Estimated annual owner-operator benefit for a mature U.S. Expedia Cruises storefront. The lower figure uses the 2025 mature-store median Net Revenue; the upper figure uses the mature-store average Net Revenue. Both subtract the Franchise Disclosure Document's $100,700 projected annual operating costs.
$207,600 median mature-store Net Revenue minus $100,700 projected operating costs.
$264,608 average mature-store Net Revenue minus $100,700 projected operating costs.
The FDD's middle result for the 59-store mature cohort.
A central cost estimate, but based on February 2020 economic conditions without inflation adjustment.
Stores open for at least four full years before 2025, after stated exclusions.
Item 20 reported no company-owned Travel Businesses.
What does Expedia Cruises Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 measures bookings, commission revenue, consultant commissions, franchise fees, and “Net Revenue”; it does not directly report owner salary or net income. The applicable period is calendar 2025, and the principal mature cohort contains 59 U.S. franchised retail Centers opened in 2021 or earlier.
The official Expedia Cruises U.S. franchise website describes a storefront-based, omnichannel model in which franchisees support travel agents and earn a share of commissions. That operating structure matches the FDD's distinction between travel bookings, supplier-paid commission revenue, consultant compensation, and the amount remaining for Center expenses.
- Total Bookings
- Commissionable travel fare booked with approved suppliers. It is customer travel volume, not the franchise owner's revenue.
- Gross Revenue
- Supplier-paid commissions and other revenue generated through the Travel Business. For the mature-store “USA Medium” case, Item 19 reports $514,404.
- Net Revenue
- Gross Revenue after consultant commissions, Service Fees, and variable Marketing/MIS Fees. It is available for operating expenses, financing, or other uses; it is not owner earnings.
- Estimated owner-operator benefit
- Net Revenue minus the FDD's projected annual operating costs. It includes the economic value of the owner's management labor because the FDD assumes the owner manages the Center without a separate salary.
The mature-store “USA Medium” column shows about $4.265 million of Total Bookings, but only $514,404 of Gross Revenue and $264,608 of Net Revenue. Treating bookings as owner income would overstate the relevant revenue base by more than eight times.
How broad is the mature-store performance distribution?
The official distribution is wide and the FDD's “Medium” result is an average, not a median. For the 59 mature U.S. storefronts in 2025, Item 19 separately reports a $207,600 median Net Revenue, an $11,400 low, and an $860,400 high.
| FDD label | Statistical basis | Net Revenue | Stores attaining level |
|---|---|---|---|
| USA Low | 25th-percentile performance point | $127,385 | 45 of 59 |
| USA Medium | Average performance | $264,608 | 20 of 59 |
| USA High | 75th-percentile performance point | $349,563 | 12 of 59 |
| USA Upper | 90th-percentile performance point | $650,321 | 5 of 59 |
Source: 2026 Expedia Cruises FDD, Item 19, pp. 37-40. The FDD excludes conversions from competing travel businesses, non-commercial storefronts, and one mature franchise with an atypically high cost base.
What is a reasonable annual owner-earnings range?
A reasonable owner-operator planning range is about $1,400 to $286,600, with a central median-based estimate of $106,900. These are derived scenarios for mature U.S. storefronts, not probabilities and not franchisor-reported owner income.
| Scenario | Net Revenue anchor | Operating-cost anchor | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $127,385: mature-store USA Low | $126,000: high end of typical FDD range | $1,385 |
| Base | $207,600: mature-store median | $100,700: FDD projected cost | $106,900 |
| Upside | $349,563: mature-store USA High | $63,000: low end of typical FDD range | $286,563 |
Estimated annual benefit before personal taxes, interest, debt principal, equipment costs, depreciation, and amortization.
Interpretation: operating-cost selection changes the result substantially, and the FDD does not pair each store's Net Revenue with that store's cost level. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 37-41; calculations use full-precision subtraction and round to the nearest dollar.
- Conservative: combines the disclosed USA Low Net Revenue with the high end of the FDD's typical annual operating-cost range.
- Base: uses the disclosed mature-store median Net Revenue and the FDD's central projected annual operating costs.
- Upside: combines the disclosed USA High Net Revenue with the low end of the FDD's typical annual operating-cost range.
- Confidence limitation: the FDD says its operating-cost projections use February 2020 economic and market conditions and include no inflation adjustment.
How does commission revenue become owner benefit?
In the mature-store average case, $514,404 of Gross Revenue becomes an estimated $163,908 owner-operator benefit after consultant commissions, franchisor fees, and projected Center operating costs. This is a reproducible FDD-derived bridge for 2025 mature U.S. storefronts.
Each deduction uses the “USA Medium” figures in Item 19; the final operating-cost deduction uses the FDD's projected annual cost total.
Interpretation: consultant compensation is the largest disclosed deduction. The $23,000 “marketing and promotion” line inside projected operating costs is separate from the $12,750 variable Marketing/MIS deduction in the FDD's own Item 19 structure. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 37-41.
Which recurring franchise fees are already included?
The mature-store Net Revenue figures already deduct the principal recurring franchisor charges shown in Item 19. For a mature Center, the Service Fee is 9% of Gross Revenue, while the Management Information Systems Fee and Marketing Fee are 2% and 4% of Gross Revenue up to annual caps. Item 6 sets 2026 maximums of $4,250 for MIS and $8,500 for Marketing; the 2025 Item 19 table uses a combined maximum of $12,750.
New franchisees receive Service Fee discounts: 100% in year one, 67% in year two, and 33% in year three, with no discount from year four onward. These discounts are reflected in the early-year Item 19 projections, so subtracting the full mature-store royalty again would double count the fee.
Source: 2026 Expedia Cruises FDD, Item 6, pp. 8-12, and Item 19, pp. 37-40.How does owner involvement change the result?
The published cost model is owner-operated, not passive. It assumes the franchise owner acts as Center manager, receives no separate salary, uses commissioned independent-contractor Consultants, and hires no other employees. The estimate therefore combines residual business profit with compensation for management labor.
A manager-run owner should not expect to keep the full $106,900-$163,900 central range. A defensible manager-run calculation is: owner-operator benefit minus manager wages, payroll taxes, benefits, and any overlap staffing. The FDD does not disclose a manager-cost figure, so assigning a precise passive-owner income number would require an unsupported assumption.
Item 15 also limits absentee operation. During the first three years, the controlling owner generally may not be materially absent from the store. After three years, a manager-run structure is permitted only if several conditions are met, including prior-12-month Total Bookings above the third-year benchmark, at least 12 independent contractors, owner sales below 30% of total sales, no default, and franchisor approval of the operating plan.
The official site's franchise opportunity overview and training and support information provide current public context for the team-building and operating model. The controlling legal requirements remain those in the current FDD and franchise agreement.
What may earnings look like in the first three years?
The FDD-derived central cases are approximately -$44,900 in year one, $17,800 in year two, and $29,000 in year three before taxes and financing. These use each early-year “USA Medium” Net Revenue and the same $100,700 projected annual operating-cost figure; they apply to small U.S. cohorts, not the mature-store population.
| Operating year | Reporting cohort | USA Medium Net Revenue | Derived result after $100,700 costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| First year | 13 franchises | $55,787 | -$44,913 |
| Second year | 11 franchises | $118,468 | $17,768 |
| Third year | 6 franchises | $129,660 | $28,960 |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 37-41. The franchisor states that it does not expect a Travel Business to reach breakeven during the first year or two. Three atypical first-year franchises were excluded under stated productivity criteria.
What are the largest unresolved earnings risks?
The largest unresolved risk is the operating-cost estimate, not the arithmetic. The earnings bridge is compatible within the same FDD, but the cost schedule is based on February 2020 conditions, is not inflation-adjusted, and is not matched store by store to the 2025 Net Revenue distribution.
Other material uncertainties include local rent and utilities; the number and productivity of Consultants; the proportion of sales generated directly by the franchise owner; local marketing spend; employee classification; equipment leases or purchases; financing interest and principal; and whether a buyer's Center resembles the mature cohort. The FDD's mature-store sample also excludes non-commercial storefronts, prior competing travel businesses, and one high-cost mature franchise.
- Request Item 19 substantiation. Reconcile the 59-store mature cohort, excluded outlets, and the exact source records supporting Net Revenue and operating costs.
- Ask for store-level pairings. Determine whether low-revenue Centers also carry high costs, rather than relying on independently combined scenario endpoints.
- Interview current and former franchisees. Verify current rent, local marketing, insurance, education/travel, office, and staffing costs against the FDD's 2020-based assumptions.
- Separate owner labor from profit. Ask owners how many weekly hours they work, how much travel they personally sell, and what an approved manager would cost.
- Model financing separately. Subtract actual interest and principal from the operating result; do not treat the pre-financing owner-operator benefit as personal take-home pay.
- Confirm current fee caps and requirements. Review Item 6, the Marketing Fund obligations, the Platinum Marketing Program, and any CPI-adjusted thresholds applicable when the Center opens.
The strongest defensible central range is approximately $106,900-$163,900 per year for a mature, owner-managed U.S. Expedia Cruises storefront. It is a same-FDD derived estimate, not reported owner income. A wider sensitivity range runs from about $1,400 to $286,600. The most important earnings driver is Net Revenue after Consultant productivity and compensation; the largest uncertainty is the FDD's uninflated February 2020 operating-cost basis. A buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, current store-level costs, owner working hours, manager economics, exclusions, and franchisee experience before relying on any figure.