How Much Does a Buffalo Wild Wings Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings estimate
$31,000–$356,000 per year

For one U.S. Buffalo Wild Wings Sports Bar, a defensible planning range is approximately $31,000 to $356,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings, with a base illustration near $148,000. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports sales, not owner profit, so these figures are independent scenarios rather than franchisor-reported earnings.

Evidence mode: Mode C Confidence: Limited FDD: March 26, 2026 Period: Fiscal 2025
Independent estimate

This estimate is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Buffalo Wild Wings International, Inc. It combines identified facts from the 2026 FDD with the National Restaurant Association’s 2024 income-before-tax benchmark and explicitly labeled margin sensitivities. Actual results can differ materially because of location, unit format, sales, food and beverage costs, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Buffalo Wild Wings International, Inc., a subsidiary within the Inspire Brands organization. FDD status: issued March 26, 2026; Item 19 reports 2025 Annual Unit Volume, not profit. Population: 532 franchised U.S. Sports Bars operating for the full fiscal year, including four Non-Traditional Locations; BWW GO restaurants are not part of this analysis. Benchmark: 2024 median income before taxes for fullservice restaurants with annual sales of at least $2 million. Date checked: July 18, 2026. The official Buffalo Wild Wings U.S. franchise page confirms the current Sports Bar offer, 2026 FDD issuance date, formats, and principal fees.

Item 19 evidence

What does Buffalo Wild Wings officially disclose about sales and earnings?

Officially, Item 19 discloses Annual Unit Volume, which is Gross Sales—not owner earnings. For fiscal 2025, the 532-unit reporting cohort had a median AUV of $3,433,937 and an average AUV of $3,574,130. The FDD explicitly states that cost of sales, operating expenses, and other costs must still be deducted to determine net income or profit.

The cohort represented 532 of the 549 franchised Sports Bars operating at year-end 2025. Item 19 excluded 15 outlets that opened during 2025 and lacked a full year, two outlets with extended periods of no reported sales, four franchised outlets that closed during 2025, and all company-owned Sports Bars. The reporting Sports Bars averaged 15.1 years in operation. Source: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Item 19, pp. 71–73; Item 20, pp. 73–82.

OFFICIAL
$3.434M
Median 2025 AUV

The middle reporting Sports Bar by Gross Sales.

OFFICIAL
$3.574M
Average 2025 AUV

Higher than the median, indicating some upper-end lift.

OFFICIAL
532
Reporting Sports Bars

A mature national cohort; four were Non-Traditional Locations.

OFFICIAL
45.1%
Above average AUV

240 of 532 units exceeded the $3.574 million average.

BENCHMARK
4.3%
High-volume pretax margin

2024 fullservice median for restaurants with at least $2 million in sales.

OFFICIAL
9.25%+
Sales-based fee burden

5% royalty, 4% advertising, at least 0.25% local marketing, plus loyalty contributions.

Revenue is not earnings

The $3.434 million median is the most representative official sales figure, but it does not reveal food costs, payroll, occupancy, utilities, repairs, insurance, owner compensation, interest, depreciation, or taxes. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise guidance specifically warns that gross sales can coexist with weak or negative profit when overhead is high.

Scenario model

How is the $31,000 to $356,000 owner-earnings range calculated?

The range applies three transparent pretax-margin assumptions to three official FDD sales anchors. The base uses the 2025 system median AUV and the National Restaurant Association’s 4.3% median income-before-tax margin for fullservice restaurants with at least $2 million in annual sales. The conservative and upside margins are a sensitivity of three percentage points below and above that benchmark; they are analytical assumptions, not FDD results or probabilities.

Scenario Revenue anchor Pretax margin Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Conservative
Fourth-quartile median AUV
$2,371,905
Official FDD sales
1.3%
Scenario
$30,835
Base
All-unit median AUV
$3,433,937
Official FDD sales
4.3%
Industry benchmark
$147,659
Upside
First-quartile median AUV
$4,875,869
Official FDD sales
7.3%
Scenario
$355,938
Estimated annual owner earnings by scenario

Revenue anchor × income-before-tax margin; rounded to the nearest $1,000 for display.

Conservative, base, and upside Buffalo Wild Wings owner-earnings scenarios Three columns show approximately 31 thousand dollars, 148 thousand dollars, and 356 thousand dollars in estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings. $0 $100k $200k $300k $31k $148k $356k Conservative Base Upside
1.3% margin 4.3% margin 7.3% margin

Interpretation: sales volume and margin compound each other; a high-volume unit with weak cost control can earn less than a lower-volume unit with disciplined operations. Sources: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Item 19, pp. 71–73; National Restaurant Association 2025 operating analysis. The Association states that its data are management benchmarks, not standards or targets.

  • Formula: scenario revenue × scenario income-before-tax margin. Calculations use full-precision FDD values and are rounded only after multiplication.
  • Fee treatment: the National Restaurant Association measure is an all-in income-before-tax ratio, so the 5% royalty and other FDD fees are not subtracted a second time in the headline scenarios. This assumes the selected margin is net of a comparable total expense burden; the estimate may be optimistic when Buffalo Wild Wings fees exceed those borne by benchmark respondents.
  • Accounting limitation: income before taxes is not EBITDA, free cash flow, or after-tax take-home pay. Public benchmark summaries do not standardize interest, depreciation, owner wages, or capital expenditures for a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
  • Downside limitation: the conservative scenario is not a floor. An outlet can lose money if food, labor, occupancy, repairs, or financing costs exceed the modeled margin.
Sales distribution

How wide is the official revenue spread across Buffalo Wild Wings Sports Bars?

The 2025 quartile medians ranged from $2.372 million to $4.876 million in AUV. This official spread is substantial enough to make location, capacity, market demand, pricing, management, and unit condition central earnings variables. Quartiles are descriptive performance groups, not probabilities for a new restaurant.

Official 2025 median AUV by quartile

Gross Sales for 532 franchised U.S. Sports Bars; 133 outlets in each quartile.

Buffalo Wild Wings median Annual Unit Volume by quartile Horizontal bars show first quartile median sales of 4.876 million dollars, second quartile 3.809 million, third quartile 3.117 million, and fourth quartile 2.372 million. 1st quartile $4.876M 2nd quartile $3.809M 3rd quartile $3.117M 4th quartile $2.372M $0 $2M $4M

Interpretation: the first-quartile median was approximately 2.1 times the fourth-quartile median. That sales dispersion is the strongest same-brand evidence for using multiple revenue anchors rather than one “typical” number. Source: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Item 19, pp. 71–72.

Recurring fees

How much do recurring franchise fees absorb before an owner is paid?

The standard disclosed sales-based burden is at least 9.25% of Gross Sales, plus 2.2% of Loyalty Program Sales. At the $3,433,937 median AUV, the 5% royalty, 4% advertising fee, and minimum 0.25% local marketing contribution equal approximately $317,639 per year before the loyalty contribution and small fixed fees. This is a same-FDD calculation, not a profit estimate.

Royalty fee
5.00%
Advertising fee
4.00%
Local marketing
0.25%+

Item 6 also lists a current Loyalty Program Contribution of 2.2% of Loyalty Program Sales, not total Gross Sales; a $62.99 annual learning-management fee; $300 to $420 per year for menu database support; and other conditional fees. The advertising fee may rise within contractual limits, and the royalty can change during the second half of the agreement term. Source: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Item 6, pp. 23–30.

Fee interpretation

Do not subtract the $317,639 fee calculation from the scenario earnings again. The model treats the 4.3% benchmark as a final income-before-tax margin after an operator’s full expense structure. The fee calculation is shown separately to identify a major cost driver and to reconcile an actual store-level profit-and-loss statement. Because the benchmark includes a mixed population rather than Buffalo Wild Wings franchisees only, a buyer should test whether the brand’s royalty, advertising, loyalty, and local-marketing burden produces a lower actual margin.

Owner role

Can a Buffalo Wild Wings owner treat the business as passive income?

A purely passive operating model is not supported as the default assumption. Item 15 requires an individual franchisee or its Control Person to participate personally in direct operations and devote full time and best efforts to management. The Sports Bar must also have a qualified Unit General Manager and at least two assistant managers. An entity owner may designate a Control Person, but the required active-management payroll and oversight do not disappear. A fourth or later affiliated Sports Bar also requires a separate Multi-Unit Operations Manager.

Manager-run residual profit
Business profit remaining after normal management payroll and other operating expenses. This is the closest interpretation of the scenario range, although the external benchmark does not disclose Buffalo Wild Wings-specific owner-pay accounting.
Active-owner salary or draw
Compensation for the owner’s Control Person work. Salary reduces reported business profit dollar-for-dollar but may increase cash paid directly to the owner; a draw is a distribution, not an operating expense.
Owner-operator add-back
Not included. The FDD requires a Unit General Manager, so there is no evidence that an owner may simply remove the entire general-manager cost from the profit-and-loss statement.
Market labor reference
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a May 2025 national mean annual wage of $74,880 for Food Service Managers. It is context for management labor, not a Buffalo Wild Wings owner-income claim.

The BLS May 2025 occupational wage table helps value management labor, but adding $74,880 to the earnings range would overstate owner benefit unless the owner demonstrably replaces a paid role and the franchisor approves the staffing structure. The FDD’s separate Control Person and Unit General Manager requirements make that add-back uncertain. Source: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Item 15, pp. 63–64.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the modeled range?

The largest unresolved variable is the store-level cost structure. Item 19 supplies a strong national sales distribution but no Buffalo Wild Wings-specific food cost, labor percentage, occupancy cost, EBITDA, net income, or owner compensation. The external fullservice margin therefore carries less weight than a same-brand profit disclosure would.

Variable Evidence Likely earnings effect
Sales volume Official FDD quartile medians span $2.372M to $4.876M High; fixed occupancy and management costs create operating leverage
Labor and benefits Fullservice median was 36.5% of sales in the 2024 industry survey High; scheduling and local wage levels can move margin by several points
Food and beverage costs Not disclosed for franchised Buffalo Wild Wings Sports Bars High; wing prices, beverage mix, waste, and promotions matter
Occupancy and repairs Large Sports Bar formats and site-specific leases High; rent, common-area charges, utilities, and remodels vary widely
Owner compensation Not defined in Item 19; active Control Person required Changes classification between payroll expense and owner distributions
Debt service Item 10 states the franchisor does not provide or guarantee financing Can materially reduce cash available after operating profit

The National Restaurant Association’s 2025 labor-cost analysis reported 2024 median payroll and benefits of 36.5% of sales for fullservice respondents. Its 2025 Restaurant Operations Data Abstract was based on more than 900 restaurants and includes food, labor, occupancy, utilities, marketing, and general operating expenses. Those data are useful comparators, but the sample is not limited to Buffalo Wild Wings or franchised sports bars.

How should financing and taxes be treated?

Debt service and personal taxes sit outside the headline range. Item 10 states that Buffalo Wild Wings International, Inc. does not offer or guarantee financing. The scenarios therefore exclude financing principal payments and do not assume a loan amount, rate, or term. The external income-before-tax benchmark may reflect respondent-specific interest and depreciation accounting, which is another reason the estimate is not a cash-flow forecast. Personal federal, state, and local income taxes are not calculated.

Item 7’s $2,463,945 to $4,900,320 initial-investment range is startup context, not an annual operating expense. It must not be subtracted from one year of sales to estimate profit. Source: 2026 Buffalo Wild Wings FDD, Items 7 and 10, pp. 30–42.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

Verify the actual unit economics, not only the system AUV. The range becomes materially more reliable when a buyer obtains same-format profit-and-loss statements, payroll detail, occupancy terms, financing quotes, and written Item 19 substantiation.

  • Request the franchisor’s written substantiation for the 2025 Item 19 AUV tables and confirm whether any later material amendment changes the cohort.
  • Ask current franchisees for food and beverage cost, fully burdened labor, occupancy, repairs and maintenance, insurance, utilities, and recurring technology costs as percentages of Gross Sales.
  • Separate the Unit General Manager’s pay, Control Person compensation, owner draws, distributions, depreciation, interest, and capital expenditures on each profit-and-loss statement.
  • Compare traditional freestanding and endcap Sports Bars separately; do not treat the four Non-Traditional Locations in Item 19 as a standalone benchmark.
  • Interview operators across the first, middle, and fourth sales quartiles, including recent openings, transfers, and units that ceased operations.
  • Model debt service with the buyer’s actual financed amount, interest rate, term, and collateral requirements, then keep principal payments separate from operating earnings.
Decision synthesis

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $31,000 to $356,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings per Sports Bar, with a base illustration near $148,000. It is scenario-based, not an official Buffalo Wild Wings earnings disclosure. The most important driver is the combination of AUV and controllable operating margin; the largest uncertainty is the absence of same-brand franchised expense and profit data. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, store-level profit-and-loss statements, owner-pay classification, and franchisee experience before treating any point in the range as applicable to a proposed location.