A reasonable manager-run estimate for one mature U.S. Panda Express licensed captive-venue restaurant is approximately $4,000 to $102,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $45,000. An approved, actively working owner who replaces a paid Store Manager could instead receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $69,000 to $167,000, but that higher figure includes the market value of the owner's labor and is not passive business profit.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Citadel Panda Express, Inc. It combines the 2026 FDD's official 2025 Gross Sales evidence and recurring-fee terms with a separately identified IRS restaurant margin benchmark, a BLS manager-wage benchmark, and explicit modeling spreads. Actual results can differ materially by venue, format, sales, labor, occupancy or concession terms, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Citadel Panda Express, Inc. Disclosure: U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 17, 2026. Item 19 status: official Gross Sales only—no operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or cash-flow figure. Population: 167 licensed airport, hospital, military, university, casino, and travel-plaza restaurants operating for at least 52 weeks during fiscal 2025. External anchors: 2023 IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship restaurant statistics and May 2024 BLS Food Service Manager wages. Data and public sources checked July 14, 2026. The brand's current U.S. venue model is also described on its official Panda Express licensing opportunities page.
How much may a Panda Express franchise owner make?
The best supportable answer is a scenario range, not an official earnings number: about $4,000 to $102,000 per mature captive-venue unit for a manager-run operation, before personal income taxes and before financing interest or principal. The model's $45,000 base case is not presented as the most likely result; it is simply the central calculation using the official median Gross Sales and the government benchmark margin.
The 2026 FDD reports sales, not owner pay. That makes this a Mode C — FDD-anchored scenario estimate with LIMITED confidence. The main reason for the rating is that the residual margin comes from a broad government restaurant dataset rather than Panda Express franchisee profit-and-loss statements.
What does the Panda Express FDD actually disclose?
Item 19 officially discloses 2025 Gross Sales—not owner earnings—for licensed Panda Express restaurants in six captive-venue categories. The overall median was $1,328,594 and the average was $1,715,919. These figures apply to restaurants open for at least 52 weeks during the fiscal year from December 29, 2024 through December 27, 2025.
Gross Sales is revenue before food, labor, venue occupancy, royalties, product markups, operating costs, financing, and taxes. The FDD expressly warns that its sales figures do not reflect the costs needed to calculate Net Income or profit. It also says the licensee-reported data are unaudited and are not presented under generally accepted accounting principles. Source: 2026 Panda Express FDD, Item 19, pp. 74–77.
| Captive venue | Eligible units | Median Gross Sales | Average Gross Sales |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airport | 23 | $4,064,585 | $4,157,008 |
| Hospital | 3 | $539,339 | $624,396 |
| Military | 55 | $1,550,464 | $1,651,329 |
| University | 74 | $877,833 | $952,354 |
| Casino | 4 | $1,881,242 | $1,999,832 |
| Travel plaza | 8 | $2,278,489 | $2,472,180 |
| All eligible venues | 167 | $1,328,594 | $1,715,919 |
The $1.33 million median is not an owner's salary, draw, distribution, or business profit. The venue table also shows why a single systemwide revenue number has limited predictive value: airport median Gross Sales were more than seven times the hospital median, and the smallest venue cohorts contain only three or four restaurants.
How is the annual earnings range calculated?
The estimate multiplies three explicit revenue anchors by three explicit residual-margin assumptions. Revenue is set at 80%, 100%, and 120% of the FDD median because Item 19 provides a central median but no quartiles. The margin band uses the 2023 IRS restaurant net-income ratio of 3.38% as its center, then subtracts or adds three percentage points as a sensitivity test.
For this article, the residual margin is an editorial operating assumption intended to represent cash available after normal unit-level expenses, a paid Store Manager, and disclosed recurring franchise fees, but before personal income taxes, financing interest and principal, depreciation, and major capital expenditures. The IRS ratio is used only as the center point; it is not treated as a Panda Express accounting statement. Because the IRS category combines full-service restaurants, limited-service restaurants, and drinking places—and does not isolate captive venues or Panda Express licensees—the resulting range has limited confidence. The underlying official dataset is available through the IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics.
| Scenario | Gross Sales anchor | Residual margin | Manager-run earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $1,062,875 | 0.38% | $4,047 |
| Base | $1,328,594 | 3.38% | $44,916 |
| Upside | $1,594,313 | 6.38% | $101,729 |
The model changes both sales and the residual margin; these are analytical cases, not probabilities or franchisor forecasts.
Interpretation: a small change in residual margin has a large dollar effect because the FDD median revenue exceeds $1.3 million. A venue can produce substantial Gross Sales while leaving little owner cash after all expenses.
Sources: 2026 Panda Express FDD, Item 19, pp. 74–77; IRS 2023 Nonfarm Sole Proprietorships, Table 2. Calculations use full-precision inputs and display dollar results rounded to the nearest dollar.
How does active owner operation change the result?
An owner who personally performs the required Store Manager role could add approximately $65,310 of labor value to the manager-run residual, producing estimated owner-operator benefit of about $69,000 to $167,000. This is an estimate, not an official Panda Express earnings disclosure, and the added amount compensates the owner for working in the restaurant.
Item 15 does not state that the equity owner must personally operate the restaurant, but it requires an approved Store Manager to be on site at all times during operating hours and requires training and certification. The model uses the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' May 2024 national median pay of $65,310 for Food Service Managers as a replacement-labor proxy. Actual manager compensation varies by market, venue complexity, schedule, benefits, payroll taxes, and experience. The BLS Food Service Managers profile also reports a $63,040 median within food services and drinking places, which illustrates that the labor proxy is approximate.
Each line adds the same $65,310 manager-labor proxy; the right-hand point is not passive profit.
Interpretation: owner involvement changes compensation more than business profit. The extra $65,310 is the modeled value of management work; it should not be described as a distribution, passive income, or a franchisor-reported salary.
Sources: 2026 Panda Express FDD, Item 15, pp. 53–54; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Food Service Managers, May 2024 median wage. Owner-operator values equal manager-run residual plus $65,310.
Which FDD fees can materially affect owner earnings?
The 8% Royalty is the largest clearly quantified recurring franchisor charge. At the official $1,328,594 median Gross Sales, 8% equals approximately $106,288 per year. That is above the annualized $52,000 minimum implied by thirteen four-week Royalty Periods, assuming no approved proration or closure exception.
The scenario margin is intended to be all-in, so the royalty and other routine expenses are not subtracted a second time from the scenario results. Their separate presentation shows what a buyer must confirm inside actual unit P&Ls. Item 6 also states that Royalties are in addition to the Proprietary Product markup described in Item 8; the FDD does not provide one universal markup percentage that can be modeled safely.
| FDD obligation | Disclosed amount | Earnings interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 8% of Gross Volume or $4,000 minimum per four-week period | Approximately $106,288 at the 2025 median sales level; minimum may be prorated in specified venue closures. |
| Food-safety inspections | $177.24 quarterly, subject to 4% annual increase | $708.96 per year before future increases. |
| Customer-satisfaction surveys | $20–$22 per store per month | Approximately $240–$264 per year, excluding coupon food cost. |
| Promotional and marketing materials | $300–$1,000 per year | Required approved campaign materials; not a percentage advertising-fund charge. |
| Mystery shopper services | $19.75–$100 plus $11–$14 meal reimbursement per service | Frequency is not fixed in Item 6, so no annual total is assumed. |
| Proprietary Product markup | No single universal percentage disclosed | Paid in addition to Royalty; actual purchasing economics require unit-level verification. |
Source: 2026 Panda Express FDD, Item 6, pp. 14–18. The $25,000 initial License Fee and Item 7 startup investment are not treated as recurring annual operating expenses.
Why can actual owner earnings fall outside the range?
The largest uncertainty is the unit-specific venue contract and expense structure, which Item 19 does not disclose. Captive-venue economics can include rent, concession payments, revenue sharing, seasonal closures, restricted operating hours, local wage premiums, meal-plan arrangements, security or access costs, and venue-specific staffing rules. A high airport sales figure does not automatically produce a higher owner margin.
- Venue mix: fiscal 2025 median Gross Sales ranged from $539,339 for hospitals to $4,064,585 for airports. Applying the overall median to a specific venue can be misleading.
- Population limits: Item 19 includes 167 restaurants operating for at least 52 weeks, including 59 joint ventures in which a Panda affiliate is a minority owner.
- Excluded outlets: the disclosure excludes 11 licensed restaurants associated with less-than-a-year operation or closure treatment and excludes one theme-park and one corporate-campus restaurant for privacy. New-unit ramp-up is therefore not represented cleanly.
- Reporting quality: the franchisor says the sales data were reported by licensees, are unaudited, and are not GAAP presentations.
- Benchmark mismatch: the IRS margin covers a broad national restaurant-and-drinking-place sole-proprietor population, not branded captive-venue licensees. It cannot reveal Panda Express food cost, labor productivity, concession expense, or product markup.
- System population: Item 20 reports 184 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, up 11 during the year, while Item 19 covers only the eligible mature captive-venue cohort. Per-unit sales do not equal per-owner portfolio earnings.
The overall minimum and maximum Gross Sales—$216,661 and $10,748,193—should not be converted directly into owner-earnings endpoints. They combine different venue types, geographies, ages, and operating circumstances and are extremes rather than probability bands.
What should a prospective owner verify before relying on any estimate?
A buyer should replace this limited-confidence model with same-format, same-market operating records whenever possible. The 2026 FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and the Federal Trade Commission's framework emphasizes that financial performance representations require a reasonable basis and prescribed disclosure. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide provides the governing context.
- Request Item 19 substantiation: confirm the exact outlet list, fiscal periods, venue classification, Gross Sales definition, joint-venture treatment, and every exclusion.
- Obtain three years of comparable P&Ls: separate food and packaging, hourly labor, Store Manager compensation, occupancy or concession charges, Royalty, product markup, utilities, repairs, insurance, and local required costs.
- Match the venue: compare airport with airport, university with university, and military with military; do not rely on the all-venue average when the proposed Client contract differs.
- Clarify the owner role in writing: determine whether the owner can qualify as the approved Store Manager, required training, expected schedule, backup management, and payroll burden.
- Separate operating earnings from financing: model loan interest and principal after the operating result. Do not subtract Item 7's total investment from one year of sales.
- Interview current and former licensees: ask about venue revenue sharing, seasonal closures, manager turnover, food-cost variance, product markup, capital replacements, and cash retained for the business.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
For one mature U.S. Panda Express captive-venue license, the strongest defensible manager-run estimate is approximately $4,000 to $102,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a central calculation near $45,000. This is a scenario-based estimate, not an official Item 19 profit result. An actively working owner who replaces the paid Store Manager may receive total owner-operator benefit of roughly $69,000 to $167,000, but about $65,310 of that modeled amount represents labor compensation.
The most important earnings driver is the combination of venue-specific Gross Sales and the residual margin after labor, food, occupancy or concession charges, the 8% Royalty, product markup, and other operating expenses. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that the FDD provides no franchisee expense or profit table and does not reveal the economics of each Client contract. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile the Item 19 substantiation with same-venue P&Ls and interviews with current and former licensees, then model debt service and personal taxes separately.