For a mature ATAX brick-and-mortar unit, this is a reasonable independent scenario range before personal income taxes and financing principal payments. The base scenario is about $29,600. The estimate is anchored to the 2026 ATAX Franchise Disclosure Document’s 2025 Gross Revenues for franchised outlets operating four or more years; the franchisor does not report business profit or owner compensation.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by ATAX LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 ATAX FDD with an Internal Revenue Service industry benchmark and explicit modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, unit maturity, sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, service mix, customer retention, local advertising, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- ATAX LLC d/b/a ATAX, a Virginia limited liability company
- Current disclosure
- 2026 ATAX FDD, issued April 29, 2026
- Item 19 status
- Historical Gross Revenues and paid returns; no profit or owner-compensation measure
- Applicable population
- 93 full-period franchised brick-and-mortar outlets, grouped by years in operation
- Benchmark
- IRS Statistics of Income, “Other accounting services,” Tax Year 2022
- Date checked
- July 17, 2026
LIMITED confidence. Current same-brand Item 19 evidence supplies a broad, clearly described revenue population, but not operating expenses, Net Income, EBITDA, cash flow, or owner compensation. The earnings result therefore relies materially on an official external margin proxy and analytical sensitivity assumptions.
How much may an ATAX owner earn annually?
An actively involved owner of a mature ATAX unit may have roughly $21,000 to $52,000 of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit under the three scenarios modeled here. This is an estimate for a four-plus-year brick-and-mortar franchised outlet, not an official profit disclosure. The central scenario is approximately $29,600.
“Owner-operator benefit” is intentionally narrower than take-home pay and broader than passive business profit. It represents modeled cash available after normal unit-level expenses and the recurring 14% royalty plus 3% advertising fee, while also compensating the owner for work that a hired manager might otherwise perform. Personal income taxes and financing principal are excluded.
Three mature-unit owner-operator scenarios
Annual estimated owner-operator benefit before personal taxes and financing principal; scenarios are analytical cases, not probabilities.
Interpretation: revenue scale and the assumed operating margin move the estimate substantially. Sources: 2026 ATAX FDD, Item 19, pp. 49–51; Item 6, pp. 17–20; IRS Statistics of Income sole-proprietorship report, Tax Year 2022, Table 1.
What does the ATAX FDD actually measure?
ATAX Item 19 officially measures 2025 Gross Revenues and paid returns processed, not owner earnings. The disclosure covers brick-and-mortar franchised outlets that operated for the full January 1 through December 31, 2025 measurement period and groups them by one year, two to three years, and four-plus years in operation.
The exact FDD term is Gross Revenues, reported net of refunds and excluding sales and use taxes. The table also uses “Total Fees” interchangeably with Gross Revenues. Neither label deducts payroll, rent, royalty, advertising, technology, insurance, professional fees, customer-service call fees, debt service, or owner labor.
| Years in operation | Included outlets | Median Gross Revenues | Average Gross Revenues |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | 17 | $25,421 | $34,318 |
| 2–3 years | 27 | $37,013 | $73,640 |
| 4+ years | 49 | $124,840 | $195,963 |
| All included outlets | 93 | Not stated | $130,902 |
Official FDD facts, rounded to the nearest dollar. Source: 2026 ATAX FDD, Item 19, pp. 49–51. The all-outlet average is not a substitute for a median, and the mature average is pulled upward by higher-volume offices.
The four-plus-year median of $124,840 is the strongest central revenue anchor because it describes mature units and is less sensitive than the $195,963 average to the cohort’s $842,525 maximum. It still says nothing directly about what the owner keeps.
Coverage is meaningful but incomplete. Item 19 includes 93 outlets, or 83.7% of the 111 franchised outlets operating at December 31, 2025. It excludes 17 new outlets, 22 outlets that closed during 2025, and three virtual-model outlets. Five of the closed outlets had operated less than 12 months. Those rules create a full-period cohort rather than an all-entrants cohort, so the figures do not capture the complete ramp-up and closure experience.
Item 20 adds context: the system ended 2025 with 111 franchised outlets and no company-owned outlets. During 2025, 17 franchised outlets opened, 13 were terminated, nine ceased operations for other reasons, and the franchised count declined by five. Because there is no current company-operated population, there is no same-brand company-store profit proxy for a manager-run comparison.
How was the owner-operator earnings range calculated?
The estimate applies an official accounting-services net-income benchmark to mature ATAX revenue, then deducts the ATAX royalty and advertising-fund rates and tests a three-percentage-point margin band. This is a derived analytical model for a four-plus-year unit; ATAX does not report the resulting margins or earnings figures.
Estimated owner-operator benefit = scenario Gross Revenues × (IRS benchmark margin − 14% royalty − 3% advertising fee ± margin sensitivity)The IRS Statistics of Income sole-proprietorship dataset reports $12.834 billion of business receipts and $5.220 billion of net income less deficit for 351,478 “Other accounting services” returns in Tax Year 2022. Dividing net income less deficit by receipts produces a 40.7% aggregate ratio. The calculation uses all businesses with and without net income, not only profitable businesses.
This benchmark is broader than a pure tax-preparation category and is used because ATAX combines tax preparation, bookkeeping, payroll, and incorporation services. The U.S. Census Bureau’s 2022 NAICS definitions treat Tax Preparation Services as a narrower industry, while ATAX’s required service mix crosses adjacent accounting-support activities. The proxy remains imperfect: IRS figures describe Schedule C sole proprietorships, not ATAX franchise units.
What assumptions drive each scenario?
The conservative case combines 80% of the mature median with a margin three percentage points below the adjusted benchmark; the base uses the mature median and central adjusted margin; the upside uses the mature average and a margin three points above the central case. These are explicit assumptions for 2025-format mature units, not FDD quartiles or predicted outcomes.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Modeled margin | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $99,872: 80% of four-plus-year median | 20.7% | $20,600 |
| Base | $124,840: four-plus-year FDD median | 23.7% | $29,600 |
| Upside | $195,963: four-plus-year FDD average | 26.7% | $52,300 |
Calculations use unrounded inputs and are displayed to the nearest $100. The 80% revenue factor and ±3 percentage-point margin sensitivity are editorial scenario assumptions. No scenario is presented as most likely.
- Owner labor: the IRS sole-proprietor measure does not deduct a salary paid to the proprietor, so modeled benefit includes compensation for the owner’s work.
- Interest and depreciation: the IRS net-income measure includes business interest and depreciation reported in the aggregate. The model does not isolate or re-charge those items.
- Local advertising: the IRS all-in margin already reflects ordinary advertising expense. The model therefore does not subtract ATAX’s $1,200 local-ad minimum again; actual spending above the benchmark can reduce benefit.
- Other FDD charges: customer-service call fees, payment-processing fees, supplier costs, and exceptional charges are not separately modeled because annual amounts are not disclosed.
- Debt and tax: financing principal and personal income taxes are excluded. Entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances make after-tax take-home pay unsuitable for a single published estimate.
How does active ownership change ATAX earnings?
Active ownership is economically important because the modeled range includes the value of management labor performed by the owner. The 2026 FDD states that the franchisee must personally supervise and participate in day-to-day operations unless ATAX permits otherwise in writing; an individual franchisee must serve as Business Manager. A manager-run structure is therefore conditional, not the default basis of the estimate.
For a transparent replacement-labor screen, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2025 national wage table reports a $73,490 mean annual wage for first-line supervisors of office and administrative support workers. That occupation is not a perfect ATAX Business Manager match, but it is more relevant than treating the owner’s management time as free.
Revenue needed to support a full-time manager wage
Comparison of official mature-unit revenue with the revenue required to cover a $73,490 wage at the base modeled 23.7% owner-benefit margin.
Interpretation: at the national full-time wage screen, neither the mature median nor mature average supplies enough modeled owner benefit to cover the manager wage while leaving a positive residual. The threshold excludes payroll taxes and benefits, so a full employer-cost threshold would be higher. Sources: 2026 ATAX FDD, Item 15, p. 43 and Item 19, pp. 49–51; BLS May 2025 national occupational wage table. Threshold formula: $73,490 ÷ 23.672%.
Subtracting the $73,490 wage screen from the three modeled owner-operator benefit figures produces negative residuals of approximately $52,800, $43,900, and $21,200. This does not prove every manager-run ATAX unit loses money; it shows that a full-time national wage assumption is incompatible with the modeled mature median and average unless revenue, margin, staffing structure, or local manager cost is materially different.
Which ATAX fees affect owner earnings most?
The largest disclosed recurring burden is the 14% royalty plus 3% advertising fee, with minimum annual royalties that weigh more heavily on lower-revenue offices. These are official 2026 FDD obligations for the single-unit model; they are not startup costs and apply independently of whether the office generates an owner profit.
ATAX sets the minimum annual royalty at $5,000 in the first tax season, $7,500 in the second, and $10,000 from the third tax season onward. The minimum replaces the percentage royalty only when 14% of Gross Revenues is lower. A separate minimum of $1,200 per year must be spent on local advertising.
| Item 19 cohort | Median revenue | Royalty due | 3% ad fee + local minimum | Cash burden as % of revenue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | $25,421 | $5,000 floor | $1,963 | 27.4% |
| 2–3 years | $37,013 | $7,500 floor | $2,310 | 26.5% |
| 4+ years | $124,840 | $17,478 at 14% | $4,945 | 18.0% |
Derived from official FDD figures before ordinary payroll, occupancy, technology, insurance, supplies, professional fees, and other operating expenses. The local-ad minimum is included here to show cash obligations but is not double-counted in the scenario margin, which already reflects ordinary advertising expense.
The minimum royalty materially raises the effective burden at the disclosed one-year and two-to-three-year medians. This is one reason the mature cohort is the appropriate basis for an annual owner-benefit range. Other recurring or contingent charges—such as a $5 customer-service call fee, payment-processing costs, required software, and supplier expenses—can also affect results, but the FDD does not provide a typical annual amount for those items.
How much confidence should a buyer place in the range?
The range is useful as a screening model, but confidence remains limited because the FDD does not disclose the ATAX expense structure or owner compensation. It applies to a mature single-unit storefront using 2025 same-brand revenue and a 2022 government industry proxy; it should not be applied unchanged to a new office, virtual model, multi-unit portfolio, conversion office, or manager-run structure.
- Strongest evidence
- The current ATAX Item 19 cohort definitions, sample coverage, Gross Revenues, paid-return volumes, and recurring fee rates are same-brand official facts.
- Largest unresolved variable
- The actual ATAX cost mix—especially seasonal labor, rent, local advertising, software, customer-service fees, and owner hours—is not disclosed by cohort.
- Survivorship and ramp-up limitation
- Item 19 omits new and closed outlets that lacked a full 2025 measurement period, so the table is not an all-entrants earnings distribution.
- Benchmark limitation
- The IRS “Other accounting services” ratio combines many independent sole proprietorships and does not isolate franchised tax offices, entity-owned units, or ATAX operating standards.
- Average-versus-median limitation
- Only 39% of mature outlets exceeded the mature average. The average therefore should not be interpreted as a typical result.
The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise guide recommends evaluating the source, limitations, assumptions, and typicality of Item 19 claims and requesting written substantiation. ATAX Item 19 states that written substantiation is available on reasonable request.
- Request the current Item 19 substantiation and reconcile the 93 included outlets with the full opening, closure, transfer, and virtual-unit populations.
- Ask four-plus-year franchisees for Gross Revenues, payroll, rent, local advertising, required software, customer-service call charges, depreciation, interest, and actual owner distributions for the same 12-month period.
- Separate owner-operated offices from entity-owned offices using an approved Business Manager; record owner hours before comparing “profit” or compensation claims.
- Compare the proposed territory’s rent, wage rates, bilingual staffing needs, paid-return volume, bookkeeping and payroll mix, and client retention with the Item 19 cohort.
- Model debt service separately using the buyer’s actual financed amount, rate, term, fees, and required reserves; do not subtract the Item 7 startup investment from one year of revenue.
- Document any sales or earnings statement made outside Item 19 and compare it with the written FDD support, consistent with FTC guidance.
What is the strongest defensible ATAX owner-earnings range?
The strongest defensible published range is approximately $21,000 to $52,000 per year of estimated owner-operator benefit for a mature single-unit ATAX storefront, with a base scenario near $29,600. It is scenario-based, not official owner-income data. The most important driver is mature-unit Gross Revenues; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the ATAX-specific expense and owner-labor structure that Item 19 does not report.
A buyer should treat the range as a due-diligence starting point, not a forecast. The critical verification is to obtain Item 19 substantiation, compare same-cohort franchisee profit-and-loss statements, separate owner labor from residual business profit, and test the proposed unit’s staffing, occupancy, fees, financing, and service mix against actual franchisee experience.
FDD citations in this article refer to the 2026 ATAX Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026. No public franchisor-hosted copy of the matching FDD was verified, so FDD references are provided in plain text by Item and page.