How Much Does a Bark Busters Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner earnings answer
About $17,800–$35,900

This is an estimated annual owner-operator benefit, not an official Bark Busters profit disclosure. The base analytical scenario is about $26,100 before personal income taxes and before financing principal payments. Because the model uses sole-proprietor net income, the result can include both residual business profit and compensation for the owner’s own labor.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: Home-based Standard Territory Period: 2025 revenue; 2022 benchmark
Independent estimate

The earnings range is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Bark Busters North America, LLC. It combines identified 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document facts with an Internal Revenue Service industry benchmark and explicit modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of territory demand, billed-versus-collected revenue, pricing, local advertising, vehicle and supply costs, owner capacity, financing, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Bark Busters North America, LLC

Disclosure document: 2026 FDD, issued March 16, 2026

Item 19 evidence: 2025 Gross Revenue for 132 franchised businesses open more than one year

Format: Home-based Standard Territory with 100,000–125,000 targeted dogs

System population: 133 franchised outlets and no company-owned outlets at year-end 2025

Benchmarks: IRS “Other services” margin, Census NAICS 812910, and BLS animal-trainer wages

Date checked: July 21, 2026

Direct earnings view

How much may a Bark Busters owner earn annually?

A reasonable evidence-led range is $17,800 to $35,900 per year in estimated owner-operator benefit, with a base case of about $26,100. These are scenario figures for a mature, home-based U.S. franchised business; the franchisor officially reports Gross Revenue, not profit, owner compensation, EBITDA, or cash flow.

LIMITED

Evidence confidence is limited because the same-brand Item 19 provides a broad mature-unit revenue population but no unit-level expense or earnings data. The margin is therefore anchored to a broad government “Other services” sole-proprietor benchmark rather than Bark Busters operating statements.

Scenario
$26,100

Base owner-operator benefit

Pre-tax analytical result before financing principal payments.

Official
$127,718

Median 2025 Gross Revenue

Item 19 median for mature franchised businesses.

Official
132

Businesses in Item 19

Franchised businesses open and operating for more than one year.

Official
13%

Royalty plus local advertising

10% royalty and 3% local advertising expense under Item 6.

Official
42%

At or above average revenue

55 of 132 businesses met or exceeded the $144,479 average.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Bark Busters FDD actually measure?

Item 19 officially measures 2025 Gross Revenue for 132 franchised businesses open more than one year. It does not measure owner earnings. Gross Revenue is defined as amounts invoiced to customers for services during the reporting period, whether or not collected, before royalties, marketing charges, operating expenses, or other business costs.

Item 19 statistic Official value What it means
Average Gross Revenue $144,479 Arithmetic mean; 55 businesses, or 42%, met or exceeded it.
Median Gross Revenue $127,718 Central observation and the revenue anchor used in this analysis.
Highest Gross Revenue $655,448 Observed high, not a typical or upside scenario.
Lowest Gross Revenue $1,900 Observed low; Item 19 does not explain the business-specific circumstances.
Eligible population 132 All qualifying franchised businesses; one Maryland business open less than one year was excluded.

Source: 2026 Bark Busters Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 35–37. The franchisee-submitted Gross Revenue data were not independently audited.

Revenue is not earnings

The $127,718 median is billed revenue before expenses, not salary or take-home pay. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise evaluation guidance specifically warns that gross sales alone do not reveal outlet costs or profit and recommends reviewing the population, assumptions, and written substantiation behind an Item 19 claim.

Item 20 shows 133 franchised outlets and zero company-owned outlets at the end of 2025. That eliminates a same-brand company-operated margin proxy. It also shows three outlet additions, three outlets ceasing operations for other reasons, and five ownership transfers during 2025. Those system movements are relevant context, but they do not identify the profitability of the affected businesses. Source: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Item 20, pp. 37–45.

Scenario model

How were the conservative, base, and upside estimates calculated?

The estimates multiply an Item 19 revenue scenario by an independently derived operating-margin scenario for the mature, home-based franchised-business population measured in 2025. The method is transparent but uncertain: Bark Busters supplies the revenue anchor, while the IRS supplies a broad industry proxy rather than brand-specific expenses.

Estimated owner-operator benefit = scenario Gross Revenue × scenario net-income margin. Values are calculated before publication rounding and shown to the nearest $100.
  • Revenue anchor: The $127,718 Item 19 median. Because the FDD provides no quartiles, the conservative and upside revenue cases are explicit analytical assumptions at 80% and 120% of the median.
  • Margin anchor: Approximately 20.4%, derived from $160.2 billion of receipts less $127.5 billion of deductions in the IRS 2022 “Other services” sole-proprietor sector. The conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above that proxy.
  • Industry match: The U.S. Census Bureau’s NAICS 812910 definition includes establishments that train pets within Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services, which sits inside the broader Other Services sector.
  • Expense treatment: The IRS margin is treated as an all-in operating proxy. The 10% Bark Busters royalty and 3% local advertising requirement are not subtracted a second time because that would double-count costs if comparable franchise expenses are already embedded in the broad deduction ratio.
  • Owner labor: Sole-proprietor owner salary is not deducted as wages on Schedule C. The result therefore represents owner-operator benefit, not passive residual profit.
  • Interest, depreciation, and capital: Interest and depreciation are embedded in the aggregate IRS deduction proxy rather than estimated separately. Capital expenditures and debt principal payments are excluded from operating earnings.
Estimated annual owner-operator benefit by scenario

The three cases pair lower, central, and higher revenue assumptions with a ±3 percentage-point margin sensitivity.

Bark Busters estimated annual owner-operator benefit scenarios Conservative scenario 17,800 dollars, base scenario 26,100 dollars, and upside scenario 35,900 dollars. $0 $10k $20k $30k $17,800 $26,100 $35,900 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: The range is driven by both revenue and margin. It is not a probability forecast, and the base case is not presented as the most likely outcome.

Sources: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Item 19, pp. 35–37; IRS Sole Proprietorship Returns, Tax Year 2022. Calculations: FranchisesBiz independent analysis.

Scenario Revenue input Margin input Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $102,174 17.4% $17,800
Base $127,718 20.4% $26,100
Upside $153,262 23.4% $35,900
How sensitive is owner benefit to revenue and margin?

Each cell is an independent combination; the outlined center cell is the base scenario.

Bark Busters owner-operator benefit sensitivity matrix Nine combinations of revenue at 80, 100, and 120 percent of median and margins of 17.4, 20.4, and 23.4 percent, producing results from 17,800 to 35,900 dollars. Net-income margin assumption Revenue assumption 17.4% 20.4% 23.4% 80% median 100% median 120% median $17,800 $20,900 $23,900 $22,200 $26,100 $29,900 $26,700 $31,300 $35,900

Interpretation: A buyer should not focus only on sales. At the median revenue, a six-percentage-point margin swing changes modeled owner benefit from about $22,200 to $29,900.

Source and method: same FDD revenue anchor and IRS benchmark described above. Every value is a scenario calculation, not a franchisor representation.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

Active owner involvement is central to the economics. This is an official 2026 FDD operating requirement for the home-based U.S. franchised business, not a scenario assumption. Item 15 requires at least one designated individual to devote an average of five days per week to the business; when the franchisee is an entity, direct supervision must be performed by a person with at least a 50% beneficial interest. The official U.S. Bark Busters franchise page likewise states that the franchise is not a passive investment and that the owner is both business owner and dog trainer.

Business profit
Residual operating profit after ordinary business costs. The FDD does not disclose this measure for franchisees.
Owner labor value
Economic compensation for dog training, customer service, supervision, sales, and administration performed by the owner.
Owner-operator benefit
The scenario result used here: broad sole-proprietor net income that may contain both business profit and owner labor value.
Manager-run profit
Residual profit after paying qualified management and training labor. This article does not model it because the FDD requires substantial owner supervision and provides no manager-run cohort.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2025 wage table reports a $47,020 mean annual wage for employee animal trainers. That number is not a Bark Busters earnings estimate and is not added to the scenarios. It is a labor-value reference showing why a sole-proprietor result cannot be treated as passive profit. The OEWS program excludes self-employed workers and does not capture the full owner role.

Owner-operator effect

A base owner-operator benefit of $26,100 should not be read as $26,100 of passive business profit. Part of the amount may compensate the owner for working five days per week, training clients, supervising operations, and developing local demand. A buyer needs separate unit-level payroll and owner-hours data to divide labor compensation from residual profit.

Sources: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Item 15, pp. 30–31; official Bark Busters U.S. franchise information; BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025.

Recurring obligations

Which disclosed fees have the clearest effect on owner earnings?

The clearest official recurring obligations in the 2026 FDD for a home-based Standard Territory are a 10% royalty and a 3% local advertising expense, both based on the Item 6 definition of Gross Revenues. A technology fee of $380 to $500 per year is also disclosed. Product and supply purchases, vehicle expense, insurance, conferences, travel, payment processing, and other operating costs remain additional variables.

Known percentage charges per $100 of Item 6 Gross Revenues

This isolates official percentage obligations; the remaining $87 is not profit because all other operating expenses still have to be paid.

Bark Busters royalty and local advertising charges per 100 dollars of Gross Revenues Ten dollars royalty, three dollars local advertising, and eighty-seven dollars remaining before all other operating costs. $10 Royalty $3 local advertising $87 before all other costs Not owner earnings $0 $100

Interpretation: The two known variable obligations consume 13 cents of each Item 6 Gross Revenue dollar before supplies, vehicle costs, insurance, technology, professional services, and owner compensation.

Source: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–9. Item 6 “Gross Revenues” and Item 19 “Gross Revenue” use different wording, so this chart does not mechanically apply the percentages to the Item 19 median.

Item 8 estimates that required Bark Busters Products and Supplies represent approximately 5% to 10% of total operating expenses, not 5% to 10% of revenue. That distinction prevents a clean revenue deduction. The FDD also requires mandatory conference attendance, with disclosed event and travel ranges that can vary by timing and attendee count. Source: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Items 6 and 8, pp. 4–15.

Cash-flow boundary

How do financing and personal taxes change take-home cash?

Financing can reduce cash available to the owner even when operating earnings are unchanged. This is an official 2026 FDD loan illustration for a new U.S. franchise buyer, not a universal financing assumption. The FDD models a $30,000 franchisor loan at 10.5% over 36 months with a $975.07 monthly payment. Twelve payments total $11,700.84.

Debt-service effect

Subtracting the illustrative annual payments from the $26,100 base scenario leaves roughly $14,400 of cash before personal income taxes. This is a liquidity stress test, not a profit calculation: each loan payment contains principal and interest, while the broad IRS margin may already reflect interest deductions reported by comparable businesses.

The model does not estimate after-tax take-home pay. Federal, state, and local taxes depend on the owner’s entity choice, deductions, other income, jurisdiction, and personal circumstances. Capital expenditures and financing principal are also excluded from the operating-earnings definition. Source: 2026 Bark Busters FDD, Items 7 and 10, pp. 9–17.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

The most important verification task is to replace the uncertain broad benchmark with same-brand unit economics for the 132 mature franchised businesses measured in 2025. Item 19 offers strong revenue coverage but does not disclose collected cash, expense distributions, owner hours, or owner compensation.

  • Request written Item 19 substantiation. Reconcile invoiced Gross Revenue to cash collected and ask how refunds, credits, chargebacks, deposits, and product sales are treated.
  • Ask for mature-unit expense ranges. Focus on local advertising, vehicle and mileage, insurance, supplies, payment processing, technology, professional fees, conference travel, and bad debt.
  • Separate owner labor from residual profit. Ask existing franchisees for weekly owner hours, training hours, sales time, administrative time, and any employee or contractor costs.
  • Investigate the distribution. The $655,448 high and $1,900 low show substantial dispersion. Ask for quartiles, territory age, local pricing, lead volume, and reasons for low-revenue observations.
  • Use Item 20 contacts. Interview current owners, recent transferees, and former franchisees about revenue collection, recurring expenses, workload, and the circumstances behind closures or transfers.
  • Test financing separately. Model the buyer’s actual financed amount, rate, term, and payment schedule rather than assuming the FDD illustration applies.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings view?

The strongest defensible view is a $17,800 to $35,900 annual owner-operator benefit range, with a $26,100 base scenario. It is scenario-based, not official owner earnings. The principal driver is sustained revenue after the owner converts leads into completed, collected service revenue while controlling local operating costs. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand expense and owner-compensation distributions.

A buyer should treat the 2026 Item 19 median as a revenue anchor only, obtain the franchisor’s written substantiation, and use Item 20 franchisee interviews to replace broad assumptions with actual Bark Busters costs and owner hours. Until that work is complete, the range is best used as a sensitivity framework—not a forecast, guarantee, or estimate of after-tax take-home pay.