How much does an AmericInn franchise cost?
AmericInn has two materially different U.S. investment ranges. The March 31, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $7,886,302 to $11,178,916 to construct and open a typical three-story, 75-room new construction Facility, and $315,973 to $4,164,414 to open a 100-room conversion Facility. Land acquisition is excluded from both ranges, and the conversion estimate assumes the franchisee already owns the hotel property.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: AmericInn International, LLC, a subsidiary of Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC; ultimate parent: Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. FDD issuance date: March 31, 2026. Formats analyzed: a typical 75-room new construction Facility and a 100-room conversion Facility. Primary cost disclosures: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 19, 2026.
The official AmericInn franchise information identifies the U.S. opportunity as new construction and high-quality conversions and references the March 31, 2026 FDD. No matching public copy of that FDD was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked Item-and-page references.
The FDD also states total cost per room of $105,151–$149,052 for the 75-room new build and $3,160–$41,644 for the 100-room conversion. Those per-room figures inherit the same real-estate assumptions as the total ranges.
Source: AmericInn International, LLC 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–48. Official figures; no midpoint or typical-cost assumption was added.
Why are the new-build and conversion ranges so far apart?
The new construction estimate pays for a complete hotel build, while the conversion estimate starts with an existing hotel. The 75-room model includes $6,119,367 to $8,520,241 for Facility Construction alone. The 100-room conversion can show $0 for Facility Improvements only when the existing property already meets System Standards; the high end allows $2,250,000 for extensive improvements.
Existing assets already meet standards
The low end assumes the exterior, public areas, guest rooms, plumbing, HVAC and other systems are in good condition; existing technology and much of the furniture, fixtures, equipment and operating inventory can remain in service.
Extensive renovation and replacement
The high end assumes structural renovation, refinishing, replacement technology, replacement FF&E and replacement opening inventory may be needed to satisfy AmericInn System Standards.
Wyndham separately describes its new hotel construction path and its existing-hotel conversion path. Those official pages explain the development routes; the dollar ranges and assumptions above come from the AmericInn 2026 FDD, Item 7.
A conversion's low-end number is not a generic entry price. It depends on an existing hotel passing a property review with little renovation, technology replacement or FF&E replacement. The Property Improvement Plan and current condition of the asset are therefore central cost documents for a conversion buyer.
What is included in the 75-room new construction estimate?
The 2026 new-build range includes the franchise fee, design and permitting, construction, technology, FF&E, opening inventory, insurance, pre-opening payroll and three months of Additional Funds. It does not include land acquisition, and several Item 7 footnotes identify taxes, freight, installation and local impact costs that may sit outside particular line-item estimates.
| Major Item 7 category | Low | High | Timing / interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Architecture, Design and Engineering, environmental work, permits, licenses, deposits and related fees | $385,400 | $713,250 | As incurred before opening; excludes specified impact, site-evaluation, geotechnical and civil-engineering costs. |
| Facility Construction | $6,119,367 | $8,520,241 | As incurred before opening; varies with materials, labor, code and location. |
| Construction Contingency | $305,968 | $426,012 | Calculated as 5% of Facility Construction costs. |
| Technology Systems plus PMS set-up and installation | $59,349 | $77,449 | Derived sum of two compatible Item 7 categories; excludes certain additional PMS interface fees. |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $466,389 | $575,121 | Before opening; estimate excludes tax, freight and installation. |
| Opening Inventory | $237,094 | $270,854 | OS&E required by System Standards; estimate excludes tax and freight. |
| Pre-Opening Wages | $83,293 | $148,888 | Paid before opening to employees and contractors. |
| Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Period | $120,876 | $186,471 | After opening; includes labor and Recurring Fees, but not rent or debt service. |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $7,886,302 | $11,178,916 | Official Item 7 total; land is excluded. |
Which smaller opening categories are also inside the total?
The official total also includes the $35,000 Initial Fee for the 75-room model, required photos, Training Tuition, Training Expenses, a $5,000 to $15,000 Market Study allowance, $20,000 to $60,000 for Signage, $14,500 to $80,000 for Insurance, $3,000 to $15,000 for Grand Opening Advertising and $19,196 to $37,035 of Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–45.
The land must be purchased by the franchisee, but no land cost appears in the total. The FDD describes a typical 75-room site as approximately 1.6 to 2.2 acres and also excludes site-preparation amounts that the franchisor says it cannot estimate. Local impact fees and some engineering work can also fall outside the stated architecture-and-permitting range.
What can move a 100-room conversion toward the high end?
Facility Improvements are the largest disclosed conversion variable, followed by FF&E and Opening Inventory. The 2026 FDD's high end assumes that major parts of the existing property need renovation or replacement. The chart below plots the highest disclosed amounts for six major conversion categories on a zero-based scale.
The high end also includes technology, PMS installation, signage, insurance, training, photos, advertising and miscellaneous startup costs. The six bars do not replace the official total.
Source: AmericInn International, LLC 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 45–48. Official high-end line items plotted on a common $0–$2.25 million scale.
Which AmericInn payments are due before and around opening?
The first cash payment is the $2,500 non-refundable Application Fee. If the application is approved, it is credited against the Initial Fee. The remaining Initial Fee is generally due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, while construction, renovation, equipment and supplier payments are made as incurred. Several franchisor technology charges have their own deadlines.
| Payment to franchisor or affiliate | Amount | When due | Applies when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | $2,500 | With Franchise Application | All prospective franchisees; credited to Initial Fee if approved. |
| Initial Fee | Greater of $35,000 or $350/room | Balance at Franchise Agreement signing | New construction or conversion Facility; possible discretionary deferral under Item 10. |
| Temporary Signage | $1,250 | Before opening, if charged | Conversion opens before permanent signage; waived under specified permanent-sign conditions. |
| SynXis PMS Set-Up and Implementation | $6,000 | At least 30 days before opening | Facility selects the SynXis PMS. |
| OPERA PMS Set-Up and Implementation | $11,000–$22,100 | At least 30 days before opening | Depends on OPERA level; interfaces can add $525–$3,050 each, including a required $750 interface. |
| Wyndham Gateway Equipment and Installation | $1,500 | During required installation | All Chain Facilities. |
| Custom Interior Design Review | Up to $6,000 | When invoiced | Customized required design elements are submitted for review. |
| Opening-deadline Extension Fee | $10,000 | If assessed, within 10 days of Opening Date | Franchisor grants an extension of a construction, improvement or opening deadline. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 27–30; Item 6, pp. 30–40; Item 7, pp. 41–48; Item 10, pp. 54–56; Item 11, pp. 56–65.
Which fees continue after an AmericInn opens?
The standard recurring base is a 5% Royalty Fee plus a 3.25% System Assessment Fee on Gross Revenues. The System Assessment consists of a 2% Marketing Contribution and a 1.25% Basic Reservation Fee. Simple arithmetic makes that standard base 8.25% of Gross Revenues before mandatory service-specific, loyalty, distribution, commission, training, technology and conditional charges.
| Ongoing fee | Amount / basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Revenues | Monthly, generally by the 10th day of the next month | Gross Revenues are broadly defined; sales tax is excluded when the FDD's conditions are met. |
| Marketing Contribution | 2% of Gross Revenues | Same as Royalty Fee | Part of the System Assessment Fee; subject to change on 30 days' notice. |
| Basic Reservation Fee | 1.25% of monthly Gross Revenues | Same as Royalty Fee | Part of the System Assessment Fee; subject to change on 30 days' notice. |
| Wyndham Connect Plus Fee | 3.5% of Gross Revenues for each reservation booked through WCP | When invoiced | Participation is required; the fee applies to the stated WCP-booked reservation basis. |
| Loyalty Program Charge | 4.25%–5.5% of amounts on which members earn points or other program currency | After points are awarded and on invoice | Rate varies with the disclosed Loyalty Metric. |
| PMS Monthly Support and Service | $734–$1,050/month, or $13.25/room/month for OPERA Cloud Premium | Monthly | Depends on PMS level and room count; upgrades and interfaces can add costs. |
| GDS, Third Party Channel and Internet Booking Fees | $2.34 per reservation for each applicable channel fee | When invoiced | Applied according to the channel that generated or processed the reservation. |
| Digital Pay-For-Performance Commission | Currently 7%; up to 10% of applicable Gross Revenues | When invoiced | Mandatory program; charged in addition to other applicable reservation fees. |
| Continuing Education and Chain Conference | $1,200/year; $2,000 first conference attendee and $1,750 each additional attendee | When invoiced; conference approximately every 18–24 months | Conference attendance is required and the fee is billed even if the franchisee does not attend. |
The 8.25% figure is a derived sum of the standard Royalty Fee and System Assessment components only. It is not a complete all-in fee rate. WCP, Wyndham Rewards, distribution, agency commissions, PMS support, training and event-triggered charges use separate bases and can apply in addition.
Which other operating charges depend on usage or circumstances?
Item 6 also discloses Agency Commissions of up to 20% of commissionable revenue plus a 1.5% service charge, Member Benefits Commissions of up to 10% plus a 1.5% service charge, a 10% Everyone Sells Group Referrals Program commission, optional Revenue Management Services from $645 per month to $5,425 per month depending on level, optional Remote Sales Service at $1,500 per month, and guest-satisfaction or compliance fees tied to complaints, reviews, loyalty enrollment and rate-parity events. The official Wyndham hotel franchise cost and FDD FAQ confirms that brand-specific financial terms belong in the applicable FDD.
Source: AmericInn International, LLC 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 30–40.
Which fees arise on transfer, renewal, delay, default or property events?
Several potentially large obligations do not arise in the ordinary opening budget. They are triggered by a transfer, mutually agreed renewal, missed deadline, failed inspection, late payment, service suspension, underreporting, early termination or incomplete de-identification.
For a resale or transfer, the purchase price of the hotel is not an Item 7 cost. The buyer should separately reconcile the property acquisition, the Relicense and Application Fees, any Property Improvement Plan, technology upgrades, FF&E replacement and any unamortized Development Incentive that must be repaid or assumed.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 27–30; Item 6, pp. 30–40; Item 10, pp. 54–56; Item 17, pp. 74–78.
Does AmericInn disclose financing or minimum capital requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement. It also says the franchisor does not generally provide financing except for the specific arrangements described in Item 10: possible Initial Fee deferral and discretionary Development Incentives. A directory's cash requirement should not be substituted for a current official qualification.
How does Initial Fee deferral work?
AmericInn International, LLC may defer some or all of the Initial Fee when business circumstances warrant. The usual period is approximately 90 days or until the Facility opens, whichever occurs first. The franchisee and owners must sign an Initial Fee Note; the unpaid amount can become immediately due on termination or transfer. A payment more than 10 days late bears the lesser of 18% per year or the highest lawful rate.
What is a Development Incentive?
A Development Incentive is a discretionary loan for a new construction or conversion Facility, typically funded shortly after opening and forgiven in portions over the Franchise Agreement term. It is not guaranteed capital. If the franchise terminates or the Facility transfers before the term ends, the unamortized balance generally becomes repayable and a one-time acceleration fee equal to 10% of that balance is added. Disbursement requires final credit review, opening approval, completed improvements, payment of the Initial Fee and good standing under the agreements.
The Women Own the Room program has a disclosed target Development Incentive of $2,500 per guest room, capped at 50% of the franchisee's equity investment, for an approved majority women-owned franchisee. The official Women Own the Room program information describes enhanced capital support and potential Initial Franchise Fee reductions, while the FDD controls the specific AmericInn terms. The official BOLD program information describes support for Black hotel owners; the AmericInn FDD says BOLD support may include a Development Incentive but does not state a fixed amount.
A Development Incentive is normally funded after the hotel opens, so it should not be treated as cash available to pay the full pre-opening construction or conversion budget. It can also create a repayment obligation on an early transfer or termination.
Third-party lenders may consider SBA-backed financing, but franchise-directory placement is an eligibility tool for lenders, not approval of the brand or a guarantee that a borrower qualifies. The current SBA Franchise Directory explains that distinction. The FDD also permits a lender to request a Three-Party Agreement or Lender Notification Agreement, but AmericInn International, LLC has no obligation to issue one and currently charges $1,000 per Three-Party Agreement or comfort-letter request.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 38–40; Item 9, p. 54; Item 10, pp. 54–56.
What does the official Item 7 total not fully resolve?
The official range is a disclosure estimate, not a complete property-specific capital budget. The biggest unresolved amounts relate to real estate, site conditions, local requirements, excluded taxes and freight, financing structure and future System Standards.
The Federal Trade Commission's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5, 6 and 7 fit into the broader FDD review. The FTC Franchise Rule requires the disclosure document but does not make the disclosed range a guarantee of the final project cost.
What should a prospective AmericInn franchisee verify before signing?
The capital plan should use the correct format-specific Item 7 range, then reconcile every excluded or property-specific obligation. For a new build, the largest unresolved item is land and site work outside the estimate. For a conversion, the decisive document is the property-specific improvement scope and the condition of technology, FF&E and operating inventory.
The verified 2026 figures establish a wide but usable decision frame: $7,886,302 to $11,178,916 for a typical 75-room new construction Facility and $315,973 to $4,164,414 for a 100-room conversion Facility. The franchise fee is only one line inside those totals. The more important capital question is whether the project budget captures the format-specific real estate, construction or improvement scope, three months of Additional Funds and the separate ongoing and event-triggered fee obligations.