How Much Does a One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings answer
About $23,000 to $133,000 per territory

This is an independent estimate of annual, pre-tax residual earnings for a manager-run One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning territory. The base scenario is about $61,000. An active owner who genuinely replaces a full-time non-owner general manager could receive an estimated $126,000 to $236,000 of owner-operator benefit, but roughly $103,000 of that comparison represents labor value rather than passive business profit.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: One U.S. service territory Period: 2025 revenue; annual earnings model
$61,000 Base manager-run earnings

Annual pre-tax residual estimate at $884,016 of Gross Revenue and a 6.9% all-in margin.

SCENARIO
$884,016 Median Gross Revenue

Per territory for the full-year 2025 reporting cohort; revenue is not owner earnings.

OFFICIAL
13.5% + $1,200 Core recurring burden

Royalty, Brand Fund, Local Marketing, and current annualized Technology Fee at modeled revenue levels.

OFFICIAL
88 / 364 Item 19 cohort

Full-year franchisees and territories included in the 2025 Gross Revenue quartile tables.

OFFICIAL
$103,000 Manager labor proxy

Annualized from the FDD's $25,750 high estimate for three months of a non-owner general or operations manager.

DERIVED
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose?

The official disclosure measures 2025 Gross Revenue by territory and by franchisee; it does not disclose profit or owner pay. Table 1 covers 364 territories associated with 88 franchisees that operated for the entire fiscal year. It excludes 20 franchisees representing 25 territories that opened in 2025 and 18 franchisees representing 26 territories that ceased operations during 2025; one franchisee representing two territories both opened and closed that year. The data therefore describe a full-year cohort rather than every unit that operated at any point, and the FDD notes that a franchisee's Gross Revenue may include sales generated in open territory that had not been awarded.

Revenue is not earnings

The FDD defines Gross Revenue broadly as revenue and other income connected to the Franchised Business, less bona fide customer refunds. Royalty, advertising, technician payroll, equipment, parts, vehicles, insurance, rent, debt service, and personal taxes have not yet been deducted from the Item 19 figures.

Item 19 territory group Territories Median Gross Revenue Reported low–high
Top 25% franchisee group 41 $2,761,642 $1,798,168–$7,717,296
Second-quartile franchisee group 134 $1,344,808 $899,464–$1,721,422
Third-quartile franchisee group 92 $578,084 $398,529–$868,567
Bottom 25% franchisee group 97 $242,722 $21,819–$379,681

Source: One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning 2026 FDD, Item 19, Table 1, pages 69–70. The FDD ranks franchisees by average Gross Revenue per territory and then reports the territories associated with each franchisee group. These are disclosed group statistics, not probabilities that a new territory will fall into a particular band.

Item 19 also reports an overall per-territory median of $884,016, plus 8.4% same-store Gross Revenue growth for 80 franchisees operating 348 territories in both 2024 and 2025. Systemwide Gross Revenue was $365.8 million across 420 territories that operated for any part of 2025. Those growth measures show revenue movement, not margin movement. Item 20 reports 418 franchised territories and 28 company-owned territories at December 31, 2025; this article relies on the franchised-unit Item 19 cohort and does not use company-operated economics as a profit proxy.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, Tables 1, 3, and 4, pages 69–73; Item 20, Table 1, page 74. The franchisor states that the figures were based on franchisee reports and that written substantiation is available upon reasonable request.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?

The model multiplies three official per-territory revenue anchors by 3.9%, 6.9%, and 9.9% all-in residual-margin assumptions. The central 6.9% benchmark comes from IRS Statistics of Income data for 2017 S corporations classified as Specialty Trade Contractors, where net income from a trade or business was $43.122 billion against $627.645 billion of business receipts. The conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above that benchmark.

Estimated pre-tax manager-run owner earnings = Item 19 Gross Revenue anchor × assumed post-fee residual margin.

The IRS category is broader than HVAC, is older than the 2025 FDD revenue data, and contains non-franchised businesses. It also reflects net income after compensation of officers, interest, and depreciation. Therefore, the 6.9% figure is used only to center an analytical sensitivity band—not as a claimed One Hour margin. The three scenario margins are explicitly assumed to be after normal operating costs, a paid day-to-day manager, and the disclosed recurring franchise obligations; those fees are not subtracted a second time.

Scenario FDD revenue anchor Post-fee margin Manager-run earnings
Conservative
Third-quartile group median
$578,084 3.9% $22,545
Base
All-territory median
$884,016 6.9% $60,997
Upside
Second-quartile group median
$1,344,808 9.9% $133,136
Manager-run annual owner-earnings scenarios

Independent pre-tax residual estimates per territory; rounded values are shown in thousands.

Conservative, base, and upside manager-run owner-earnings scenarios Three columns show approximately 23 thousand dollars, 61 thousand dollars, and 133 thousand dollars of annual pre-tax residual earnings. $0 $50k $100k $150k $23k $61k $133k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: Revenue and margin both move across the scenarios, so the endpoints are sensitivity cases—not a probability forecast or guaranteed range.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, Table 1, pages 69–70; IRS S-corporation Statistics of Income and 2017 Table 6.1 for Specialty Trade Contractors. Calculations are independent, rounded after using full-precision inputs.

Why confidence is limited

The strongest same-brand evidence stops at Gross Revenue. The profit margin is not disclosed by One Hour, and the federal benchmark is broad, old, entity-specific, and not franchise-specific. The largest analytical risk is therefore margin comparability—not the arithmetic.

Recurring obligations

How much of revenue is committed before other operating costs?

At all three modeled revenue levels, the disclosed core recurring burden equals 13.5% of Gross Revenue plus the current $1,200 annualized Technology Fee. That combines the 6% Royalty Fee, 1.5% Brand Fund Contribution for revenue below $5 million, and 6% Local Marketing requirement. The scenario margins already assume these obligations have been paid.

Revenue scenario Royalty + Brand Fund Local Marketing + technology Core annual total
Conservative: $578,084 $43,356 $35,885 $79,241
Base: $884,016 $66,301 $54,241 $120,542
Upside: $1,344,808 $100,861 $81,888 $182,749

Source and calculation: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 13–16 and 22–23. Royalty = 6% of Gross Revenue because each modeled case exceeds the $300,000 annual level at which 6% equals the $18,000 annual minimum. Brand Fund = 1.5%; Local Marketing = 6%; Technology Fee = $100 per month. Values are rounded to the nearest dollar.

The table is not a complete expense statement. It excludes parts and equipment, technician and dispatcher payroll, payroll burden, vehicles, fuel, insurance, rent, utilities, customer financing costs, merchant fees, call-center charges, additional software or vendor fees, warranty and callback costs, training, conference costs, professional fees, and other operating expenses. The FDD permits changes to some fees and programs, including technology charges and the Brand Fund rate within contractual limits.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

An owner who replaces the paid day-to-day Key Person could increase annual owner-operator benefit by approximately $103,000 in this model. Item 15 permits the Key Person to be an owner or a non-owner, while Item 7 assumes zero initial manager cost when the principal owner works full time and up to $25,750 for three months when a non-owner general or operations manager is hired.

Manager-run residual versus owner-operator benefit

Owner-operator figures add the annualized $103,000 management-labor proxy; they are not passive-profit estimates.

Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit
Comparison of manager-run owner earnings and owner-operator benefit For conservative, base, and upside scenarios, manager-run residual earnings of 23, 61, and 133 thousand dollars compare with owner-operator benefit of 126, 164, and 236 thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k $250k Conservative Base Upside $23k $126k $61k $164k $133k $236k

Interpretation: The owner-operator gap is compensation for full-time management work. It should not be treated as a free margin increase, a dividend, or evidence of passive ownership.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 29, and Item 15, page 59. The $103,000 labor proxy equals $25,750 multiplied by four; the FDD provides a three-month startup estimate, not a formal annual salary representation.

  • Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings: modeled residual business profit after a normal paid manager and disclosed recurring fees, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.
  • Owner-operator benefit: manager-run residual plus the modeled market value of management labor performed by the owner. The labor component requires actual work and is not passive income.
  • Debt and capital treatment: the IRS benchmark embeds interest and depreciation, but this model does not calculate financing principal, replacement vehicles, major equipment purchases, or other capital expenditures. Those cash demands can materially reduce distributions.
  • Taxes and distributions: no personal income tax, owner draw, retained-earnings policy, or entity-specific distribution assumption is modeled.
Uncertainty and verification

What could move actual earnings outside the range?

The largest unresolved variable is the territory's true post-fee operating margin. Item 19 supplies a wide revenue distribution but no technician labor ratio, equipment and parts cost, gross margin, manager compensation, rent, insurance, vehicle cost, or store-level profit. A buyer should therefore treat the $23,000–$133,000 manager-run range as a diligence framework rather than a forecast.

  • Revenue quality: replacement-system sales, repairs, maintenance plans, indoor-air-quality work, seasonality, and customer financing can produce different gross margins even at the same Gross Revenue.
  • Labor productivity: technician utilization, overtime, callbacks, recruiting, licensing, dispatch efficiency, and sales conversion can shift earnings by more than the relatively small fixed Technology Fee.
  • Territory maturity: the modeled anchors come from a full-year cohort, and the FDD's quartile-age table shows that older territories are concentrated in the higher groups. A new territory may not resemble a mature one.
  • Owner structure: one franchisee can operate multiple territories, so per-territory revenue is not automatically per-owner income. Shared overhead may help a portfolio, while additional managers, vehicles, and ramp-up costs may offset scale.
  • Financing and reinvestment: interest, loan principal, vehicle replacement, inventory, equipment, and working capital affect cash available for distribution even when accounting profit is positive.

What should a buyer verify before relying on the estimate?

Verify the revenue cohort, a normalized profit-and-loss statement, and the owner role with the franchisor and existing franchisees. The FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 is available upon reasonable request, and Item 20 provides current and former franchisee contacts for independent diligence.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how Gross Revenue is assigned when a franchisee serves open territory or operates multiple territories.
  • Ask for separate results for one-territory, mature, manager-run businesses that resemble the planned market, rather than relying on portfolio-level franchisee revenue.
  • Obtain actual percentages for equipment and parts, direct technician labor, payroll burden, management payroll, vehicles, insurance, occupancy, call center, software, merchant fees, warranties, and callbacks.
  • Confirm whether the 6% Local Marketing requirement replaces existing advertising spend or must be added to other lead-generation costs in the proposed territory.
  • Ask franchisees what they pay themselves as salary, what remains as distributions, how much is retained for fleet and working capital, and whether debt service limits cash withdrawals.
  • Review the FTC's consumer guidance on buying a franchise and use professional legal and accounting review for the current agreement and financial model.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings answer?

A reasonable evidence-led range is approximately $23,000 to $133,000 in annual pre-tax residual earnings for one manager-run territory, with a base scenario near $61,000. This is scenario-based, not an official One Hour earnings disclosure. An owner-operator could show approximately $126,000 to $236,000 of total benefit only when the owner truly performs the full-time management role represented by the $103,000 labor proxy.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of per-territory Gross Revenue and post-fee operating margin. The largest uncertainty is that the 2026 FDD discloses sales but no unit-level cost or profit statement. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation with normalized profit-and-loss statements and interviews with comparable one-territory franchisees, separating business profit from owner labor, debt service, reinvestment, and personal taxes.