How Much Does a Property Management Inc. Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
$76,000–$115,000 per year

This is an estimated owner-operator benefit, not an official Property Management Inc. earnings claim. For an owner who hires a full-time Principal Operator, the same analytical model produces roughly $9,000–$48,000 of annual pre-tax residual business profit before debt principal and personal income taxes. The range uses 2025 revenue disclosed in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document for organic, no-acquisition operations.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited FDD: Issued March 30, 2026 Period: Calendar 2025
Independent estimate

The owner-earnings figures are independent analytical scenarios. They are not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Property Management Incorporated Franchise, LLC. The model combines identified FDD revenue and fee facts with a separately identified margin sensitivity and a Bureau of Labor Statistics manager-wage benchmark. Confidence is Limited because Item 19 does not disclose a franchisee profit measure. Actual results can differ materially because of market demand, pillar mix, door or unit count, pricing, staffing, occupancy, licensing, financing, owner involvement, acquisitions, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Property Management Incorporated Franchise, LLC.
FDD evidence
2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 53–56; Item 20, pp. 56–67; Items 5–7 and 15 for fees, initial operating context, and owner participation.
Item 19 status
Official revenue and unit-count disclosures are provided; operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, and owner compensation are not disclosed.
Applicable models
Residential, Commercial, Association, Short-Term Rental, Multifamily, and Realty services; the primary scenario focuses on organic Residential and no-acquisition multi-pillar revenue.
External benchmark
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics median pay for Property, Real Estate, and Community Association Managers; PMI’s current franchise-site margin language is used only as a disclosed sensitivity reference.
Date checked
July 14, 2026.
Official
$197,403

Average Residential revenue

Item 19 average annual revenue for Residential franchises that had not completed an acquisition.

Official
$332,743

Average multi-pillar revenue

Item 19 average annual revenue for 110 multi-pillar locations without an acquisition.

Benchmark
$66,700

Manager labor value

May 2024 U.S. median wage for property, real estate, and community association managers.

Scenario
6%–12%

All-in residual margin

Editorial sensitivity after normal operating expenses, manager pay, and recurring franchise fees.

Official
239

Residential locations analyzed

Used in the per-door and door-count tables; 95 Residential franchises were excluded for zero doors or incomplete data.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually report?

The FDD reports revenue, not owner earnings. Item 19 calls its first metric “Income,” but defines it as total franchisee revenue before costs and expenses, including royalty and advertising fees. That definition means the official numbers cannot be read as salary, take-home pay, EBITDA, net income, distributions, or cash available to an owner.

Revenue is not earnings

For Residential operations, Item 19 reports average revenue of $2,069 per door, median revenue of $2,221 per door, an average of 139 doors, and a median of 82 doors. Multiplying separate averages or medians does not reproduce an official location result, so the scenario model uses the directly disclosed annual location averages instead.

For franchises that had not completed an acquisition, Item 19 reports average annual revenue of $197,403 for Residential, $20,193 for Commercial, $190,641 for Association, $327,879 for Short-Term Rental, and $57,353 for Realty services. It separately reports that 110 multi-pillar locations without an acquisition averaged $332,743 annually. For 90 multi-pillar locations that had completed an acquisition, average annual revenue was $642,973. Acquisition-supported revenue is not used in the primary owner-earnings range because purchase price, financing, acquired payroll, client retention, and integration costs are not disclosed.

How broad is the reported population?

The population is substantial but not complete. Item 19 states that 95 Residential, 34 Association, 36 Short-Term Rental, 103 Commercial, and 42 Realty franchises were excluded because they had no relevant managed properties or transactions, or because data were incomplete or insufficient. The per-unit analyses include 239 Residential franchises, 37 Commercial franchises, 92 Association franchises, 63 Short-Term Rental franchises, and 51 Realty franchises.

Item 20 reports a system that was overwhelmingly U.S.-based but also identifies international outlets. Item 19 does not expressly say whether those international locations were excluded from its revenue tables. That unresolved cohort detail is one reason the confidence rating remains Limited rather than Moderate.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The model applies transparent revenue and margin sensitivities to two official no-acquisition revenue anchors. Conservative, Base, and Upside revenue equal 80%, 100%, and 120% of the disclosed average. The corresponding manager-run residual margins are 6%, 9%, and 12%.

  • Revenue anchor: $197,403 for organic Residential operations and $332,743 for organic multi-pillar locations, both from Item 19.
  • Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% are editorial scenarios, not FDD quartiles or probabilities.
  • Margin reference: PMI’s official U.S. franchise website describes 8%–10% margins as a challenge faced by current property-management owners, but supplies no sample, accounting definition, or substantiation. The model uses 9% only as a central analytical reference and widens it by three percentage points in each direction.
  • Manager-run earnings: Revenue multiplied by the all-in residual margin. The margin is assumed to be after normal operating expenses, recurring franchise fees, and a market-rate manager, but before personal income taxes and financing principal.
  • Owner-operator benefit: Manager-run residual profit plus $66,700 of manager labor value, assuming the owner personally performs the Principal Operator role. This is not passive profit.
Operating case Scenario Modeled revenue Residual margin Manager-run earnings Owner-operator benefit
Residential, no acquisition Conservative $158,000 6% $9,000 $76,000
Residential, no acquisition Base $197,000 9% $18,000 $84,000
Residential, no acquisition Upside $237,000 12% $28,000 $95,000
Multi-pillar, no acquisition Conservative $266,000 6% $16,000 $83,000
Multi-pillar, no acquisition Base $333,000 9% $30,000 $97,000
Multi-pillar, no acquisition Upside $399,000 12% $48,000 $115,000

Rounding: calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded to the nearest $1,000 for publication. Interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, and debt service are not separately modeled because the margin reference is not an audited accounting measure. Personal income taxes are excluded.

How much does owner operation change the Residential result?

Annual pre-tax manager-run residual profit versus owner-operator benefit, using the no-acquisition Residential revenue anchor.

Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit
Owner role comparison for Residential scenarios Three horizontal comparisons show manager-run residual profit and owner-operator benefit. Conservative is nine thousand dollars versus seventy-six thousand dollars. Base is eighteen thousand dollars versus eighty-four thousand dollars. Upside is twenty-eight thousand dollars versus ninety-five thousand dollars. $0 $25k $50k $75k $100k Conservative $9k $76k Base $18k $84k Upside $28k $95k

Interpretation: the $66,700 gap is labor value. It compensates the owner for performing the full-time Principal Operator function; it is not an increase in passive business profit.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, p. 55 and Item 15, p. 47; BLS manager pay data.

Owner role

Can the franchise be manager-run, and what does that mean for earnings?

Yes, the FDD permits a non-operating owner, but a qualified Principal Operator must manage the business day to day. Item 15 says the franchisee does not have to participate personally, although personal participation is recommended. The Principal Operator acts as general manager and oversees property management, leasing, and brokerage services.

That distinction changes the economic interpretation. A manager-run owner receives only residual business profit after paying the operator. An owner-operator may retain that residual and avoid a manager salary, but the added amount compensates the owner for labor, responsibility, licensing, client management, and after-hours demands. The Bureau of Labor Statistics notes that these managers usually work full time and may respond to emergencies or attend evening meetings. Its wage estimate is national, varies by market, and excludes self-employed workers.

  • Manager-run pre-tax owner earningsResidual operating profit after normal unit-level expenses, recurring franchise fees, and manager compensation, but before personal taxes and financing principal.
  • Estimated owner-operator benefitManager-run residual profit plus the market value of the manager role performed by the owner. It combines business profit and labor compensation.
  • Debt serviceNot included in either figure. Item 10 does not promise standardized financing terms, so loan payments must be tested separately for each buyer.
  • After-tax take-home payNot estimated. Federal, state, local, payroll, and self-employment tax outcomes depend on entity structure and individual circumstances.
Recurring obligations

How much of Residential revenue can disclosed fees absorb?

At the FDD’s $197,403 average Residential revenue, identified recurring obligations can total about $54,000–$60,000 before payroll, rent, travel, professional services, and other operating expenses. This derived amount assumes no Brokerage Revenue and assumes revenue is earned evenly across 12 months. It includes a 7% royalty, 2% National Marketing Fund, $24,000 Local Advertising Quota, $8,748 Digital Essentials Package, $1,188 PMiPrograms fee, accounting software, and the FDD’s insurance estimate. The $24,000 local-advertising amount is prepaid for the first year and continues as a $2,000 monthly minimum beginning in month 13.

Which disclosed obligations create the largest annual burden?

Derived annual amounts at $197,403 of Residential revenue; the royalty assumes revenue is earned evenly across 12 months and no Brokerage Revenue.

Annual disclosed recurring obligation components Local advertising is twenty-four thousand dollars. Royalty is approximately thirteen thousand eight hundred dollars. Digital Essentials is eight thousand seven hundred forty-eight dollars. National marketing is approximately three thousand nine hundred dollars. PMiPrograms is one thousand one hundred eighty-eight dollars. Accounting software plus insurance ranges from two thousand three hundred sixty to eight thousand six hundred dollars. $0 $5k $10k $15k $20k $25k Local advertising $24,000 Royalty $13,818 Digital Essentials $8,748 National marketing $3,948 PMiPrograms $1,188 Accounting + insurance $2,360–$8,600

Interpretation: these identified obligations total about $54,000–$60,000, or roughly 27%–31% of the disclosed average Residential revenue, before manager or staff payroll, rent, travel, professional services, trust-account work, and other operating expenses.

Sources and formula: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–16 and Item 19, p. 55. With evenly distributed annual revenue, monthly Gross Revenue remains below $35,000, producing a 7% royalty of $13,818; actual royalty depends on monthly revenue timing. PMiBOOKS is excluded because its duration and a door count matched to the no-acquisition revenue cohort are not disclosed.

Additional-pillar effect

Each Additional Pillar adds at least $15,000 per year from the disclosed $1,000 monthly Local Advertising Quota and $250 monthly Digital Essentials fee, before pillar-specific software, bookkeeping, staffing, or certification costs. Multi-pillar revenue is therefore not automatically more profitable than single-pillar revenue.

Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence Limited?

The central uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand profit statement. Item 19 provides strong revenue evidencebut does not disclose payroll, owner compensation, manager compensation, occupancy, software totals, bad debt, client-acquisition cost, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, or distributions. The 6%–12% residual margin therefore remains an analytical sensitivity rather than a measured PMI franchise result.

Which figures should not be combined?

Organic and acquisition-supported locations should remain separate. The $642,973 average for multi-pillar locations that completed an acquisition may reflect purchased client contracts, acquired staff, financing, and integration costs. Multiplying that revenue by the same margin used for organic operations would create a false level of precision.

Likewise, Residential doors, Association units, Short-Term Rental keys, Commercial units or square feet, and Realty transactions have different fee structures and operating demands. Company-operated economics are unavailable because Item 20 reports no company-owned outlets at year-end 2025.

What could move the range most?

Managed account count and revenue per account are the largest top-line drivers, while staffing and required marketing are the largest controllable cost pressures. Item 19 shows very wide ranges: Residential revenue per door ran from $183 to $18,492, and door counts ranged from 1 to 1,533. Those ranges are descriptive, not probabilities, but they show why one system average cannot predict a specific territory.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should reconstruct owner economics from current franchisee profit-and-loss statements, not from revenue alone. The FDD states that written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and Item 20 supplies current and former franchisee contacts.

  • Request Item 19 substantiation and ask whether the annual revenue tables include only U.S. outlets, how the no-acquisition pillar cohorts were counted, and whether closed or transferred locations are represented.
  • Ask at least three Residential franchisees for trailing-12-month Gross Revenue, Brokerage Revenue, payroll, owner compensation, royalty, National Marketing Fund, Local Advertising, Digital Essentials, software, bookkeeping, insurance, and operating profit.
  • Separate owner salary or labor value from distributions and retained business profit. Ask how many hours the owner and Principal Operator work each week.
  • Verify how long PMiBOOKS remained mandatory, the current per-door or per-unit charge, and the cost of the replacement bookkeeping solution.
  • For multi-pillar plans, obtain a written schedule of each additional advertising, digital, software, certification, and staffing obligation.
  • For an acquisition, model purchase debt, seller financing, client attrition, acquired payroll, integration cost, and the timing of revenue conversion separately from organic operations.
  • Test debt service after operating earnings. Do not treat the FDD’s initial investment or three months of Additional Funds as an annual expense.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?

The strongest defensible range is approximately $76,000–$115,000 of annual owner-operator benefit, or $9,000–$48,000 of manager-run pre-tax residual business profit. Both are scenario-based, not official Item 19 earnings figures. The most important driver is recurring revenue scale across doors, associations, keys, commercial accounts, and approved pillars. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual all-in operating margin after required marketing, technology, bookkeeping, payroll, and local operating costs. Before investing, a buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, request compatible franchisee profit-and-loss statements, and interview current and former owners about manager pay, owner hours, fee load, and acquisition versus organic growth.