A reasonable manager-run planning range for one mature, freestanding U.S. DQ Grill & Chill restaurant is about $82,000 to $282,000 in estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $161,000. The range is not an official Dairy Queen owner-income figure. It is an independent bridge from the 2026 FDD’s official Gross Sales and Manageable Profit evidence to a residual owner-earnings estimate.
This owner-earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation made by American Dairy Queen Corporation. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with separately identified scenario assumptions for occupancy, non-employment insurance, legal and accounting costs, and other administration. Actual results can differ materially by location, restaurant format, sales volume, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, pricing, and execution.
Legal franchisor: American Dairy Queen Corporation (ADQ). FDD issuance date: March 26, 2026. Item 19 status: official Gross Sales and Manageable Profit disclosures for defined franchisee-owned freestanding cohorts. Primary cost cohort: 203 restaurants reporting usable 2024 profit-and-loss statements. External benchmark: May 2024 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics food-service-manager pay. Date checked: July 14, 2026.
286 qualified freestanding restaurants in Schedule A; revenue, not earnings.
The midpoint outlet result in the qualified Schedule A population.
Before occupancy, specified franchise fees, insurance and administration.
64.9% of the 313 restaurants qualifying for the 2024 sales schedule.
4% Continuing License Fee plus a 5%–6% Sales Promotion Program Fee.
What does Dairy Queen’s FDD actually report?
The FDD officially reports 2022–2025 Gross Sales and a defined measure called Manageable Profit; it does not report an owner salary, owner draw, distributions, after-tax income, or fully loaded store profit. Schedule A covers qualifying franchisee-owned freestanding DQ Grill & Chill restaurants. Schedule B uses a smaller subset that submitted usable profit-and-loss statements.
For 2025, Schedule A reports average annual Gross Sales of $1,485,731 and median annual Gross Sales of $1,413,799 across 286 qualified restaurants. Forty-four percent met or exceeded the average. Those figures are official revenue evidence, but Gross Sales cannot be presented as owner earnings.
| Official Item 19 measure | 2024 | 2025 | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schedule A average Gross Sales | $1,446,870 | $1,485,731 | Broad qualified sales cohort |
| Schedule A median Gross Sales | $1,374,380 | $1,413,799 | Middle qualified sales result |
| Schedule A qualified restaurants | 313 | 286 | Full 12-month reporters meeting cohort rules |
| Schedule B average Gross Sales | $1,476,872 | $1,616,086 | P&L subset only |
| Schedule B average Manageable Profit | 29.90% | 27.31% | Incomplete profit measure, not owner earnings |
| Schedule B store count | 203 | 16 | 2025 sample is too small for the main cost anchor |
Source: 2026 DQ Grill & Chill Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Schedules A and B, pp. 57–62. ADQ states that it did not audit or independently verify the franchisee sales reports or P&L information.
Manageable Profit is closer to an operating contribution margin than to owner take-home pay. The FDD defines it after Cost of Goods, Labor and Restaurant Controllables, but before occupancy costs, non-employment insurance, the Continuing License Fee, the Sales Promotion Program Fee, legal fees, accounting fees and other administrative costs.
Which restaurants are represented?
The official 2026 FDD cohort definition applies to mature freestanding restaurants, not every Dairy Queen format. The restaurants were newly constructed under ADQ development programs, opened from 2015 through 2024, operated for all 12 months of the stated year, and franchisee owned and operated. Item 19 excludes Texas DQ restaurants, conversions, restaurants inside host buildings such as malls or fuel centers, and certain locations developed through territory operators or developmental-rights arrangements.
The official DQ Grill & Chill building-types page confirms that current development is focused on freestanding locations while also describing other site configurations. Results from the Item 19 freestanding cohort should not be transferred to a materially different format without new evidence.
How much might one manager-run restaurant leave for its owner?
The independent estimate is about $82,000 in the Conservative scenario, $161,000 in the Base scenario and $282,000 in the Upside scenario. Each figure is annual estimated pre-tax owner earnings for one mature freestanding restaurant before financing interest and principal, depreciation, capital expenditures and personal income taxes.
The model uses the 2024 Schedule B average Gross Sales of $1,476,872 because it is directly compatible with the broadest recent Manageable Profit sample. It does not blend the 2025 sales cohort with the 2024 cost cohort. Revenue is modeled at 80%, 100% and 120% of that official 2024 average. The Manageable Profit sensitivity is the official 29.90% average minus three percentage points, at the average, and plus three percentage points.
Conservative
$82,000
$1.181M revenue; 26.9% Manageable Profit; 6% promotion fee; 10% other excluded costs.
Base
$161,000
$1.477M revenue; 29.9% Manageable Profit; 5.5% promotion fee; 9.5% other excluded costs.
Upside
$282,000
$1.772M revenue; 32.9% Manageable Profit; 5% promotion fee; 8% other excluded costs.
Estimated annual manager-run owner earnings
Independent scenarios for one mature freestanding restaurant; USD, rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Interpretation: sales volume and the cost burden below Manageable Profit compound. The Upside bar is a sensitivity case, not a forecast or promised result.
Source basis: 2026 FDD Item 19, Schedule B, pp. 59–62; 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 15–18; editorial assumptions identified below.
- Official revenue anchor2024 Schedule B average Gross Sales of $1,476,872 for 203 qualifying P&L reporters.
- Official margin anchor2024 average Manageable Profit of 29.90%; the Conservative and Upside margins use an explicit minus/plus three-percentage-point sensitivity.
- Official recurring franchise feesA 4% Continuing License Fee and a 5%–6% Sales Promotion Program Fee, both calculated on Gross Sales.
- Editorial excluded-cost allowance8%–10% of sales for occupancy, non-employment insurance, legal, accounting and other administration because Item 19 does not disclose those fully loaded costs.
- Not deducted in the operating estimateFinancing interest, financing principal, depreciation, capital expenditures and personal income taxes are shown as owner-specific items rather than assumed restaurant expenses.
How does the Base scenario move from revenue to $161,000?
The Base scenario starts with $1,476,872 in official average Gross Sales, retains $441,585 of official Manageable Profit, then deducts $280,606 for disclosed franchise fees and assumed costs excluded from Manageable Profit. The resulting $160,979 is rounded to $161,000.
Base revenue-to-owner-earnings bridge
Dollar amounts reconcile to the 2024 Schedule B average revenue anchor; USD, rounded.
Interpretation: the official Manageable Profit figure is $441,585 at the revenue anchor, but it falls to about $161,000 after the model deducts fees and operating categories that the FDD definition leaves below the line.
Source basis: 2026 FDD Item 19, 2024 Schedule B and definitions, pp. 59–62; Item 6 recurring fees, pp. 15–18. The 9.5% other-cost allowance is an editorial scenario assumption.
The decisive missing number is the restaurant-specific total for rent or property costs, property taxes, non-employment insurance, professional fees and administrative overhead. A one-percentage-point change in fully loaded margin equals about $14,769 at the Base revenue anchor.
Does working in the restaurant increase what the owner receives?
Potentially, but the incremental amount is compensation for the owner’s labor, not additional passive business profit. The owner-operator figures below are independent 2024-anchored estimates for the same mature freestanding format. The FDD allows the Controlling Owner to avoid day-to-day management, provided the restaurant has one trained designated manager and two trained assistant managers. Item 19 Labor includes manager wages and may include salary or wages paid to a franchisee or owner, but ADQ did not normalize the P&L data for different owner-compensation practices.
Manager-run owner earnings
The $82,000–$282,000 estimate treats normal manager compensation as part of Labor and measures residual unit economics. It is before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures and personal taxes.
Owner-operator benefit
If a trained owner genuinely replaces a paid designated manager, an illustrative labor value of up to $63,040 may be added. That produces a conditional range of roughly $145,000–$345,000, including both residual profit and the value of work performed.
The $63,040 labor benchmark is the May 2024 median annual wage for food-service managers in food services and drinking places reported by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. It is not a DQ wage, and local replacement cost can be materially higher or lower. The uplift should be reduced or removed when the baseline P&L already includes owner-manager compensation, when a separate designated manager remains necessary, or when the owner performs only oversight rather than the full manager role.
- Estimated pre-tax owner earningsResidual cash generated after normal unit-level operating expenses, the Continuing License Fee and Sales Promotion Program Fee, but before financing interest and principal, depreciation, capital expenditures and personal income taxes.
- Estimated owner-operator benefitEstimated pre-tax owner earnings plus the supported market value of a management role actually performed by the owner. The labor component is earned compensation, not passive income.
- Personal take-home payNot estimated. Federal, state and local taxes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, owner compensation elections and personal circumstances.
How reliable is the earnings range?
Evidence confidence is LIMITED for the final owner-earnings range, even though the underlying Item 19 sales and Manageable Profit figures are official franchisor disclosures. The final bridge relies materially on undisclosed occupancy, insurance and administrative costs, and the main cost anchor is a 2024 P&L subset rather than the complete system.
| Uncertainty | Why it matters | How this analysis handles it |
|---|---|---|
| Schedule B reporting subset | 203 of 313 qualified 2024 restaurants supplied usable P&Ls. | Shows coverage explicitly and does not assume excluded stores performed identically. |
| Very small 2025 P&L sample | Only 16 restaurants appear in 2025 Schedule B. | Uses 2024 as the main compatible cost anchor and keeps 2025 sales as separate context. |
| Unverified franchisee reports | ADQ states that sales reports and P&Ls were not audited or independently verified. | Preserves the warning and avoids fake precision. |
| Costs below Manageable Profit | Rent, property costs, insurance and administration are not disclosed in the measure. | Uses a visible 8%–10% assumption rather than silently calling Manageable Profit owner earnings. |
| Owner compensation inconsistency | Some Labor figures may include owner-manager pay while others may not. | Treats owner-operator uplift as conditional, not automatic. |
| Format and maturity limits | Texas, conversions, host-building sites and newer or partial-year outlets are excluded. | Limits the range to the defined mature freestanding cohort. |
What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?
Sales density, labor discipline and occupancy are the main operating drivers; financing can then change owner cash flow substantially. This is an analytical interpretation of the 2024-anchored freestanding scenario, not an additional Item 19 result. A high-rent site can underperform the model even at average sales. A heavily financed build can produce acceptable restaurant-level operating earnings but little distributable cash after interest and principal. Conversely, owned real estate, stronger sales or efficient staffing can improve residual cash.
The FDD’s Item 7 initial investment range is relevant to capital planning, but it is not an annual operating expense and is not subtracted from one year of sales. This article therefore does not calculate ROI, payback, valuation or after-tax take-home pay.
What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the range?
Verify the exact outlet format, the complete below-Manageable-Profit expense stack and whether owner labor is already recorded in Labor. This is diligence guidance for applying the 2024–2025 freestanding evidence, not an additional FDD earnings result. The most useful diligence is a reconciliation from the FDD definition to actual restaurant financial statements, not a discussion limited to average sales.
- Request Item 19 substantiationAsk ADQ for the written substantiation it says is available on reasonable request, including how Schedule B P&Ls were screened and classified.
- Match the cohortConfirm whether the proposed restaurant is comparable to the newly constructed, freestanding, full-year restaurants in Schedules A and B.
- Rebuild the expense bridgeObtain actual or pro forma rent, common-area charges, property taxes, insurance, professional fees, technology costs and administrative overhead for the target site.
- Separate owner wages from distributionsAsk franchisees whether owner-manager salary appears inside Labor and how they distinguish wages, draws, dividends, retained cash and distributions.
- Compare average and medianUse the 2025 median Gross Sales of $1,413,799 as a counterweight to the $1,485,731 average; only 44% of qualified restaurants met or exceeded the average.
- Test debt service separatelyModel the actual loan amount, rate, amortization, fees and required reserves rather than assuming that operating earnings equal distributable cash.
- Interview current and former franchiseesAsk for mature-store labor percentages, rent burden, maintenance capital, manager turnover, local advertising, delivery commissions and owner time commitment.
What is the strongest defensible annual earnings view?
For one mature, freestanding, manager-run U.S. DQ Grill & Chill restaurant, the strongest defensible planning range is approximately $82,000 to $282,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a Base scenario near $161,000. It is scenario-based, not an official owner-income disclosure. The strongest official evidence is the 2026 FDD’s 2024 average Manageable Profit of 29.90% across 203 P&L-reporting restaurants, together with the 2025 Schedule A average Gross Sales of $1,485,731 and median of $1,413,799.
The most important earnings driver is the combination of sales volume and the fully loaded margin after occupancy and recurring franchise fees. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the site-specific cost stack below Manageable Profit. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain a complete rent-to-administration expense bridge, and use franchisee interviews to determine whether manager compensation and owner labor are recorded consistently before treating any range as applicable to a proposed restaurant.
FDD citations in this article refer to the 2026 DQ Grill & Chill Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 26, 2026: Items 6, 7, 15, 19 and 20. No public official copy of the matching FDD was identified, so the document citations are presented without an FDD hyperlink.