For an actively involved owner of an eligible U.S. Enclosed Mall Full Bakery, this is the defensible estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit across the conservative, base, and upside scenarios below. The base scenario is about $20,300. Cinnabon does not disclose owner profit or owner compensation in Item 19.
Legal franchisor: Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC. FDD: issued March 27, 2026 and amended May 11, 2026. Item 19 status: official Net Sales by quartile for selected eligible franchised Bakeries; no Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, or owner compensation. Primary population: 189 Enclosed Mall Franchises reporting all 52 weeks of Fiscal Year 2025. Benchmarks: IRS Statistics of Income, Tax Year 2023, and BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2024. Checked: July 14, 2026.
Median Net Sales
Eligible Enclosed Mall Franchises, Fiscal Year 2025; revenue, not earnings.
Item 19 coverage
70.8% of Enclosed Mall Franchises were represented in the sales table.
IRS net margin proxy
Net income less deficit divided by receipts for sole-proprietor restaurants and drinking places.
Manager wage proxy
May 2024 national median annual wage for Food Service Managers; benefits are excluded.
How much may an actively involved Cinnabon owner make?
An actively involved owner may have an estimated owner-operator benefit of approximately $1,400 in the conservative scenario, $20,300 in the base scenario, and $66,700 in the upside scenario. These figures apply to one eligible Enclosed Mall Full Bakery and are estimates, not official Cinnabon profit figures.
The revenue anchors use actual Item 19 medians: the bottom-quartile median, the overall median, and the top-quartile median. The margin anchor is the 3.38% IRS Schedule C ratio for “restaurants (full & limited service) and drinking places.” Because the IRS table supplies one broad all-in margin, the conservative and upside margins are an explicit sensitivity of three percentage points below and above that benchmark. Quartiles and scenarios are not probabilities.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Margin assumption | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Bottom-quartile median Net Sales |
$373,735 | 0.38% | $1,400 |
|
Base Overall median Net Sales |
$600,536 | 3.38% | $20,300 |
|
Upside Top-quartile median Net Sales |
$1,045,388 | 6.38% | $66,700 |
One eligible Enclosed Mall Full Bakery; pre-tax and before financing principal payments.
Interpretation: The model is highly sensitive to both sales position and margin. The range should be treated as a stress-tested analytical band, not as a predicted distribution.
Source: 2026 Cinnabon Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pages 92–95; IRS Statistics of Income, Tax Year 2023. Formula: Net Sales × scenario margin. Values rounded to the nearest $100.
What does Cinnabon Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 officially measures Net Sales, not owner earnings. For Fiscal Year 2025, it reports quartile, average, median, lowest, and highest Net Sales for three distinct franchised populations. It does not provide food cost, labor, rent, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation, or cash flow.
| Item 19 population | Median Net Sales | Represented | Key comparability limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enclosed Mall Franchise | $600,536 | 189 / 267 70.8% |
Primary format used for the earnings model. |
| Convenience Franchise | $164,487 | 187 / 219 85.4% |
Different travel-plaza, travel-center, or convenience-store operating model. |
| Auntie Anne’s Co-Branded Franchise | $1,214,802 | 64 / 69 92.8% |
Net Sales include both Auntie Anne’s and Cinnabon products. |
The Item 19 cohorts include only franchises that reported sales in all 52 weeks of Fiscal Year 2025. For the Enclosed Mall table, the FDD excludes 16 single-brand locations without 52 weeks of reported sales, 62 co-branded locations, and six permanent closures. Franchisee reports were not audited or independently verified. These exclusions make the table useful for established full-year reporters, but not a complete picture of new, closed, transferred, or differently formatted Bakeries.
How does owner involvement change the earnings result?
Owner involvement can change the result by the value of management labor the owner supplies. The 2026 FDD does not require an owner to work in the Bakery, but Item 15 says the franchisor does not recommend the opportunity for investors seeking absentee management. Each Bakery must have at least two dedicated managers, and an owner may serve as a Manager with approval and required training.
Because the IRS sole-proprietor margin does not deduct a salary for the proprietor, the scenario result is better described as owner-operator benefit: it may combine residual business profit and compensation for work performed. To illustrate a manager-run structure, the chart subtracts one May 2024 BLS national median Food Service Manager wage of $65,310 from each owner-operator scenario.
Sensitivity assumes the owner fills one management role; the manager-run case replaces that labor with one paid Food Service Manager.
Interpretation: Under this one-manager replacement sensitivity, the conservative and base cases produce a negative manager-run residual, while the upside case is only slightly positive. This does not prove that manager-run Cinnabon Bakeries lose money; it shows how strongly the model depends on owner labor and actual unit-level margins.
Source: Owner-operator scenarios above; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2024 OEWS, Food Service Managers. The $65,310 wage excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so the full replacement cost may be higher.
Which fees and assumptions can move Cinnabon owner earnings most?
The largest unresolved variable is the actual operating margin of a comparable Cinnabon Bakery. Item 19 supplies a strong same-brand revenue distribution but no expense structure. Labor and occupancy are likely to be decisive at the unit level, while the FDD’s recurring franchise and technology obligations can further compress cash available to the owner.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Cash-like economic benefit estimated from an all-in Schedule C net-income margin. It may contain both residual business profit and the value of the owner’s labor. It is not passive income.
- Recurring franchise fees
- Item 6 lists a 6% Royalty Fee for standard Full Bakeries. It also lists location-dependent Advertising Contributions, a current minimum Local Marketing Obligation of 1% of Net Sales, POS license or lease fees, POS support fees, loyalty and online-ordering charges, and other as-incurred obligations.
- Fee treatment in this model
- The IRS margin is an all-in net-income benchmark and does not separately identify franchise fees. The model therefore does not subtract Item 6 fees a second time, which avoids obvious double counting but creates comparability uncertainty because the IRS population includes franchised and independent businesses.
- Interest and depreciation
- Both are embedded in the IRS tax-return benchmark. The model does not separately add them back. Tax accounting may differ from operating cash flow.
- Debt principal, capital spending, and taxes
- Financing principal payments, future equipment replacement or remodel capital expenditures, and personal income taxes are excluded. Item 7 startup investment is not treated as an annual operating expense.
- Revenue position: moving from the bottom-quartile median to the top-quartile median changes the revenue base by more than $671,000.
- Margin sensitivity: a one-percentage-point margin change equals about $6,005 at the $600,536 Item 19 median.
- Manager replacement: one national median manager wage exceeds the base owner-operator benefit by about $45,000 before payroll taxes and benefits.
- Format selection: Convenience Franchise and Auntie Anne’s Co-Branded Franchise Net Sales are not interchangeable with Enclosed Mall Franchise economics.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should verify the missing unit-level expense evidence directly. The scenario range is useful for screening, but written substantiation and comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements are necessary to judge whether a specific location can support the owner’s desired compensation and management structure.
- Request the written substantiation supporting 2026 FDD Item 19 and confirm the exact Bakery format, age, and 52-week eligibility rules.
- Ask several current Enclosed Mall Franchise owners for food cost, hourly labor, manager payroll, occupancy, merchant fees, repairs, insurance, and local marketing as percentages of Net Sales.
- Separate owner salary or draw from Operating Profit, distributions, retained cash, depreciation, and debt service.
- Confirm whether the owner will fill one of the two required Manager roles and what a qualified replacement Manager costs in the specific labor market.
- Reconcile every Item 6 recurring fee, including Royalty Fee, Advertising Contribution, Local Marketing Obligation, POS, loyalty, online-ordering, and technology-related charges.
- Model rent, percentage rent, common-area charges, seasonality, equipment replacement, remodel requirements, and financing principal for the proposed site.
- Ask about locations excluded from Item 19, including permanent closures and Bakeries without 52 weeks of reported sales.
What is the strongest defensible Cinnabon earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $1,400 to $66,700 in annual estimated owner-operator benefit for one eligible Enclosed Mall Full Bakery, with a base scenario near $20,300. It is scenario-based, not an official Cinnabon earnings disclosure. The most important driver is the combination of Net Sales and unit-level operating margin; the largest unresolved uncertainty is that Item 19 does not disclose the expenses needed to convert Net Sales into business profit.
An owner’s role matters materially: the modeled benefit may compensate active management work, and replacing that labor with a paid manager can eliminate the residual in lower and central scenarios. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation, Item 6 fees, local manager compensation, occupancy, and debt obligations with interviews and records from comparable current franchisees.