How Much Does a Mr. Appliance Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent annual earnings estimate

$35,000–$140,000 owner-operator benefit

For an illustrative U.S. Mr. Appliance single-territory business, the strongest defensible range is about $35,000 to $140,000 a year in estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit. A manager-run version of the same scenarios ranges from an estimated $45,000 operating loss to about $60,000 of pre-tax owner residual, before debt principal and personal income taxes.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored scenarios Confidence: Limited FDD: 2026; operating data: 2025 Format: U.S. franchised service business

Independent estimate — not an Item 19 earnings claim

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not a financial performance representation made by MR. APPLIANCE SPV LLC. It combines 2025 Gross Sales Per Job disclosed in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified service-volume assumptions, an Internal Revenue Service repair-business margin proxy, and a Bureau of Labor Statistics manager-wage benchmark. Actual results can differ materially because of territory, job conversion, pricing, parts and technician costs, local marketing, franchise fees, owner involvement, financing, and execution.

Data basis and evidence status

Legal franchisor: MR. APPLIANCE SPV LLC. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document was issued April 1, 2026.

Item 19 status: official 2025 ticket data only. It reports Gross Sales Per Job, not annual revenue, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, or owner compensation.

Applicable population: U.S. franchised businesses. Item 20 shows 311 franchised outlets and no company-owned outlets at December 31, 2025.

External benchmarks: 2023 IRS Statistics of Income for “Miscellaneous repairs” and May 2025 BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics. Checked July 14, 2026.

Direct answer

How much may a Mr. Appliance owner earn annually?

The estimated answer is $35,000 to $140,000 in annual owner-operator benefit, with a modeled midpoint of about $74,000. This is a scenario range for a single U.S. franchised business, not an official Mr. Appliance profit disclosure and not a prediction of the most likely result.

“Owner-operator benefit” is used deliberately. It includes the residual economic result plus the value of management work performed by the owner. It is not passive business profit. When a paid operating supervisor is substituted for the owner, the modeled residual falls by the benchmark wage and can become negative at conservative and base sales levels.

Scenario

$35k–$140k

Owner-operator benefit

Independent pre-tax range before personal taxes and financing principal.

Official

$284

Median Gross Sales Per Job

All 289 Item 19 reporting businesses for calendar 2025.

Official

289

Businesses in Item 19

The FDD’s stated reporting population; cohort wording needs reconciliation.

Official

7%–9%

License Fee plus MAP Fee

Before local marketing, software, call center, and other operating costs.

Benchmark

$79,860

Supervisor cash wage

May 2025 U.S. median for BLS occupation 49-1011; payroll burden excluded.

Evidence

Limited

Confidence rating

The FDD supplies ticket size, but annual volume and owner profit require external assumptions.

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Cash-generating economic benefit after normal operating costs and recurring franchise obligations, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.
Owner-operator benefit
The modeled business result plus the labor value of owner management. It is compensation for both capital at risk and work performed.
Manager-run residual
Owner-operator benefit minus a benchmark operating-supervisor cash wage. Employer payroll taxes and benefits are not deducted, so this residual is optimistic.
Not included
Personal income taxes, financing principal, a separate capital-expenditure reserve, and a location-specific manager benefit load. Debt interest and depreciation are not separately modeled; they are only present to the extent reflected in the broad IRS margin proxy.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose?

The official disclosure measures Gross Sales Per Job during January 1 through December 31, 2025. It does not disclose annual Gross Sales per business or any profit measure. MR. APPLIANCE SPV LLC defines Gross Sales broadly as revenues and receipts connected with the business, with specified exclusions for sales taxes, authorized refunds or discounts, and approved Excluded Services.

The overall Item 19 average was $291 per job, while the median was $284 per job. The difference is small, but neither figure is owner income: parts, technician labor, vehicles, insurance, advertising, License Fees, MAP Fees, software, call-center charges, and other expenses still have to be paid.

2025 Item 19 cohort Average per job Median per job Disclosed range Businesses
First quartile $365 $346 $317–$556 73
Second quartile $299 $301 $284–$316 72
Third quartile $271 $271 $258–$284 72
Fourth quartile $229 $238 $148–$258 72
All reporting businesses $291 $284 $148–$556 289

Official source: Mr. Appliance SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 68–70. Franchisees were not required to use generally accepted accounting principles when reporting the underlying figures.

Revenue is not earnings

A $284 median ticket becomes economically meaningful only after multiplying it by completed, billable jobs and then deducting all operating costs. Item 19 does not disclose job counts, annual revenue, gross profit, operating profit, EBITDA, owner salary, distributions, or net income. Any annual owner-earnings number therefore must be labeled as an estimate.

How representative is the Item 19 population?

The FDD says 311 U.S. Mr. Appliance businesses were operating at December 31, 2025, all franchised, and that 289 businesses were included in Item 19. Item 20 reports 311 year-end outlets, 21 transfers during 2025, and a net increase of one outlet from 2024.

There is a material wording issue to verify. Item 19 describes the 289 businesses as open and reporting for “all or any portion” of 2025, while nearby text says 14 openings, 21 transfers, and 13 closures were excluded because they did not operate and report for the full year. Those descriptions do not support a clean coverage percentage without reconciliation. A buyer should request the written substantiation and ask MR. APPLIANCE SPV LLC to explain the eligible denominator, any overlap among exclusion categories, and whether each quartile uses a full-year cohort.

Official source: Mr. Appliance SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Items 19–20, pp. 68–78. The Federal Trade Commission’s Franchise Rule Compliance Guide is useful context for why an Item 19 financial performance representation must have a reasonable basis and available substantiation.

Scenario model

How is the annual earnings range calculated?

The estimate multiplies a disclosed ticket value by an assumed number of paid jobs and service days, then applies a broad operating-margin sensitivity. The revenue anchors are official Item 19 medians; the job counts, service days, and margins are independent assumptions.

  • Conservative: fourth-quartile median ticket of $238 × 6 paid jobs a day × 240 service days = $342,720 modeled annual Gross Sales.
  • Base: overall median ticket of $284 × 8 paid jobs a day × 245 service days = $556,640 modeled annual Gross Sales.
  • Upside: first-quartile median ticket of $346 × 10 paid jobs a day × 250 service days = $865,000 modeled annual Gross Sales.

The official U.S. Mr. Appliance franchise site says the business visits an average of 8–10 homes and commercial buildings a day. A visit is not necessarily a completed paid job, so the model treats 6, 8, and 10 paid jobs as analytical assumptions rather than franchisor-reported production. The official Mr. Appliance service site confirms the mix includes residential and commercial appliance repair and dryer-vent services, but it does not publish conversion rates or job-level costs.

What operating margin does the estimate use?

The base margin is 13.22%, derived from 2023 IRS Statistics of Income data for nonfarm sole proprietorships in “Miscellaneous repairs”: $3.230813 billion of net income less deficit divided by $24.438604 billion of business receipts. Following a transparent sensitivity approach, the conservative and upside margins are 3 percentage points below and above that benchmark, or 10.22% and 16.22%.

The source is the IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics. This benchmark is broad, not Mr. Appliance-specific, and not limited to staffed appliance-repair franchises. Its 438,242 returns averaged only about $55,800 of receipts per return, far below the modeled Mr. Appliance revenue range. It therefore provides a directional owner-operated margin proxy, not a comparable-unit profit margin.

Because the IRS percentage is used as an all-in margin proxy, the model does not subtract Mr. Appliance fees a second time. The margin must be capable of absorbing the disclosed License Fee, MAP Fee, local marketing, technology, call-center, technician, vehicle, parts, insurance, and administrative costs. That is a major limitation and the principal reason the confidence rating is Limited.

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit by scenario

Modeled Gross Sales multiplied by the scenario margin; dollars rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Conservative, base, and upside owner-operator benefit Three columns show estimated annual owner-operator benefit of 35 thousand dollars, 74 thousand dollars, and 140 thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $35k $74k $140k Conservative Base Upside $343k sales · 10.22% $557k sales · 13.22% $865k sales · 16.22%

Interpretation: ticket size matters, but paid job volume and the all-in operating margin move the result more. The chart is a sensitivity analysis, not a forecast distribution.

Sources: Mr. Appliance SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 68–70; official Mr. Appliance franchise site; IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics. Calculations use full precision and are rounded only for display.

Scenario Modeled Gross Sales Margin Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $342,720 10.22% $35,026
Base $556,640 13.22% $73,588
Upside $865,000 16.22% $140,303

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement can change the modeled annual result by roughly the cost of a qualified operating supervisor. Item 15 says an individual franchisee must directly perform or supervise the business unless the franchisor consents otherwise. If consent is given, a trained bona fide manager must directly supervise. The official franchise site likewise describes the owner as managing the business and leading repair professionals rather than personally performing repairs.

For the manager-run comparison, the model subtracts $79,860, the May 2025 national median annual wage for First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers, Standard Occupational Classification 49-1011. That is a cash-wage benchmark from the BLS May 2025 OEWS tables; readers can also review the BLS occupation profile for SOC 49-1011.

The comparison does not include employer payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, health benefits, bonuses, recruiting costs, or local wage premiums. A fully loaded manager cost would be higher, so the manager-run residual shown below is favorable to the manager-run case.

Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual

Each line subtracts a $79,860 supervisor cash wage from the corresponding owner-operator scenario.

Owner role comparison across three scenarios Owner-operator benefit is 35, 74, and 140 thousand dollars. Manager-run residual is negative 45, negative 6, and positive 60 thousand dollars. −$60k −$10k $0 $50k $100k $150k Conservative Base Upside −$45k $35k −$6k $74k $60k $140k Operating loss Positive pre-tax residual
Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual

Interpretation: the base model supports about $74,000 of owner-operator benefit but not the full benchmark supervisor wage. Manager-run economics become positive only in the upside scenario, and even that result excludes payroll burden.

Sources: scenario calculations above; BLS May 2025 OEWS, SOC 49-1011; Mr. Appliance SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 15, p. 62. Values rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Owner-operator effect

An owner who replaces a paid operating supervisor is not receiving an extra $79,860 of passive profit. That amount represents labor performed by the owner. The more hours and operational responsibility required, the less appropriate it is to compare owner-operator benefit with investment income.

Recurring obligations

Which franchise fees must the operating margin absorb?

The modeled margin must absorb a substantial disclosed fee and marketing structure. The standard License Fee is 5% to 7% of Gross Sales, depending on weekly Gross Sales per capita, and the MAP Fee is 2%. That creates a direct percentage burden of 7% to 9% of Gross Sales before local marketing and other required costs.

Recurring obligation 2026 FDD amount Earnings-model treatment
License Fee 5%–7% of Gross Sales, subject to weekly per-capita thresholds and minimums Must fit inside the all-in scenario margin; exact rate cannot be determined without territory population and weekly sales.
MAP Fee 2% of Gross Sales Must fit inside the all-in scenario margin.
Local marketing $25,000 per year in each of the first 24 months; later, the franchisor may require the greater of $25,000 or 8% of prior-year Gross Sales Must fit inside the all-in margin. Local Marketing Group contributions may count toward the requirement, so they should not be double-counted.
Software System $375.95 monthly for unlimited office access, plus $85 monthly per mobile technician Base annual office fee is $4,511.40, before technician licenses and optional software tiers.
Call Center Program $349.99–$449.99 monthly, plus $8–$15 per booked appointment depending on monthly volume Variable and potentially material; cannot be reconstructed without appointment data.
Annual convention Currently up to $1,000, plus travel, lodging, meals, and other expenses Must be included in a franchisee-specific budget.
Key Accounts / Management Fee Up to 5% of Gross Sales related to qualifying Key Account work Applies only to relevant sales and participation; do not apply it to all sales without evidence.

Official source: Mr. Appliance SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Items 5–6, pp. 15–31. Item 7’s $147,750–$273,175 initial-investment range is startup context and is not subtracted from one year of revenue.

Local marketing sensitivity

The $25,000 annual minimum equals about 7.3% of conservative modeled sales, 4.5% of base modeled sales, and 2.9% of upside modeled sales. If the later 8% requirement is imposed, the amounts would be about $27,400, $44,500, and $69,200. This is one reason a single generic industry margin cannot precisely reproduce Mr. Appliance owner earnings.

Uncertainty

How much uncertainty remains in the earnings range?

Uncertainty is high enough that the range should be treated as a planning screen, not a forecast. The largest unresolved issue is the absence of a same-brand annual profit-and-loss distribution. Item 19 supplies ticket values but not jobs per year, technician utilization, repeat-visit rates, parts mix, labor cost, vehicle cost, local marketing effectiveness, manager expense, or annual owner compensation.

What could move actual earnings below the range?

  • Lower paid-job conversion: the official 8–10 daily visits do not prove 8–10 completed, billable jobs.
  • Technician and parts economics: repeat visits, warranty work, parts availability, overtime, recruiting, and training can materially change gross profit per job.
  • Marketing burden: MAP, local spending, call-center appointment charges, and customer-acquisition costs may exceed what a broad repair-business proxy reflects.
  • Manager payroll load: the manager-run comparison deducts cash wages only, not employer taxes, insurance, benefits, bonuses, or recruiting expense.
  • Financing and capital needs: debt principal, vehicle replacement, working capital, and major equipment purchases are outside the displayed owner-earnings figures.

What could move earnings above the range?

Higher ticket mix, more completed jobs per service day, efficient routing, strong technician productivity, favorable parts purchasing, lower owner-paid management cost, and disciplined local marketing could raise owner benefit. None of those outcomes is guaranteed, and the Item 19 first-quartile ticket does not establish a first-quartile profit margin.

Evidence confidence: Limited

The evidence is current and same-brand for ticket size and recurring fees, but owner earnings rely materially on a broad IRS sole-proprietor margin and editorial volume assumptions. The IRS category is smaller-scale and may embed owner repair labor that is not comparable with the Mr. Appliance owner-management model.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every broad assumption with same-brand records. The most useful evidence is not another generic salary estimate; it is a reconciled Item 19 substantiation package and operating statements from comparable Mr. Appliance franchisees.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile the 289-business population with the stated opening, transfer, and closure exclusions.
  • Ask for annual completed jobs, dispatched appointments, cancellations, no-charge callbacks, and average Gross Sales Per Job for businesses in a similar territory and maturity cohort.
  • Obtain three years of anonymized or franchisee-supplied profit-and-loss statements showing parts, direct technician labor, payroll burden, vehicles, insurance, rent, local marketing, License Fees, MAP Fees, software, and call-center costs.
  • Separate owner compensation from operating profit. Ask how many owners perform the general-manager role, how many hire a manager, and how many also perform technical work.
  • Interview current and former franchisees listed through Item 20 about owner hours, technician headcount, manager salary, working-capital needs, vehicle replacement, seasonality, and debt service.
  • Model the exact territory population and weekly sales pattern because the License Fee can move between 5%, 6%, and 7%, and minimum fees can apply.
  • Confirm whether the 8% local-marketing requirement is imposed, what expenditures or Local Marketing Group contributions receive credit, and whether the $25,000 minimum is sufficient in the target market.
  • Keep personal taxes and financing separate. An accountant should model entity structure, depreciation, interest, loan principal, and owner draws using the buyer’s actual circumstances.

Decision synthesis

What is the most decision-useful takeaway?

The strongest defensible current range is $35,000 to $140,000 in estimated annual owner-operator benefit for the modeled single-territory scenarios. It is scenario-based, not an official Item 19 owner-earnings disclosure. The modeled base is about $74,000, but subtracting the May 2025 BLS supervisor cash wage produces a slightly negative manager-run residual before payroll burden.

The most important driver is the combination of completed paid jobs and all-in margin, not the $284 median ticket by itself. The largest unresolved uncertainty is whether a scaled, staffed Mr. Appliance business can achieve the assumed margin after the 5%–7% License Fee, 2% MAP Fee, local marketing, technician labor, parts, vehicles, technology, and call-center costs.

Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the Item 19 population and substantiation, obtain comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements, and interview owner-operated and manager-run businesses separately. That process can show whether the plausible result for a specific territory is an owner wage, a residual business profit, a combination of both, or an operating loss.