This is the strongest central evidence range for 2025 annual Net Income From Operations: the official averages for the 3rd and 2nd Total Income quartiles of 288 reporting U.S. franchised Big O Stores. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not call this owner salary, owner distributions, or take-home pay.
The separate $177,765 overall mean shown below is an independent arithmetic derivation from official Item 19 facts: $2,914,184 average Total Income multiplied by the disclosed 6.1% Net Income From Operations margin. It is not an additional financial performance representation by Big O Tires, LLC. The calculation uses identified FDD facts only; no external margin benchmark or editorial scenario spread was added. Actual results can differ materially by location, format, sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- Big O Tires, LLC, a Nevada limited liability company.
- Current document
- 2026 Big O Tires Franchise Disclosure Document, issued June 29, 2026; Item 19, pages 78-81.
- Offer and cohort
- New franchises are Business Format Franchises (BFF Stores). Part B combines 278 BFF Stores and 10 legacy Product Distribution Franchise Stores (PDF Stores).
- Measurement period
- January 1 through December 31, 2025; stores had operated at least 12 consecutive months and remained under the same ownership for the full year.
- Evidence mode
- Mode A - official earnings disclosure. No external operating-margin benchmark is used.
- Date checked
- July 14, 2026. See the official Big O Tires U.S. franchise website.
High confidence for the disclosed store-level measure. Item 19 directly reports Net Income From Operations, quartile averages, medians, minimums, and maximums for 288 reporting stores, representing 61.9% of the 465 U.S. franchised outlets operating at December 31, 2025. Confidence is lower when converting that store-level measure into personal owner cash flow because owner compensation, financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and distributions are not separately identified.
Average Total Income × 6.1% Net Income From Operations; nearest dollar.
Part B Reporting Stores for calendar year 2025.
Net Income From Operations as a percentage of Total Income.
61.9% of 465 U.S. franchised outlets; 278 BFF and 10 PDF Stores.
Part A: 454 stores, or 97.6% of the year-end franchised population.
What does the 2026 Big O Tires FDD actually measure?
The official answer is Net Income From Operations at the store level, not an owner's salary or after-tax take-home pay. For the 2025 Part B Reporting Stores, Big O Tires, LLC defines the measure as Gross Profit less the operating expenses shown in its table.
- Total Income
- Store revenue after the FDD's stated exclusions, including taxes, refunds and allowances, returns, certain equipment-sale proceeds, inter-store sales, specified insurance settlements, towing or freight reimbursements, and certain warranty collections.
- Gross Profit
- Total Income less Cost of Goods Sold. Cost of Goods Sold includes products purchased for resale but excludes labor.
- Net Income From Operations
- Gross Profit less Total Labor, royalty, advertising, occupancy, utilities, and Other Expenses identified in Item 19.
- Total Labor
- Wages paid to technicians, managers, and sales associates, plus payroll taxes, fringe benefits, and workers' compensation insurance.
- Not separately disclosed
- Owner salary, owner draws, distributions, retained earnings, manager compensation by itself, interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, debt principal payments, and personal income taxes.
The Part A average Gross Revenues figure of $2.82 million is sales, not owner income. The owner-earnings analysis must use Part B's Net Income From Operations and preserve the FDD's expense definition.
Source: 2026 Big O Tires Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pages 78-81. The Federal Trade Commission's Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the regulatory framework for financial performance representations.
How wide is the reported store-level earnings range?
The official quartile averages range from a $29,163 loss in the 4th Total Income quartile to $445,733 of Net Income From Operations in the top quartile. A more decision-useful central range is $107,701-$188,146, the average results for the 3rd and 2nd quartiles.
Official 2025 results for 288 U.S. franchised reporting stores; quartiles contain 72 stores each.
Interpretation: Higher Total Income cohorts produced higher average Net Income From Operations, but the FDD's individual minimums and maximums show substantial variation inside every quartile.
Source: 2026 Big O Tires FDD, Item 19, pages 79-80. Values are official quartile averages, not probability-weighted scenarios.
| Total Income quartile | Average Net Income | Median Net Income | Observed minimum to maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top quartile | $445,733 | $450,703 | -$153,306 to $1,393,818 |
| 2nd quartile | $188,146 | $188,052 | -$201,808 to $698,629 |
| 3rd quartile | $107,701 | $76,052 | -$171,615 to $581,226 |
| 4th quartile | -$29,163 | -$19,186 | -$471,180 to $414,524 |
The quartiles are ranked by Total Income, not by Net Income From Operations. Every Total Income quartile contained at least one loss, and the lowest Total Income quartile also contained profitable stores. Sales volume is a major driver, but it does not eliminate cost execution risk.
How does average Total Income become store-level Net Income?
The official Part B percentages show that 42.0% of average Total Income went to Cost of Goods Sold and 51.9% went to Total Operating Expenses, leaving 6.1% as Net Income From Operations. Applied to $2,914,184 of average Total Income, those disclosed percentages derive to approximately $1,223,957, $1,512,461, and $177,765.
Derived dollars from the official 2025 Part B percentages; amounts reconcile to the nearest dollar.
Interpretation: At the disclosed average, 93.9 cents of each Total Income dollar is absorbed by Cost of Goods Sold and operating expenses before Net Income From Operations.
Formula: $2,914,184 - $1,223,957 - $1,512,461 = $177,765, after rounding. Source percentages: 2026 Big O Tires FDD, Item 19, page 79.
How does owner involvement change the economic result?
The official Item 19 result is most directly a store-level operating result. It can approximate manager-run residual profit because Total Labor includes manager wages, while an owner-operator may receive additional economic benefit for replacing paid management labor. The FDD does not disclose enough detail to quantify that uplift reliably.
Manager-run ownership
The FDD permits a Big O Store to be operated by an approved Manager. Because manager wages are included in Total Labor, Net Income From Operations is calculated after that labor cost.
This is still not after-tax cash flow. Debt principal, capital expenditures, distributions, and the separate treatment of interest and depreciation must be verified.
Owner-operator involvement
An individual franchisee may serve as the approved Operator. When the owner genuinely replaces a paid Manager, total economic benefit can include both the store's residual operating result and compensation for labor performed.
No dollar adjustment is published here because Item 19 does not isolate manager pay, owner wages, or the number of stores using each staffing model.
Do not label the labor component passive profit. The 2026 FDD requires the Store to be run by an approved Operator or Manager, and training requirements apply. The official Big O Tires training and support page also describes operational training in inventory, point-of-sale systems, marketing, and bookkeeping.
Which franchise fees are already reflected in the official earnings measure?
The official Net Income From Operations already subtracts the reporting stores' royalty and advertising expenses, so those costs should not be charged a second time. Item 6 remains important for understanding how current contractual obligations may differ from the historical reporting-store mix.
| Recurring obligation | 2026 FDD terms | Treatment in Item 19 |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty | Generally 3.5%-5.0% of Adjusted Gross Sales under the Royalty Matrix; 2% applies to specified sales categories. | Royalty paid to Big O is included in Operating Expenses. |
| Local Fund | Minimum 4% of Gross Sales, currently reduced to 3.6% under certain marketing programs; other rules and caps apply. | Advertising expenses are included, but Local Fund and other advertising components are not separately shown. |
| National Marketing Fee | Currently 0.9% of monthly Gross Sales, subject to the FDD's increase provisions. | Advertising expenses are included, but the national component is not separately shown. |
| BOT POS subscription | $295 monthly for Navex; the disclosed AutoLeap transition starts at $469 monthly, subject to change. | No separate Item 19 line identifies this fee; verify its accounting treatment in franchisee financial statements. |
Applying current royalty and advertising percentages again to the official Net Income From Operations would understate earnings because Item 19 already includes those expense categories. Use Item 6 to test future contractual sensitivity, not to re-charge the historical result automatically.
Sources: 2026 Big O Tires FDD, Item 6, pages 12-25, and Item 19, pages 79-81. The official franchise investment and costs page provides current public context but does not replace the FDD definitions.
What can make actual owner earnings fall outside the central range?
The $107,701-$188,146 range is official and central, but it is not a forecast. Actual owner economics can fall below or above it because the Item 19 quartiles are based on Total Income, Part B covers 61.9% of year-end outlets, the sample mixes BFF and legacy PDF Stores, and owner compensation and financing are not separated.
- Location and occupancy: rent, common-area charges, taxes, insurance, traffic, and local pricing can materially change the 51.9% operating-expense burden.
- Labor model: technician productivity, sales staffing, manager wages, payroll taxes, benefits, and owner labor determine whether the official result resembles residual profit or owner-operator benefit.
- Sales mix: tire sales, service-department sales, national accounts, farm-class tires, and royalty-matrix thresholds use different fee rules.
- Financing and capital needs: debt principal is not an operating expense, and Item 19 does not separately identify interest, depreciation, maintenance capital expenditures, or remodel spending.
- Cohort selection: Part B requires a full year of operation, reliable expense data, and unchanged ownership; newly opened, transferred, non-reporting, and closed stores are not represented in the same way.
What should a buyer verify before using the range?
The answer is a focused due-diligence list tied to the 2025 BFF operating model and the 2026 FDD, not a generic franchise checklist.
- Request the written substantiation for Item 19 and reconcile the Part B table to the franchisor's source data.
- Interview current BFF franchisees with mature stores in comparable markets and request profit-and-loss statements that separate owner wages, manager wages, interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, and distributions.
- Ask whether the owner's compensation is recorded in Total Labor and whether the Store uses an owner-operator, hired Operator, or hired Manager structure.
- Model local rent, payroll, royalty-matrix treatment, Local Fund obligations, National Marketing Fee, and the BOT POS transition using the proposed site's actual assumptions.
- Keep debt service and personal income taxes outside the operating-earnings comparison, then model them separately for the buyer's own capital structure and tax circumstances.
What is the strongest defensible Big O Tires owner-earnings answer?
Use $107,701-$188,146 per store per year as the central official range for 2025 Net Income From Operations, with a derived overall mean of about $177,765. The full official quartile-average span was a $29,163 loss to $445,733 of Net Income From Operations. These are store-level, pre-personal-tax results, not guaranteed owner take-home pay.
The most important earnings driver is the relationship between Total Income and the combined Cost of Goods Sold, labor, advertising, royalty, occupancy, utilities, and Other Expenses. The largest unresolved uncertainty is how owner wages, manager wages, interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, debt service, and distributions affect cash available to a particular owner. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, the exact BFF cohort, and comparable franchisee financial statements before treating any point in the range as a personal-income expectation.