Estimated annual owner earnings
This is an independent manager-run, pre-tax scenario range—not an official Fuzzy’s Taco Shop profit disclosure. The central cases are approximately $50,100 in Texas and $76,700 in the rest of the United States. The estimate applies to one traditional franchised restaurant and is before financing principal payments and personal income taxes.
Data basis
- Legal franchisor
- Fuzzy’s Taco Opportunities, LLC, an indirect subsidiary of Dine Brands Global, Inc.
- Current disclosure
- 2026 Fuzzy’s Taco Shop Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 27, 2026.
- Item 19 status
- Official Gross Sales only; no store-level profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, Owner Compensation, or owner earnings measure.
- Applicable population
- 90 traditional franchised restaurants active and operating at December 28, 2025: 50 in Texas and 40 elsewhere in the United States. The Taqueria Restaurant and the only nontraditional restaurant were excluded.
- Scenario benchmark
- Median 2024 income before taxes of 4.0% of sales for limited-service restaurant respondents, with an analytical sensitivity of 1%, 4%, and 7%.
- Date checked
- July 18, 2026.
Texas base case
SCENARIO: Texas median Gross Sales multiplied by a 4.0% pre-tax margin proxy.
Rest-of-U.S. base case
SCENARIO: Rest-of-U.S. median Gross Sales multiplied by the same 4.0% proxy.
Item 19 outlets
OFFICIAL: 50 Texas and 40 rest-of-U.S. traditional franchised restaurants.
Percentage-based franchise fees
OFFICIAL: 5% Royalty Fee plus 2% Development Fund contribution.
What does the 2026 FDD actually report?
The official disclosure reports Gross Sales, not owner earnings. Item 19 covers the 12-month period ended December 28, 2025 and separates traditional franchised restaurants in Texas from those in the rest of the United States. The franchisor says the figures came from franchisee royalty reports and were not audited.
For Texas, the official Annualized Average Gross Sales were $1,317,871 and the median was $1,252,474. For the rest of the United States, the official Annualized Average Gross Sales were $1,972,292 and the median was $1,916,377. Average and median are not interchangeable: 46% of Texas restaurants and 48% of rest-of-U.S. restaurants exceeded their regional average.
| Item 19 cohort | Restaurants | Median Gross Sales | High / low |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas — all reported traditional restaurants | 50 | $1,252,474 | $2,516,682 / $474,990 |
| Texas — first quartile | 13 | $1,951,222 | $2,516,682 / $1,630,160 |
| Texas — fourth quartile | 12 | $886,133 | $939,084 / $474,990 |
| Rest of U.S. — all reported traditional restaurants | 40 | $1,916,377 | $3,982,866 / $827,776 |
| Rest of U.S. — first quartile | 10 | $2,928,797 | $3,982,866 / $2,720,521 |
| Rest of U.S. — fourth quartile | 10 | $984,323 | $1,221,326 / $827,776 |
Official source: 2026 Fuzzy’s Taco Shop FDD, Item 19, pages 45–47. The first and fourth quartile medians are used as scenario revenue anchors; they are not probabilities or promises.
How was the owner-earnings range calculated?
The range multiplies official regional Gross Sales anchors by an external pre-tax income margin. The National Restaurant Association’s 2025 Operations Data Abstract summary reports that income before taxes represented a median 4.0% of sales for limited-service restaurant respondents in 2024. Census defines NAICS 722513 to include fast-casual restaurants, making limited-service restaurants the closest public operating category.
The public benchmark is not Fuzzy’s-specific and does not disclose every accounting convention in the summary. Therefore, the model uses 4.0% as a central all-in proxy and applies a transparent three-percentage-point sensitivity on each side. The 1%, 4%, and 7% margins are scenario assumptions, not FDD figures.
- Conservative: regional fourth-quartile median Gross Sales × 1% pre-tax margin.
- Base: regional overall median Gross Sales × 4% pre-tax margin.
- Upside: regional first-quartile median Gross Sales × 7% pre-tax margin.
- Fee treatment: the margin benchmark is treated as all-in, so the 5% Royalty Fee and 2% Development Fund are not subtracted again. Their comparability remains an uncertainty because the benchmark includes a broad limited-service population.
- Excluded from the published result: personal income taxes and financing principal payments. The public margin summary does not specify uniform treatment of interest or depreciation, so those items are not adjusted separately.
Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings by scenario
One traditional franchised restaurant; figures rounded to the nearest $100.
Interpretation: sales geography and operating margin compound each other. The upside bars use first-quartile median sales and do not imply that a new restaurant is likely to reach those results.
Sources: 2026 Fuzzy’s Taco Shop FDD, Item 19, pages 45–47; National Restaurant Association 2024 limited-service pre-tax margin benchmark.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
An owner who fully replaces a paid Designated Manager may create an additional labor benefit, but that is compensation for work—not passive business profit. Item 15 allows the owner not to supervise full time, provided an approved Designated Manager supervises the restaurant. That supports separate manager-run and owner-operator views.
The May 2025 national mean annual wage for Food Service Managers was $74,880, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics. Adding that wage to the base manager-run residual produces an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $125,000 in Texas and $151,500 outside Texas.
Base-case owner role comparison
Owner-operator benefit equals manager-run residual plus $74,880 of management labor value.
Interpretation: the $74,880 difference is labor value for managing the restaurant. It should not be presented as a passive distribution. BLS wages exclude the full employer cost of benefits and payroll taxes, while an owner’s actual duties and hours may exceed a standard manager role.
Sources: 2026 Fuzzy’s Taco Shop FDD, Item 15, page 36; BLS May 2025 national Food Service Manager wage data.
Which costs are most likely to move owner earnings?
Sales volume, labor, food cost, occupancy, and the 7% percentage-based franchise fee burden are the largest visible drivers. The FDD requires a 5% Royalty Fee and a 2% Development Fund contribution. At the regional median Gross Sales used in the base cases, 7% equals approximately $87,700 in Texas and $134,100 outside Texas before variable technology and vendor charges.
Those fee-dollar calculations are derived from the FDD and are shown for scale; they are not subtracted from the scenario margin a second time. The external 4.0% pre-tax margin is treated as an all-in proxy because the public benchmark summary does not provide a franchise-fee adjustment.
Industry cost pressure
The benchmark indicates narrow room for error. Limited-service respondents reported median 2024 food and nonalcoholic beverage costs of 32.4% of sales, labor including benefits of 31.7%, and occupancy of 5.2%. These are industry medians, not Fuzzy’s Taco Shop expense ratios.
Restaurant food-cost benchmark · Restaurant labor-cost benchmark · Restaurant occupancy benchmark
FDD-specific recurring charges
The percentage fees are only part of the recurring burden. Item 6 also lists POS support, payment gateway, fraud protection, technology, mobile app and loyalty, network support, and digital menu board charges. Package selection makes a single annual total unreliable without a franchisee’s actual invoices.
The official Fuzzy’s Taco Shop franchise FAQ confirms the 5% royalty and 2% advertising contribution.
Why is the evidence confidence limited?
The sales evidence is current and same-brand, but the profit margin is not. Item 19 gives a strong regional revenue distribution for traditional franchised restaurants, yet it supplies no labor, food, occupancy, operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, or Owner Compensation data. The scenario therefore depends materially on a broad limited-service restaurant benchmark.
- Format gap: no owner-earnings estimate is published here for a Taqueria Restaurant or nontraditional restaurant because Item 19 excludes those formats.
- Cohort gap: Item 19 does not state outlet age, maturity threshold, remodel status, or a full reconciliation from the 105 franchised outlets in Item 20 to the 90 restaurants shown in Item 19.
- Accounting gap: the public benchmark summary does not establish uniform treatment of interest, depreciation, owner salary, or franchise-specific technology costs.
- Geographic gap: Texas sales are materially below rest-of-U.S. sales in the disclosed population, so a single national revenue figure would obscure a decision-relevant difference.
- Survivorship and closure context: Item 20 reports franchised outlets declining from 134 at the start of 2023 to 105 at the end of 2025, including 14 outlets that ceased operations for other reasons during 2025. Item 19 reports operating restaurants, not failed-store economics.
What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the range?
Request store-level evidence that converts Gross Sales into cash available to the owner. The FTC advises buyers to examine Item 19 limitations, ask for written substantiation, and compare the disclosure with current and former franchisee experience.
- Ask for Item 19 written substantiation and a reconciliation of the 90 reported restaurants to the 105 franchised outlets in Item 20.
- Obtain monthly profit-and-loss statements from several Texas and rest-of-U.S. traditional restaurants at comparable sales levels.
- Separate food and beverage cost, hourly labor, Designated Manager compensation, occupancy, utilities, repairs, insurance, merchant fees, technology charges, Royalty Fee, and Development Fund.
- Confirm whether reported profit includes interest, depreciation, owner salary, distributions, capital expenditures, and required remodel reserves.
- Interview owners who actively manage a restaurant and owners who employ a Designated Manager; compare hours worked with the claimed owner-operator benefit.
- Review closed and transferred outlets, not only current high-volume restaurants, and ask how first-year ramp-up differs from mature-store performance.
- Model debt separately using the buyer’s actual loan amount, rate, amortization, and required reserves. Item 10 says the franchisor and affiliates do not offer or guarantee financing.
- For multi-unit development, build a portfolio model that includes opening schedules, ramp-up losses, area management, shared overhead, and staggered debt rather than multiplying one mature unit’s earnings.
The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $9,000 to $205,000 in manager-run, pre-tax owner earnings per traditional franchised restaurant. It is scenario-based, not official. The central estimates are about $50,100 in Texas and $76,700 elsewhere in the United States. The most important earnings driver is the combination of sales volume and operating margin; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand store-level expense and profit data. An owner who fully replaces a paid manager may add approximately $74,880 of labor value, but that creates owner-operator benefit rather than passive profit. Before making a decision, verify the Item 19 population, written substantiation, actual franchisee P&Ls, manager compensation, fee invoices, and closed-outlet experience.