A manager-run U.S. Bandag Dealership may support approximately $160,000 to $940,000 in annual estimated pre-tax owner earnings before debt service, capital spending, and working-capital changes, with a base scenario near $460,000. This is not an official Bandag income figure. It is a structural scenario built because the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not disclose franchisee sales, profit, EBITDA, cash flow, owner compensation, or net income.
The range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Bridgestone Bandag, LLC. It combines identified FDD facts with separately labeled assumptions about cash operating margin, outlet-scale variation, and owner role. Actual results can differ materially because of territory size, Production Facility capacity, number of Sales Facilities, fleet-customer concentration, material volume, labor, insurance, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- Bridgestone Bandag, LLC, doing business as Bandag.
- Current disclosure
- Bandag 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 27, 2026.
- Item 19 status
- No financial performance representation; no official franchisee sales or earnings population.
- Evidence mode
- Mode D - structural FDD-anchored estimate with a Limited evidence-confidence label.
- Modeled population
- All counted U.S. outlets in 2025: 162 at the start of the year and 157 at year-end, including 155 franchised and 2 company-owned outlets at year-end. The model uses the simple start/end midpoint of 159.5.
- Applicable operation
- A Dealership in a Franchise Territory, normally involving at least one Production Facility and one or more Sales Facilities serving commercial customers.
- External benchmark used
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics 2024 median wage for Industrial Production Managers, used only to value owner labor in the owner-operator scenario.
- Research checked
- July 16, 2026.
Rounded annual pre-tax residual before financing principal and personal income taxes.
2025 domestic required-purchase revenue divided by a simple average of counted U.S. outlets; this is not Dealership sales.
Bandag's estimate of the share of total ongoing Dealership operating cost represented by required Materials and equipment or machinery.
BLS May 2024 national median, used as a labor-value proxy when an owner replaces a paid manager.
Franchised outlets at December 31, 2025; an outlet count does not equal a physical-facility count.
Item 20 moved from 160 to 155 franchised outlets during 2025, adding uncertainty to any scale inference.
What does the 2026 Bandag FDD actually disclose about owner earnings?
The FDD discloses no official owner-earnings or Dealership-sales figure. Item 19 says the franchisor does not make representations about future franchisee financial performance or past performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. Therefore, no average, median, quartile, margin, EBITDA, owner compensation, or percentage-achieving result can be attributed to Bandag. Source: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 19, p. 29.
This places the analysis in Mode D - structural FDD-anchored estimate. The strongest direct evidence is operational rather than financial-performance evidence: the legal Dealership format, required-purchase economics, recurring fee terms, owner-management requirement, and Item 20 outlet population. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains why an earnings claim belongs in Item 19 when a franchisor chooses to make one.
Bandag's $594,087,725 of 2025 domestic revenue from required purchases is revenue earned by Bandag from supplying Materials and equipment; it is not franchisee Gross Sales, Gross Profit, Operating Profit, or owner income. The model uses it only as a system-scale input and labels every downstream result as estimated.
Which business format does the estimate cover?
The estimate covers a full-service commercial tire support Dealership, not a small retail tire shop. The FDD describes a Franchise Territory with a Production Facility that manufactures Bandag retreads and one or more Sales Facilities that sell tires and services to commercial customers. A Dealership may therefore operate multiple physical sites under one counted outlet or franchise agreement. Source: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1-2.
That distinction is critical. Item 20 counted 155 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, while the operating model may include more Production Facilities and Sales Facilities. The official Bandag U.S. brand site and the Bridgestone commercial dealer network provide public operating context, but neither publishes franchisee owner earnings.
How was the Bandag owner-earnings range calculated?
The model converts a same-brand required-purchase scale proxy into three transparent operating scenarios. The 2026 FDD supplies the 2025 required-purchase revenue, the 2025 outlet counts, and Bandag's estimate that required purchases represent 43% to 61% of total ongoing operating cost. The model then applies explicit analytical spreads and cash operating-margin assumptions; those assumptions are not FDD-reported results.
The 159.5 denominator is the simple midpoint of 162 total outlets at the start of 2025 and 157 at year-end. It is a derived approximation, not an FDD-reported average outlet count. Required-purchase throughput is not sales and may be distorted by purchase timing, equipment orders, multi-facility Dealerships, affiliate activity, and outlet closures. The FDD does not define whether its "total cost to operate" includes depreciation or capitalized equipment, so the cash-margin conversion is necessarily approximate.
| Scenario | Throughput proxy | Required-purchase share of operating cost | Assumed cash operating margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $2.98M | 57% | 3% |
| Base | $3.72M | 52% | 6% |
| Upside | $4.47M | 47% | 9% |
- Outlet-scale spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the derived central throughput proxy. This analytical spread is not a Bandag performance distribution.
- Cost-share sensitivity: 57%, 52%, and 47%, centered on the 52% midpoint of Bandag's disclosed 43%-61% range. These are scenario selections, not reported outlet observations.
- Cash operating-margin sensitivity: 3%, 6%, and 9%. No same-brand margin is disclosed, so these are editorial assumptions used to show how a low-single-digit change materially affects owner earnings.
- Manager-run treatment: ordinary compensation for a trained Dealership manager is assumed inside operating costs; owner labor is not added to manager-run residual profit.
Annual residual under the Conservative, Base, and Upside structural scenarios.
Interpretation: the modeled cash margin is the dominant mathematical driver. Moving from 3% to 9% while also increasing scale and lowering the required-purchase cost share expands residual earnings by almost six times.
Source and method: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 8, p. 8; Item 20, p. 30; derived calculations using full-precision inputs. Values shown are rounded to the nearest $1,000.
| Scenario | Modeled annual sales | Manager-run owner earnings | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $5.39M | $162K | $283K |
| Base | $7.62M | $457K | $579K |
| Upside | $10.45M | $941K | $1.062M |
Modeled sales are a calculation output, not an Item 19 Average Unit Volume. They are shown only so the earnings formula can be reproduced. A buyer should not use them as a sales forecast for a specific Franchise Territory.
How does owner involvement change the annual result?
An active owner may capture approximately $121,440 of additional labor value if that owner genuinely replaces a paid production manager. The resulting owner-operator benefit is approximately $283,000, $579,000, or $1.062 million across the three scenarios. Part of that amount compensates the owner for full-time management work; it is not passive business profit.
Item 15 requires either the owner or a designated Dealership manager to devote best efforts and personal full-time attention to management. A manager-run operation is therefore permitted, but the FDD does not describe absentee ownership. The labor proxy comes from the BLS Industrial Production Managers profile, which reports a May 2024 national median wage of $121,440 and describes responsibility for manufacturing-plant operations. The model adds the wage only; it does not add employer payroll taxes, benefits, bonuses, or overtime.
Each line adds the same $121,440 manager-wage proxy to residual operating profit.
Interpretation: owner operation changes compensation mix more than underlying unit economics. The additional amount represents labor performed by the owner and should not be described as passive profit.
Source and method: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 22; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2024 national median wage for Industrial Production Managers; scenario calculations rounded to the nearest $1,000.
What is included in estimated pre-tax owner earnings?
The manager-run figure is intended to represent cash operating earnings after ordinary unit-level costs and disclosed recurring obligations, but before interest, depreciation, capital expenditures, working-capital changes, financing principal, and personal income taxes. Because the model uses an all-in cash operating-margin assumption, the Item 6 fees are not subtracted a second time.
- Manager compensation
- Included in the manager-run operating-cost assumption. Added back only as a labor-value proxy in the owner-operator benefit.
- Interest
- Excluded from operating earnings because financing structure varies and Item 10 offers no financing terms.
- Financing principal
- Excluded. Principal repayment is a cash-flow use, not an operating expense.
- Depreciation
- Excluded because this is a cash-oriented owner-earnings scenario. The FDD does not define whether depreciation is included in its phrase "total cost to operate," which is a comparability limitation.
- Capital expenditures
- Excluded from annual owner earnings and should be evaluated separately for equipment replacement, facility changes, and growth.
- Working capital
- Changes in inventory, customer receivables, supplier credit, and other working-capital accounts are excluded and may materially reduce distributable cash.
- Personal income taxes
- Excluded. Entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances determine after-tax take-home pay.
Which Bandag obligations have the greatest effect on owner earnings?
Required Materials and retreading equipment are the largest disclosed operating-cost anchor. Item 8 estimates that required purchases account for 43% to 61% of total ongoing cost, including approximately 41% to 57% for Materials and 2% to 4% for equipment and machinery. Material pricing, tread volume, casing yield, rework, production efficiency, and customer mix can therefore move owner earnings substantially.
| FDD obligation | Disclosed treatment | Annual earnings interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Required Materials and equipment | 43%-61% of total ongoing operating cost, per Item 8. | Primary structural input in the scenario model. |
| Traditional royalty | No percentage-of-sales royalty is listed in Item 6. | Do not invent a royalty deduction; required-purchase economics remain the major franchisor-linked burden. |
| System marketing contribution | Item 11 says participation in a system marketing, sales-promotion program, or advertising cooperative is not required. | Local advertising may still be incurred at the owner's expense and should be captured in operating costs. |
| Dealer Subcontract administration | Currently 1.5% of the amount Bandag bills a customer for miscellaneous service items. | Applies to a defined billing stream, not automatically to all Dealership sales. |
| BASys subscription | Optional; typically $750-$2,000 per month, or $9,000-$24,000 annualized. | Test separately when BASys is used; the model assumes technology expense is already inside total operating cost. |
| Smart Resource Program credits | Item 11 describes credits generally ranging from $0.10 to $0.20 per pound for most qualifying tread sizes and designs as of January 1, 2026. | Not modeled because eligible pounds, product mix, redemption, and program continuity are unknown. |
Source: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5-6; Item 8, p. 8; Item 11, pp. 15-16. The $9,000-$24,000 BASys figure is an annualization of the disclosed $750-$2,000 monthly range.
The FDD's 43%-61% required-purchase share is a broad system estimate, not a distribution of franchisee results. A single Dealership's purchasing pattern can differ because one franchise agreement may include multiple Production Facilities or Sales Facilities, equipment purchases are lumpy, and the mix of new tires, retreads, field service, and other commercial services is not disclosed.
What does the outlet trend add to the earnings assessment?
Item 20 shows a contracting franchised-outlet count, which reduces confidence but does not prove that remaining Dealerships are unprofitable. Franchised outlets declined from 179 at the start of 2023 to 155 at the end of 2025. The FDD reports seven transfers in 2023, one in 2024, and one in 2025, but does not connect closures, transfers, or non-renewals to unit sales or profit.
Official Item 20 counts for 2023-2025.
Interpretation: a declining count makes a systemwide per-outlet proxy less stable because closures can change the denominator and may not occur evenly through the year. The trend is a diligence signal, not an earnings measure.
Source: Bandag 2026 FDD, Item 20, Table No. 1, p. 30.
Why is the evidence-confidence label Limited?
Confidence is Limited because the model lacks a same-brand sales distribution and a same-brand profit measure. The $3.72 million throughput proxy is derived from franchisor supply revenue and outlet counts, not from franchisee income statements. The 3%-9% margin band is an explicit sensitivity range, not a reported Bandag or government industry margin.
The 2022 Economic Census basic dataset and its manufacturing variable definitions separate sales, material cost, payroll, and depreciation, but they do not provide a directly compatible Bandag franchisee-owner earnings measure. Using a broad manufacturing average as if it were a Bandag margin would create false precision.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace every scenario assumption with territory-specific records and comparable franchisee evidence. Item 19 provides no system performance table, so the most useful diligence comes from written substantiation, actual records for an existing Dealership when available, and structured interviews with current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 and the FDD exhibits.
- Obtain the exact population definition. Confirm whether a quoted figure is per Franchise Territory, per franchise agreement, per Production Facility, per Sales Facility, or per owner portfolio.
- Separate revenue streams. Ask for retread manufacturing revenue, new-tire sales, fleet service, national-account work, and miscellaneous service billing rather than one blended top-line number.
- Reconcile required purchases. Compare annual Bandag Materials and equipment purchases with total operating cost, units produced, pounds of tread rubber, scrap, rework, warranties, and inventory changes.
- Verify manager economics. Obtain actual manager salary, payroll taxes, benefits, bonus, and required staffing by shift; compare them with the BLS proxy rather than assuming the full $121,440 is saved.
- Identify owner compensation treatment. Determine whether financial statements record owner salary, draws, distributions, related-party rent, personal vehicles, or family payroll inside or outside operating expenses.
- Test recurring obligations. Quantify the 1.5% Dealer Subcontract administration fee, BASys expense, local advertising, insurance, training, technology, and the realized value of Smart Resource Program credits.
- Separate debt and capital spending. Model loan interest, principal, equipment replacement, facility upgrades, and working-capital growth outside operating earnings.
- Ask about the outlet decline. Discuss reasons for closures, transfers, non-renewals, territory consolidation, and whether surviving Dealerships acquired customers or facilities from departing operators.
What is the strongest defensible Bandag owner-earnings conclusion?
The strongest defensible publication range is approximately $160,000 to $940,000 in annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $460,000. It is a Limited-confidence, structural FDD-anchored estimate rather than an official Item 19 result. An owner who replaces a paid manager may realize total owner-operator benefit of approximately $283,000 to $1.062 million, but roughly $121,440 of that comparison represents labor value rather than passive profit.
The most important earnings driver is the cash operating margin achieved after required Materials, production labor, insurance, occupancy, equipment costs, local selling expense, and normal management compensation. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of comparable franchisee sales and profit statements by Dealership format, facility count, territory, and maturity. Before making an investment decision, a buyer should verify Item 19's no-representation status, request any lawful written substantiation, and reconcile the model against actual records and franchisee interviews.