home pay.
- Ordinary expenses: payroll, rent, advertising, software, professional fees, vehicle costs, depreciation, business interest, and other Schedule C deductions are embedded in the IRS aggregate margin rather than modeled line by line.
- Franchise percentage fees: the License Fee and MAP Fee are treated as part of the all-in deduction envelope. Their estimated 6.33% revenue load is shown separately as a comparability check, not charged twice.
- Local marketing and required systems: treated as part of the ordinary-expense envelope to avoid double counting; actual mandated spending can differ substantially from the IRS aggregate.
- Debt and capital: loan principal and capital expenditures are excluded. Business interest and depreciation are embedded in the IRS benchmark and cannot be isolated from the published aggregate.
- Taxes: federal, state, and local personal income taxes are excluded because entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances vary.
A reconciled illustration of the $681,535 mature-business revenue proxy.
Interpretation: the base result is driven more by the operating-margin proxy and owner role than by the revenue arithmetic. A five-point change in realized margin on $681,535 of revenue changes annual benefit by about $34,000.
Calculation: the $681,535 revenue proxy multiplied by the 34.96% IRS all-in net-income margin equals $238,292 of owner-operator benefit. Subtracting the $78,350 BLS manager-wage proxy leaves $159,942. The estimated 6.33% License Fee and MAP exposure is treated as part of the all-in deductions envelope, not deducted again.
Can a Real Property Management owner be passive?
Passive ownership is not the default operating assumption in the 2026 FDD. Item 15 says an individual owner must directly perform or supervise the business unless the franchisor consents otherwise. If consent is given, a trained bona fide manager must directly supervise. For an entity-owned franchise, direct on-site supervision generally must be performed by a designated owner unless the franchisor consents to manager supervision. (2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 60–61.)
This operating requirement changes how the earnings figures should be read. In the owner-operated scenario, part of the $174,000–$310,000 benefit is compensation for the owner’s management work. It should not be described as passive income. In the manager-run scenario, the $96,000–$232,000 range is closer to residual business profit, but the BLS wage subtraction excludes employer payroll taxes, benefits, recruiting costs, and possible licensed-broker compensation. Actual manager-run earnings may therefore be lower.
Which FDD fees can move annual earnings most?
The percentage License Fee, the MAP Fee, and the local-marketing requirement are the most material disclosed recurring obligations. For a mature business, the License Fee is the greater of 7% of Non-Maintenance Gross Sales plus 3% of Maintenance Revenues or the applicable minimum. The MAP Fee is 2% of Non-Maintenance Gross Sales. Minimum Local Marketing Spending is the greater of $32,000 per year or 5% of prior-year Non-Maintenance Gross Sales, in addition to MAP. (2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 19–28.)
| Obligation | Current FDD amount | Model treatment |
|---|---|---|
| License Fee | 7% of Non-Maintenance Gross Sales plus 3% of Maintenance Revenues, subject to minimums | Included within the all-in margin assumption; 5.21% estimated burden is a comparability check |
| MAP Fee | 2% of Non-Maintenance Gross Sales | Included within the all-in margin assumption; 1.12% estimated burden is a comparability check |
| Minimum Local Marketing Spending | Greater of $32,000 or 5% of prior-year Non-Maintenance Gross Sales | Included within the all-in margin assumption; separately verify against actual spending |
| Required software | Software System currently $121 monthly; task and lead system currently $100 monthly up to 110 units plus $0.90 per additional unit; property-management software minimum currently $258 monthly | Included within the all-in margin assumption |
| BackOffice or HelpDesk | BackOffice currently $17 per unit with a $400 monthly minimum; later HelpDesk Plus currently $400 monthly when transition conditions are met | Included within the all-in margin assumption; stage and eligibility create uncertainty |
The fee table does not mean these amounts should be subtracted again from the scenario result. The IRS net-income ratio is an all-in deduction measure, so separately charging License Fee, MAP Fee, local advertising, software, bookkeeping, occupancy, and payroll could double count expenses. The scenario assumes all operating costs, including franchise obligations, fit within the 31.96%–37.96% margin band. Because the IRS group is broader and may carry lighter franchise costs, that assumption is a major source of uncertainty.
What uncertainty matters most?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand operating-profit data. Item 19 does not disclose payroll, occupancy, maintenance subcontractor cost, bad debt, insurance, local advertising expense, software expense, manager compensation, EBITDA, or Net Income. The IRS comparison includes real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers, so its 34.96% owner-operated margin is not a same-brand or pure residential-property-management measure. That is why the confidence rating is LIMITED, despite the current FDD and official government benchmarks.
Another uncertainty is the maintenance revenue definition. The FDD includes gross maintenance revenue and generally does not permit outside-vendor pass-through costs to be deducted from Maintenance Revenues without approval. A franchise with a high maintenance mix may show substantial Annual Revenue while retaining a much smaller gross margin on that activity. Revenue per unit can therefore vary without a proportional change in owner earnings.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?
A buyer should treat $96,000–$232,000 as the manager-run decision range and $174,000–$310,000 as the owner-operator benefit range, then replace every proxy with territory-specific evidence. The FTC states that buyers may request written substantiation for an Item 19 representation and should compare disclosed claims with current and former franchisee experience. The FTC’s franchise earnings guidance specifically emphasizes source limitations, assumptions, geography, and franchisee interviews.
- Request the written substantiation supporting Item 19’s 2025 managed-unit, revenue-per-unit, rent, and revenue-mix data.
- Ask for a total-revenue distribution by mature franchise, not only separate medians for units managed and Annual Revenue per unit.
- Interview mature franchisees with similar territory population, rent levels, licensing rules, and maintenance mix.
- Separate owner salary or draw from business profit, distributions, retained earnings, and capital expenditures.
- Obtain manager payroll, payroll-tax, benefits, broker-license, and recruiting costs for the target market.
- Reconcile License Fee, MAP Fee, local marketing, software, BackOffice, insurance, office, and vehicle expenses to actual general-ledger records.
- Review closed and transferred outlets in Item 20 and contact former franchisees, not only current high-volume operators.
- Model financing principal and interest separately; do not convert operating earnings into after-tax take-home pay.
What is the most defensible earnings takeaway?
A mature Real Property Management owner may reasonably model about $96,000 to $232,000 of annual pre-tax manager-run owner earnings, or about $174,000 to $310,000 of annual owner-operator benefit. These are scenario-based estimates, not official Item 19 profit results. The most important driver is the combination of units under management, revenue per unit, and owner involvement. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the lack of same-brand operating-expense and profit data.
The base scenario is about $160,000 for a manager-run business and $238,000 for an owner-operated business before financing principal and personal income taxes. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, total revenue by mature franchise, actual general-ledger expenses, manager compensation, maintenance gross margin, and former-franchisee outcomes before using any point within the range for a purchase decision.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Real Property Management Franchises?
- How Does Real Property Management Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Real Property Management Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does Real Property Management Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Real Property Management Franchise?