How much does a Young Rembrandts franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document discloses three U.S. capital paths. A standard Gold Franchise requires an estimated initial investment of $51,650 to $60,100. A Silver Franchise, available only in limited areas, requires $46,650 to $55,100. A Territory Development Agreement covering the first Gold Franchise plus one additional franchise reservation is disclosed at $71,400 to $79,850.
Data basis: Young Rembrandts Franchise, Inc.; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 25, 2026; Gold Franchise, limited-area Silver Franchise, and Territory Development Agreement; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 19, 2026. Core cost citations are 2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 4-5; Item 6, pp. 5-8; and Item 7, pp. 9-12. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on the official franchise-controlled website, so FDD references in this article are unlinked. The brand continues to present U.S. opportunities on its official U.S. franchise information page.
The applicable range depends on the contract. Silver is limited-area, Gold is the standard offer, and the developer example includes a Gold Franchise plus one additional development reservation. The FDD cover identifies $44,500, $39,500, and $64,250, respectively, as amounts included in these totals that are payable to the franchisor or its affiliate, subject to state-specific payment deferrals. Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, pp. 9-12.
Why do the Gold, Silver, and developer totals differ?
The non-fee Item 7 categories are the same for Gold and Silver. The $5,000 difference between their total ranges comes from the Initial Franchise Fee: $44,500 for Gold versus $39,500 for Silver. The developer total adds a Territory Development Fee to the cost of the first Gold Franchise.
The full track represents $0 to $85,000. Each colored segment shows the disclosed low-to-high range, with exact endpoints printed below.
Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, pp. 9-12. The developer range assumes the first Gold Franchise plus one additional franchise reservation; it is not a generic multi-unit ceiling.
The home-based model removes a premises budget from Item 7
Young Rembrandts states that no office lease is required and anticipates operation from the franchisee's home. Classes are conducted at schools, day care centers, park districts, libraries, community centers, or other approved venues. Consequently, Item 7 includes no commercial rent, real-estate purchase, leasehold-improvement, construction, studio-fixture, or storefront-signage allowance. The official franchise cost and home-based model FAQs also describe the opportunity as home-based.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 1, pp. 1-3; Item 7, p. 12; Item 11, p. 17.
What does the initial investment include?
For both Gold and Silver, Item 7 includes the Initial Franchise Fee, required office equipment and computer systems, training travel, opening professional and registration costs, initial teaching supplies, the Marketing Starter Kit, liability insurance, and Additional Funds for the first three months. The franchise fee changes by format; the other disclosed ranges are the same.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Format or payee context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | Gold $44,500 Silver $39,500 |
At signing under the base agreement | Paid to Young Rembrandts Franchise, Inc.; state deferrals may override timing. |
| Office Equipment and Computer System | $1,800-$3,600 | Software agreement signing and as suppliers require | Includes specified hardware/software and the first two months of Active Network fees. |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $1,200-$2,000 | During training | Estimate is based on one person attending training in Elgin, Illinois. |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $500-$2,000 | As incurred | Legal, accounting, dedicated telephone, utilities, licenses, certifications, and registrations. |
| Initial Inventory of Art and Teaching Supplies | $1,000-$1,500 | Before opening | Includes supplies for four classes of 12 students each and cleaning supplies. |
| Initial Inventory of Marketing and Promotional Materials | $900-$1,000 | Before opening | Marketing Starter Kit purchased from the designated supplier. |
| Liability Insurance | $750-$2,000 | Before opening | Estimate is for a one-year premium; coverage and local venue requirements can change cost, and optional sexual-molestation coverage would increase it. |
| Additional Funds - First 3 Months | $1,000-$3,500 | As incurred | Operating costs, supplies, transportation, utilities, minimum royalties, and specified services. |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 9-12. The official totals are $51,650-$60,100 for Gold and $46,650-$55,100 for Silver.
Additional Funds are already inside the Item 7 total. Do not add the $1,000-$3,500 range a second time. The low estimate includes no employee compensation; the high estimate includes two part-time instructors and workers' compensation insurance for the first three months. Neither end includes an owner draw or owner salary, and personal living expenses are outside Item 7. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, p. 12.
Can the Initial Franchise Fee be reduced or refunded?
A qualifying veteran or educator receives a 10% discount on the Initial Franchise Fee, not on the entire Item 7 investment. An existing franchisee purchasing an additional franchise pays a $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee. The fee is otherwise nonrefundable, except when the franchisor terminates the agreement because the buyer failed to complete Initial Training satisfactorily: the disclosed refund is the fee paid less the franchisor's related expenses, with those expenses capped at 70% of the fee, and it requires a signed release. Source: 2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 4-5.
Which required technology costs continue beyond the opening estimate?
Item 7 captures only part of the technology commitment. Item 8 and Item 11 identify required or specified systems that can continue after opening.
When is the money paid?
Under the base 2026 agreements, the Initial Franchise Fee and any Territory Development Fee are payable at signing. Other Item 7 costs are paid during setup, training, before opening, or during the first three operating months. State-specific addenda can materially defer payments owed to the franchisor.
Source: 2026 FDD Items 5-7, pp. 4-12; Item 11, pp. 17-21. The brand's official franchise opening sequence separately confirms that the FDD is provided during the review process and identifies computer, software, insurance, marketing materials, training travel, and art supplies as opening expenses.
The base “pay at signing” rule does not apply uniformly. The 2026 state addenda defer initial franchise or development payments in Illinois until initial obligations are met and the franchisee has commenced business; in Minnesota until pre-opening obligations are fulfilled and the franchise is open; in South Dakota until the franchise is operational; and in Virginia until the franchisor completes its pre-opening obligations. Source: 2026 FDD PDF pp. 185-188, 191-195, and 202-206. The Minnesota franchise registration and document lookup is an official state resource for checking filing status and documents.
Which fees continue after opening?
The main continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, National Marketing Fee, Technology Fee, Technology Fund Fee, required software costs, and the Annual Conference fee. Several of these include minimum payments, so the amount due is not determined only by Gross Revenues.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 10% on the first $75,000 of Gross Revenues and 8% above $75,000 each Sept. 1-Aug. 31 year | 10th day monthly for the preceding month | Format- and contract-year minimums apply. |
| National Marketing Fee | Currently 1% of Gross Revenues; may be up to 2%; minimum $35 monthly | 10th day monthly | Begins when the business opens; minimum begins under the FDD timing rule. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $250 per year; may be up to $500 | Upon billing | Covers access to and development of specified technology tools. |
| Technology Fund Fee | Currently 1% of Gross Revenues; minimum $25 monthly | 10th day monthly | The FDD requires 60 days' notice before an increase or modification. |
| Annual Conference Fee | Up to $1,200 per person; 2026 estimate $600-$800 per person | Before conference | Attendance is required; the fee remains due for nonattendance if the conference is held. |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 5-8. Gross Revenues means total receipts for services rendered, less applicable sales, use, or service taxes. Item 6 states that fees payable to the franchisor are generally nonrefundable and paid by electronic funds transfer. If Gross Revenues are not reported by the tenth day, the franchisor may withdraw an estimated amount based on the most recent reported month or a reasonably determined higher amount, subject to later reconciliation.
Bars compare the disclosed monthly floor, not an estimate of the percentage-based royalty.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, p. 5. Scale: $0-$500 per month. The percentage formula can produce a higher amount; the chart shows only the mandatory minimum.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 contains substantial event-triggered obligations that are outside the normal Item 7 opening range. Their relevance depends on payment behavior, ownership changes, additional training, compliance, supplier requests, or the Territory Development Agreement.
- Late payment: 10% of the late amount or $100 per occurrence, whichever is greater, plus the highest legal rate or 1.5% interest when payment is more than 10 days late.
- Transfer: $10,000 when sold to an existing Young Rembrandts franchisee or $20,000 when sold to a new franchisee, plus actual broker fees if applicable. If the intended buyer completes training but the sale fails because of the seller, the seller also owes the current Additional Training Fee.
- Renewal: $8,000 when renewal agreements are signed. Item 17 also requires upgrades as a condition of renewal, but the FDD does not state an upgrade amount.
- Additional Initial Training: currently $3,000 per trainee, up to $4,000, for more than two trainees or a second trainee attending more than two years after signing; attendee travel, room, board, and compensation are additional.
- Audit: if Royalty Fees are underpaid by more than 3%, three times the amount due plus audit costs and 1.5% monthly interest; smaller deficiencies still require the underpayment, audit costs, and interest.
- Cross Territory Fine: $200 per class conducted in another franchisee's territory under the stated circumstances.
- Supplier Approval Fee: the franchisor's testing and evaluation costs when a franchisee requests approval of a nonapproved supplier.
- Credit-card payment to the franchisor: currently 3.5% plus $0.25 per transaction when credit-card payment is accepted.
- Insufficient funds: $200 per occurrence.
- Insurance reimbursement, document preparation, indemnification, and attorneys' fees: actual costs or damages when the contractual trigger occurs.
- National Accounts Administrative Fee: costs incurred for administration, billing, or collection; the franchisor states it is not currently charging this fee.
- Developer extension: $500 before an approved extension of the Development Schedule; enforcement costs and attorneys' fees vary by circumstance.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 6-8; Territory Development Agreement fee summary, p. 8; Item 17, pp. 29-33.
The 10-year Franchise Agreement does not freeze the buyer's long-term cost structure. Renewal requires payment of the $8,000 Renewal Fee, execution of then-current agreements, and required upgrades. Technology systems and supplier specifications may also be updated during the term. The FDD does not quantify future upgrade costs. Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 20-21; Item 17, pp. 29-31.
What financial qualifications and financing are disclosed?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital requirement, Net Worth requirement, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. Item 10 also states that Young Rembrandts Franchise, Inc. offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee purchases, leases, contracts, or other obligations.
If an entity buys the franchise, all owners must sign a Personal Guaranty applying the Franchise Agreement obligations to them. A lender's underwriting requirements would be separate from the franchisor's disclosed qualifications. Source: 2026 FDD Item 1, p. 1; Item 10, p. 16.
- Match the contract to the capital range. Confirm whether the offer is Gold, limited-area Silver, or a Territory Development Agreement.
- Separate cash timing from total investment. State addenda may defer fees owed to the franchisor but do not remove third-party setup costs.
- Confirm working-capital assumptions. Determine whether the first three months will use no paid instructors, two part-time instructors, or another staffing plan.
- Price undisclosed required services. Microsoft 365 and future system upgrades are required or permitted, but their future amounts are not stated in the FDD.
- Request the most recent disclosure before payment. The FTC states that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise explains the disclosure period and how Items 5, 6, and 7 should be reviewed. The FTC Franchise Rule page identifies the federal disclosure framework.
Which cost discrepancies should be resolved before signing?
Two current discrepancies are material to the capital decision: the official website's public investment range does not match the 2026 FDD, and the Territory Development Fee footnote conflicts with the fee table and official developer total.
The 2026 FDD should control the working cost comparison
As checked July 19, 2026, the official franchise investment page displays $51,375 to $59,325 for a single U.S. franchise. The March 25, 2026 FDD instead discloses $51,650 to $60,100 for the standard Gold Franchise. Because Item 7 is the current governing disclosure for the offer reviewed here, the article uses the FDD range and treats the public-page amount as an unresolved website mismatch.
The Territory Development Fee has a separate internal inconsistency. Item 5 and the Item 7 developer table state $19,750 per additional reserved franchise. Item 7 footnote 9 says $19,500. The official developer total reconciles only with $19,750: $51,650 + $19,750 = $71,400 and $60,100 + $19,750 = $79,850. Those additions are derived calculations, not separate franchisor estimates. A developer should obtain written confirmation of the fee and have any development schedule priced unit by unit.
What capital conclusion follows from the verified disclosures?
A prospective U.S. buyer should plan around the applicable 2026 Item 7 range, not the Initial Franchise Fee alone: $51,650-$60,100 for Gold, $46,650-$55,100 for an authorized Silver territory, or $71,400-$79,850 for the disclosed developer example. The primary range drivers are the franchise or development contract, computer and software setup, training travel, professional opening costs, supplies, insurance, and the first three months of Additional Funds. After opening, percentage fees, minimum monthly royalties, technology obligations, required third-party systems, and event-triggered charges continue outside the initial-investment total.
- Not resolved by Item 7: owner salary or draw, personal living expenses, Microsoft 365 pricing, future required upgrades, and buyer-specific financing costs.
- Not a separate add-on: Additional Funds are already included in each Gold and Silver Item 7 total.
- Not interchangeable: Gold, Silver, and developer ranges arise from different territory and agreement structures.