A mature, single-unit BoxDrop owner-operator may generate roughly $5,000 to $44,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit under the structural scenarios below, with a base case of about $21,300. This is not an official BoxDrop earnings disclosure. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document provides no sales, profit, or owner-compensation results in Item 19.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by BoxDrop LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 BoxDrop FDD with an Internal Revenue Service industry benchmark and explicit modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, unit format, product mix, selling prices, inventory sell-through, labor, occupancy, required marketing, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- BoxDrop LLC, an Ohio limited liability company in the Retail Service Systems, Inc. family of companies.
- Disclosure reviewed
- 2026 BoxDrop FDD, issued April 29, 2026, including its state-specific addenda.
- Item 19 status
- No financial performance representation; no same-brand sales or earnings population is disclosed.
- Formats covered
- Mattress Only Business and Mattress and Sofa Business. The estimate is not a format-specific prediction.
- External benchmark
- IRS Statistics of Income, 2022 corporations classified as furniture and home furnishings retailers.
- Date checked
- July 17, 2026.
How much may a BoxDrop franchise owner make per year?
The strongest defensible answer is a scenario range of approximately $5,000 to $44,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for a mature single unit, with a modeled base case of about $21,300. The figures are estimated, apply to an actively operated U.S. BoxDrop Business, and should not be read as a prediction or an average reported by franchisees.
“Owner-operator benefit” is broader than pure business profit. In this model, it combines an industry proxy for residual net income with an industry proxy for compensation paid to corporate officers. Because the 2026 FDD requires the owner to work full time in direct operation, part of the result compensates the owner for labor rather than representing passive return on capital.
Pre-tax, before financing principal; each scenario uses a different purchase-volume anchor and owner-benefit margin.
Interpretation: The $39,000 spread is driven by both product-purchase volume and a six-percentage-point margin sensitivity. It is an uncertainty range, not a probability distribution.
Sources: 2026 BoxDrop FDD, Item 6, pages 11–15; IRS Statistics of Income, 2022 Publication 16, Table 5.1. Calculations are independent.
| Scenario | Annual product-purchase anchor | Implied sales | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Mature FDD purchase minimum; benchmark margin minus 3 percentage points. |
$250,000 | $429,500 | $4,900 |
|
Base FDD “Rugged 300” purchase threshold; central benchmark margin. |
$300,000 | $515,400 | $21,300 |
|
Upside 120% of the base purchase anchor; benchmark margin plus 3 percentage points. |
$360,000 | $618,500 | $44,100 |
Implied sales assume annual product purchases approximate annual cost of goods sold and that inventory levels are broadly stable. A unit building inventory, liquidating inventory, receiving unusual discounts, or carrying freight and product costs differently could produce a materially different result.
What does the 2026 BoxDrop Item 19 actually report?
The official answer is no financial performance representation. Item 19 does not report Gross Sales, average unit volume, gross profit, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or any percentage of outlets achieving a financial result. That applies to both franchised and company-operated outlets and leaves no same-brand cohort from which to calculate owner earnings.
The estimate relies materially on an external government industry benchmark and editorial sensitivity assumptions because the current same-brand FDD supplies structure and obligations, but no sales or earnings data. The Federal Trade Commission’s guide to buying a franchise explains that franchisors are not required to make an Item 19 earnings claim, but claims they do make generally must appear there and have a reasonable basis.
The official BoxDrop franchise FAQ says the system does not currently charge a royalty fee. That reduces one common franchise expense, but it does not turn sales into owner income. Product cost, required local marketing, rent, payroll, delivery, insurance, card fees, utilities, interest, depreciation, and other operating costs still come before owner benefit.
How was the BoxDrop earnings range calculated?
The estimate is derived in two transparent steps. First, annual product-purchase anchors from the FDD are converted into implied sales using an IRS furniture-retail cost-of-goods ratio. Second, those implied sales are multiplied by a benchmark owner-benefit margin with a plus-or-minus three-percentage-point sensitivity.
Pre-tax annual estimate at $300,000 of product purchases and the central 4.14% benchmark margin.
IRS 2022 furniture and home furnishings retailer corporation aggregate.
IRS net income less deficit plus compensation of officers, divided by total receipts.
Required beginning after the second year of operation; it is not a sales or profit target.
Mattress Only / Mattress and Sofa at the current $2,000 or $3,000 monthly requirement.
Item 20 reports 184 franchised outlets at the start of 2025 and 125 at year-end.
Implied sales = annual product purchases ÷ 58.2063% IRS cost-of-goods ratioEstimated owner-operator benefit = implied sales × scenario owner-benefit margin
Which government benchmark is used?
The model uses IRS Statistics of Income corporation data for 2022 “Furniture and home furnishings retailers.” Across 26,666 corporation returns, the table reports $141.862 billion of total receipts, $82.572 billion of cost of goods sold, $3.662 billion of net income less deficit, and $2.206 billion of compensation of officers. The U.S. Census Bureau definition of NAICS 449110 includes furniture stores, bed stores, box springs, and mattress retailers, making it directionally relevant to the BoxDrop formats.
This is still a broad proxy. The IRS population aggregates corporations of different sizes, ownership structures, brands, locations, and numbers of establishments. It is not a BoxDrop unit sample, does not isolate clearance centers, and does not state whether the reporting corporations are owner-operated. The model therefore uses a Limited confidence rating.
- Purchase volume: $250,000 is the FDD minimum beginning after year two. $300,000 is the FDD threshold for eligibility for the “Rugged 300” program. $360,000 is an editorial 120% upside spread, not an FDD result.
- Sales conversion: Product purchases are treated as a proxy for cost of goods sold. This assumes broadly stable inventory and no material timing distortion between purchases and sales.
- Margin: The central 4.136% proxy equals IRS net income less deficit plus compensation of officers, divided by total receipts. Conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above that benchmark.
- Fee treatment: The all-in industry margin is not charged again for BoxDrop fees or local marketing, avoiding double counting. This also means differences between BoxDrop obligations and the industry aggregate remain unresolved.
How does full-time owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement is not optional in the disclosed single-unit structure. The 2026 FDD says the franchisee, or the franchisee’s owner if the franchisee is an entity, must personally participate in direct operation of the BoxDrop Business on a full-time basis; the owner is also identified as the on-site supervisor and must complete initial training. Therefore, the modeled figure is an owner-operator benefit, not passive business profit.
The benchmark separates residual net income from a proxy for compensation paid for owner or officer work.
Interpretation: Approximately 38% of the base benefit is a labor-compensation proxy. Treating the full $21,300 as passive profit would overstate the modeled business return.
Sources: 2026 BoxDrop FDD, Item 15, pages 54–55; IRS Statistics of Income, 2022 Publication 16, Table 5.1. Calculations are independent.
A manager-run single-unit scenario is not presented because it would conflict with the FDD’s full-time personal-participation requirement. The official U.S. BoxDrop franchise website discusses schedule flexibility, but the contract disclosure controls the legal operating obligation. A buyer should reconcile marketing language with Item 15 and the Franchise Agreement before assuming absentee ownership.
- Residual business profit
- The modeled net-income component after aggregate business deductions. It is not cash flow and includes the IRS accounting treatment of interest and depreciation.
- Owner labor component
- Included through the IRS compensation-of-officers proxy. It is not a BoxDrop salary or a market wage.
- Manager compensation
- No manager-run case is modeled, so no replacement-manager wage is added or deducted. The FDD requires full-time owner participation.
- Debt service
- Financing principal is excluded. Interest is embedded in the IRS industry net-income benchmark and cannot be isolated by unit.
- Capital expenditures
- Actual cash capital expenditures are excluded; only aggregate depreciation embedded in the IRS net-income measure is reflected.
- Personal taxes
- Excluded. Entity structure, state, deductions, other income, and personal circumstances determine after-tax take-home pay.
Which BoxDrop obligations can move owner earnings most?
The largest disclosed structural drivers are product purchases, inventory sell-through, local marketing, and occupancy. These are official FDD obligations, but the FDD does not disclose their relationship to actual BoxDrop sales or profit. The earnings model therefore cannot credibly rank the two formats.
| FDD operating factor | Mattress Only Business | Mattress and Sofa Business |
|---|---|---|
| Typical premises | 1,200–2,500 square feet, warehouse-style | 4,000–7,000 square feet, warehouse-style |
| Current local marketing minimum | $2,000 per month, or $24,000 annualized | $3,000 per month, or $36,000 annualized |
| Typical ongoing inventory purchases | $2,000–$3,000 per week, potentially more with sales volume | $3,000–$4,000 per week, potentially more with sales volume |
| Estimated annual rent rate | $10.20–$16.00 per square foot, subject to market and lease terms | $10.20–$16.00 per square foot, subject to market and lease terms |
| Current royalty | None listed | None listed |
Sources: 2026 BoxDrop FDD, Item 6, pages 11–15;Item 7, pages 16–24; and Item 11, pages 34–39.
The mature $250,000 minimum annual product-purchase obligation applies after the second year. The first-year minimum is $100,000 and the second-year minimum is $150,000. These are purchasing requirements, not revenue guarantees. A franchisee can meet a purchase requirement while building unsold inventory, discounting merchandise, or generating insufficient gross profit.
The FDD also permits future charges that are currently zero: a National Marketing Fee of up to 2% of product purchase price, a Regional Advertising Fee of up to 1% of product purchase price, an advertising cooperative contribution up to 3% of Gross Sales, and proprietary software or mobile-application fees up to $200 per month. The scenario does not treat maximum possible future charges as current expenses.
Inventory economics are the central variable: the price paid for product, the realized selling price, freight and delivery treatment, markdowns, and the speed at which purchases convert into collected sales. A small change in realized gross margin can move owner benefit more than the absence of a royalty fee.
What does Item 20 add to the earnings uncertainty?
Item 20 does not provide earnings, but it shows a material population change. Franchised outlets ended 2023 at 170, ended 2024 at 184, and ended 2025 at 125. The 2025 net change was negative 59 outlets. That does not prove why units left or how remaining units performed, but it raises the importance of investigating closures, transfers, non-renewals, owner economics, and data comparability.
System population is context for evidence quality, not a direct measure of sales or owner income.
Interpretation: The 32% decline from 184 to 125 franchised outlets during 2025 increases uncertainty about how representative current franchisee interviews will be and which cohorts should be compared.
Source: 2026 BoxDrop FDD, Item 20, Table 1, page 61. Outlet counts are official; no earnings inference is made.
Because Item 19 supplies no reporting population, there is no disclosed average, median, range, quartile, maturity threshold, or percentage achieving a result. A buyer should not assume that the 125 outlets open at the end of 2025 were comparable in format, age, owner involvement, geography, or financial performance.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
The estimate should be replaced with same-brand records wherever possible. The most useful evidence is a reconciled set of recent franchisee profit-and-loss statements, inventory records, owner-compensation records, and tax returns for the exact BoxDrop format and market under consideration.
- Ask for written substantiation of any financial claim. If a seller discusses sales, margins, profit, owner income, or payback, compare the statement with Item 19 and request the written basis described by the FTC.
- Interview current and former franchisees from Item 20. Request 2024 and 2025 Gross Sales, product purchases, beginning and ending inventory, freight, delivery expense, markdowns, local marketing, rent, payroll, interest, depreciation, and owner compensation.
- Separate the two formats. Compare Mattress Only businesses only with similar square footage, maturity, territory, and owner role; do the same separately for Mattress and Sofa businesses.
- Reconcile purchases to sell-through. Test whether annual purchases became cost of goods sold or accumulated in inventory, and calculate realized gross margin from invoices and collected sales.
- Verify the full-time labor requirement. Ask how many hours owners actually work, which tasks they perform, whether additional managers are employed, and how those wages appear in the P&L.
- Investigate the 2025 outlet decline. Ask BoxDrop LLC and former franchisees for the reasons behind closures, non-renewals, transfers, and other departures without inferring causation from the summary count alone.
- Model financing separately. Add actual interest and principal schedules only after obtaining lender terms. Do not subtract the Item 7 startup investment from one year of sales.
What is the defensible BoxDrop owner-earnings takeaway?
A reasonable evidence-led range is about $5,000 to $44,000 per year in estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $21,300. It is a structural scenario, not an official Item 19 result. The most important driver is the conversion of required product purchases into collected sales at a sustainable realized gross margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand sales, expense, and owner-compensation data for either BoxDrop format.
Before making a decision, verify Item 19, obtain written substantiation for any financial representation, and test the model against franchisee-level records and interviews. The critical reconciliation is Gross Sales to cost of goods sold, ending inventory, required marketing, occupancy, owner labor, and financing—not the absence of a royalty by itself.