For a modeled 300-room U.S. Delta Hotels by Marriott property, this is a defensible range for hotel-level, pre-tax earnings before interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, and debt principal. The base scenario is about $4.7 million. It is not salary, distributable cash, or an official Delta Hotels earnings claim.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by MIF, L.L.C. It combines verified facts from the 2026 Delta Hotels Franchise Disclosure Document with a U.S. hotel-owner operating benchmark and clearly labeled modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, room count, format, RevPAR, food-and-beverage mix, labor, occupancy costs, franchise and distribution charges, financing, capital projects, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: MIF, L.L.C., a subsidiary of Marriott International, Inc. FDD issuance: March 31, 2026. Item 19 status: no sales, profit, or owner-earnings representation. Applicable format: Delta Hotels are full-service hotels, often conversions, with approximately 100 to 1,000 guestrooms; the FDD quantifies initial investment for a newly constructed suburban 300-room hotel. External benchmark: RLJ Lodging Trust's 2025 U.S. portfolio of premium-branded focused-service and compact full-service hotels. Checked: July 18, 2026.
MIF, L.L.C. reports no Delta Hotels sales, profit, cash-flow, or owner-compensation result.
Official RLJ Lodging Trust portfolio metric used as the room-revenue anchor, not a Delta Hotels result.
The model caps its upside margin at this published U.S. portfolio result and applies lower margins to the other cases.
Standard 5% Franchise Fee plus 2.16% Program Services Contribution on Gross Room Sales, plus $157,224 annually; approved incentives, loyalty, and variable charges can change the total.
The FDD says most hotels joining the brand are expected to be conversions, whose economics may differ materially.
How much may a Delta Hotels owner earn in a year?
A reasonable modeled range is $3.31 million to $6.35 million per 300-room hotel, with a base case of $4.71 million. These are independent estimates for a stabilized U.S. property, not FDD-reported results, and they represent an EBITDA-like hotel-level measure rather than take-home pay.
| Scenario | Modeled annual revenue | Hotel-level margin | Estimated annual earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative 80% revenue anchor; benchmark margin minus 6 percentage points |
$15.52M | 21.3% | $3.31M |
|
Base 100% revenue anchor; benchmark margin minus 3 percentage points |
$19.40M | 24.3% | $4.71M |
|
Upside 120% revenue anchor; published benchmark margin |
$23.28M | 27.3% | $6.35M |
Estimated annual hotel-level earnings for a modeled 300-room U.S. property, in millions of dollars.
Interpretation: the spread is driven by both revenue and margin. It is not a probability distribution, and the midpoint is not a forecast.
Source: independent calculation using the 2026 Delta Hotels FDD's 300-room structural format and RLJ Lodging Trust's full-year 2025 U.S. operating results. Revenue spreads and margin adjustments are editorial scenario assumptions.
What does the Delta Hotels FDD actually report?
The official answer is that Item 19 reports no financial performance representation. The 2026 FDD does not disclose Delta Hotels sales, gross profit, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or owner distributions for franchised or company-operated hotels.
RevPAR and Gross Room Sales measure room revenue. Hotel EBITDA measures property-level operating performance before specified items. Owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, and after-tax cash are different measures. None can be substituted for another without a defined bridge.
The FDD's statement appears in Item 19, page 109 of the official 2026 Delta Hotels FDD. Under the Federal Trade Commission's guidance, a franchisor is not required to publish an earnings claim, but any claim it chooses to make generally must appear in Item 19 and have a reasonable factual basis. The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise also recommends requesting written substantiation and interviewing current and former franchisees.
Item 20 supplies system structure and contact information, but not operating economics. It therefore cannot support an average owner-income calculation. The correct evidence mode is a structural estimate with limited confidence, not an inferred “average salary.”
How was the owner-earnings range calculated?
The estimate starts with a U.S. room-revenue proxy, converts it to total hotel revenue, and applies a deliberately discounted hotel-level margin. Every resulting figure is derived or scenario-based; none is reported by MIF, L.L.C.
Base room revenue: 300 rooms × 365 days × $143.49 RevPAR = $15.71 million.
Base total revenue proxy: $15.71 million ÷ 81.0% room-revenue share = $19.40 million.
Base hotel-level earnings: $19.40 million × 24.3% scenario margin = $4.71 million.
Why use RLJ Lodging Trust as the external benchmark?
RLJ Lodging Trust provides a recent, audited U.S. hotel-owner dataset with defined RevPAR, revenue mix, management and franchise expense, property taxes and insurance, and Hotel EBITDA. Its 2025 portfolio comprised 93 hotels in 23 states and the District of Columbia, primarily premium-branded focused-service and compact full-service properties.
The comparison is imperfect. RLJ states that its rooms-oriented hotels generally have fewer employees, less food-and-beverage activity, and higher margins than traditional full-service hotels. Delta Hotels, by contrast, may have restaurants, bars, room service, catering, meeting space, and ballrooms. For that reason, the model uses RLJ's published 27.3% comparable Hotel EBITDA margin only in the upside scenario, lowers it by three percentage points in the base scenario, and lowers it by six percentage points in the conservative scenario. The RLJ Lodging Trust 2025 Form 10-K supplies the definitions and operating-expense bridge.
What is included in “estimated pre-tax owner earnings” here?
The scenario measure includes normal property operating expenses, on-property payroll, general-manager compensation, management and franchise fees, property taxes, and insurance to the extent embodied in the RLJ benchmark. It excludes interest, income taxes, depreciation and amortization, owner-level corporate overhead, owner salary or draw, capital expenditures, FF&E reserves, and financing principal.
- Manager compensation
- Included within the benchmark's property operating structure; the FDD requires a trained general manager and other full-time managers.
- Owner compensation
- Not separately included. A salary or draw changes how value is paid to the owner; it does not create additional operating profit.
- Interest and debt principal
- Excluded. Debt service must be deducted separately from hotel-level earnings to estimate cash available for distribution.
- Depreciation
- Excluded because Hotel EBITDA is before depreciation and amortization.
- Capital expenditures
- Excluded from the headline range. Delta Hotels must maintain renovation reserves, and actual projects can make annual distributable cash substantially lower.
- Personal income taxes
- Excluded. Tax treatment depends on ownership entity, jurisdiction, deductions, and individual circumstances.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Hands-on ownership can change the management-cost layer, but it does not turn a 300-room full-service hotel into a passive or one-person operation. Under Item 15, the franchisee must operate the hotel or retain an approved management company, and a trained general manager plus other managers must work full time.
The base scenario already assumes a normal management-cost structure. RLJ reports base management fees of 1.5% to 3.5% of hotel revenue. At modeled base revenue of $19.40 million, that equals approximately $291,000 to $679,000 annually. A qualified owner organization that Marriott approves to operate the hotel might avoid some external base management fees, but it must provide equivalent operating capability and may incur owner-level payroll, systems, and overhead instead.
Illustrative owner-operator benefit if an approved owner organization replaces only a third-party base management fee.
Interpretation: the $291,000 to $679,000 increment is estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure passive profit. It represents the market value of management capability the owner must supply or fund.
Source: 2026 Delta Hotels FDD, Item 15, page 96; and the management-fee range in the RLJ Lodging Trust 2025 Form 10-K. No owner-led Delta Hotels results are disclosed.
Which obligations can reduce the owner's cash result?
The largest recurring deductions are property operating costs, franchise and program charges, management expense, capital reserves, and debt service. The FDD provides the Delta-specific fee structure, but it does not provide a complete property profit-and-loss statement.
| Obligation | 2026 FDD term | How the model treats it |
|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | Standard 5% of Gross Room Sales; an approved Item 10 development incentive may reduce the rate | Already embodied in the all-in hotel margin proxy; not subtracted twice. |
| Program Services Contribution | 2.16% of Gross Room Sales, plus $43,224 annually and $380 per guestroom annually | For 300 rooms, the fixed component is $157,224. The percentage and fixed charge are treated as part of the benchmark operating-margin burden. |
| Marriott Bonvoy loyalty charge | 4.0% of qualifying revenue through December 2027, plus specified event charges | Not converted into a flat percentage of all revenue because “qualifying revenue” has a distinct definition. |
| Distribution and intermediary costs | Variable travel-agency, group intermediary, online channel, and program charges | Assumed to be included in the external property's operating-cost structure; actual channel mix can move results materially. |
| FF&E and renovation reserve | A reserve account is required; the FDD does not state one universal annual percentage | Excluded from the headline earnings range and shown separately as a cash-flow sensitivity. |
How much could a capital reserve change the base case?
A reserve is not the same as an operating expense in the Hotel EBITDA benchmark, but it can materially reduce distributable cash. Applying illustrative reserve rates to base revenue produces the following sensitivity; these percentages are analytical assumptions, not Delta Hotels FDD figures.
| Illustrative reserve | Annual reserve | Base earnings after reserve |
|---|---|---|
| 3% of modeled total revenue | $582,000 | $4.13M |
| 5% of modeled total revenue | $970,000 | $3.74M |
| 8% of modeled total revenue | $1.55M | $3.16M |
Debt service is separate from operating earnings. Every $1 million of annual interest and principal payments reduces cash available to the owner by approximately $1 million before any owner-level taxes or distributions. The FDD does not provide standardized financing terms that justify one universal leverage assumption.
What could move actual Delta Hotels earnings outside the range?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of Delta-specific revenue and expense data for a comparable U.S. franchised hotel. A property's local RevPAR, food-and-beverage economics, labor model, property taxes, insurance, management agreement, renovation cycle, and debt structure can overwhelm a portfolio-level benchmark.
- Format mismatch: RLJ's benchmark emphasizes rooms-oriented focused-service and compact full-service hotels, while a Delta Hotels property may operate a more labor-intensive traditional full-service model.
- Conversion versus new build: the FDD says Delta Hotels are often conversions and expects most joining properties to be conversions; the quantified 300-room initial-investment format is a new suburban build.
- Revenue mix: restaurants, bars, catering, banquets, parking, and meeting space can increase revenue while also changing labor and departmental margins.
- Fee definitions: Gross Room Sales, qualifying loyalty revenue, intermediary commissions, and optional or market-specific programs do not share one denominator.
- Capital timing: FF&E replacement, property improvement plans, technology transitions, and periodic renovations can make cash flow lumpy across years.
- Owner structure: a single-property owner, hotel operating company, approved third-party manager, and multi-property platform can carry different overhead and management costs.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings figure?
The buyer should replace the external proxy with property-specific evidence wherever possible. The most useful diligence is a reconciled hotel profit-and-loss statement using the same definitions as the proposed management agreement and franchise documents.
- Confirm that Item 19 still contains no financial performance representation in the FDD delivered for the actual transaction and review every state amendment.
- Request written substantiation for any sales, profit, margin, occupancy, ADR, RevPAR, or cash-flow statement made during the sales process.
- For an acquisition or conversion, obtain at least three years of property-level room revenue, food-and-beverage revenue, departmental expenses, payroll, management fees, franchise fees, property taxes, insurance, and capital expenditures.
- Reconcile Gross Room Sales and qualifying revenue to the proposed Franchise Fee, Program Services Contribution, loyalty charges, channel commissions, and other recurring programs.
- Interview current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 and Exhibits L and M about management-company costs, labor intensity, renovations, reservation-channel mix, and actual owner distributions.
- Model debt service and required reserve funding separately; do not describe Hotel EBITDA as cash available for personal spending.
What is the most defensible takeaway for a prospective owner?
The strongest defensible range is $3.3 million to $6.4 million in annual hotel-level, pre-tax earnings for the modeled 300-room U.S. property, with a base estimate of $4.7 million. It is a scenario-based result, not an official Delta Hotels Item 19 disclosure, and cash after capital reserves, debt service, owner overhead, and taxes may be substantially lower.
The most important earnings driver is room-revenue performance—RevPAR multiplied by available rooms—combined with the property's ability to control labor and full-service operating costs. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the lack of a Delta-specific U.S. franchised-hotel margin and capital-expenditure history. A buyer should therefore verify the delivered Item 19, obtain written substantiation for any financial claim, and replace the proxy model with actual property records and franchisee interview evidence before treating the range as an underwriting input.