A 128-room U.S. Hyatt House could produce roughly $315,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings in the base analytical scenario. The range is not an official profit disclosure. It is built from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document’s 2025 median RevPAR, a Hyatt Hotels Corporation operating-cost proxy, and the recurring franchise fees that can be modeled without inventing transaction volume.
This is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Hyatt House Franchising, L.L.C. It combines identified FDD facts with a separately identified same-parent operating proxy and editorial sensitivity assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, hotel size and format, room demand, Average Daily Rate, labor, occupancy costs, management structure, financing, owner involvement, capital spending, and execution.
In this article, estimated pre-tax owner earnings means cash remaining after proxy unit-level operating expenses and the recurring FDD fees that can be modeled, but before personal income taxes and financing principal. Normal hotel payroll and management labor are treated as operating expenses. Interest, depreciation and amortization, owner salary or draw, capital expenditures, property-improvement reserves, and any separately negotiated management-company fee are excluded and must be evaluated separately.
The legal franchisor is Hyatt House Franchising, L.L.C. The Franchise Disclosure Document was issued March 27, 2026. Item 19 reports 2025 revenue-performance measures for North American hotels, but it does not report operating profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, distributions, or cash flow.
Sources: 2026 Hyatt House FDD, Items 6, 7, 15, 19, 20 and 21; the official Hyatt House development page; Hyatt 2025 annual reports; and the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide. No public, franchise-controlled copy of the matching FDD was verified, so FDD references below are plain-text Item and page citations.
Rounded independent estimate before financing, personal taxes, depreciation, and capital expenditures.
Franchised Covered Hotels; revenue per available room, not owner income.
The Item 19 franchised cohort operating throughout calendar 2025.
Item 7’s full-size new-development example; actual covered hotels averaged 145 rooms.
After the modeled recurring percentage fees and midpoint fixed charges.
5% royalty and 3.5% Commercial Services Fee, each based on Gross Rooms Revenue.
What does Hyatt House Item 19 actually tell an owner?
Officially, Item 19 tells a buyer how 2025 Hyatt House hotels performed on occupancy, Average Daily Rate, RevPAR, market-share indices, loyalty contribution, and reservation channels. It does not disclose the operating expenses needed to calculate hotel profit or owner earnings.
The main cohort contains 111 Franchised Covered Hotels that operated for all of 2025. The FDD defines North America as the United States and Canada, so the cohort is not U.S.-only. The hotels had operated under the Hyatt House name for an average of 10.1 years; some were conversions with an existing customer base. The average hotel had 145 rooms, compared with the 128-room Item 7 model used in this article.
| Item 19 population | Hotels | Average RevPAR | Median RevPAR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchised Covered Hotels | 111 | $123.00 | $112.14 |
| Franchised Urban Hotels | 33 | $138.97 | $130.82 |
| Owned/Managed Covered Hotels | 9 | $142.84 | $141.11 |
Official source: 2026 Hyatt House FDD, Item 19, pp. 74–81. The FDD also reports 74.9% average occupancy and $164.33 Average Daily Rate for Franchised Covered Hotels. RevPAR ranged from $43.57 to $264.40, and 45 of 111 franchised hotels, or 40.5%, exceeded the $123.00 average RevPAR.
RevPAR measures Gross Rooms Revenue per available room. It does not deduct payroll, utilities, supplies, insurance, maintenance, management costs, royalty, Commercial Services, loyalty assessments, digital acquisition charges, debt service, or capital expenditures. Item 19 expressly warns that its figures omit the costs required to obtain net income or profit.
Item 20 shows 112 U.S. franchised outlets at December 31, 2025, while Item 19 uses a 111-hotel North American full-year franchised cohort. These are different populations. Three North American hotels opened during 2025 and were excluded from the full-year Item 19 group. That exclusion makes Item 19 more useful for mature-unit performance but less representative of a new hotel’s ramp-up period. Official source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 82–90.
How is the Hyatt House annual earnings range calculated?
The model produces approximately $45,000 in the Conservative scenario, $315,000 in the Base scenario, and $650,000 in the Upside scenario. Every figure is estimated for one 128-room hotel and represents pre-tax owner earnings before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and any separately charged third-party management-company fee.
Scenario revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of that median-based revenue. The spread is analytical, not FDD-reported.
Same-parent margin proxy: ($1.375 billion of 2025 owned-and-leased revenue − $1.122 billion of owned-and-leased direct expense) ÷ $1.375 billion = 18.4% direct contribution before corporate G&A, depreciation and amortization, interest, and income taxes.
Margin sensitivity: 15.4%, 18.4%, and 21.4%, or the proxy minus 3 percentage points, the proxy, and the proxy plus 3 percentage points.
- Royalty and Commercial Services: 5.0% plus 3.5% of Gross Rooms Revenue are deducted in every scenario.
- Digital Acquisition proxy: 1.35% is applied to the FDD’s 58.9% Direct Channel contribution, equal to 0.80% of Gross Rooms Revenue. This likely overstates the charge because Direct Channels include non-digital reservations.
- World of Hyatt proxy: the lower disclosed 2% rate is applied to the 62.1% of revenue attributed to World of Hyatt members, equal to 1.24% of Gross Rooms Revenue. Actual assessment expense can be higher because the standard disclosed rate is 4% of eligible revenue.
- Fixed recurring fees: low, midpoint, and high amounts are used for mandatory contracts, other corporate services, PMS, training materials, and annual quality inspection. The scenario totals are approximately $32,000, $95,000, and $158,000.
| Scenario | Gross Rooms Revenue | Effective owner margin | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $4.19 million | 1.1% | $45,000 |
| Base | $5.24 million | 6.0% | $315,000 |
| Upside | $6.29 million | 10.4% | $650,000 |
One 128-room hotel; values rounded to the nearest $5,000.
Interpretation: revenue and margin move together in this model, so modest differences in RevPAR and operating efficiency create a wide dollar range on a hotel with more than $4 million of annual room revenue.
Sources and formulas: 2026 Hyatt House FDD, Item 7 pp. 29–33 and Item 19 pp. 74–81; recurring fees from Item 6 pp. 13–28; Hyatt Hotels Corporation 2025 consolidated statements in Item 21, PDF p. 104. Scenario spread and margin sensitivity are editorial assumptions.
Where does the $315,000 base estimate come from?
The base scenario starts with $5.24 million of Gross Rooms Revenue, uses the same-parent proxy to absorb ordinary hotel operating costs, then deducts approximately $552,000 of modeled percentage-based franchise charges and $95,000 of fixed recurring charges. The resulting unrounded estimate is about $316,743.
Bars show each amount as a share of $5.24 million of Gross Rooms Revenue.
Interpretation: the base result is highly sensitive to whether the Hyatt corporate direct-expense line is economically comparable to a franchised Hyatt House and whether loyalty, digital, distribution, and management costs overlap with the modeled FDD charges.
Reconciliation: $5,239,181 − $4,275,172 − $552,060 − $95,206 = $316,743. Values are rounded in the visual. The bridge excludes depreciation, amortization, interest, financing principal, personal income taxes, capital expenditures, property-improvement reserves, and any separate third-party management fee.
| Modeled percentage charge | Calculation basis | Base amount |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5.0% of Gross Rooms Revenue | $261,959 |
| Commercial Services Fee | 3.5% of Gross Rooms Revenue | $183,371 |
| Digital Acquisition proxy | 1.35% × 58.9% Direct Channel contribution | $41,660 |
| World of Hyatt proxy | 2.0% × 62.1% member revenue contribution | $65,070 |
The 18.4% margin is not a Hyatt House franchised-unit margin. It is derived from Hyatt Hotels Corporation’s global owned-and-leased portfolio, which includes different brands, service levels, markets, revenue mixes, and ownership economics. The model uses it because the current Hyatt House Item 19 contains no compatible expense statement. That is the principal reason for the Limited confidence rating.
How does owner involvement change Hyatt House earnings?
Owner involvement can change the division between business profit and compensation for management labor, but the FDD does not support a fixed owner-operator premium. Hyatt must approve either the owner as operator or a management company, and a full Core Management team must remain in place.
Manager-run or management-company structure
The scenario residual is not automatically passive income. It assumes normal hotel staffing and management labor are represented within the operating-cost proxy. A separate management-company fee is not disclosed in Item 19 or Item 6 and is not deducted; an owner using one should subtract the negotiated fee from the scenario result.
Hyatt-approved owner-managed structure
An approved owner may retain some value otherwise paid to an outside management company, but the result is owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit. The owner still must maintain Core Management, and the owner’s time, expertise, and accountability have economic value. No general-manager wage or management-fee savings are added because the FDD gives no compatible amount.
Item 15 states that the approved operator must exercise direct management control and employ Core Management and other hotel personnel. Core Management must devote all business time to the hotel’s day-to-day operations. Owner salary, draws, distributions, and retained earnings are separate legal and accounting decisions; none is reported as an Item 19 metric. Official source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 65–68.
Which Hyatt House fees can move owner earnings most?
The 5% Royalty Fee and 3.5% Commercial Services Fee create the clearest recurring burden because both apply directly to Gross Rooms Revenue. Loyalty, digital acquisition, reservation, corporate-service, technology, quality, and management costs can also be material, but their annual dollar effect depends on channel mix, eligible revenue, reservation count, room count, service choices, and compliance status.
| Recurring obligation | FDD amount or basis | Scenario treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Included directly |
| Commercial Services Fee | 3.5% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Included directly |
| Digital Acquisition Fee | 1.35% of Gross Rooms Revenue through Digital Channels | Included through a conservative channel proxy |
| World of Hyatt assessment | 4% of eligible revenue, or 2% for qualifying on-property enrollment stays | Included at the lower rate; actual cost may be higher |
| Mandatory contracts | $1,500 to $7,500 per month | Low, midpoint, and high annual amounts |
| Other corporate services | $500 to $5,000 per month | Low, midpoint, and high annual amounts |
| PMS, training materials, annual inspection | $3.90 per room per month; $3.64 per room per year; $1,500 to $2,000 per inspection | Included for 128 rooms and one annual inspection |
Official source: 2026 Hyatt House FDD, Item 6, pp. 13–28. The model does not separately quantify the approximately $8.50-per-reservation GDS charge, optional central hotel services, travel-agent commissions, payment-card costs, extra training, reinspections, or FIP, BCP, and BPP compliance fees because the required volume or triggering condition is not disclosed. Those amounts can reduce owner earnings.
Why is the evidence confidence Limited?
Confidence is Limited because the strongest same-brand evidence is a revenue disclosure, while the profit conversion depends materially on a company-operated proxy and assumptions about fee overlap. The range should be used as a diligence framework, not as a forecast or a midpoint expected result.
- Geography: Item 19 combines the United States and Canada, while this article answers a U.S. ownership question.
- Maturity: Covered Hotels averaged 10.1 years under the Hyatt House name, and some conversions began with an existing customer base.
- Size: the FDD model uses 128 rooms, while the 2025 Covered Hotels averaged 145 rooms and ranged from 91 to 264.
- Revenue scope: RevPAR captures Gross Rooms Revenue, not food-and-beverage, parking, meeting, retail, or other hotel revenue; those activities also create expenses.
- Proxy mismatch: Hyatt’s owned-and-leased portfolio is not a Hyatt House franchised cohort and may allocate brand, distribution, loyalty, labor, and overhead differently.
- Capital structure: interest, financing principal, personal taxes, depreciation, renovations, FF&E replacement, and property-improvement plans are outside the estimate.
Item 7’s $26.9 million to $33.4 million initial-investment range excludes real estate and does not include finance charges, interest, or debt service. A leveraged hotel can show positive operating earnings while leaving little or no cash after loan payments. Debt principal is not an operating expense, but it materially changes cash available for owner distributions.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings range?
A buyer should replace every proxy with property-level evidence wherever possible. The priority is a complete revenue-to-cash bridge for comparable U.S. Hyatt House hotels, including the management agreement and capital plan.
- Request the franchisor’s written substantiation for every Item 19 financial performance representation.
- Obtain trailing monthly profit-and-loss statements from multiple franchisees with similar room count, market type, age, and ownership structure.
- Separate Gross Rooms Revenue from food-and-beverage, parking, meeting, retail, and other operating revenue.
- Identify every royalty, loyalty, digital, GDS, sales, card-processing, technology, corporate-service, and management fee actually paid.
- Confirm general-manager and Core Management payroll, benefits, staffing ratios, utilities, insurance, repairs, property taxes, and lease expense.
- Model FF&E reserves, renovations, property-improvement obligations, interest, and financing principal separately from operating earnings.
- Ask how 2025 openings, transfers, conversions, temporary disruptions, and ramp-up performance differ from the mature Item 19 cohort.
What is the strongest defensible Hyatt House owner-earnings answer?
The strongest defensible published answer is a scenario-based range of about $45,000 to $650,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings for one 128-room U.S. Hyatt House, with a base analytical case near $315,000. This is not an official Item 19 profit figure. RevPAR is the largest modeled earnings driver, while the largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand property-level expense and management-fee bridge.
A buyer should treat the range as a screening tool and verify the result against Item 19 substantiation, comparable franchisee financial statements, the proposed management agreement, recurring fee invoices, capital reserves, and debt terms. Losses remain possible, especially during ramp-up, in a weak location, or when financing and capital requirements are heavy.