How Much Does a Midas Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent owner-earnings estimate
About $31,000–$226,000 per year

A defensible 2025 scenario range for one actively operated U.S. Midas Shop is approximately $31,000 to $226,000 in pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $98,000. The 2026 Midas Franchise Disclosure Document reports Gross Revenues, not profit or owner compensation, so these figures are estimates rather than an Item 19 earnings claim.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: Standard U.S. Midas Shop Period: 2025 operations
Important estimate disclosure. This range is an independent analytical scenario, not a financial performance representation by Midas International, LLC. It combines 2026 FDD facts—principally 2025 Item 19 Gross Revenues and recurring obligations—with an IRS industry net-income benchmark and explicit margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, sales mix, parts cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, staffing, vehicle count, pricing, competition, and execution.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Midas International, LLC. Disclosure document issued April 16, 2026. Item 19 population: 856 franchised Midas Shops operating for all 12 months of calendar 2025; company-operated outlets and partial-year shops are not part of that table. Evidence mode: Mode C, FDD-anchored scenario estimate. External benchmarks: IRS 2023 Schedule C statistics for Automotive Mechanical and Electrical Repair and Maintenance and BLS May 2023 industry-specific manager wages. Checked July 14, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD references below are cited by year, Item, and page rather than linked.
$1.30M Derived full-sample Gross Revenue DERIVED: equal-weight average of the four Item 19 quartile averages; not owner earnings.
856 Full-year franchised Shops OFFICIAL: the 2025 Item 19 reporting population, approximately 96.3% of 889 year-end franchised Shops.
7.53% Industry net-income proxy BENCHMARK: IRS 2023 net income less deficit divided by receipts for the closest Schedule C industry line.
2%–10% Standard royalty schedule OFFICIAL: rate varies by revenue category; the FDD does not disclose the sales mix needed for one effective rate.
$3,948–$6,360 Annual required software range OFFICIAL: current POS maintenance and required Parts & Labor Guide treatment, depending on IMDA status.
Full time Default owner involvement OFFICIAL: Item 15 generally requires an owner or Designated Owner to manage on premises unless Midas agrees otherwise in writing.
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Midas FDD actually report?

It reports 2025 Gross Revenues, not Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, owner salary, distributions, or take-home pay. The applicable population is 856 franchised Midas Shops that operated for the full 12 months of calendar 2025. The table divides those Shops into four revenue quartiles and provides an average, median, high, low, and count at or above each quartile average. This is official same-brand revenue evidence, but it cannot answer owner earnings by itself.

Revenue is not earnings

A top-quarter average of $2.14 million means customer revenue before parts, technician and service-adviser labor, occupancy, utilities, insurance, royalty, technology, warranty charges, local operating costs, financing, and taxes. Calling that number owner income would materially misstate Item 19.

How widely did 2025 Gross Revenue vary by quartile?

Official average Gross Revenues for 856 full-year franchised Midas Shops.

Midas 2025 average Gross Revenue by quartile Four vertical bars show average Gross Revenue of 676,751 dollars for the bottom quartile, 1,027,246 dollars for the bottom-middle quartile, 1,344,577 dollars for the top-middle quartile, and 2,141,832 dollars for the top quartile. $0 $0.8M $1.6M $676,751 $1,027,246 $1,344,577 $2,141,832 Bottom 1/4 Bottom-middle 1/4 Top-middle 1/4 Top 1/4

Interpretation: the top-quarter average was more than three times the bottom-quarter average. Revenue placement therefore has a larger effect on estimated owner benefit than a small change in the assumed margin.

Source: 2026 Midas Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 67–68. Gross Revenue is an official FDD measure; it is not profit.

2025 Item 19 cohort Average Gross Revenue Median Gross Revenue Range
Top quarter $2,141,832 $1,732,617 $1,553,826–$6,545,113
Top-middle quarter $1,344,577 $1,337,678 $1,185,623–$1,550,742
Bottom-middle quarter $1,027,246 $1,028,955 $889,983–$1,183,821
Bottom quarter $676,751 $699,267 $236,466–$887,502

Item 19 also reports average revenue per customer visit by quartile, but it does not disclose repair-order count, parts margin, technician productivity, labor rate, payroll, rent, or owner compensation. Written substantiation is available from the franchisor on reasonable request.

Scenario model

How is the $31,000–$226,000 earnings range calculated?

The range applies a transparent operating-margin sensitivity to official Item 19 revenue anchors. The conservative case uses the bottom-quarter average revenue and a 4.53% margin; the base case uses the derived full-sample average revenue and the 7.53% IRS benchmark margin; the upside case uses the top-quarter average revenue and a 10.53% margin. These are independent estimates for an actively managed standard Midas Shop, not probabilities or franchisor forecasts.

Estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit = scenario Gross Revenue × scenario net-income proxy margin. Derived overall revenue = ($2,141,832 + $1,344,577 + $1,027,246 + $676,751) ÷ 4 = $1,297,601.50.
Model assumptions and exclusions
  • Revenue anchors: $676,751 bottom-quarter average, $1,297,602 derived overall average, and $2,141,832 top-quarter average from 2025 Item 19.
  • Base margin: 7.53%, calculated as $1.656577 billion of 2023 IRS Schedule C net income less deficit divided by $21.999812 billion of business receipts for Automotive Mechanical and Electrical Repair and Maintenance.
  • Margin spread: 4.53%, 7.53%, and 10.53%; the plus-or-minus three percentage-point spread is an editorial sensitivity, not FDD-reported variability.
  • Fee treatment: the IRS margin is used as an all-in industry proxy, so Midas royalty and other operating costs are not subtracted a second time. This assumes the aggregate margin can stand in for the combined economics of a Midas Shop, which is a major limitation.
  • Owner benefit definition: pre-tax economic benefit before personal income taxes and financing principal. Because Schedule C net income can reflect interest and depreciation while excluding a deductible owner salary, the result is not identical to free cash flow.
  • Not modeled separately: capital expenditures, remodel reserves, changes in working capital, local wage differences, benefit costs, and personal debt structure.
What do the three owner-operator scenarios produce?

Estimated annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Midas owner-operator benefit scenarios Three bars show estimated annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit of 31,000 dollars in the conservative scenario, 98,000 dollars in the base scenario, and 226,000 dollars in the upside scenario. $0 $100K $200K $31,000 $98,000 $226,000 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the range is intentionally broad because both sales level and margin are uncertain. The $98,000 base scenario is a modeling midpoint, not a claim that a typical Midas owner will earn that amount.

Sources: 2026 Midas FDD, Item 19, pp. 67–68; IRS Nonfarm Sole Proprietorship Statistics; IRS 2023 industry table. Calculations use full precision and are rounded only for display.

Scenario Gross Revenue anchor Margin assumption Estimated owner-operator benefit
Conservative $676,751 4.53% $30,657
Base $1,297,602 7.53% $97,709
Upside $2,141,832 10.53% $225,534
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

For Midas, the default operating model is active rather than passive. Item 15 says the franchisee—or a qualifying Designated Owner for an entity—generally must devote full time and effort to direct on-premises management unless Midas agrees otherwise in writing. The scenario range is therefore best read as owner-operator benefit: it can contain both residual business profit and compensation for management work performed by the owner.

What happens if a paid manager replaces the owner’s labor?

The residual can shrink sharply. The May 2023 BLS industry table reports a $91,820 annual mean wage for General and Operations Managers in Automotive Mechanical and Electrical Repair and Maintenance. Subtracting that wage from the three owner-operator scenarios produces a wage-only delegated-management sensitivity of approximately -$61,000, $6,000, and $134,000. Those figures are estimated, use an older national wage benchmark, and still omit employer payroll taxes, benefits, bonuses, recruiting costs, and any extra oversight layer.

Scenario Owner-operator benefit Less manager wage proxy Illustrative residual
Conservative $30,657 $91,820 -$61,163
Base $97,709 $91,820 $5,889
Upside $225,534 $91,820 $133,714
Owner-operator effect

The base case does not imply nearly $98,000 of passive profit. Under the model, most of that amount could represent the value of the owner’s full-time management labor. A delegated-management structure must satisfy the FDD’s ownership and written-approval requirements, and the business must generate enough margin to cover a complete manager compensation package.

Wage source: BLS May 2023 wages for NAICS 811110. The same table reports $64,300 for First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers, illustrating that the appropriate replacement-labor benchmark depends on the actual duties. Local 2026 compensation should be verified before underwriting.

Recurring obligations

Which FDD costs matter most to annual owner earnings?

The effective royalty, labor, parts, and occupancy burden matter more than the initial franchise fee when estimating annual owner earnings. Item 6 uses category-specific royalty rates rather than one systemwide percentage, while Item 11 identifies recurring technology costs and marketing treatment. The scenario does not subtract these charges line by line because the IRS net-income margin is an all-in proxy; charging them again would risk double counting.

FDD obligations that affect interpretation
Royalty Fee
Generally 10% on standard revenue categories, 6% on tire sales and related products or services, and 2% on batteries; qualifying fleet and other categories can differ. Item 19 does not disclose the sales mix needed to calculate one effective rate.
Marketing treatment
Midas commits to spend at least one-half of royalties received on marketing, with modified treatment for Tire Royalties. This is an allocation of royalties, not a separate general advertising percentage to deduct again.
Technology
Required POS maintenance is currently $3,948 annually for IMDA members or $4,799.88 for nonmembers; nonmembers also pay $1,559.88 annually for the Parts & Labor Guide.
Warranty and fleet fees
Per-unit warranty-registration charges and fleet processing fees vary with transactions. They cannot be annualized accurately without volume and mix data.
Occupancy
Rent, taxes, insurance, and lease structure are location-specific. Item 6 shows substantial possible rent ranges when premises are leased through affiliated real-estate entities, but Item 19 does not connect occupancy to the reporting cohort.

Item 7’s estimated initial investment is not an annual operating expense and is not subtracted from one year of Gross Revenue. Financing principal is also separate from operating earnings. Interest may already affect the IRS Schedule C benchmark population, but this model cannot isolate it. Personal federal and state income taxes are not estimated.

Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence limited?

Confidence is LIMITED because the current same-brand FDD discloses revenue but no profit measure, and the margin comes from a broad government industry population. The IRS benchmark is useful because it covers actual receipts, deductions, and net income less deficit for sole proprietors, including loss businesses. It is still not Midas-specific and mixes franchised and independent operators, markets, shop sizes, service mixes, owner skill levels, financing structures, and accounting choices.

Largest unresolved uncertainty

The FDD does not reveal the reporting Shops’ parts gross margin, labor gross margin, payroll burden, occupancy ratio, effective blended royalty, owner compensation, manager compensation, depreciation, interest, or capital-spending needs. Without those line items, no same-brand revenue-to-profit bridge can be fully reconciled.

What does Item 20 add to the analysis?

Item 20 confirms that cohort selection matters. The system ended 2025 with 889 franchised Midas Shops, while Item 19 used 856 franchised Shops operating for the full year. Item 20 also separately tracks company-owned outlets, transfers, closures, and other status changes. The article does not merge those populations or assume that partial-year, transferred, closed, or company-operated locations have the same economics as the full-year franchised cohort.

Which variables can move annual owner benefit the most?

Sales volume and margin discipline are the dominant drivers. Item 19’s average Gross Revenue spans roughly $677,000 to $2.14 million across quartiles. Within any sales level, a three-percentage-point margin change moves annual benefit by about $20,000 on $677,000 of revenue, $39,000 on $1.30 million, and $64,000 on $2.14 million. Labor scheduling, billed hours, parts sourcing, tire mix, repair-order conversion, rent, pricing, warranty work, and manager structure determine whether revenue translates into owner benefit.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every broad assumption with shop-level evidence before making a decision. The highest-value verification work is obtaining current profit-and-loss statements for comparable Midas Shops, reconciling them to Item 19 Gross Revenue, and separating owner labor from residual operating profit.

Questions for substantiation and franchisee interviews
  • Ask Midas for the written substantiation supporting the 2025 Item 19 tables and confirm the exact definition of Gross Revenue, reporting controls, and whether any full-year Shops were omitted.
  • Request anonymized or permitted evidence for parts cost, direct labor, service-adviser payroll, occupancy, insurance, utilities, technology, warranty fees, bad debt, and local marketing at Shops in the relevant quartile.
  • Determine each comparable Shop’s effective blended royalty from its actual tire, battery, fleet, exempt, and standard revenue mix.
  • Ask franchisees how many owner hours are required, which functions the owner performs, and what compensation a qualified replacement manager would require in the local market.
  • Separate owner salary or draw, distributions, retained earnings, depreciation, interest, capital expenditures, and debt principal rather than treating all cash movement as profit.
  • Compare mature full-year Shops with similar bay count, market density, lease structure, technician capacity, and service mix; do not rely on systemwide revenue alone.
  • Review Item 20 transfers, closures, reacquisitions, and openings with counsel and ask departing as well as current franchisees about the economics behind status changes.
Decision-useful synthesis

The strongest defensible range is approximately $31,000 to $226,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for one standard U.S. Midas Shop, with a base scenario near $98,000. It is scenario-based, not an official Item 19 owner-earnings figure. Gross Revenue placement is the largest visible driver; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand operating-expense and owner-compensation data. Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, effective royalty by sales mix, complete shop-level P&Ls, local manager compensation, owner hours, debt terms, and recurring capital needs through written records and interviews with current and former franchisees.