How Much Does a Jiffy Lube Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Direct annual earnings answer
About $14,000–$148,000

That is an estimated annual owner-operator benefit per mature U.S. Jiffy Lube service center, with a base scenario of about $55,000. It combines residual business income with the economic value of work performed by an active owner. Under an illustrative manager-run structure, the modeled pre-tax residual ranges from approximately -$71,000 to $63,000, with a base result near -$30,000, before financing principal and personal income taxes.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: U.S. franchised service center Period: 2025 sales / 2023–2025 benchmarks
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Jiffy Lube, LLC. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports sales and vehicle counts, not franchisee profit, owner compensation, EBITDA, or cash flow. The estimate combines identified FDD facts with a separately identified IRS industry benchmark, a transparent margin sensitivity, and a BLS manager-wage assumption. Actual results can differ materially by location, service mix, unit format, sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Jiffy Lube, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. The amended FDD states that, after a June 30, 2026 transaction, it became a wholly owned subsidiary of Bolt Purchaser, LLC; the ultimate majority owner is an investment fund advised by Monomoy Capital Partners or an affiliate.
Current document
2026 Jiffy Lube Pacesetter FDD, issued March 27, 2026 and amended July 1, 2026. Financial citations below identify the FDD Item and printed page because no matching public FDD was located on a verified official franchise-controlled domain.
Item 19 status
Official historical Net Adjusted Sales and vehicle counts for franchised service centers; no official franchisee earnings measure. Company-operated centers are excluded.
Applicable population
For the principal 2025 system table, 1,732 franchised service centers open for 12 full months. New-store cohorts and Jiffy Lube Multicare cohorts are disclosed separately and are not merged into the mature-unit estimate.
External benchmarks
IRS Statistics of Income, tax year 2023, for sole proprietors in “Other auto repair and maintenance (including oil change, lubrication, and car washes),” plus May 2025 BLS OEWS national wages for First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers.
Date checked
July 20, 2026.
Scenario
$55,000
Base owner-operator benefit

Rounded from $55,421 using the 2025 system median revenue and the 5.52% IRS benchmark margin.

Official
$1.004M
2025 median Net Adjusted Sales

System median for mature franchised service centers in Item 19; revenue, not owner earnings.

Benchmark
5.52%
Broad IRS net-income margin

Net income less deficit divided by business receipts for the closest published sole-proprietor industry group.

Official
1,732
Mature outlets in the sales table

Franchised centers open for all 12 months of 2025; company-operated outlets are excluded.

Official
7%–8%
Royalty plus required advertising

3% prompt-paid or 4% standard royalty, plus a 4% minimum advertising requirement under the Pacesetter terms.

Benchmark
$85,220
Manager labor-value assumption

May 2025 BLS national annual mean wage; payroll taxes and benefits are not added.

Item 19 evidence

What does Jiffy Lube Item 19 actually report?

Officially, Item 19 reports Net Adjusted Sales and vehicle counts—not profit or owner pay. The principal 2025 population consists of 1,732 franchised service centers that operated for the full calendar year, while company-owned service centers are excluded. “Net Adjusted Sales” means Gross Sales less promotions, warranty, non-royalty income, and national billed fleet discounts. Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 19, printed pp. 65–66.

2025 sales band Median Net Adjusted Sales Average Net Adjusted Sales Franchised centers
First quartile $571,061.88 $549,346.49 433
Second quartile $856,106.23 $857,988.13 433
Third quartile $1,145,176.23 $1,160,376.45 433
Fourth quartile $1,741,654.25 $1,871,163.73 433
System $1,004,273.06 $1,109,718.70 1,732
Revenue is not earnings

The system average exceeds the median by about $105,446, and only 40.5% of service centers exceeded the system average. That right-skew is why the median is the cleaner central revenue anchor. The FTC also cautions that gross-sales figures do not reveal actual costs or profit. See the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.

Does the official website provide a current earnings figure?

No current owner-profit figure is published on the official franchise site. The official Jiffy Lube U.S. franchise overview displays historical revenue snippets tied to a 2023 FDD, so this analysis uses the amended 2026 FDD instead. The site remains useful for current operating-format information, including the statement that new development generally uses Jiffy Lube Multicare.

Scenario model

How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The estimate multiplies three FDD revenue anchors by three transparent operating-margin assumptions. The revenue anchors are actual 2025 Item 19 medians: first-quartile, system, and fourth-quartile. The central margin is a 5.5185% IRS benchmark; the conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above it. These pairings are analytical scenarios, not probabilities or franchisor forecasts.

Estimated owner-operator benefit = FDD Net Adjusted Sales anchor × scenario margin
  • Conservative: $571,061.88 first-quartile median revenue × 2.5185% margin = $14,382.
  • Base: $1,004,273.06 system median revenue × 5.5185% margin = $55,421.
  • Upside: $1,741,654.25 fourth-quartile median revenue × 8.5185% margin = $148,363.
Estimated owner-operator benefit by scenario

Annual dollars per mature franchised service center, rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Conservative, base, and upside owner-operator benefit Three columns show approximately fourteen thousand dollars, fifty-five thousand dollars, and one hundred forty-eight thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $14k $55k $148k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: Revenue band and margin both drive the spread; the upside bar is not a prediction and does not represent the “best” possible outcome.

Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 19, printed pp. 65–66; IRS SOI 2023 Table 1; FranchisesBiz calculations using full-precision inputs.

Why use a 5.52% central margin?

It is the closest current official all-in profitability benchmark located, but it is not Jiffy Lube-specific. IRS tax-year 2023 data report $532.102 million of net income less deficit on $9.642088 billion of receipts for 122,366 sole proprietorship returns in “Other auto repair and maintenance (including oil change, lubrication, and car washes).” The calculation is $532.102 million ÷ $9.642088 billion = 5.5185%. See the IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship tables and the 2023 Table 1 workbook.

The IRS group is broader than NAICS 811191 Automotive Oil Change and Lubrication Shops, includes car washes and other repair activity, covers sole proprietors rather than all legal entities, and does not isolate franchised outlets. Those mismatches are the principal reason for the Limited confidence label.

Owner role

How does active ownership change the result?

Active ownership can convert a weak manager-run residual into an owner-operator benefit because the owner supplies labor that otherwise may require paid supervision. The 2026 FDD permits either personal supervision by the owner or supervision by a trained manager, with required availability during opening, closing, peak periods, inspections, and employee training. Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 15, printed p. 59.

Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual

Manager-run residual subtracts an $85,220 national supervisor wage from each owner-operator scenario.

Owner role comparison for three earnings scenarios For each scenario, the owner-operator value is higher than the manager-run residual by eighty-five thousand two hundred twenty dollars. -$80k $0 $80k $160k Conservative Base Upside -$71k $14k -$30k $55k $63k $148k
Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: The labor-value adjustment is large enough that passive or lightly involved ownership cannot be inferred from strong sales alone. The manager-run figures remain before debt principal and personal taxes.

Source: May 2025 BLS OEWS national annual mean wage of $85,220 for First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers; scenario calculations above.

Owner-operator effect

The owner-operator number is not pure passive business profit. It may include both residual operating income and compensation for supervision, training, customer service, and other labor performed by the owner. The manager-run sensitivity uses the May 2025 BLS national wage table; it does not add payroll taxes, health benefits, bonuses, or local wage premiums, so the residual may be overstated in higher-cost markets.

Recurring obligations

Which FDD fees materially affect owner earnings?

The most material disclosed percentage burden is normally 7%–8% of Gross Sales for royalty plus required advertising. Under the Pacesetter terms, the royalty is 4%, reduced to 3% for qualifying prompt payment, while the minimum advertising requirement is 4%, including the 1.5% National Advertising Fund and 2.5% local or cooperative advertising. If the Pacesetter or Fast Lubes Supply Agreement is terminated and the specified amendment is executed, the royalty rises by one percentage point. Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 6, printed pp. 19–23.

Royalty
3% of Gross Sales with the prompt-payment discount or 4% without it under the normal Pacesetter structure; new-to-system locations receive a 0% royalty for the first six months.
Advertising
4% annual minimum, generally comprising 1.5% to the National Advertising Fund and 2.5% for local or cooperative advertising.
Technology and hardware
POS support up to $192 per month, hardware support currently $73 per month, a $18 monthly Cisco Meraki license per store, and a disclosed POS equipment lease of $312–$800 per month, subject to the FDD’s unit and configuration terms.
Supply requirements
The Product Supply Agreement requires specified purchases of motor oil and lubricants. Product cost is an operating expense but is not separately quantified as a percentage in Item 19.
No double charge in the model

The 5.52% IRS benchmark is an all-in tax-return net-income measure, so the scenario does not subtract Jiffy Lube fees a second time. That treatment avoids an unsupported double count, but it also creates uncertainty because the IRS group mixes independent and potentially franchised operators and does not state how much franchise-fee expense is represented. Buyers should rebuild the model from actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements.

Uncertainty

What could move the estimate materially?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand unit-level expense and profit data. Item 19 provides a strong revenue distribution but does not disclose labor, product cost, occupancy, utilities, insurance, repairs, credit-card fees, depreciation, interest, manager compensation, or owner distributions for franchised service centers.

How different are new centers from the mature sample?

New-store revenue is disclosed separately and should not be treated as mature-unit performance. For the eight service centers with their first full year in 2025, Item 19 reports average Net Adjusted Sales of $720,478.75 and a median of $739,587.25. The small cohort and ramp-up profile make it unsuitable as a substitute for the 1,732-center mature system table. Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 19, printed pp. 67–68.

Do format and service mix matter?

Yes; Oil Change-only and Jiffy Lube Multicare service centers can have materially different equipment, staffing, service mix, and revenue potential. The FDD describes designs from a standard two-bay Oil Change-only service center to a four-bay Multicare center, while the official Jiffy Lube franchise requirements page says new development generally must offer Multicare services and requires at least four employees during operating hours. Item 19 does not provide a compatible profit margin for either format, so this article does not merge or invent format-level earnings.

How stable was the franchised population?

The franchised outlet count grew in 2025, but outlet movement still matters when interpreting survivorship and cohort exclusions. Item 20 reports 1,721 franchised outlets at the start of 2025 and 1,765 at year-end, with 67 openings, 21 terminations, two franchisor reacquisitions, and 51 transfers to new owners. The Item 19 mature table excludes centers not open for all 12 months, while company-operated centers are excluded entirely. Source: 2026 Jiffy Lube FDD, Item 20, printed pp. 70, 78–80.

Accounting boundaries

The scenario is pre-tax. The IRS net-income margin is after reported Schedule C business deductions, which may include interest and depreciation where applicable; neither is added back. Financing principal payments, capital expenditures, owner-specific overhead, portfolio-level shared costs, and personal income taxes are not modeled. No after-tax take-home estimate is presented.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace the external margin proxy with written same-brand evidence wherever possible. The FTC states that a prospective franchisee may request written substantiation for Item 19 data and should scrutinize the source, population, assumptions, and limitations. See the FTC guidance on evaluating financial performance representations.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm the 2025 Net Adjusted Sales definition, outlet eligibility rules, quartile construction, and treatment of optional programs.
  • Ask current franchisees for trailing 12-month profit-and-loss statements separating product cost, direct labor, manager compensation, occupancy, advertising, royalty, technology, repairs, insurance, interest, and depreciation.
  • Compare owner-operated and manager-run centers separately; identify the actual weekly hours and responsibilities supplied by the owner.
  • Match interviews to the intended format: two-bay Oil Change-only, four-bay Jiffy Lube Multicare, conversion, new development, Build to Suit, mature center, or ramp-up cohort.
  • Test local labor and occupancy costs rather than relying on national averages, then show debt principal and required capital expenditures below operating earnings.
  • Reconcile the center’s sales to vehicle count, average ticket, promotions, warranty adjustments, fleet discounts, and non-royalty income under the FDD’s Net Adjusted Sales definition.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings answer?

The strongest defensible range is approximately $14,000–$148,000 of annual owner-operator benefit per mature franchised center, with a $55,000 base scenario; it is an independent estimate, not an official Jiffy Lube profit disclosure. The most important driver is the combination of Net Adjusted Sales and unit-level operating margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand franchised expense and profit data. A manager-run structure is materially less forgiving in this model, ranging from about -$71,000 to $63,000 before debt principal and personal taxes. Before making a decision, verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements, and interview owners operating the same format, maturity cohort, staffing model, and market-cost structure.