For a manager-run McAlister's Deli, the modeled base case is approximately $128,000 in pre-tax owner earnings before debt service. This is not an official profit disclosure. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports Fiscal Year 2025 Net Sales, not franchisee profit, so the range is an independent scenario estimate anchored to the disclosed sales distribution, recurring franchise fees, and a same-parent operating proxy.
This earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by McAlister's Franchisor SPV LLC. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with a separately identified parent-company proxy and explicit sensitivity assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, restaurant format, Net Sales, food costs, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, local marketing, delivery mix, technology charges, and execution.
The official U.S. McAlister's Deli franchise opportunity page repeats the FY2025 average Net Sales figure and identifies the franchisor and Item 19 cohort. No matching public FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are plain-text citations.
What does McAlister's Item 19 actually report?
The official disclosure reports FY2025 Net Sales by quartile for a defined Traditional Franchise cohort. It does not report Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Cash Flow, Owner Compensation, distributions, or after-tax take-home pay. Revenue therefore cannot be treated as owner earnings.
The Item 19 table reports average, median, low, and high Net Sales for each quartile. The overall average was $1,868,101, while the overall median was $1,764,584. For earnings modeling, the median is the cleaner central anchor because it is less affected by unusually high restaurants. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 19, pp. 74–75.
Official median Net Sales for Traditional Franchises; the dashed marker is the overall cohort median.
Interpretation: the disclosed sales distribution is wide. A quartile label describes historical cohort rank, not the probability that a new restaurant will land in that band.
Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 19, p. 75. Values are official Net Sales, not earnings.
Item 19 expressly states that the sales figures do not reflect cost of sales, operating expenses, or other costs required to determine net income or profit. The franchisor also says the franchisee reports used for Item 19 were not audited or independently verified.
Which restaurants are in the official sales cohort?
The table represents 477 of 505 Traditional Franchises as of December 28, 2025. A Traditional Franchise is a franchised Traditional Restaurant in a traditional location such as a strip center, power center, or street-level retail site. The analysis should not be applied to airports, colleges, hospitals, malls, military bases, travel plazas, express units, affiliate-owned restaurants, or other excluded nontraditional formats.
- Included population: 477 Traditional Franchises represented, equal to 94.5% of the 505 Traditional Franchises identified in Item 19.
- Not represented: 28 restaurants that did not report all 52 weeks of FY2025 sales, including 25 that opened during FY2025.
- Also excluded: 10 Traditional Franchises that permanently closed during FY2025 after operating at least 12 months, plus five restaurants reacquired by the franchisor.
- Definition issue to verify: the Item 19 introduction refers to 52 weeks of FY2024, while its table note and the official franchise website describe restaurants operating throughout FY2025. A buyer should request the written substantiation and confirm the intended eligibility year.
How is the annual owner-earnings estimate calculated?
The manager-run scenarios multiply three official median Net Sales anchors by three explicit operating-margin assumptions. The central margin begins with a 15.017% same-parent Company SBR contribution proxy, derived from GoTo Foods LLC's 2025 company store, bakery, and restaurant revenue and operations expense lines. The model then subtracts the McAlister's 5% Royalty Fee, 2% Advertising Contribution, and 0.75% Local Marketing Obligation.
The model intentionally treats the full 7.75% McAlister's percentage burden as incremental to the parent contribution proxy. That is conservative if Company SBR operations expense already contains comparable advertising or local-marketing charges; the consolidated statements do not disclose the allocation. Unreported franchisee-level costs can offset that conservatism.
The parent-company measure is a proxy, not McAlister's franchisee profit. It aggregates Company SBRs across GoTo Foods brands and separates depreciation, amortization, selling, general and administrative expense, and interest from the Company SBR operations line. The model therefore approximates store-level operating cash available before debt service, personal income taxes, depreciation, capital expenditures, and owner distributions. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 21, Exhibit A, GoTo Foods LLC consolidated statements, p. 4.
| Scenario | Official Net Sales anchor | Scenario margin | Estimated manager-run earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Bottom-quartile median |
$1,175,976 | 4.267% | $50,181 |
|
Base Overall cohort median |
$1,764,584 | 7.267% | $128,235 |
|
Upside Top-quartile median |
$2,689,279 | 10.267% | $276,113 |
Independent pre-tax operating estimates before debt service, personal taxes, depreciation, and capital expenditures.
Interpretation: sales level and operating margin compound each other. This chart is a sensitivity model, not a prediction that any scenario is more likely than another.
Sources: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 19, p. 75; Item 6, p. 21; Item 21, Exhibit A, p. 4. Calculations use full precision and are rounded to the nearest dollar for display.
What assumptions are embedded in the range?
The assumptions are derived or estimated rather than official earnings results. They apply to one manager-run Traditional Franchise using FY2025 Item 19 sales anchors and the stated single-unit operating proxy; they do not establish a probability-weighted forecast.
- Revenue anchors are official: bottom-quartile, overall, and top-quartile median Net Sales from the FY2025 Item 19 table.
- Margin spread is analytical: the conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above the 7.267% adjusted base margin. They are not FDD-reported margins.
- Manager-run staffing is included conceptually: the Company SBR operations expense proxy is treated as containing normal restaurant labor and management expense.
- Core percentage fees are modeled: 5% royalty, current 2% advertising contribution, and current 0.75% local marketing obligation.
- Debt service is excluded: neither loan interest nor principal is deducted. Item 10 says the franchisor does not offer financing, so there is no common disclosed rate or term to model. A restaurant with $100,000 of annual debt service would have $100,000 less cash available for distributions, all else equal.
- Personal taxes are excluded: entity structure, state, deductions, owner salary, and personal tax circumstances differ.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
An owner who receives franchisor consent, completes the required training, and genuinely replaces one paid manager may create an additional $63,040 of annual labor value in this model. That produces an estimated owner-operator benefit of approximately $113,000 to $339,000. The added amount compensates the owner for work performed; it is not passive business profit.
Item 15 says owners are not required to participate in actual restaurant operations, but the franchisor does not recommend an investment for absentee management. The restaurant must have four dedicated Managers, one of whom may also be the Primary Contact. The owner may serve as Primary Contact and/or Manager only with consent and must satisfy the applicable training and qualification requirements. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 15, pp. 67–68.
The owner-operator side adds one $63,040 food service manager wage benchmark to the residual operating estimate.
Interpretation: each pair differs by exactly $63,040. The owner-operator figure combines residual business earnings with the market value of the owner's labor and should not be described as passive income.
Wage source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Food Service Managers, May 2024 median for food services and drinking places. The benchmark excludes self-employed workers and does not include employer payroll taxes or benefits.
Replacing one manager on paper is not enough. The owner must actually perform the management work, preserve the four-manager operating structure required by Item 15, and avoid creating a coverage gap that forces the restaurant to hire replacement management anyway.
Which disclosed fees can materially move owner earnings?
The modeled 7.75% percentage burden is only the clearest recurring layer. Item 6 also lists fixed, transaction-based, cooperative, technology, and program charges whose annual effect depends on configuration and sales mix. The scenario margin is intended to absorb normal restaurant operating expenses, but a buyer should rebuild the unit-level profit and loss statement with local quotations rather than assume these items are immaterial.
| Recurring obligation | 2026 FDD amount | Scenario treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Net Sales | Explicitly deducted from the parent contribution proxy |
| Advertising Contribution | Currently 2%; may rise to 3% | Current 2% explicitly deducted; a future increase would reduce earnings |
| Local Marketing Obligation | Currently at least 0.75% | Explicitly deducted |
| POS license or lease | $351–$456 or $743–$1,358 per month | Expected within general operating expense sensitivity; verify selected configuration |
| POS support | $125–$250 per month | Expected within general operating expense sensitivity |
| Advertising Cooperative | Amount set by cooperative | Not separately quantified because no universal amount is disclosed |
Item 6 also identifies online-ordering charges, payment-processing costs, loyalty and technology fees, promotional program costs, and a supply-chain fee. Some are usage-based or not currently collected. Their treatment is one reason the model uses a margin range rather than a single precise profit claim. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 6, pp. 21–31.
Does the initial investment reduce one year's earnings?
No. Item 7 estimates an initial investment of $910,175 to $1,816,100 for an endcap or inline restaurant and $1,282,525 to $2,575,400 for a freestanding restaurant. Those startup amounts are not annual operating expenses and are not subtracted from one year of Net Sales. Financing costs, depreciation, future remodels, replacement equipment, and capital expenditures affect owner cash flow separately. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 7, pp. 33–38.
Why is the evidence confidence limited?
The confidence rating is LIMITED because McAlister's Item 19 does not disclose a franchisee earnings measure, and the operating-margin anchor is a mixed-brand GoTo Foods Company SBR proxy rather than a McAlister's franchised-unit profit statement. The estimate is decision-useful as a sensitivity range, but it cannot establish what a particular owner will earn.
What strengthens the estimate
The revenue anchors are current, same-brand, U.S. Item 19 medians. The table covers 94.5% of identified Traditional Franchises and discloses quartiles, ranges, sample counts, and exclusions. The core 7.75% percentage obligations come directly from Item 6.
What weakens the estimate
The parent proxy mixes brands and company-operated formats; its operations line is not a McAlister's franchisee P&L. Advertising allocation may overlap with the 7.75% adjustment, and depreciation, capital spending, owner compensation, debt service, and local occupancy are not reported for the Item 19 cohort.
Item 20 adds context but does not resolve profitability. Franchised outlets increased from 524 at the start of 2025 to 533 at year-end, while the Item 19 note excluded 10 permanent closures and five reacquisitions from its sales table. Outlet count growth does not prove positive owner earnings. Source: 2026 McAlister's Deli FDD, Item 20, pp. 76–82.
What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the range?
The buyer should replace every scenario assumption with location-specific evidence and actual franchisee records. The most important diligence question is not whether a restaurant can reach the system average; it is whether the proposed site can produce a durable operating margin after labor, occupancy, food, delivery, technology, and all franchise obligations.
- Request the franchisor's written Item 19 substantiation and reconcile the FY2024/FY2025 eligibility wording with the 477-restaurant table.
- Ask for anonymous unit-level profit-and-loss statements, if available, with food cost, labor, occupancy, delivery commissions, credit-card fees, technology, repairs, and manager payroll separated.
- Interview multiple current and former franchisees from Item 20, including operators near the proposed sales band, recent openings, transferred units, and owners who use professional management.
- Confirm whether local cooperative advertising, required promotions, technology changes, online-ordering charges, and the potential advertising increase to 3% apply to the proposed market.
- Obtain a staffing plan that preserves the four-manager requirement and separately prices a general manager, assistant managers, payroll taxes, benefits, overtime, and owner coverage.
- Model rent, common-area maintenance, property tax, insurance, utilities, food contracts, and delivery mix using the exact site and current vendor quotations.
- Keep operating earnings, debt service, depreciation, capital expenditures, owner salary, distributions, and personal income taxes as separate lines.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible manager-run range is approximately $50,000 to $276,000 per traditional restaurant per year, with a $128,000 base analytical case. It is scenario-based, not an official Item 19 profit result. Active ownership could raise the modeled economic benefit to roughly $113,000 to $339,000 when the owner legitimately replaces one paid manager, but the added $63,040 is compensation for labor rather than passive profit.
The largest earnings driver is the combination of Net Sales and restaurant-level margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand franchised-unit expense or profit disclosure. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the Item 19 cohort and substantiation, obtain complete unit-level P&Ls, and test the model through franchisee interviews using the exact location, staffing structure, debt plan, and recurring fee schedule.