How much does a Zaxbys franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states that opening one franchised Zaxbys Restaurant requires an estimated initial investment of $1,460,000 to $3,810,500. The range includes the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee, construction and sitework, equipment, the Technology System, signage, opening inventory, training travel, pre-opening payroll, and Additional Funds for the first three months. It is a per-Restaurant range, not the amount of cash paid only to Zaxby’s SPE Franchisor LLC.
One Zaxbys Restaurant under the FDD issued April 24, 2026. The franchisor-or-affiliate portion identified on the cover is $40,200 to $45,000; most of the Item 7 range is paid to landlords, government authorities, professionals, vendors, employees, utilities, insurers, and other third parties.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Zaxby’s SPE Franchisor LLC. Document: 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 24, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. The FDD supplies one Item 7 range for a Zaxbys Restaurant and a separate Development Fee range for a multi-unit Development Agreement; it does not publish a separate complete Item 7 total for a Non-Traditional Outlet. Information was checked July 21, 2026.
The franchisor’s official U.S. franchise information still displays an older 2025 investment minimum. This article uses the later 2026 FDD figures. The FTC franchise buyer guide explains why Items 5 through 7 should be read together.
FDD references: 2026 FDD cover, p. i; Item 5, pp. 8–11; Item 6, pp. 11–17; Item 7, pp. 17–21.
The official franchise website cites a 2025 FDD and a $1,445,000 minimum, while the verified 2026 FDD raises the low end to $1,460,000. Use the 2026 Item 7 range for current cost analysis, but treat the website’s $1,000,000 net-worth and greater-than-$500,000 liquid-assets thresholds as separate, date-stamped supplemental requirements rather than components of Item 7.
What is included in the $1.46 million to $3.81 million range?
The 2026 Item 7 range covers the costs required to develop and start one Restaurant, including three months of Additional Funds. The largest disclosed ranges are Building, Sitework, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment Package, Technology System, Signage, and Permits and Licenses.
Floating bars show each category’s disclosed low and high amount on a common $0 to $1.3 million scale. These categories are parts of the full Item 7 estimate, not separate franchise formats.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20. Exact ranges are official FDD facts; bar positions are proportional renderings.
Premises, development, and professional costs
These amounts are generally paid as the lease is signed or as the project incurs them. The official range assumes leasing rather than purchasing the real estate, but the FDD contains conflicting wording about whether the landlord pays leasehold-improvement costs; that issue is addressed below.
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | When or how paid |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $35,000 | Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed |
| Lease Deposit and Payment | $10,000–$19,000 | At lease signing |
| Utility Deposits | $0–$9,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Building | $640,000–$1,300,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Sitework | $150,000–$990,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Architect & Engineer | $45,000–$110,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Permits and Licenses | $2,000–$150,000 | As incurred; paid to government authorities |
| Accounting and Legal Fees | $500–$25,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Insurance | $1,000–$17,000 | As arranged and incurred |
Restaurant systems, fixtures, and opening stock
The Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment Package includes furniture, décor, refrigeration, cooking equipment, shelving, sinks, smallwares, delivery, and installation. The Technology System includes specified hardware, point-of-sale equipment, drive-thru equipment, digital menu boards, kiosks, software, network connections, and initial maintenance or support charges.
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | Timing |
|---|---|---|
| Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment Package | $445,000–$497,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Technology System | $75,000–$217,500 | Lump sum upon installation |
| Signage | $23,000–$245,000 | As incurred |
| Printing/Business Supplies | $300–$1,000 | As arranged and incurred |
| Initial Inventory | $5,000–$22,000 | Before opening |
| Uniforms | $1,500–$5,000 | As arranged and incurred |
Opening-period and working-capital costs
Additional Funds are included inside the official total; they should not be added again. The FDD describes the category as anticipated working capital for the first three months and does not state that owner compensation is included.
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Marketing Contribution | $5,200–$10,000 | Paid at least five days before opening; used under the initial marketing plan |
| Training Expenses | $10,000–$25,000 | Travel, meals, lodging, and similar expenses for four attendees |
| Pre-Opening Payroll | $10,000–$37,000 | Staff training, meetings, cleaning, stocking, and opening preparation |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $1,000–$96,000 | Anticipated working capital during the first three months |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $1,460,000–$3,810,500 | Official per-Restaurant total |
Source for all three tables: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–21.
What does the official range leave unresolved about the site?
The range does not settle the buyer’s actual real-estate structure. It assumes a lease rather than a land purchase, while the FDD separately estimates unimproved real estate at $400,000 to $1,800,000 if the franchisee buys instead of leases. That land-purchase amount is not included in the Item 7 total.
Leasehold-improvement wording needs written clarification
Item 7 Note 2 says the table assumes the landlord will pay necessary leasehold improvements. Item 7 Note 20 says the total assumes the landlord will not pay those costs. Notes 4 and 5 also say Building and Sitework can be removed from the investment if the landlord pays them. Because these statements conflict, a buyer should not calculate a revised total by simply subtracting category endpoints.
New ground-up construction or improvements to an existing freestanding building.
Ground-up sitework or conversion-related site improvements.
Explicit uncertainty: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Notes 2, 4, 5, and 20, pp. 18–21.
Before relying on the low end, obtain a written project budget that identifies who pays for the building shell, sitework, leasehold improvements, utility work, permitting, signage, and landlord-required deposits. The 2026 FDD says actual investment varies with location, real-estate costs, Restaurant size, seating capacity, financing, and other local factors.
Item 7 describes an improved Restaurant space of approximately 1,100 to 3,500 square feet and a typical lot of 0.72 to 1.5 acres. A standard Restaurant must have drive-thru capability, while the FDD says a Non-Traditional location does not. Zaxbys has also publicly described flexible footprints, including drive-thru-only and non-traditional formats, but the 2026 FDD does not provide separate complete investment ranges for those formats. The brand’s 2026 format announcement therefore should not be used as a substitute for a deal-specific Item 7 disclosure.
When is the money paid?
The capital is not paid in one transaction. Contract fees come first, lease and development payments follow, vendor costs are paid through construction, opening costs arrive near launch, and recurring fees begin after sales start.
- Receive the current FDD before signing or paying. The FDD states that it must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC’s FDD review guidance explains the same timing rule.
- Pay the Initial Franchise Fee at contract signing. The standard $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee is due when the Franchise Agreement is executed. A multi-unit developer pays the Development Fee when the Development Agreement is executed, with remaining franchise-fee balances due as individual Franchise Agreements are signed.
- Fund lease, design, permitting, and construction obligations. The lease deposit is due at lease signing. Building, Sitework, Architect & Engineer, permits, professional fees, insurance, and other vendor costs are paid as arranged or incurred.
- Install systems and prepare the Restaurant. The Technology System is due upon installation. Initial Inventory is paid before opening; training travel, uniforms, business supplies, and Pre-Opening Payroll are funded as incurred.
- Pay the Initial Marketing Contribution before opening. The $5,200 to $10,000 contribution is due at least five days before opening and is spent under the approved initial marketing plan. The current amount is $5,200 in an area with an established Co-op and $10,000 where no Co-op is established.
- Begin recurring withdrawals after opening. Royalty, weekly marketing contributions, the Technology Services Fee, and Zax Rewardz charges are generally collected on the same weekly schedule, currently each Monday for the preceding week. The FDD currently requires electronic debit from the designated bank account.
The Initial Franchise Fee is generally earned when received. For a Restaurant not developed under a Development Agreement, the FDD permits a limited 50% refund if commercially reasonable site-search efforts do not produce an acceptable site and the parties sign the required termination and release. The remaining 50% is retained, and that refund is unavailable for a Restaurant developed under a Development Agreement.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover, p. i; Item 5, pp. 8–11; Item 6, pp. 11–16; Item 7, pp. 17–21.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charges are the 6% Royalty, weekly marketing contributions, a per-transaction Technology Services Fee, Zax Rewardz funding, and required third-party technology contracts. Percentage fees use Gross Sales or a narrower transaction basis exactly as stated in the FDD; they should not be converted into annual dollars without actual Restaurant sales data.
Bars use a 0% to 6% scale. National and local marketing are components of the combined Weekly Marketing Contributions and should not be added mechanically above the stated combined cap.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–12. The future 2.5% National Marketing rate is an official scheduled change, not a projection.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Current timing and interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 6% of Gross Sales | Weekly; currently Monday for the preceding week |
| Weekly Marketing Contributions | Up to 4% of Gross Sales | Includes National Marketing plus Co-op or Multi-DMA Advertising; a Co-op may vote above its 3% component cap |
| National Marketing Contribution | 2.0%, then 2.5% | 2.0% currently; scheduled to become 2.5% on December 28, 2026; franchisor cap is 3.5% |
| Co-op Marketing or Multi-DMA Advertising Contribution | Up to 3% | Weekly, with rate set by the Co-op, franchisor, or designated affiliate |
| Technology Services Fee | Currently $0.06 per transaction | Weekly; applies to transactions at or through the Restaurant, including digital sales. Until December 27, 2026, a first partial year uses the lesser of $0.06 per transaction or 0.33% of Gross Sales at fiscal year-end |
| Zax Rewardz Program | Currently $0.075 per $1 | Charged on Gross Sales collected from a Zax Rewardz member; collected on the Royalty schedule |
- Gross Sales
- Broadly includes receipts from products, services, orders, and other business conducted at or through the Restaurant, less sales taxes collected and transmitted to taxing authorities.
- Combined marketing cap
- The National Marketing and Co-op or Multi-DMA components sit inside the weekly marketing total; the FDD says the total will not exceed 4% unless Co-op members vote to contribute more than 3% to the Co-op.
- Technology Services Fee basis
- A per-transaction charge, not a percentage of all Gross Sales after the temporary first-partial-year comparison ends.
- Financing
- Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee leases or other obligations.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–17; Item 10, p. 26.
What technology costs sit beyond the initial system purchase?
The $75,000 to $217,500 Technology System range includes initial hardware, software, installation, minimal training, and specified first-year services, but Item 11 also lists required ongoing third-party software, maintenance, support, payment, and processing contracts. Many currently have only one approved vendor. Item 8 estimates that purchases from designated sources, approved sources, or under system specifications represent approximately 75% of a Restaurant's initial and ongoing operating purchases.
| Required technology contract | Current disclosed fee | Approved vendors |
|---|---|---|
| POS SaaS, upgrades, maintenance, and support | $4,000–$5,000/year | One |
| Kitchen display system software | $1,500/year | One |
| Exterior digital menu board software | $2,160/year | One |
| Hardware support maintenance | $2,900–$3,210/year | One |
| Drive-thru timer maintenance | $1,548/year | One |
| Network Infrastructure Maintenance | $3,500/year | Two |
| Inventory management license and support | $1,680/year + $150 initial | One |
| Managed firewall and PCI compliance | $2,500/year | Two |
| Headset Software | $75/month | One |
| Transaction-related technology cost | Current disclosed fee | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| POS foreign-order transaction fees | $360/year + $0.10 | Per transaction in addition to the annual amount |
| Payment processing/gateway fees | $1,620/year + 2.5% + $0.0095 | Processing charge per transaction |
| Gateway fee | $0.0015 | Per transaction |
The Technology Services Fee in Item 6 does not replace the third-party contracts in Item 11. A buyer should model both layers and verify the current vendor price sheet, because the FDD allows required licenses, service contracts, approved suppliers, upgrades, and support requirements to change.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17 and 19; Item 11, pp. 34–36.
How do development agreements and discounts change the upfront fee?
A multi-unit Development Agreement adds a separate Development Fee of $52,500 to $175,000 for a commitment of three to ten Restaurants. That fee excludes the cost of developing each Restaurant, and each unit still carries the per-Restaurant Item 7 range of $1,460,000 to $3,810,500.
| Arrangement | Disclosed amount | Cost effect |
|---|---|---|
| Development Fee | $52,500–$175,000 | Paid when the Development Agreement is signed; assumes three to ten Restaurants; credited toward Initial Franchise Fees and nonrefundable |
| Commitment above ten Restaurants | +$17,500 per Restaurant | Increases the Development Fee |
| Remaining Initial Franchise Fee | $17,500 per Restaurant | Generally due when each individual Franchise Agreement is signed, subject to the initial-unit signing structure described in Item 5 |
| VetFran discount | $7,000 reduction | 20% off the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee for a qualifying veteran applicant or qualifying owner with at least a 25% interest; limited to the first five new Restaurants |
Development Incentive Programs are conditional
The New Restaurant Opening Incentive Program can refund the Initial Franchise Fee at opening and reduce Royalty to 2% in year one and 4% in year two, but its Real Estate Committee approval deadline was June 30, 2025. As of July 21, 2026, it is relevant only to a Restaurant that already satisfied the eligibility deadlines and remains on schedule to open by December 31, 2026.
The Select Market Incentive Program can refund the Initial Franchise Fee at opening and reduce Royalty to 0% in year one and 3% in year two for qualifying Restaurants opened by December 31, 2028 in eligible non-Core Markets or specified Florida market areas. Standard 6% Royalty applies after the incentive periods. Eligibility depends on the signed addendum, location, deadlines, compliance, and other FDD conditions.
Under the VetFran Program, the $7,000 reduction can be recaptured if the discounted Restaurant is transferred or the Franchise Agreement is terminated before the first anniversary. The VetFran program information provides program context; the controlling Zaxbys discount terms are in the 2026 FDD and VetFran Addendum.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 8–11; Item 6, pp. 11–12; Item 7, p. 21.
Which fees apply only when an event occurs?
Several charges are not part of every opening or every operating week. They are triggered by site proximity, extra inspections, additional training, transfer, renewal, late payment, audit findings, relocation, or requests outside the standard agreement.
Possible when a proposed Restaurant is within five miles of an existing Zaxbys Restaurant and the existing operator requests a study and pays a matching fee. The applicant receives a full refund below 8% predicted impact, a 50% refund at 8% to 12%, and no refund above 12%.
Applies when more than two pre-opening inspections are required or specified reinspection triggers occur.
Item 5 applies the fee to initial training attendees beyond four; Item 6 applies the current fee to specified replacement managers or operators. Additional or remedial on-site training can also require reimbursement of actual employee or agent travel and living expenses.
Applies per Restaurant if the franchisor permits the franchisee to train its own managers under a separate agreement.
Reasonable inspection cost plus actual testing, personnel, and travel costs, whether or not the requested item or supplier is approved.
Due before a transfer; the fee may be reduced for a transfer that does not change control.
Due before transferring an interest in the entity or Development Agreement.
Due upon a possible renewal after the initial 10-year term, alongside required compliance, possible remodeling, training, release, and a then-current Franchise Agreement.
$100 per week for late Royalty payments, $25 per week for marketing-related fees, plus 18% annual interest or the highest lawful rate.
May apply after a 3% or greater reporting discrepancy, late reports, requested agreement documents, indemnified claims, or enforcement activity.
Reasonable registration fee plus the franchisee’s representatives’ travel and living expenses for required meetings.
During a Relocation Event, substitute Royalty and Marketing Fees use the greater of specified historic annual or 12-month amounts under Item 6.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9–11; Item 6, pp. 13–15; Item 17, pp. 47–50.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Zaxbys require?
The 2026 FDD does not state a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum in Items 5 through 7. The official franchise website, checked July 21, 2026, states that a one-store opportunity requires collective net worth of at least $1,000,000 and liquid assets greater than $500,000, together with background checks and willingness to provide required personal guarantees.
These thresholds are not the same as the $1,460,000 to $3,810,500 Estimated Initial Investment. Net worth includes assets less liabilities; liquid assets are funds or assets that can be converted to cash; neither figure is an Item 7 project budget. The official site also states that Zaxbys does not finance the venture, consistent with Item 10.
Because the financial thresholds appear on the current website while its investment range still cites the 2025 FDD, obtain the latest written qualification sheet from Zaxby’s SPE Franchisor LLC and confirm whether multi-unit commitments require higher liquidity, net worth, non-borrowed funds, or guarantor capacity.
Third-party financing may still be available, but the franchisor does not offer it, guarantee it, or guarantee the lease. Approval will depend on the lender’s credit, collateral, equity, and underwriting standards rather than the FDD range alone.
Sources: official Zaxbys franchise information checked July 21, 2026; 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 26 and Item 7, p. 21.
What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing capital?
The defensible starting point is the 2026 per-Restaurant range of $1,460,000 to $3,810,500. The most important unresolved variables are site control, landlord participation, local permits, Building and Sitework scope, Technology System options, signage, required vendor contracts, and the amount of working capital actually needed beyond the three-month FDD estimate.
- Confirm the applicable format. Ask whether the proposed deal is a standard Restaurant, conversion, drive-thru-only configuration, Non-Traditional Outlet, or another footprint, and request the cost disclosure that applies to that exact structure.
- Reconcile the leasehold-improvement conflict. Obtain written confirmation of whether the landlord or franchisee funds Building, Sitework, and other leasehold improvements.
- Separate cash categories. Keep Initial Franchise Fee, Development Fee, total project investment, lender equity, liquid assets, net worth, and Additional Funds as distinct figures.
- Update vendor pricing. Request current quotes for equipment, Technology System components, software, payment processing, signage, insurance, inventory, and construction.
- Test every incentive condition. Verify market eligibility, addendum execution, approval dates, opening deadlines, good-standing requirements, and any refund or clawback provision.
- Review renewal and transfer costs. Budget for the percentage-based fees and possible remodeling, training, legal, supplier, and technology obligations attached to those events.
- Check state filing status. Registration does not validate the economics, but a state filing portal can help confirm the current disclosure record. The California DFPI franchise resources explain how a state registration system handles FDD filings.
- Use the complete current FDD. The FTC Franchise Rule requires a 23-item disclosure document; cost review should include the agreements and footnotes, not only the Item 7 total.
Bottom line: the official investment range is broad because real estate and development dominate the budget, while the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee is a relatively small part of total capital. Recurring Royalty, marketing, loyalty, technology, and required-vendor charges continue after opening, and event-triggered fees can arise at transfer, renewal, relocation, default, audit, training, or supplier approval. The buyer’s final capital plan should therefore reconcile the 2026 FDD with a site-specific construction budget, current vendor quotes, lender requirements, and written clarification of the Item 7 leasehold assumptions.