How Much Does a Coldwell Banker Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent annual estimate
$96,000-$223,000

Estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per modeled U.S. brokerage-office establishment. The central scenario is approximately $153,000 a year. Coldwell Banker Real Estate LLC does not publish sales, profit, or owner compensation in Item 19 of its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, so this range is a structural, industry-benchmark estimate rather than an official Coldwell Banker result. A manager-run office is not assumed to be passive; Item 15 still requires owner participation.

Evidence mode: Mode D Confidence: Limited Modeled unit: One employer office FDD: 2026 U.S. offer
Independent estimate - not an Item 19 representation

This analysis combines identified facts from the 2026 FDD with U.S. Census Bureau, Internal Revenue Service, and Bureau of Labor Statistics benchmarks. It is not a financial performance representation by Coldwell Banker Real Estate LLC. Actual results can differ materially with location, office scale, agent productivity, commission splits, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, local competition, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Coldwell Banker Real Estate LLC, a California limited liability company.
Disclosure reviewed
2026 U.S. FDD, issued March 30, 2026 and amended June 12, 2026.
Item 19 status
No financial performance representation for franchised or company-owned outlets.
Applicable format
Residential real estate brokerage offices, including a Main Office and possible Branch Offices; the model below is per employer establishment, not per owner portfolio.
Official benchmarks
2022 Census SUSB receipts, 2022 IRS corporation statistics, and May 2025 BLS occupational wages.
Date checked
July 17, 2026.
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Coldwell Banker FDD actually say about owner earnings?

It does not disclose a Coldwell Banker sales, profit, EBITDA, net-income, cash-flow, or owner-compensation figure. Item 19 states that the franchisor makes no representations about a franchisee's future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. That makes an official brand-specific annual earnings figure unavailable. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 65-66.

The official Coldwell Banker U.S. franchising page identifies the U.S. franchise offer, but it does not supply office-level owner income. System transaction counts, property sales volume, agent production, and home values are not the same as brokerage Gross Revenue, and Gross Revenue is not owner earnings.

The Federal Trade Commission's franchise buyer guidance explains that a franchisor is not required to provide potential income or sales information. When it does make a financial performance representation, the claim belongs in Item 19 and should disclose its basis and limitations.

Evidence confidence
Limited

The current same-brand FDD is strong evidence of what is not disclosed and of the required fee and operating structure. The dollar estimate, however, relies materially on government industry averages rather than a Coldwell Banker reporting cohort, so it should be treated as a planning range, not a forecast.

Sample limitation

Item 20 reports 1,297 franchised outlets at the end of 2025, down from 1,309 at the start of the year. Those outlets are system-population context only. They are not an earnings sample, because Item 19 supplies no reporting outlets, average, median, quartile, or percentage-achieving result. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, p. 66.

Benchmark $1.09M Average receipts per employer establishment

2022 Census SUSB, NAICS 531210; an arithmetic mean, not a Coldwell Banker AUV or median.

Benchmark 14.1% Receipts less deductions margin

2022 IRS corporate-industry aggregate; not a franchised-office operating margin.

Official FDD 5.5% Starting Royalty Fee rate

Resets each January 1 and declines on incremental Gross Revenue; legacy terms can differ.

Official FDD 0.50% Brand Marketing Fund fee

Current flat rate on monthly Gross Revenue for the applicable agreement population.

Official FDD 1,297 Franchised outlets at year-end 2025

System count from Item 20; not a performance-reporting sample.

Derived benchmark $106K Manager wage-equivalent

May 2025 national median hourly wage for General and Operations Managers, annualized at 2,080 hours.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The estimate applies a matched-year real estate brokerage revenue anchor to an official corporate-industry margin, then tests a transparent revenue and margin spread. It models one U.S. employer brokerage-office establishment. It does not estimate a per-franchisee portfolio, a new-office ramp-up, or a Coldwell Banker average.

  • Revenue anchor: The 2022 Census Statistics of U.S. Businesses table reports $180.013 billion of receipts and 165,585 employer establishments for NAICS 531210, Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers. Dividing receipts by establishments produces an average of $1,087,136.
  • Revenue scenarios: Because the FDD and Census table do not provide a Coldwell Banker distribution or establishment median, Conservative, Base, and Upside revenue use 80%, 100%, and 120% of the Census mean. This spread is an editorial sensitivity assumption, not an FDD-reported range.
  • Margin anchor: The IRS 2022 corporation statistics, Table 5.1, report $17.036 billion of total receipts less total deductions on $121.145 billion of total receipts for Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers. The resulting aggregate margin is 14.062%.
  • Margin scenarios: With no published same-brand distribution, the model uses 11.062%, 14.062%, and 17.062% - the benchmark minus three percentage points, the benchmark, and the benchmark plus three percentage points.
Scenario Annual revenue anchor Applied margin Manager-run pre-tax earnings
Conservative $870,000 11.1% $96,000
Base $1,087,000 14.1% $153,000
Upside $1,305,000 17.1% $223,000

Formula: scenario revenue x scenario margin. Full-precision inputs were used before rounding dollar results to the nearest $1,000 and margins to one decimal place.

What does the manager-run earnings sensitivity show?

Estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings rise from about $96,000 to $223,000 as both the modeled office revenue and all-in margin increase.

Manager-run annual owner earnings by scenario Three columns show Conservative at 96 thousand dollars, Base at 153 thousand dollars, and Upside at 223 thousand dollars. $0 $75K $150K $225K $96K $153K $223K Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: Revenue and margin compound. The Upside column is not a probability statement or a promised result; it is the high end of a defined sensitivity model.

Source and method: Census 2022 SUSB revenue anchor; IRS 2022 Table 5.1 margin; editorial 80%/100%/120% revenue spread and +/-3 percentage-point margin spread. Values are independent estimates.

What the earnings definition includes

For this article, estimated pre-tax owner earnings means modeled cash available after normal operating expenses and recurring business costs, before personal income taxes and before financing principal payments. The IRS total-deductions proxy includes interest and depreciation at the industry aggregate level. Manager compensation is treated as embedded in the all-in margin, but the IRS table does not isolate it. Capital expenditures, working-capital changes, owner distributions, and debt principal are not separately modeled.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

An owner who personally performs the general-manager role may capture both residual business profit and the market value of that labor. Under the scenario assumptions, estimated owner-operator benefit is about $202,000-$328,000, compared with $96,000-$223,000 of manager-run residual earnings. The difference is labor compensation, not passive profit.

Item 15 requires an individual owner, or the owners of an entity franchisee, to participate in management. It also contemplates offices operated by an office manager and requires continuous best efforts from the owners and manager. A Responsible Broker must be retained. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 58.

For labor value, the model uses the May 2025 national median hourly wage of $50.85 for General and Operations Managers from the BLS national occupational wage table. Multiplying by 2,080 hours gives $105,768, rounded to $106,000. This is a broad national proxy, not a Coldwell Banker salary, a real-estate-specific wage, or a local total-compensation estimate.

How large is the owner-operator labor component?

Each line separates manager-run residual earnings from owner-operator benefit, which adds a $106,000 wage-equivalent for work performed.

Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit
Manager-run earnings and owner-operator benefit by scenario Conservative moves from 96 thousand dollars manager-run to 202 thousand dollars owner-operated. Base moves from 153 thousand to 259 thousand. Upside moves from 223 thousand to 328 thousand. $0 $100K $200K $300K Conservative Base Upside $96K $202K $153K $259K $223K $328K

Interpretation: Approximately $106,000 of each owner-operator figure compensates the owner for management labor. It should not be described as passive income or pure business profit.

Source and method: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 58; BLS May 2025 General and Operations Managers median hourly wage; manager-run scenario results plus a $105,768 annualized wage-equivalent. Benefits, payroll burden, local wage differences, and any Responsible Broker compensation are not separately added.

Recurring obligations

How do Coldwell Banker fees affect the estimate?

The FDD identifies material Gross Revenue-based fees, but the exact effective annual fee burden cannot be reconstructed from the disclosure alone. The Royalty Fee begins at 5.5% each January 1 and declines on incremental Gross Revenue under a tier schedule in the Franchise Agreement. The Brand Marketing Fund fee is currently 0.50% of Gross Revenue for the applicable population. Legacy agreements and negotiated terms can differ. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 23-29.

Royalty Fee

Starts at 5.5%, resets annually, and declines on incremental Gross Revenue. It should not be modeled as a flat 5.5% of all annual revenue without the applicable tier table and agreement terms.

Brand Marketing Fund

Currently 0.50% of Gross Revenue for applicable agreements. At the $1.087 million Base revenue anchor, 0.50% is approximately $5,436 before any agreement-specific variation.

Property management

An additional 1.5% applies to Gross Revenue from Property Management Services when that revenue stream is used.

Other operating costs

Local marketing, occupancy, payroll, technology, MLS, insurance, professional services, and other required or optional programs can materially alter residual earnings.

No double charge

The scenario uses an all-in IRS receipts-less-deductions margin, so the model does not subtract the FDD royalty and marketing fee a second time. That avoids a mechanical double charge. It also creates an important limitation: the industry aggregate may contain mostly non-franchised corporations and may not reflect the Coldwell Banker fee structure, commission plans, or office cost mix.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?

Agent economics and office productivity are likely to matter more than any single disclosed fee. A residential brokerage's receipts depend on transaction count, sale prices, gross commission income, referral payments, agent commission splits, desk or service fees, and ancillary revenue. The FDD does not provide those inputs for a comparable Coldwell Banker cohort.

  • Agent mix and commission splits: Two offices with the same closed sales volume can retain very different Gross Revenue after agent compensation and referral arrangements.
  • Office scale and maturity: The Census mean combines establishments of different sizes. It is not a new-office ramp, mature-office median, or Coldwell Banker format benchmark.
  • Owner and manager structure: A paid office manager, Responsible Broker, recruiter, transaction staff, and administrative team can change both operating profit and owner workload.
  • Local cost structure: Occupancy, insurance, advertising, MLS access, wage rates, and regulatory requirements vary by market.
  • Tax-accounting treatment: The IRS benchmark is based on corporate returns. Officer compensation, interest, depreciation, and entity structure can shift the measured residual without changing total economic benefit in the same way.
  • Financing and capital needs: Debt principal, acquisitions, branch development, technology replacement, and working-capital needs reduce cash distributions even when operating earnings are positive.

Debt service should be tested separately. The published range is before financing principal and personal income taxes. It is not after-tax take-home pay. Tax outcomes depend on entity form, owner compensation method, jurisdiction, deductions, and individual circumstances.

Multi-office economics should also be modeled separately. Multiplying the per-establishment estimate by the number of offices would ignore branch ramp-up, shared overhead, manager layers, owner capacity, acquisitions, and differences between a physical establishment and a franchisee legal entity.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings number?

A buyer should replace the industry proxies with actual office records and a location-specific operating model whenever possible. Because Item 19 contains no same-brand financial result, franchisee interviews and written substantiation are essential to narrowing the uncertainty.

  • Confirm that the latest FDD and amendments still contain no Item 19 financial performance representation, and document any spoken or written sales or earnings claim received during the sales process.
  • Ask whether an existing office's actual records can be provided, including Gross Revenue, agent compensation, payroll, occupancy, advertising, royalty, BMF, technology, interest, depreciation, and owner compensation.
  • Use Item 20 contacts to interview current and former franchisees with similar office size, market, agent count, transaction mix, ownership involvement, and years in operation.
  • Request the applicable Royalty Fee tier schedule, minimum annual royalty terms, legacy or negotiated fee terms, and a written list of required local marketing and technology costs.
  • Separate manager-run residual profit from the salary value of work the owner will perform, and identify who serves as Responsible Broker and what that role costs.
  • Reconcile the operating model to bank statements, tax returns, payroll records, commission reports, and the franchisee's chart of accounts rather than relying on sales volume or transaction sides.
Decision range

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?

The strongest defensible planning range is $96,000-$223,000 of estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per modeled employer brokerage-office establishment, with a Base scenario near $153,000. It is a Mode D structural FDD-anchored scenario, not an official Coldwell Banker result.

For an owner who personally replaces a general manager, estimated owner-operator benefit is about $202,000-$328,000, but roughly $106,000 of that amount is a wage-equivalent for active labor. The largest earnings driver is the office's retained brokerage revenue after agent economics. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a Coldwell Banker Item 19 revenue-and-expense cohort and the imperfect match between Census establishments, IRS corporate returns, and an individual franchise office.

Before making a decision, verify the current Item 19 language, request written substantiation for any financial claim, obtain actual records for any office being acquired, and test the model with comparable franchisees identified in Item 20.