How Much Does a Fox's Pizza Den Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
$11,000–$111,000

A manager-run Fox’s Pizza Den may produce roughly $11,000 to $111,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings per unit under the scenarios modeled here. An owner who personally replaces a full-time food service manager may receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $74,000 to $174,000, but that higher figure includes the market value of the owner’s labor and is not passive business profit.

2026 FDD Mode D: structural estimate Evidence confidence: LIMITED 1,000–1,200 sq. ft. U.S. unit
Independent estimate—not a franchisor earnings claim This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Fox’s Pizza Den, Inc. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified U.S. Census Bureau, National Restaurant Association, Internal Revenue Service, and Bureau of Labor Statistics benchmarks. Actual results can differ materially with location, unit format, sales volume, food cost, labor, occupancy, delivery mix, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis
Legal franchisor
Fox’s Pizza Den, Inc.; no parent is identified in the 2026 FDD.
Disclosure document
2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued October 16, 2025; Item 19, p. 35; Item 20, pp. 36–41.
Item 19 status
No sales, profit, operating income, EBITDA, cash flow, or owner compensation representation.
Applicable format
One U.S. franchised pizza restaurant, generally 1,000–1,200 square feet; the system reported no company-owned outlets.
Evidence method
Structural FDD anchors plus limited-service restaurant revenue, margin, cost, and manager-wage benchmarks.
Date checked
July 22, 2026. The official Fox’s Pizza Den U.S. franchise website was reviewed separately from the FDD.
Benchmark $1.323M Average employer-establishment sales

Derived from the 2022 Economic Census for NAICS 722513; it is not Fox’s Pizza Den average unit volume.

Benchmark 4.0% Median income before taxes

National Restaurant Association result for limited-service respondents in 2024.

Official FDD $6,000 Annual continuing royalty

$500 monthly during the initial five-year term; renewal increases to $600 monthly.

Benchmark $63,040 Manager labor value

May 2024 BLS median wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places.

Official FDD 198 Franchised outlets

System count at June 30, 2025, after eight openings, one termination, and two other cessations in fiscal 2025.

Official FDD 0 Company-owned outlets

No franchisor-operated population exists in Item 20 to provide a same-brand operating proxy.

Direct earnings answer

How much may a Fox’s Pizza Den owner earn each year?

The defensible scenario range is approximately $11,000 to $111,000 in manager-run pre-tax owner earnings for one mature unit, with a modeled base result of about $53,000. These are estimates for a single 1,000–1,200-square-foot U.S. franchised restaurant, not official results reported by Fox’s Pizza Den, Inc.

The estimate uses the publication definition of pre-tax owner earnings: cash remaining after normal unit-level operating expenses and recurring franchise obligations, before personal income taxes and before financing principal payments. Because the public restaurant-margin benchmark is an all-in income-before-tax measure, this model does not subtract the Fox’s royalty or software fee a second time. The benchmark’s public summary does not isolate owner compensation, depreciation, interest, or franchise fees, so those treatments remain an important source of uncertainty.

Scenario Revenue anchor Pre-tax margin Manager-run owner earnings
Conservative
80% of the Census average; margin 3 percentage points below the limited-service benchmark
$1,058,000 1.0% $11,000
Base
Census average; current limited-service median margin
$1,323,000 4.0% $53,000
Upside
120% of the Census average; margin 3 percentage points above the benchmark
$1,588,000 7.0% $111,000
Estimated manager-run owner earnings by scenario

Annual pre-tax earnings per unit, rounded to the nearest $1,000

Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings scenarios Conservative scenario eleven thousand dollars, base scenario fifty-three thousand dollars, and upside scenario one hundred eleven thousand dollars. $0 $40k $80k $120k $11k $53k $111k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: A small change in both sales and margin produces a large change in residual owner earnings because limited-service restaurant margins are thin.

Sources and method: 2022 U.S. Economic Census NAICS 722513 employer-establishment sales; 2024 limited-service income-before-tax margin from the 2025 National Restaurant Association Restaurant Operations Data Abstract; 80%/100%/120% revenue spread and ±3 percentage-point margin sensitivity are editorial scenario assumptions. Values use unrounded inputs and are published to the nearest $1,000.

Revenue is not earnings The $1.323 million central revenue anchor is an arithmetic average across U.S. limited-service employer establishments. It is neither a median nor a Fox’s Pizza Den average unit volume. Gross sales must pay for food, labor, occupancy, delivery and payment fees, utilities, repairs, insurance, approved supplies, franchise obligations, and other operating expenses before anything is available to the owner.
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually say about earnings?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose outlet sales or owner earnings. Item 19 states that Fox’s Pizza Den, Inc. makes no representation about future financial performance or the past financial performance of franchised or company-owned outlets. That makes this a Mode D structural FDD-anchored estimate with LIMITED confidence.

The distinction is decisive. No same-brand average sales, median sales, gross profit, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or percentage-achieving result is available to anchor a direct earnings claim. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buyer guide explains that Item 19 is where a franchisor’s sales or earnings claims must appear and that gross sales do not establish profit.

What does Item 20 reveal about the operating population?

Item 20 shows a fully franchised system of 198 outlets at June 30, 2025, but it does not reveal their economics. The system ended fiscal 2023 with 195 outlets, fiscal 2024 with 193, and fiscal 2025 with 198. During fiscal 2025, eight outlets opened, one was terminated, two ceased operations for other reasons, and nine transferred to new owners. These counts describe system movement, not sales, margins, or owner income.

No company-owned outlets were reported for 2023, 2024, or 2025. Therefore, there is no company-operated Fox’s Pizza Den cohort that can serve as a same-brand profit proxy. The absence of a company-operated population also prevents a comparison between franchised and company-operated cost structures.

Sample limitation The strongest same-brand evidence is structural: outlet format, ownership model, recurring fees, supplier obligations, required management involvement, and system counts. None of those facts supplies a verified sales or profit distribution. The estimate’s largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual sales and normalized operating margin of mature Fox’s Pizza Den restaurants.
Scenario model

How was the owner-earnings range calculated?

The model multiplies a limited-service restaurant revenue anchor by a transparent pre-tax margin sensitivity. The result is estimated, applies to one mature employer establishment, and is not a forecast for a specific Fox’s Pizza Den location.

Revenue anchor

The estimated central revenue anchor is $1,323,036 per employer establishment for the 2022 U.S. limited-service restaurant population. The U.S. Census Bureau definition for NAICS 722513 includes limited-service pizza parlors and pizza delivery shops. The 2022 Economic Census summary table reports approximately $358.864 billion in sales across 271,243 limited-service restaurant establishments. Dividing sales by establishments produces an arithmetic average of $1,323,036 per employer establishment.

This is a broad industry average, not a Fox’s Pizza Den fact. It includes chains and independents, varied store sizes, varied geographies, and concepts with different delivery, drive-through, seating, menu, and operating models. Because the FDD supplies no same-brand distribution, the Conservative and Upside revenue anchors use 80% and 120% of that average as explicit analytical spreads.

Margin anchor

The benchmark margin anchor is a 4.0% median income-before-tax ratio for 2024 limited-service respondents. The National Restaurant Association’s 2025 Restaurant Operations Data Abstract summary reports that income before taxes was a median 4.0% of sales for limited-service respondents in 2024. The study used financial and operating data from more than 900 restaurants nationwide and cautions that its ratios are management benchmarks rather than standards or goals.

The Base scenario uses 4.0%. With no published same-brand margin distribution, the Conservative and Upside cases use 1.0% and 7.0%, or three percentage points below and above the benchmark. An IRS Statistics of Income Schedule C table provides a broad cross-check: 2023 restaurants and drinking places reported approximately $2.610 billion of net income less deficit on $77.217 billion of receipts, a derived 3.4% margin. That IRS population is broader than limited-service restaurants and includes sole proprietorships of many sizes, so it is not substituted for the more format-specific 4.0% margin.

Explicit assumptions and exclusions
  • Mature-unit assumption: the model is not intended for the opening ramp, temporary closure, remodel, transfer transition, or a unit that has not reached a normalized operating year.
  • All-in margin proxy: the 1%–7% margins are applied after normal restaurant expenses. FDD fees are not subtracted again because the public benchmark does not state that franchise fees are excluded.
  • Manager-run definition: normal manager compensation is assumed to be embedded in labor expense. Residual profit is treated as pre-tax owner earnings before financing principal.
  • Unresolved accounting treatment: the public benchmark does not separately define owner compensation, interest, depreciation, or capital expenditures. No adjustment is invented for those items.
  • Taxes and financing: personal income taxes are excluded. Debt principal is excluded; financing interest may be embedded inconsistently in the benchmark and should be tested using the buyer’s actual loan terms.
  • Rounding: calculations use full-precision inputs; displayed revenue and earnings are rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Owner role

How does active owner operation change the result?

An owner who genuinely replaces a paid full-time manager may add approximately $63,040 of labor value to the manager-run residual, producing an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $74,000 to $174,000. This is a scenario, not pure business profit, because the added amount compensates the owner for work performed.

Fox’s Pizza Den’s 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 30, requires the franchisee to personally supervise the outlet. A franchisee may appoint an acceptable General Manager, but must remain active in overseeing the business; the General Manager must devote full time to the job. This structure does not support describing the franchise as passive ownership.

The labor adjustment uses the Bureau of Labor Statistics Food Service Managers wage benchmark: $63,040 was the May 2024 median annual wage in food services and drinking places. Actual replacement cost may be higher after payroll taxes, benefits, bonuses, overtime, and local wage differences, or lower where management duties are split across several positions.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit

Annual pre-tax dollars per unit; owner-operator benefit includes $63,040 of labor value

Owner role comparison across three earnings scenarios Conservative manager-run earnings eleven thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit seventy-four thousand dollars. Base manager-run earnings fifty-three thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit one hundred sixteen thousand dollars. Upside manager-run earnings one hundred eleven thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit one hundred seventy-four thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k Conservative Base Upside $11k $74k $53k $116k $111k $174k
Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: The $63,040 gap in every row is compensation for management labor supplied by the owner, not additional passive return on capital.

Sources and method: manager-run scenarios above; May 2024 BLS median wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places; 2026 FDD Item 15 active-supervision requirement. Values are rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Owner-operator effect Owner involvement changes the economic label, not merely the amount. A manager-run result is residual business earnings after assumed management labor. An owner-operator benefit combines residual business earnings with compensation for shifts, scheduling, supervision, cost control, customer service, and other management work the owner performs.
Operating cost pressure

Which expenses are most likely to move owner earnings?

Sales volume, labor, food cost, and occupancy are the largest modeled earnings drivers. This conclusion is benchmark-based for the 2024 limited-service restaurant population; Fox’s Pizza Den does not disclose a unit-level expense statement in Item 19.

The National Restaurant Association reports that among limited-service respondents, salaries, wages, and benefits were a median 31.7% of sales, while food and non-alcohol beverage costs were a median 32.4%. Those two categories consume approximately 64.1 cents of a sales dollar before occupancy, utilities, repairs, delivery, card processing, marketing, insurance, administration, and other costs.

Limited-service occupancy cost was a median 5.2% of sales in 2024, but location variation was substantial: 6.0% in urban or city-center locations, 5.0% in suburban locations, and 3.2% in small communities or rural areas. That spread is especially relevant because the FDD contemplates shopping-center, strip-center, college, food-court, and urban storefront settings.

How do Fox’s Pizza Den recurring fees enter the model?

The 2026 FDD identifies a relatively small fixed royalty but leaves several operating costs dependent on actual suppliers and future system requirements. Item 6, pp. 9–13, sets the continuing royalty at $500 monthly, or $6,000 annually, during the initial term. POS, software, and application fees may be up to $1,000 annually. Local advertising, the Brand Fund, regional or national cooperatives, and the technology fee were not currently assessed as of issuance, but the franchisor reserves rights to establish or impose certain charges.

At the three modeled revenue levels, the $6,000 annual royalty equals approximately 0.57%, 0.45%, and 0.38% of sales. It is a fixed cash obligation rather than a percentage royalty, so its revenue burden decreases as sales rise. On renewal, the FDD states that the royalty increases to $600 monthly, or $7,200 annually.

Item 8, pp. 17–18, requires proprietary pizza and menu ingredients from Fox’s Pizza Distribution, Inc. and other approved or designated sources. The FDD estimates that approved-source purchases represent approximately 30%–40% of ongoing operating costs. That percentage is not a cost-of-goods ratio to revenue and is not used as one in this model.

An exceptional Item 6 charge also matters operationally: if the franchisor provides interim on-site management because of death, disability, default, absence of a qualified manager, or another stated reason, the current fee is 20% of Gross Sales plus travel and other expenses, in addition to regular fees. The scenarios assume this extraordinary charge is not triggered.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every industry proxy with actual Fox’s Pizza Den evidence before making a capital decision. The modeled range is limited by the absence of same-brand sales, margin, and owner-compensation data in Item 19.

  • Ask for the current FDD and amendments. Confirm that Item 19 still contains no financial performance representation and ask for written substantiation of any sales or income statement made during the sales process.
  • Interview a broad Item 20 sample. Request mature-unit annual sales, food cost, labor, occupancy, delivery commissions, card fees, repairs, insurance, and normalized operating profit—not only gross sales.
  • Separate owner labor from business profit. Record the owner’s weekly hours, duties, salary or draw, manager payroll avoided, distributions, and retained earnings.
  • Normalize the location economics. Compare the proposed rent, common-area charges, utilities, local wages, insurance, and delivery mix with similar 1,000–1,200-square-foot units.
  • Verify all recurring system charges. Confirm royalty, software, technology, advertising, cooperative, required program, supplier, and quality-assurance costs in writing.
  • Rebuild debt service separately. Use the actual financed amount, interest rate, amortization term, fees, and collateral structure. Do not treat financing principal as an operating expense or assume it is covered by the modeled earnings range.
  • Review transfers and closures. Ask why nine outlets transferred in fiscal 2025 and why the outlets classified as terminated or ceased operations left the system; Item 20 counts alone do not explain economics.
  • Reconcile tax returns to store-level statements. Have an accountant test whether depreciation, interest, owner compensation, related-party charges, and one-time expenses make the reported cash flow materially different from accounting profit.
Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful earnings range?

The strongest defensible estimate is $11,000–$111,000 in annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per mature unit, with a $53,000 Base scenario. An active owner who replaces a full-time manager may realize approximately $74,000–$174,000 of owner-operator benefit, but about $63,040 of that comparison is labor value rather than passive profit.

The most important driver is the combination of sales volume and operating margin; a few percentage points of margin produce a large dollar change at the modeled revenue level. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that the 2026 FDD discloses neither Fox’s Pizza Den sales nor unit profitability. Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify Item 19 and any written substantiation, obtain normalized store-level records where permitted, and test the assumptions through detailed interviews with current and former franchisees listed in Item 20.