A manager-run Golden Corral Metro-market restaurant could produce an estimated pre-tax owner result ranging from an approximately $46,000 operating loss to about $833,000, with a base scenario near $177,000. This range starts with Golden Corral’s official 2025 Item 19 Operating Income figures, then deducts the royalty, current advertising contribution, minimum recurring technology costs, and explicit assumptions for major expenses that Item 19 excludes.
The owner-earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Golden Corral Franchising Systems, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with separately identified scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, restaurant format, Gross Sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, management quality, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Golden Corral Franchising Systems, Inc. FDD: issued April 27, 2026. Item 19: historical 2025 Gross Sales, selected operating expenses, and Operating Income for 315 franchised Restaurants: 263 Metro, 50 Small-market, and 2 Non-Traditional. Evidence mode: official Operating Income disclosure followed by an independent owner-earnings bridge. Supplemental benchmark: May 2025 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data for Food Service Managers. Checked: July 19, 2026.
The matching FDD was not located as a verified public file on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are presented in plain text by year, Item, and page. The official Golden Corral U.S. franchise website confirms that the brand is offering U.S. franchise opportunities.
What does Golden Corral’s Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 officially reports Operating Income, not final owner earnings. For 2025, the FDD defines Operating Income as Gross Sales minus food cost, labor-related expenses, and controllable expenses. The labor category includes restaurant management salary and bonuses, employee wages, payroll taxes, group insurance, and workers’ compensation.
The official measure is useful because it covers a broad franchised-unit population, but it remains well above cash available to an owner. Item 19 states that the reported expenses exclude capital expenditures and fixed or other costs including land, building or equipment rent, debt service, depreciation, advertising, accounting and legal expenses, taxes, licenses, insurance, the 4% royalty, additional supervisory personnel, and certain refresher-training travel costs. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 64–74.
Golden Corral’s $4.659 million Metro median Gross Sales figure is the top line. The official $957,393 median Operating Income is an intermediate measure. The estimated $177,000 base owner result appears only after additional recurring fees and omitted operating-cost assumptions are deducted.
How does the annual owner-earnings scenario work?
The model produces approximately −$46,000, $177,000, and $833,000 for the Conservative, Base, and Upside manager-run scenarios. The revenue and official Operating Income anchors come from distinct 2025 Metro cohorts in Item 19; the omitted-cost percentages are editorial assumptions, not probabilities or franchisor forecasts.
| Scenario and Item 19 anchor | Gross Sales | Official Operating Income | Omitted-cost assumption | Estimated owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Bottom 20% Metro average; 53 Restaurants |
$2,984,496 | $519,741 | 12.0% of sales | −$45,539 |
|
Base All-Metro median; 263 Restaurants |
$4,659,201 | $957,393 | 10.0% of sales | $177,152 |
|
Upside Top 20% Metro average; 53 Restaurants |
$7,429,329 | $1,918,865 | 8.0% of sales | $832,909 |
What does the manager-run scenario range look like?
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings per Metro Restaurant, before debt service and personal income taxes.
Interpretation: Item 19 shows a very wide spread between lower-sales and top-sales Metro cohorts. Because occupancy and other excluded costs are not disclosed, the owner-earnings spread is wider still. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Item 19, Tables 1–2 and explanatory notes; Item 6 recurring fees; independent scenario assumptions.
- Known FDD deductions: royalty is 4% of Gross Sales; the current advertising contribution is 2.4%, within a disclosed possible range of 2% to 6%. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–15. The official Golden Corral franchise FAQ separately confirms the 4% royalty.
- Technology/support annualization: 12 × ($311.50 + $190 + $248.75 + $102.96 + $69.22 + $220.83) + $22 + 4 × $335 + 4 × $262.80 = $16,132.32, rounded to $16,132. This uses the minimum Qu software package and required listed systems, excludes optional POS hardware subscription, taxes, ad hoc service, and future increases.
- Editorial omitted-cost burden: 12%, 10%, and 8% of Gross Sales for the Conservative, Base, and Upside cases. It is intended to cover rent or occupancy, insurance, licenses, accounting and legal costs, business taxes, additional supervision, and other Item 19 exclusions. It excludes financing payments, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal taxes.
- Not a probability forecast: the bottom 20%, all-Metro median, and top 20% averages are disclosed historical cohorts. They should not be interpreted as the probability that a new Restaurant will achieve a particular result.
Why is the official Operating Income number much higher than owner earnings?
The base scenario falls from $957,393 of official Metro median Operating Income to about $177,152 after additional deductions. This is a derived and scenario-based bridge for 2025, not a second official earnings claim.
What reduces the base Operating Income to owner earnings?
A reconciled waterfall from the official Item 19 intermediate measure to the independent Base scenario.
Interpretation: most of the difference is not arithmetic noise; it reflects categories that the Item 19 definition expressly leaves out. The $465,920 omitted-cost deduction is the Base scenario assumption of 10% of $4,659,201 Metro median Gross Sales. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 19; independent calculation.
- Gross Sales
- Restaurant revenue before operating expenses. It is not salary, distributable cash, or owner earnings.
- Operating Income
- The FDD-defined result after food cost, labor-related expenses, and controllable expenses, but before the extensive exclusions stated in Item 19.
- Estimated owner earnings
- Cash available after the modeled normal unit-level operating expenses and disclosed recurring franchise fees, but before capital expenditures, debt service, personal income taxes, and retained cash needs.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Estimated owner earnings plus the market wage value of one manager role actually performed by the owner. It includes compensation for labor and is not passive business profit.
How does owner involvement change the result?
In the Base scenario, replacing one paid manager role could raise estimated owner-operator benefit from about $177,000 to about $252,000. The extra $74,880 is a wage-value proxy, not additional passive profit and not an official Golden Corral compensation figure.
The 2026 FDD requires the franchisee or approved Operations Principal to devote substantial time, energy, and best efforts to management, supervision, and operation. It also requires a qualified, trained manager to be present whenever the Restaurant operates. A manager-run scenario therefore means the owner or Operations Principal remains actively supervisory but does not replace a paid manager position; it should not be read as an absentee model. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 55–57. The official franchise site likewise describes a desire to be active in the business as an ideal-candidate characteristic.
| Scenario | Manager-run owner earnings | One-manager labor value | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | −$45,539 | +$74,880 | $29,341 |
| Base | $177,152 | +$74,880 | $252,032 |
| Upside | $832,909 | +$74,880 | $907,789 |
The BLS May 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics release reports a $74,880 national annual mean wage for Food Service Managers. The comparison adds only that wage, not benefits or payroll burden, and assumes the owner is qualified, trained, works the role, and actually eliminates one paid manager position without weakening required coverage.
How much do market format and outlet cohort change the evidence?
Metro and Small-market Restaurants have materially different official sales and Operating Income levels, while the Non-Traditional sample is too small for a dependable general estimate. These are official 2025 per-Restaurant statistics for separate franchised populations and should not be blended.
| Item 19 population | Restaurants | Gross Sales | Operating Income |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metro, all reporting | 263 | $4,659,201 median | $957,393 median |
| Small market, all reporting | 50 | $3,530,953 median | $679,880 median |
| Non-Traditional | 2 | $4,475,585 average | $915,382 average |
| Metro opened after 2016, full 2025 year | 35 | $5,268,264 average | $1,204,005 average |
| Small market opened after 2016, full 2025 year | 10 | $3,050,405 average | $612,750 average |
Applying the Base model’s 10% omitted-cost assumption to the official Small-market medians produces an estimated manager-run result of about $84,671, versus $177,152 for the Metro median. That comparison is an independent calculation, not an Item 19 result. The two-unit Non-Traditional cohort is reported only as an average, so no owner-earnings scenario is published for it.
Golden Corral’s buffet/grill model is closest to the restaurant categories described within the Census restaurant taxonomy, but a buffet format does not map perfectly to every conventional full-service benchmark. See the U.S. Census Bureau definition for NAICS 722511 Full-Service Restaurants. No Census margin was inserted into the model because the FDD’s same-brand operating evidence is stronger and the remaining cost gap is presented transparently as a scenario assumption.
What uncertainty should a buyer carry into the decision?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual occupancy and other excluded fixed-cost structure of the specific Restaurant. A lease, owned real estate, equipment financing, insurance market, local taxes, and supervisory structure can move owner cash flow by hundreds of thousands of dollars even when Gross Sales match the Item 19 median.
Item 19 includes 315 franchised Restaurants and excludes 7 Restaurants that left the system during 2025, 1 Restaurant open for less than six months at year-end, and 27 Restaurants that had not reported data when the tables were prepared. Eleven included Restaurants had operated for more than six but fewer than twelve months, and their figures were annualized. The FDD says annualization did not materially affect Table 1.
Item 20 reports franchised outlets declining from 358 at the start of 2023 to 344 at the end of 2025, with 3 openings, 6 terminations, and 1 nonrenewal during 2025. Item 19 separately states that 343 franchised Restaurants were operating at December 31, 2025. The cited sections do not reconcile the one-unit difference, so a buyer should ask for a current outlet count and the precise Item 19 eligibility roster. Source: Golden Corral 2026 FDD, Items 19–20, pp. 63–83.
The Federal Trade Commission explains that Item 19 claims must have a reasonable factual basis and disclose important assumptions and limitations. The FTC also recommends requesting written substantiation and speaking with current and former franchisees. See the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and its discussion of Item 19 and Item 20.
- Request Item 19 substantiation: obtain the records supporting the Metro, Small-market, top-20%, bottom-20%, and post-2016 cohorts, including how median Operating Income was calculated.
- Build a site-specific occupancy schedule: separate base rent, percentage rent, common-area charges, property tax, insurance, equipment rent, repairs, and required remodel reserves.
- Confirm fee treatment in writing: verify the current advertising contribution, the technology package actually required for the chosen format, local advertising obligations, and any additional supervisory requirement.
- Interview comparable franchisees: prioritize owners in the same market class, building format, sales band, lease structure, and ownership model; ask for pre-debt cash flow rather than only sales.
- Separate labor from return on capital: identify what the owner or Operations Principal will do, which manager position could truly be removed, and how many qualified managers are needed for operating-hour coverage.
- Model financing separately: the published owner-earnings scenarios exclude all debt service. Interest and principal payments reduce cash available dollar-for-dollar according to the buyer’s actual loan structure.
What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?
The strongest defensible range is approximately a $46,000 annual loss to $833,000 of pre-tax manager-run owner earnings per Metro Restaurant, with a Base scenario near $177,000. It is scenario-based, not an official owner-profit disclosure. The strongest official evidence is Golden Corral’s 2025 Item 19 Operating Income data; the most important earnings driver is the combination of Gross Sales and labor efficiency; and the largest unresolved variable is the site-specific burden of occupancy, administration, insurance, local taxes, supervision, and financing.
An actively working owner who genuinely replaces one paid Food Service Manager role could have Base owner-operator benefit near $252,000, but roughly $74,880 of that amount represents labor value rather than passive profit. No figure in this article is after-tax take-home pay. Before relying on the range, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation to the proposed format, verify every excluded expense, and compare the result with franchisee interviews from similar Restaurants.