How Much Does a BNI Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
$50,000–$252,000

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit for one operational U.S. BNI territory, with a base scenario of about $119,000. The 2026-issued Franchise Disclosure Document reports Gross Revenue—not owner profit—so this range is an independent scenario built from the 2025 franchised-outlet revenue distribution, disclosed recurring fees, and explicit operating-cost assumptions.

Mode C: FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Unit: U.S. territory, not one chapter Period: 2025 operating results
Independent estimate—not a BNI Item 19 earnings claim. The range combines identified facts from the BNI Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified analytical assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, territory, chapter format, sales, membership scale, labor, occupancy, local promotion, travel, software, financing, owner involvement, and execution. It is a pre-tax, pre-financing estimate; it is not after-tax take-home pay.
Data basis and evidence status.
Legal franchisorBNI Franchising, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company
Disclosure documentIssued April 1, 2026; Item 19 reports calendar-year 2025 results
Applicable population94 Operational Franchise Outlets open for the full 2025 calendar year
Item 19 statusOfficial Gross Revenue and membership data; no operating profit, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation
External benchmarkU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics manager wage and private-industry benefit load
CheckedJuly 14, 2026
Official
$293,449
Median Gross Revenue

Median for 94 operational franchised territories in calendar 2025; revenue is not owner earnings.

Official
$399,084
Average Gross Revenue

Only 31 of 94 outlets, or 33%, attained or exceeded this average.

Official
94
Operational franchised outlets

The full-year cohort excludes six new outlets, one 2026 transfer, and three 2025 conversions to corporate ownership.

Official
20%
Continuing Royalty

Applied monthly to the prior month’s Gross Revenues under Item 6.

Official
$36
Technology Fee per member

Current annual amount for every new and renewing Member; the fee can increase every two years.

Benchmark
≈$147K
Loaded manager-cost proxy

National wage plus benefit-load proxy; not BNI-specific and not permission to use a manager.

Item 19 evidence

What does BNI Item 19 actually show?

Officially, BNI shows territory-level Gross Revenue and membership counts, not owner earnings. For 94 Operational Franchise Outlets in calendar 2025, median Gross Revenue was $293,449 and average Gross Revenue was $399,084. The FDD defines Gross Revenues as total revenue less sales tax, discounts, allowances, and returns. It does not subtract royalty, technology charges, staffing, travel, promotion, professional fees, or owner compensation.

The Item 19 data are franchisee-reported, unaudited, historical, and not prepared under generally accepted accounting principles. A territory qualified only if it was open on or before January 1, 2025 and operated for the entire year. BNI excluded six New Franchise Outlets, one outlet transferred in 2026, and three franchised outlets converted to corporate ownership during 2025. Source: BNI Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026, Item 19, printed pp. 39–43.

Selected official Item 19 revenue observations. Cohort labels are the franchisor’s; they are not scenario probabilities.
Franchised-outlet cohort Outlets Average Gross Revenue Median Gross Revenue
Bottom 50% 47 $159,565 $165,503
All operational franchised outlets 94 $399,084 $293,449
Top 50% 47 $638,603 $499,600
Top 25% 24 $891,187 $763,060
All-outlet range 94 — $12,274–$2,022,906
Revenue is not earnings The $399,084 average is a weak answer to “how much does an owner make.” The median is $105,635 lower, and only 33% of the 94 outlets met or exceeded the average. The high-to-low revenue range is also exceptionally wide. For a central earnings model, the median is more decision-useful than the average, but neither number reveals profit.

Item 19 separately reports 90 Operational Company Owned Outlets with median Gross Revenue of $258,687 and average Gross Revenue of $388,022. Item 20 identifies those company-operated outlets as owned by affiliate BNI Global, LLC. Their figures are not used as an owner-profit proxy because company-operated staffing, shared overhead, and affiliate economics are not shown to be comparable with a franchised Principal Owner’s territory.

Scenario model

How is the owner-operator benefit estimated?

The estimate subtracts the 20% Continuing Royalty, an annualized Technology Fee, and a transparent reserve for other territory-level operating costs from three official Item 19 revenue observations. The result is “estimated owner-operator benefit,” not pure business profit, because BNI generally requires the Principal Owner to work full time and directly supervise the business.

Estimated owner-operator benefit = FDD Gross Revenue − 20% Continuing Royalty − ($36 × modeled Member count) − other operating-cost reserve. The model is before personal income taxes, financing interest and principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, and any separately negotiated owner benefits.
  • Conservative revenue anchor: $165,503, the official median for the Bottom 50% revenue cohort. The membership anchor is 218, the separately reported Bottom 50% membership median.
  • Base revenue anchor: $293,449, the official all-outlet median. The membership anchor is the official all-outlet median of 367.
  • Upside revenue anchor: $499,600, the official median for the Top 50% revenue cohort. The membership anchor is 641, the separately reported Top 50% membership median.
  • Other operating-cost reserves: 45%, 35%, and 25% of revenue. These are editorial scenario assumptions covering non-owner labor, local promotion, insurance, travel and required events, software and communications, kits, professional services, and general administration. They are not disclosed BNI margins.
  • Compatibility limitation: Item 19 ranks revenue and membership separately. The paired cohort medians are analytical anchors, not proof that the same territory had both values. The $36 calculation assumes one new or renewal charge per modeled active Member during the year.
Reproducible annual scenario bridge. Dollar amounts are rounded to the nearest dollar after full-precision calculations.
Scenario Gross Revenue Modeled operating deductions Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $165,503 Royalty −$33,101; Technology Fee −$7,848; other reserve −$74,476 $50,078
Base $293,449 Royalty −$58,690; Technology Fee −$13,212; other reserve −$102,707 $118,840
Upside $499,600 Royalty −$99,920; Technology Fee −$23,076; other reserve −$124,900 $251,704

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit by scenario

The chart uses official revenue cohort medians but independently modeled operating costs.

BNI estimated annual owner-operator benefit scenarios Three columns show approximately 50 thousand dollars for Conservative, 119 thousand dollars for Base, and 252 thousand dollars for Upside. $0 $100K $200K $50K $119K $252K Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: The modeled spread is driven by both the official revenue distribution and operating leverage. It should not be read as a probability forecast or a promised range.

Sources: BNI 2026-issued FDD, Item 19, printed pp. 42–43; Item 6, printed pp. 12–17. Other operating-cost percentages are editorial scenario assumptions. Headline values are rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement changes the interpretation more than any single fee. Item 15 requires a Principal Owner who resides in the territory, owns at least 51%, supervises the Franchised Business, completes Executive Director Training, and devotes full time and exclusive attention unless BNI gives written approval. A manager may supervise only in “certain extremely limited circumstances” and must be approved and trained.

That requirement means the main range is an owner-operator benefit: it combines residual business economics with compensation for the owner’s executive labor. It is not passive income. To illustrate the labor component, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2024 median wage of $102,950 for general and operations managers. BLS March 2026 private-industry data show wages and salaries at 69.9% of total compensation, implying a national loaded-cost proxy of about $147,000. Local compensation and BNI-specific staffing can differ substantially.

Owner-operated benefit versus illustrative manager-run residual

Manager-run values subtract either the national median wage alone or the wage plus a national benefit-load proxy.

Manager cost with benefit load Manager wage only Owner-operator benefit
Effect of owner involvement on BNI scenario economics For Conservative, Base and Upside scenarios, owner-operated benefit is compared with residual after a manager wage and after a loaded manager cost. Manager-run residual is negative in the Conservative case and can be negative in the Base case. −$100K $0 $100K $200K Conservative −$97K −$53K $50K Base −$28K $16K $119K Upside $104K $149K $252K

Interpretation: In the base scenario, replacing the Principal Owner with a paid manager leaves about $16,000 before employer benefits, or a loss of about $28,000 after applying the national private-industry compensation load. Even where BNI approves a manager, the economics are not automatically passive.

Sources: BNI 2026-issued FDD, Item 15, printed p. 34; BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, May 2024 wage; BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation, March 2026. Residuals are independent calculations rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Owner-operator effect The owner’s labor can be worth roughly $103,000 to $147,000 in this illustration. The lower figure is the BLS median wage; the higher figure includes a broad private-industry benefit load. Neither is a BNI salary disclosure. A buyer should treat the owner-operated range as compensation for capital, risk, and a full-time job—not as distributable profit after hiring a replacement executive.
Recurring obligations

Which recurring costs can move BNI owner earnings most?

The 20% Continuing Royalty is the largest recurring cost that can be quantified directly from the FDD, but it is not the only owner-earnings constraint. Technology charges scale with Members, while territory staffing and growth spending are not disclosed in Item 19. Acquired territories can face an Additional Royalty that is outside the main scenarios.

Continuing Royalty
20% of the prior month’s Gross Revenues. The scenario model subtracts this amount in full.
Technology Fee
Currently $36 for every new and renewing Member per year. The model annualizes it using Item 19 cohort membership medians.
Additional Royalty
For a territory purchased with existing Members, the FDD describes an additional charge initially calculated at 30% and stepping down with trailing-twelve-month revenue growth until Gross Revenue reaches three times the territory’s trailing-twelve-month Gross Revenue at purchase. It is not included in the standard scenarios.
Minimum annual royalty
Item 6 describes a location-dependent minimum if Continuing Royalty falls below an annual target. The amount cannot be modeled without the specific territory.
Required operating items
Potential costs include video-conferencing licenses, kits, required conferences and travel, local promotion, insurance, professional services, and optional or potentially required CRM licenses. These sit inside the scenario’s other operating-cost reserve.

Source: BNI Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026, Item 6, printed pp. 12–17. Item 7’s initial investment and three-month Additional Funds estimate are not treated as annual operating expenses. Item 10 does not provide a standardized financing package, so debt service is not built into the earnings range.

Uncertainty and verification

What is the largest unresolved uncertainty?

The largest unknown is the real operating-cost structure of a comparable BNI territory. Item 19 does not disclose director compensation, employee or contractor payroll, local marketing, occupancy, travel, insurance, professional fees, owner salary, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, or cash distributions. That is why the evidence confidence is Limited, even though the revenue anchors and recurring franchise fees are current same-brand FDD facts.

The FDD also combines territory operations without separate economics for in-person, BNI Online, or BNI Hybrid chapter formats. It reports per-outlet results, not per-owner results, and does not identify how many outlets share common ownership or overhead. Item 20 shows 101 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, while Item 19 includes 94 full-year operational outlets; the difference reflects cohort eligibility, not missing profit data.

What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?

Verify the model against the exact territory and several comparable franchisees. The most useful diligence is a line-by-line reconstruction of operating cash flow rather than asking only for “salary” or “average income.”

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile Gross Revenue, membership counts, discounts, refunds, and the exact cohort used.
  • Ask current franchisees for three years of territory-level profit-and-loss statements, separating owner pay, distributions, retained earnings, and personal expenses.
  • Quantify director, employee, and contractor compensation; local promotion; insurance; travel; conferences; software; merchant fees; professional services; and office costs.
  • Confirm whether the opportunity is a new territory or an acquired territory with existing Members, because the Additional Royalty can materially change cash available to the owner.
  • Obtain written confirmation of the minimum annual royalty target, current Technology Fee, required licenses, CRM status, and any upcoming fee increase.
  • Confirm the Principal Owner’s required time commitment and whether any manager-run arrangement would receive written approval. Price a replacement manager using local, not national, compensation data.
  • Keep financing principal, interest, capital expenditures, depreciation, and personal income taxes separate from unit-level operating earnings.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible BNI owner-earnings range?

A reasonable analytical range is approximately $50,000 to $252,000 per year in estimated owner-operator benefit, with a $119,000 base scenario. It is scenario-based, not an official BNI profit or owner-compensation disclosure. The strongest evidence is the 2025 Item 19 Gross Revenue distribution for 94 operational U.S. franchised territories; the most important earnings driver is territory revenue and membership scale after the 20% Continuing Royalty.

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual non-owner operating expense burden for a comparable territory. The range also assumes the Principal Owner performs the executive role. A manager-run structure can erase much of the residual and requires BNI approval under the FDD. Before making a decision, verify Item 19 substantiation, territory-specific recurring charges, owner-labor requirements, and actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements. Personal taxes and debt service must be modeled separately.