How much does a WSI franchise cost?
These are the official 2026 Item 7 ranges for the three territory formats offered under the U.S. FDD. They are not interchangeable, and none includes the cost of leased premises or financing.
Source: 2026 WSI FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. The WSI licensing and fees page confirms the three Initial Franchise Fee levels but is not a substitute for Item 7.
The three ranges apply to distinct territory formats under the April 30, 2026 U.S. offer. Each includes the applicable Initial Franchise Fee, pre-opening setup, three months of required marketing, and Additional Funds, but excludes real estate and financing costs.
- Legal franchisor
- National Internet Corporation, a Delaware corporation doing business as WSI
- FDD issuance date
- April 30, 2026
- Formats analyzed
- Regional Territory Franchise, National Territory Franchise, International Territory Franchise
- Cost disclosures used
- Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; exact page references appear beside the relevant figures
- Public FDD status
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked
- Information checked
- July 16, 2026
How to read the headline amount: the disclosed total is a startup range, not a statement that the buyer must hand one check to the franchisor. A large portion is the entry fee paid under the contracts, while the remainder is spread among travel providers, software and equipment vendors, government agencies, professional advisers, insurers, networking organizations, and marketing suppliers. The low endpoint should not be treated as a universal cash requirement because several categories depend on what the buyer already owns and whether travel or leased premises are needed.
The total also answers a different question from financial qualification. It describes estimated business expenditures under specified assumptions. It does not disclose how much household liquidity should remain after those expenditures, what a lender may require as an equity contribution, or whether the candidate may use borrowed money for particular payments. Those questions must be resolved separately because the current disclosure contains no numeric approval threshold.
Why do the three investment ranges differ?
The 2026 disclosure uses one common range for costs beyond the entry fee across all three formats. The difference in total investment is therefore driven entirely by the territory-level fee rather than different assumptions for equipment, marketing, travel, or working capital.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by territory format
Each bar shows the official low and high estimate on a common $0 to $110,000 scale.
Interpretation: all three ranges have the same width because the non-fee assumptions are identical. Source: 2026 WSI FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. Bar positions are a derived display of the official ranges.
The territory license changes rights and fee—not the startup cost assumptions
Regional, National, and International rights have different entry fees, while the remaining Item 7 categories use one common cost range.
All territories are non-exclusive. See the official territory licensing options and 2026 disclosure, Items 1 and 12.
What is included in the WSI Estimated Initial Investment?
The disclosed total includes the entry fee plus travel, equipment, setup, professional, insurance, networking, marketing, and three-month working-capital estimates. The table does not assign a real-estate amount because a WSI Business may be home-based or operated from leased premises.
Payments tied to training and pre-opening setup
These six categories are paid at contract signing, before opening, or as training travel is incurred.
| Expenditure | 2026 estimate | When due | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $64,700–$79,700 | 25% with Franchise Application Agreement; 75% with Franchise Agreement | National Internet Corporation |
| Travel and Related Expenses During Training | $0–$4,000 | As incurred | Airlines, hotels, restaurants |
| Computer and Related Equipment | $0–$7,600 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Office Supplies and Misc. | $200–$500 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Permits and Licenses | $500 | Before opening | Government agencies |
| Telephone/Internet Installation | $100–$200 | Before opening | Service providers |
Marketing, professional setup, and first-three-month reserves
These five categories cover professional setup, required local promotion, networking, insurance, and the FDD’s three-month Additional Funds allowance.
| Expenditure | 2026 estimate | Timing or basis | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marketing and Advertising | $6,000 | $2,000 per month for the first three months | Approved local activity |
| Legal and Accounting | $1,000–$2,000 | As incurred | Paid to professional advisers |
| Insurance | $400–$600 | Before opening | Coverage must meet system requirements |
| Business Networking Membership | $1,500–$3,000 | Before or upon opening | BNI or another approved group |
| Additional Funds—3 Months | $1,500–$3,000 | As incurred | Other initial operating expenses |
Source for both tables: Item 7, pp. 11–13. Additional Funds are already included in the official total and must not be added again.
The investment table lists $0 to $7,600 for Computer and Related Equipment because the low end assumes the buyer already owns the necessary hardware and software. Item 11 separately estimates $1,000 to $4,000 for the computer system and equipment. The scopes are not identical, so the narrower Item 11 figure should not replace the broader line in the total investment calculation. Source: Item 7, pp. 11–13 and Item 11, p. 22.
The public licensing page describes a recommended $15,000 startup budget for initial marketing and operating expenses. The formal amount beyond the entry fee is a wider $11,200 to $27,400, excluding real estate. Use the disclosed range for the investment contract and treat the website amount as a separate recommendation checked July 16, 2026.
- Real estate is excluded. Most franchisees operate from home, but a buyer who leases premises must budget separately because the document gives no rent, deposit, furnishing, or buildout estimate.
- Financing costs are excluded. The total expressly excludes the cost of any borrowing used to establish the franchise.
- Owner compensation is not defined. Note 8 does not state that the $1,500 to $3,000 Additional Funds estimate includes owner pay, a draw, or personal living expenses.
- Software subscriptions can continue outside the equipment range. It says the franchisee is responsible for ongoing subscriptions chosen for accounting, AI productivity, and other business software.
The endpoints are built from assumptions, not from a published “typical” case. At the low end, the buyer may already own suitable computer hardware and software, may have little or no travel expense, and may keep professional or networking costs near the lower estimates. At the high end, the buyer may purchase a fuller equipment package, incur travel and lodging, and pay the upper disclosed amounts for advisers, insurance, and membership. The document does not identify how many new franchisees actually landed at either endpoint.
That matters because selecting a convenient midpoint would create a number the franchisor did not publish. It would also hide the fact that several categories move independently. A buyer who works from home can still reach the upper end because of equipment or travel, while a buyer who already owns technology may incur a separate premises cost that sits outside the table. The formal range should therefore remain intact until the candidate has written quotes for the categories that apply to the planned setup.
The three-month reserve is particularly narrow in scope. It covers business expenses not listed elsewhere in the table, but the disclosure does not say it funds personal living needs or a full operating cushion for every circumstance. Customer payment terms, the season in which operations begin, and other startup conditions can change the amount of cash needed. The franchisor expressly states that additional expenses may occur.
When does a WSI franchisee pay the startup costs?
The entry fee is split into two contractual installments, while most other startup costs are paid to third parties before opening or during the first three months. The disclosure cover requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before the buyer signs a binding agreement or pays National Internet Corporation or an affiliate, and Item 11 estimates approximately 60 to 90 days from signing the Franchise Agreement to starting operations.
- Submit the Franchise Application Agreement. Pay 25% of the selected Initial Franchise Fee.
- Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the remaining 75% in a lump sum.
- Prepare for Initial Training. Pay travel and related expenses as incurred; more than two trainees can trigger additional training charges.
- Complete pre-opening setup. Pay equipment, office supplies, licenses, internet installation, insurance, professional fees, and networking membership according to third-party arrangements.
- Open and fund the first three months. The startup range includes $6,000 of required local marketing and $1,500 to $3,000 of Additional Funds.
- Start the monthly fee cycle after training. The Management Services Fee is due on the 15th by ACH; the Technology Tool Set, Branding Fee, and Education Fee are due on the same monthly due date.
The official Discovery process describes application, agreement, training, and opening in general terms. The payment amounts and refund rules above come from the current disclosure.
What fees continue after a WSI franchise opens?
The current offer does not disclose a percentage-of-sales royalty. Instead, the main continuing system charge is a fixed Management Services Fee that rises according to the number of complete calendar months after Initial Training. Separate monthly technology, branding, education, and local marketing obligations also apply.
Management Services Fee schedule
Bar lengths compare each disclosed monthly MSF with the $2,500 renewal-term level.
Interpretation: the MSF is time-based, not sales-based, and is due even when sales are low. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–10.
Required marketing minimum versus the public website recommendation
The disclosed minimum and the public recommendation are different cost bases and should not be presented as the same obligation.
Minimum approved Local Marketing and Advertising Spend. Item 7 includes $6,000 for the first three months.
The official FAQ recommends this level for lead generation, particularly in the initial years; it is not stated as the disclosed minimum.
The distinction matters: the binding disclosed minimum is $2,000 per month, while the higher figure is a current public recommendation checked July 16, 2026. See the official WSI franchise FAQ.
Item 11 adds a required 12-month third-party Sales Training course that must begin within one year after opening: the current cost is $5,000 for one participant plus $650 for each additional participant per WSI Business. National Internet Corporation may waive this requirement based on business and sales experience. The course is not included in the Education Fee. Source: Item 11, p. 24; the official training and support page describes the broader training model but does not replace the fee disclosure.
Which WSI fees arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 contains several charges that do not belong in the ordinary opening budget but can become material after a transfer, renewal, relocation, default, training change, audit, or early termination.
- Transfer Fee—$11,000. Due before transferring the Franchised Business, except for a transfer to a corporation formed solely to operate it.
- Renewal Fee—$5,000. Due when renewing after the initial 10-year term, subject to the other renewal conditions in Item 17.
- Relocation Fee—$500. Applies to relocation outside the Designated Territory at an equivalent franchise level; relocation within the same territory is free.
- Upgrade Fee—$14,700 or $27,400. $14,700 applies to Regional-to-National or National-to-International upgrades; $27,400 applies to Regional-to-International.
- Early Termination Fee—20% of remaining MSF. Available as an elective exit on or after the third anniversary, subject to a release and other termination obligations.
- Interest/Late Fee—1.5% per month. Calculated daily on overdue amounts, subject to applicable state-law limits.
- Audit Fee—actual costs and expenses. Due if an audit finds an understatement of 2% or more in a report to the franchisor.
- Extra or replacement Initial Training—$2,500 per day per person. Applies to more than two trainees and replacement training for each in-person training day.
- Training Reschedule Fee—$500 per missed session. Charged when a scheduled training session must be rescheduled because the franchisee or personnel do not attend.
- Additional or replacement QSP participant—$2,500 per person. Applies when more than two individuals participate in the six-month Quick Start Program or replacement participation is required.
- Securities Offering Fee—$11,000 or actual expenses, whichever is more. Payable only if the franchisee conducts a public or private securities offering.
Other event-driven obligations include variable indemnification costs and then-current registration or travel costs for additional convention attendees. Source: Item 6, pp. 7–10 and Item 17, pp. 31–34.
Inflation adjustment: The Franchise Agreement permits annual inflation adjustments to fixed-dollar amounts using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers. The 2026 fixed fees are therefore dated disclosures rather than lifetime price caps. The index named in the disclosure is explained by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI program.
These event-driven charges should not be combined into one ordinary reserve. Some are avoidable unless the owner changes the agreement or misses an obligation; others depend on actual professional costs or a remaining-payment formula that cannot be known at signing. The useful budgeting approach is to identify the trigger, the payment deadline, and the method used to calculate the charge. That keeps a fixed transfer or renewal amount separate from open-ended audit, indemnification, travel, legal, or early-exit exposure.
Which operating costs depend on required suppliers or technology?
The system requires certain products and services to be purchased from National Internet Corporation, affiliates, designated suppliers, or approved suppliers. Item 8 estimates that these purchases equal approximately 2% of total initial investment excluding the Initial Franchise Fee and approximately 30% of ongoing expenses excluding royalties; the document states that both percentages may vary.
- Paid search advertising
- Must be conducted through the central account maintained with a designated supplier.
- Client delivery services
- Website design, hosting, paid search, and other digital marketing services may need to be purchased through designated or approved suppliers and resold to clients.
- Technology implementation
- Changes to the Technology Tool Set may require implementation within six months at the franchisee’s expense.
- Affiliate relationship
- WSI Paid Search Ltd., doing business as Utopiads, is an affiliate supplier for online advertising services.
- Supplier economics
- Research and Management Corporation receives Management Services Fees ranging from 2% to 10% of proceeds from certain approved suppliers’ sales to franchisees.
Item 8 does not publish a price list for client-delivery purchases, so the percentage estimates cannot be converted into a reliable dollar budget without the buyer’s actual service mix. The official WSI network website identifies the broader digital service platform; the cost obligations are governed by the current disclosure and Franchise Agreement.
Does WSI disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold appears in the current disclosure. The official franchise pages reviewed on July 16, 2026 describe the fee and investment structure but do not publish a numeric financial qualification. That absence does not mean every applicant qualifies or that the disclosed low end is sufficient cash for a particular household.
Does the franchisor provide financing?
No. Item 10 states that National Internet Corporation does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. The public licensing page discusses third-party borrowing generally, but the document does not identify a financing provider or promise approval.
- Applicant cash requirement. Ask for the current minimum cash expected at application, agreement signing, and opening.
- Borrowed-fund policy. Confirm whether loans may fund the Initial Franchise Fee, Additional Funds, and ongoing marketing reserve.
- Personal reserve treatment. Determine whether the franchisor expects household living expenses or owner compensation beyond the disclosed Additional Funds estimate.
- Personal guarantee. Review the guaranty attached to the Franchise Agreement and any lender-required guarantees separately.
- Current fee schedule. Verify whether CPI adjustments or technology-cost increases have changed any fixed amount since April 30, 2026.
For the franchisor’s current public description of investment and candidate fit, see the official investment FAQ and official WSI franchise information.
Can the WSI Initial Franchise Fee be discounted or waived?
Two programs appear in Item 5. Qualified veterans receive a 20% discount from the Initial Franchise Fee through the VetFran Program. The percentage reduction applies only to the selected entry fee and does not reduce the other startup categories.
National Internet Corporation also describes a young entrepreneur scholarship that can waive the entry fee for a qualifying applicant aged 21 to 31 who meets the stated financial-disadvantage or minority-status, reference, and selection criteria. As of April 30, 2026, the disclosure says no U.S. franchises had been granted under that program. Source: Item 5, p. 7.
A fee reduction changes only the entry fee unless a written disclosure says otherwise. Travel, equipment, permits, insurance, networking, marketing, Additional Funds, and ongoing fees should remain in the capital plan.
What is the most important cost takeaway?
The current U.S. disclosure supports three distinct startup ranges. The territory-level fee explains the difference between them; the remaining startup assumptions use one common range across formats.
The total includes three months of Additional Funds and required marketing, but excludes real estate, financing costs, owner compensation, and potentially material supplier and software expenses. After training, the buyer must carry a rising fixed Management Services Fee, monthly technology, branding, and education charges, and at least $2,000 per month of approved local marketing. The largest unresolved capital question is not the published fee—it is the applicant-specific cash reserve, because the disclosure provides no Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum.