For a manager-run, 75-room AmericInn hotel, a defensible analytical range is about $321,000 to $615,000 a year in pre-financing operating earnings. The central scenario is approximately $457,000. These are independent estimates built from 2025 AmericInn RevPAR and an official U.S. hotel EBITDA benchmark—not profit or owner-income figures reported in Item 19.
What does AmericInn Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 officially measures room-rate and demand performance, not annual owner earnings. For January 1 through December 31, 2025, the FDD reports an average daily room rate of $121.75, an average Occupancy Rate of 55.4%, and average RevPAR of $67.49 for 95 Qualified Chain Facilities. Median RevPAR was $65.61. These were franchised U.S. hotels; AmericInn had no company-owned facilities.
RevPAR means gross room revenue per available room. It is calculated as Occupancy Rate multiplied by ADR, and it does not deduct payroll, housekeeping supplies, utilities, property taxes, insurance, franchise fees, repairs, management costs, interest, or capital spending. The 2026 AmericInn Franchise Disclosure Document reports these definitions and results in Item 19, pp. 78–81.
How broad is the official RevPAR evidence?
The Item 19 performance sample is a screened subset of the U.S. system.
Interpretation: the official RevPAR result is useful, but it does not represent every hotel. Qualification required opening before January 1, 2024, a minimum social-review count and score, and acceptable quality-assurance status.
Source: 2026 AmericInn Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 78–81, and Item 20, pp. 81–86.
How is the annual earnings range calculated?
The estimate converts official AmericInn RevPAR into room revenue and then applies a separately sourced hotel EBITDA margin. The result is an estimated manager-run, pre-financing operating-earnings proxy for a 75-room facility—not a number reported by the franchisor and not after-tax take-home pay.
- Official revenue anchor: 2025 average RevPAR of $67.49 from Qualified Chain Facilities.
- Room-revenue formula: $67.49 × 75 rooms × 365 days = $1,847,538.75, rounded to $1.848 million for display.
- Revenue spread: Conservative, Base, and Upside use 80%, 100%, and 120% of the average-derived room revenue. This spread is analytical, not FDD-reported.
- Margin anchor: 2024 U.S. hotel EBITDA PAR of $51.88 divided by TRevPAR of $209.67 equals 24.74%. The scenarios use that benchmark minus 3 percentage points, unchanged, and plus 3 percentage points.
- Revenue compatibility: Item 19 does not disclose total hotel revenue. The model applies the all-hotel EBITDA margin to room revenue only, effectively assuming that non-room revenue and its associated operating contribution net to zero. This is a conservative but imperfect proxy and is a principal reason for the Limited confidence rating.
- Fee treatment: STR hotel profit-and-loss guidelines place franchise royalty, marketing, and reservation fees within operating expenses. The AmericInn 8.25% base percentage fees are therefore not subtracted a second time.
| Scenario | Modeled room revenue | Margin applied to room revenue | Estimated manager-run earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $1,478,000 | 21.7% | $321,000 |
| Base | $1,848,000 | 24.7% | $457,000 |
| Upside | $2,217,000 | 27.7% | $615,000 |
Estimated manager-run annual earnings
Three room-revenue-only scenarios for a 75-room hotel, before financing and owner taxes.
Interpretation: occupancy and room rate affect revenue while labor, utilities, property taxes, insurance, maintenance, and channel mix affect the realized margin. The scenarios are sensitivity points, not probability forecasts.
Sources and calculation: 2026 AmericInn Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 78–81; STR/CoStar 2024 U.S. hotel profit metrics; calculations use full-precision inputs and display values rounded to the nearest $1,000.
How does owner involvement change the result?
An active owner who genuinely replaces a paid general manager may capture approximately $77,120 of additional labor value, producing estimated owner-operator benefit of about $398,000 to $692,000. This is not pure business profit: part of the amount compensates the owner for performing a lodging manager’s job.
Item 15 states that an owner does not have to participate personally, although AmericInn recommends involvement. A non-operating owner must use an experienced individual manager or management company, and the general manager must complete required training. AmericInn may require an approved third-party manager when an owner lacks significant hotel-management experience or receives a Development Incentive. The wage input is the 2025 mean annual wage for lodging managers in the BLS Accommodation industry; it does not include employer payroll taxes or benefits.
Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit
The $77,120 gap represents owner labor, not passive return.
Interpretation: owner operation changes who receives the manager compensation; it does not automatically improve the hotel’s underlying operating economics. An owner who hires a manager should not add this wage to residual profit.
Sources: 2026 AmericInn Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 15, pp. 73–74; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Accommodation industry wage data, 2025.
Which costs are included, and which remain outside the estimate?
The modeled figure is an EBITDA-like, pre-financing operating result. It is intended to approximate cash-generating capacity after normal hotel operating expenses and a paid general manager, but before financing, noncash accounting charges, capital replacement, and personal taxes. The treatment is estimated because AmericInn Item 19 does not publish an expense statement.
- Included conceptually
- Rooms payroll, management compensation, housekeeping and guest supplies, utilities, repairs and maintenance, sales and marketing, property operations, administrative costs, property taxes, insurance, and franchise royalty, marketing, and reservation fees under the STR reporting framework.
- Excluded
- Interest expense, depreciation, amortization, income taxes, capital expenditures or replacement-reserve spending, and loan-principal payments.
- Owner-operator adjustment
- The $77,120 BLS lodging-manager wage is added only when the owner replaces a paid manager. It is labor compensation and may understate the employer cost avoided because benefits and payroll burden are not included.
- Personal take-home pay
- Not calculated. Entity structure, state and local tax, deductions, other income, owner draws, distributions, retained cash, and personal circumstances determine after-tax results.
How much do the base AmericInn percentage fees consume?
The standard Royalty Fee, Marketing Contribution, and Basic Reservation Fee total 8.25% of Gross Revenues. At the $1.848 million base room-revenue level, 8.25% equals roughly $152,400 before variable transaction, loyalty, technology, training, conference, and other charges. Because the FDD definition applies to Gross Revenues rather than room revenue alone, actual base fees would also apply to other included hotel revenue. This fee illustration is official-plus-derived, but it is not deducted again from the EBITDA scenario because STR’s reporting guidance already treats franchise licensing, marketing, and reservation fees as operating expenses.
The FDD also lists variable charges tied to booking channels, commissions, Wyndham Rewards, technology platforms, revenue-management services, and other programs. Their realized burden depends on reservation source, member stays, room count, selected systems, and operating choices. Buyers should model these charges from actual property invoices rather than apply one generic percentage.
Can the same range be applied to a conversion hotel or every AmericInn location?
No. The published range is specifically a 75-room analytical model and should not be transferred automatically to a 100-room conversion, a smaller existing property, or a hotel in a different demand market. Item 7 separates 75-room new construction from a 100-room conversion, while Item 19 combines Qualified Chain Facilities and does not disclose RevPAR or expenses by room count, construction path, geography, ownership portfolio, or management model.
A conversion may inherit a different building layout, maintenance burden, property-improvement plan, energy profile, labor model, insurance cost, and capital-replacement need. Conversely, a mature interstate hotel with strong local demand may perform differently from a newly converted property still establishing its rate and occupancy. Per-unit economics should therefore come before any multi-unit portfolio projection.
What does Item 20 add to the earnings analysis?
Item 20 confirms a fully franchised system and shows meaningful unit movement, but it does not disclose why individual hotels gained or lost money. U.S. franchised facilities increased from 226 to 230 during 2025, with nine openings, one termination or non-renewal, four facilities ceasing operations for other reasons, and 18 transfers. There were zero company-owned facilities, so no company-operated profit statement is available as a same-brand cross-check.
What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?
The largest uncertainty is the property-specific expense structure that Item 19 does not disclose. The estimate uses same-brand RevPAR but a national all-hotel EBITDA benchmark. A particular AmericInn may have materially different payroll, breakfast cost, utilities, property tax, insurance, repairs, distribution expense, and capital needs.
- Revenue mix: ADR, Occupancy Rate, length of stay, seasonality, local events, group business, and non-room revenue.
- Labor: local wage rates, staffing levels, overtime, benefits, housekeeping productivity, and whether the owner replaces a qualified manager.
- Real estate and fixed costs: property tax, insurance, utilities, rent if applicable, and required repairs or property-improvement work.
- Distribution: Central Reservation System, online travel agency, GDS, commissionable, pay-for-performance, and Wyndham Rewards booking mix.
- Capital and financing: interest rate, loan amount, amortization, principal payments, furniture and equipment replacement, and renovation timing.
- Cohort fit: whether the target resembles the 95 Qualified Chain Facilities in age, guest-review performance, quality-assurance status, room count, and market.
The median RevPAR of $65.61 produces approximately $1.796 million of annual room revenue for 75 rooms—about 2.8% below the average-derived base revenue. That relatively small average-to-median gap does not resolve the larger unknown: the distribution of actual property-level EBITDA or owner cash flow.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should treat $321,000 to $615,000 as a diligence framework and replace every benchmark with property-specific evidence where possible. The franchisor states that written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and the FTC advises buyers to assess the basis, geography, and outlet population behind any financial performance claim.
- Request the written Item 19 substantiation and determine how closely the target market and property match the Qualified Chain Facilities.
- Obtain trailing monthly profit-and-loss statements for the specific hotel when buying an existing facility, with room revenue, payroll, utilities, property tax, insurance, maintenance, commissions, and all brand charges separated.
- Interview current and former franchisees with comparable room counts, markets, property ages, and owner-management arrangements; ask for ranges rather than isolated peak years.
- Reconcile the 5% Royalty Fee, 2% Marketing Contribution, 1.25% Basic Reservation Fee, loyalty charges, channel commissions, technology fees, training, and other required programs to actual invoices.
- Price a realistic general manager package—including benefits and payroll burden—or document the hours and responsibilities the owner will personally perform.
- Model debt service and a recurring capital-replacement reserve separately from operating earnings; do not convert EBITDA directly into owner take-home pay.
FDD citations in this article refer to the 2026 AmericInn Franchise Disclosure Document by Item and printed page. No public copy on a verified AmericInn or Wyndham franchise-controlled domain was identified, so the FDD references are intentionally unlinked.