How much does a Ziebart franchise cost in 2026?
The 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document lists an Estimated Initial Investment of $450,100 to $924,000 for one standard Ziebart location. A standard Multi-Unit Development Agreement has a separate entry range of $495,100 to $969,000, but that multi-unit figure covers the development fee and the first location only—not the full cost of opening all three required locations. Qualified-veteran ranges are disclosed separately.
$450,100–$924,000 Multi-unit entry: $495,100–$969,000
These are 2026 FDD Item 7 ranges for the current U.S. full-service Ziebart offer. The single-location total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, store build-out and launch costs, and Additional Funds for the initial operating period. It excludes land purchase and construction of a freestanding building. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 23–29. The standard single-location range is also shown on the official Ziebart U.S. franchise page.
Data basis. The legal franchisor is Ziebart Corporation, a Michigan corporation; its parent is Ziebart International Corporation. The FDD was issued April 17, 2026. This analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7 in full, with cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 17. Information was checked on July 18, 2026.
FDD citations are shown as unlinked Item and page references because no matching 2026 FDD file was located on an official franchise-controlled public URL. Ziebart’s official franchise sales process states that the disclosure document is provided during candidate due diligence.
Capital snapshot
What is included in the $450,100 to $924,000 single-location range?
The range includes every line item in 2026 FDD Item 7, including $100,000 to $150,000 of Additional Funds. The table below regroups the official line items into four decision-useful phases. This is a derived presentation, not a replacement franchisor estimate; the low and high columns reconcile exactly to the official Item 7 total.
| Cost phase | Included 2026 Item 7 categories | Low | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contract and launch marketing | Initial Franchise Fee; Opening Advertising | $52,000 | $55,000 |
| Premises and first three months | Leasehold Improvements; Utilities, Rent and Deposits; Insurance | $121,100 | $365,000 |
| Store package, systems and training | Décor and Signage; Equipment; Opening Inventory; Computer Equipment; Initial Training Travel; Miscellaneous Shop Expenses | $177,000 | $354,000 |
| Initial operating capital | Additional Funds for pre-opening and the initial operating period | $100,000 | $150,000 |
| Estimated Total Investment | $450,100 | $924,000 | |
Source and calculation: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 23–24. The four phases are derived by summing compatible official line items without averaging or changing the disclosed total.
The Start-up Package comprises Opening Inventory, the Equipment Package and the Exterior and Interior Décor Package. Those three components sum to $162,000 to $330,000. Computer Equipment adds $2,000 to $4,000. Item 5 says the franchisee is responsible for shipping the package components, but Item 7 does not provide a separate shipping line. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 15–16 and 23–24.
The leasehold estimate does not include buying unimproved land or constructing a freestanding Ziebart building. The FDD says either choice would produce a significantly higher initial investment. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 27.
Which disclosed costs create most of the investment spread?
Leasehold Improvements are the largest source of variation, ranging from $80,000 to $300,000. Equipment and Décor also have wide ranges, while the Initial Franchise Fee is fixed. The Item 7 rent assumption uses a 6,000-square-foot building; the official Ziebart franchise FAQ says a store is typically 5,000 to 6,500 square feet.
Largest 2026 Item 7 cost ranges by category
Scale: $0 to $300,000. Each bar shows the official low and high estimate for one standard location.
Interpretation: site condition and build-out are the dominant disclosed range drivers. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 23–28. Values are official ranges; bar positions are proportional calculations.
The $220,000 spread inside Leasehold Improvements is larger than the full low-end cost of several other Item 7 categories combined. A site-specific contractor and landlord package is therefore necessary to test whether the official low end is plausible for a proposed market.
How do multi-unit and veteran terms change the upfront commitment?
Ziebart discloses four entry paths, and they must not be blended. The standard and qualified-veteran single-location ranges cover one store. The two Multi-Unit Development Agreement ranges include development rights for at least three locations plus the first store’s opening investment, but not the opening costs for locations two and three.
The multi-unit total is not a three-store budget
The standard Development Fee is $90,000, allocated as $45,000 for the first development right, $30,000 for the second and $15,000 for the third. The first location’s Initial Franchise Fee is reduced to $0 because of the Development Fee. Each additional franchise agreement purchased during the Development Schedule carries a separate $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee, and each later store also incurs its then-current opening investment. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 14–15 and 24–29.
- Standard multi-unit entry
- $495,100–$969,000: $90,000 Development Fee plus the first store, excluding its standard $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
- Veteran single location
- $425,100–$899,000: Initial Franchise Fee waived; $20,000 nonrefundable Deposit Fee credited to the Start-up Order.
- Veteran multi-unit entry
- $470,100–$944,000: $45,000 Development Fee, $20,000 Deposit Fee and the first store.
2026 entry investment ranges by disclosed path
Scale: $0 to $1,000,000. Multi-unit bars cover development rights and the first location only.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 24–29. All plotted values are official totals. The veteran-versus-standard difference is interpreted below as a derived calculation.
The veteran Item 7 ranges are $25,000 below the corresponding standard ranges, not $45,000 below. That derived difference reflects the $45,000 fee waiver offset by the $20,000 Deposit Fee credited to the Start-up Order. Eligibility details, including the DD Form 214 requirement shown online, appear on the official Ziebart veteran franchise page.
When is the money paid?
Cash is not paid in one transaction. Contract fees are due at signing, store and premises costs are paid as incurred before opening, and Additional Funds are drawn during the initial operating period. The sequence below follows the 2026 FDD payment terms.
-
Receive and review the current disclosure
The FDD cover states that a prospect must receive the disclosure at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a payment to Ziebart Corporation or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the same federal disclosure timing.
-
Pay contract-linked amounts at signing
A standard franchisee pays the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Item 7 also lists $7,000 to $10,000 of Opening Advertising as due upon signing. Qualified veterans instead pay the $20,000 Deposit Fee; multi-unit developers pay the applicable Development Fee and sign the first Franchise Agreement concurrently.
-
Fund the site and Start-up Package as costs arise
Leasehold Improvements, Décor and Signage, Equipment, Opening Inventory, Computer Equipment and Miscellaneous Shop Expenses are paid to Ziebart, Approved Suppliers, the landlord or other third parties as incurred. Utilities, rent, deposits and insurance are due before opening.
-
Pay training travel and opening expenses
Initial training is provided without a training tuition charge, but the franchisee pays travel and living expenses. Item 7 estimates $3,000 to $5,000 for Initial Training Travel. Opening advertising begins during the construction phase, according to the Item 7 notes.
-
Use Additional Funds during the first three months
The $100,000 to $150,000 Additional Funds line covers pre- and post-opening expenses, payroll, recruiting, bookkeeping, taxes, legal services, utilities and other operating capital. It includes employee salaries but excludes an owner salary. The FDD warns that more funds may be needed after the first three months.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 14–16; Item 7, pp. 23–29; Item 11, pp. 37 and 43–45.
Which fees continue after a Ziebart location opens?
The principal continuing charges are the Percentage Royalty, the Marketing Fund contribution and minimum product-purchase obligations. Gross Sales for the royalty and advertising calculations include the actual selling price of products and services but exclude sales tax paid to a government agency.
| Continuing obligation | Amount and basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage Royalty | 8% of Gross Sales; 5% on the product categories listed in Item 6 Note A | Friday after the sales week | Beginning in year 4, pay the Percentage Royalty or Minimum Royalty, whichever is greater. |
| Minimum Royalty | No fixed dollar amount disclosed | Annual calculation; unpaid minimum billed at year-end | Defined as 50% of the royalty on capped average sales of U.S. dealer locations operating more than three years. |
| Marketing Fund | 2% of total weekly Gross Sales, capped at $30,000 per year | Friday after the sales week | Item 6 says the contribution is subject to annual changes. |
| Minimum Product Purchases | 10% of Gross Sales in the specified protection, film and detailing categories | Measured at royalty year-end | A shortfall is invoiced at then-current product cost. |
| North American Liability Fund | $2 to $15 per rustproofing warranty | Friday after the sales week | Paid directly to NALF; Wisconsin has special warranty requirements. |
| Reminder Card Program | $1.10 for each first and second notice card | Friday after the sales week | Subject to annual changes. |
| Central Billing for National Fleet Accounts | 3% of the amount charged by the processing franchisee | Upon receipt of invoice | Applies when the central-billing arrangementis used. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–23. Percentage amounts are stated only on the disclosed bases; no annual sales estimate has been applied.
Item 8 estimates that purchases from Ziebart, designated suppliers, Approved Suppliers or sources meeting system specifications account for 60% to 64% of establishment cost and 36% to 40% of operating cost. These percentages describe sourcing exposure; they are not extra fees and must not be added to Item 7. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 31–33.
Which costs arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 contains several event-triggered charges that are not part of the opening total. Their practical effect depends on payment method, compliance, optional training, transfer, renewal and other circumstances.
Late Royalty charge
2% per month or the maximum permitted by law, whichever is less, when Royalty is late.
Audit Surcharge
Unreported Royalty, audit expenses and a 50% surcharge if an audit finds an understatement greater than 5%.
Credit Card Surcharge
1.5% when a franchisee chooses to pay by credit card; subject to annual review.
Supplier or Product Approval
$2,000 to $10,000 when a franchisee asks Ziebart to evaluate an unapproved supplier or product.
Field Training Expenses
$750 per day plus trainer airfare. Item 11 also discloses a $100 late-cancellation fee and reimbursement of nonrefundable airfare.
Renewal Franchise Fee
15% of the then-current fee charged to new franchisees, due when signing a new Franchise Agreement after the 10-year term.
Transfer Fee
$22,500 when a Ziebart location is transferred to a new franchisee.
Relocation
No relocation fee is charged, but site approval and the physical move, build-out and related third-party costs are not estimated.
Enforcement and Indemnification
Actual costs vary and may include administrative expenses, collection costs, court costs and attorneys’ fees.
Overdue-payment offset
Ziebart may apply a reimbursement otherwise owed to the franchisee against overdue Royalties or purchases.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 17–23; Item 11, pp. 44–45; Item 12, p. 45; Item 17, pp. 56–61.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Ziebart require?
Ziebart’s official franchise website currently lists $150,000 in Liquid Capital, $750,000 in Net Worth and a 720+ Credit Score. These are website screening criteria checked July 18, 2026; they are not stated as franchisee thresholds in the 2026 FDD.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or readily available funds. The $150,000 website threshold is not the same as the $450,100 to $924,000 Total Initial Investment.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities. The $750,000 screen is not a statement that this amount is available to spend.
- Credit Score
- The official page lists 720+; approval and financing terms remain separate decisions.
- Personal Guarantee
- Item 15 states that owners of the franchisee entity must sign the Personal Guarantee attached to the FDD.
Official supplemental source: Ziebart’s pricing and minimum-qualification page, checked July 18, 2026. Personal Guarantee source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 55.
The official pricing page shows a different, older Total Initial Investment range than the April 17, 2026 FDD, while the main official franchise page matches the FDD’s $450,100 to $924,000 range. This article therefore uses the 2026 FDD for investment figures and uses the pricing page only for its dated qualification disclosures.
Does Ziebart finance the initial investment?
The controlling financing disclosure is not clear enough to assume that Ziebart financing will be available. Item 10 states that Ziebart Corporation does not offer financing and does not guarantee a franchisee’s note, lease or other obligation. However, an Item 7 note says Ziebart may offer financing for part of a Start-up Package, and current official web pages describe financing assistance and possible in-house options.
Treat franchisor financing as unverified until Ziebart supplies written terms that reconcile Item 10 with Item 7 and the official website. A financing relationship is not guaranteed approval, and borrowed funds do not reduce the Total Initial Investment.
The official pricing page identifies FranFund and SBA-related financing as possible channels. FranFund’s official site describes SBA loans and retirement-rollover funding among its options. The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility tool; the SBA expressly states that directory placement is not an endorsement and does not ensure business success or loan approval.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 26, and Item 10, p. 36; official Ziebart franchise FAQ and sales-process pages checked July 18, 2026.
What costs are not fully resolved by the official range?
The largest unresolved variables are real estate, construction, shipping, post-three-month operating capital and future system upgrades. Item 7 provides a planning range, but it does not promise that a specific site or opening plan can be completed inside that range.
- Real estate ownership: land purchase and freestanding construction are outside the Item 7 estimate.
- Leasehold conditions: labor, materials, permits, inspection fees, plumbing access and landlord concessions can materially change the $80,000 to $300,000 range.
- Shipping: the franchisee is responsible for shipping inventory, equipment and décor, but the FDD does not state a separate shipping allowance.
- Owner compensation: Additional Funds include employee salaries but exclude an estimated salary for the owner.
- Working capital after month three: the FDD says more funds may be required if the location does not generate sufficient cash flow.
- Computer upgrades: iBart and Ziebart Resource Center software are currently provided without a software charge, but required hardware upgrades have no contractual frequency or cost cap.
- Multi-unit stores two and three: the disclosed multi-unit entry total omits their development and opening costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 15–16; Item 7, pp. 26–29; Item 11, pp. 40–42.
What should be verified before signing?
A buyer should convert the FDD ranges into written, site-specific quotes without replacing the official total with an unsupported “typical” budget. The following checks address the material uncertainties disclosed by Ziebart.
- Confirm that the April 17, 2026 FDD and all applicable state amendments remain current before any payment or signature.
- Obtain a landlord proposal and contractor estimate that separately identify Leasehold Improvements, tenant allowances, free rent, permits and utility work.
- Request a current Start-up Package quote showing inventory, equipment, décor, computer hardware, shipping and any unavailable or optional components.
- Ask for a written explanation of the Item 10 financing disclosure and any current third-party or franchisor financing terms.
- For a Multi-Unit Development Agreement, price each later location separately and review the Development Schedule and each $15,000 additional-location Initial Franchise Fee.
- For the veteran program, confirm eligibility, the $20,000 Deposit Fee credit and how that credit appears in the final Start-up Order.
- Confirm whether the official website’s Liquid Capital, Net Worth and Credit Score criteria have changed since July 18, 2026.
What is the practical cost takeaway?
The verified 2026 starting range is $450,100 to $924,000 for one standard Ziebart location. The $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component; premises, equipment, signage, inventory and the included $100,000 to $150,000 Additional Funds account for most of the capital requirement. After opening, the principal continuing obligations are the Percentage Royalty, the Marketing Fund and Minimum Product Purchases, with additional charges triggered by late payment, training, transfer, renewal, supplier review or default.
The key unresolved question is not the published franchise fee. It is whether the proposed site, build-out, shipping, financing structure and post-opening cash reserve can be documented within the applicable Item 7 range. Multi-unit buyers must also budget every later store separately because the disclosed multi-unit total covers only the development rights and first location.