How Much Does a World Gym Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a World Gym franchise cost in 2026?

World Gym International, LLC discloses three different U.S. entry paths, so there is no single cost range that fits every buyer. A new World Gym has an Estimated Initial Investment of $452,500 to $2,232,500. Converting an existing fitness facility has a separate range of $101,500 to $530,000. A Development Agreement example for the right to develop three Gyms requires $490,000 to $2,270,000 at entry, but that example includes the Development Fee and the first Gym only—not the later build-out of all three Gyms.

Data basis: World Gym International, LLC; 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 13, 2026; U.S. New Gym, Conversion Gym, and Development Agreement formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; information checked July 22, 2026. The principal cost tables appear in Item 7, pp. 12–20. No matching public copy of this FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references in this article are unlinked. The franchisor’s official U.S. franchise information remains a useful supplemental source, while the Wisconsin active-registration record separately lists World Gym International, LLC as registered.

New Gym — Item 7A
$452,500–$2,232,500

This 2026 FDD range includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, premises and equipment costs, opening inventory, training travel, licenses and bonds, and $45,000 to $150,000 of Additional Funds for the first 90 days. It is not the same as a liquid-capital requirement, and it does not establish what a lender will require.

Capital snapshot

Conversion Gym total $101,500–$530,000 2026 FDD Item 7B; existing approved facility.
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 New Gym; $12,500 for a Conversion Gym.
Royalty Fee $1,250/mo. Increases $50 at each annual agreement anniversary.
Technology Fee $165/mo. Per Gym, plus separate third-party software charges.
Additional Funds $45K–$150K New Gym, first 90 days; Conversion: $12,500–$25,000.
Three-Gym Development Fee $62,500 Paid when the Development Agreement is executed.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE

The Conversion Gym range is lower because the franchisee already operates an existing gym or fitness facility. It should not be used as a substitute estimate for a buyer who must secure, construct, and equip a new Premises.

NEW GYM INVESTMENT

What is included in the $452,500 to $2,232,500 New Gym range?

The New Gym total is the sum of 16 Item 7 categories, including the Initial Franchise Fee and Additional Funds. The largest sources of variation are Build-out and Leasehold Improvements and Fitness Equipment. The 2026 FDD assumes an approved Premises of approximately 7,500 to 25,000 square feet and states that landlord credits, tenant-improvement allowances, rent abatement, and equipment financing terms can change the franchisee’s actual cash schedule.

Premises, launch, and physical assets — 2026 FDD Item 7A, pp. 12–14

Cost category Low High Payment timing
Pre-Opening Sales Program $30,000 $60,000 As arranged, before opening
Build-out and Leasehold Improvements $200,000 $900,000 As arranged, before opening
Lease Deposits $20,000 $60,000 Lump sum, before opening
Initial Inventory $2,000 $5,000 As arranged, before opening
Fitness Equipment $90,000 $850,000 As arranged, before opening
Furniture and Displays $5,000 $20,000 As arranged, before opening
Signs and Branding $15,000 $50,000 As arranged, before opening
Food & Beverage Equipment and Supplies $0 $25,000 As arranged, before opening

Business setup and initial operating capital — 2026 FDD Item 7A, pp. 13–15

Cost category Low High What it covers or when due
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 $25,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement
Office Equipment and Supplies $5,000 $15,000 Computer, POS-related hardware, office equipment and supplies
Insurance — 3 Months $4,000 $12,500 As arranged; upon policy issuance
Utilities Deposits $1,000 $5,000 As incurred upon Premises occupancy
Professional Fees $5,000 $20,000 Attorney and accountant, as incurred
Initial Training Expenses $3,000 $10,000 Travel, lodging, meals, and incidental expenses
Licenses and Bonds $2,500 $25,000 When pre-sale activity begins
Additional Funds — 3 Months $45,000 $150,000 Working capital, wages and benefits, marketing, operating cash, and miscellaneous expenses
Total Estimated Initial Investment $452,500 $2,232,500 Official Item 7A total
FDD CAVEAT

The low-end Fitness Equipment estimate assumes a 20% down payment on leased or financed equipment. The New Gym Item 7 total therefore does not necessarily equal the total purchase price of every financed asset, and loan terms, collateral, interest, and payment schedules remain outside the franchisor’s estimate.

CONVERSION FORMAT

Why is a Conversion Gym a separate cost contract?

A Conversion Gym uses an existing gym or fitness facility and has a 2026 Estimated Initial Investment of $101,500 to $530,000. The reduced Initial Franchise Fee is $12,500. The conversion range assumes that the existing Premises and some existing assets can be adapted, but it still includes branding, training, licenses and bonds, office systems, inventory, and three months of Additional Funds.

CONVERSION COST MAP

Existing assets can reduce—but do not eliminate—opening obligations

$101,500–$530,000
Initial Franchise Fee
$12,500
Pre-Opening Sales Program
$15,000–$25,000
Build-out and Leasehold Improvements
$25,000–$50,000
Initial Inventory
$1,000–$5,000
Equipment Purchases
$0–$300,000
Furniture and Displays
$5,000–$10,000
Signs and Branding
$15,000–$25,000
Food & Beverage Equipment and Supplies
$0–$25,000
Office Equipment and Supplies
$2,000–$5,000
Insurance
$0–$5,000
Utility Deposits
$0
Professional Fees
$5,000–$20,000
Initial Training Expenses
$3,000–$10,000
Licenses and Bonds
$5,500–$12,500
Additional Funds — 3 Months
$12,500–$25,000
Official Item 7B total
$101,500–$530,000

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7B, pp. 16–19. The official franchise contact page explicitly invites both new-location and conversion inquiries, but the FDD—not the inquiry form—defines the financial contract.

The Equipment Purchases range is especially format-dependent: it can be $0 when existing approved equipment is sufficient, but it can reach $300,000 when replacement or added equipment is required. The conversion Build-out and Leasehold Improvements estimate assumes a facility of approximately 7,500 to 25,000 square feet; a larger Premises may cost more than the disclosed range.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the cash paid?

The Initial Franchise Fee is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, while most premises, equipment, inventory, and launch expenses are paid before opening or as vendors invoice them. Additional Funds are then used as expenses arise during the initial operating period. The FDD estimates that opening a Gym may take nine to twelve months after signing, with a contractual opening deadline generally set at twelve months.

  1. Sign the governing agreement

    Pay $25,000 for a New Gym or $12,500 for a Conversion Gym when the Franchise Agreement is executed. A Development Agreement uses the separate Development Fee schedule.

  2. Secure and prepare the Premises

    Lease Deposits, Build-out and Leasehold Improvements, architect and contractor charges, utilities deposits, insurance, and signage are paid as arranged before opening or upon occupancy and policy issuance.

  3. Equip, staff, train, and launch

    Fitness Equipment, Furniture and Displays, Office Equipment and Supplies, Initial Inventory, the Pre-Opening Sales Program, licenses, bonds, and Initial Training Expenses are generally incurred before opening.

  4. Fund the first 90 days

    Additional Funds cover estimated working capital, employee wages and benefits, marketing and promotion, operating cash, and miscellaneous expenses during the initial period. Item 7 does not expressly identify owner compensation as a covered category.

The Initial Training Program may include remote instruction, training at a designated location, and on-site opening assistance. The franchisor provides the program for the franchisee and up to two additional designated people, while the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals, and related participation expenses. Item 11 requires the remote or designated-location portions to be completed generally four to eight weeks before opening.

MULTI-UNIT COMMITMENT

What does the three-Gym Development Agreement example actually include?

The 2026 FDD’s $490,000 to $2,270,000 example does not fund three completed Gyms. It combines a $62,500 Development Fee for the right to develop three Gyms with $427,500 to $2,207,500 for the first New Gym. The first-Gym amount excludes a separate $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee because the Development Fee already incorporates the franchise rights.

Development commitment Amount Payment basis
First Gym right $25,000 Included in Development Fee
Second Gym right $20,000 Included in Development Fee
Third and each additional Gym right $17,500 each Included in Development Fee
Three-Gym Development Fee $62,500 Due upon execution of Development Agreement
First Gym, excluding Initial Franchise Fee $427,500–$2,207,500 Item 7A categories for the first Gym
Entry example total $490,000–$2,270,000 Development rights plus first Gym only
EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

The Development Agreement example excludes the cost of opening the second, third, or any later Gym. Each later location will require its own premises, equipment, inventory, staffing, insurance, technology, and working-capital budget under the then-current standards and agreements.

ONGOING FEES

Which World Gym fees continue after opening?

The principal fixed continuing charges disclosed in 2026 are a Royalty Fee starting at $1,250 per month, a $165 monthly Technology Fee per Gym, and an expected $249 monthly third-party payment-processing and POS software charge plus merchant-processing fees. The Brand Development Fund Contribution and Local Advertising Requirement are not currently assessed, but the Franchise Agreement permits both to be activated on the disclosed terms.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Timing and qualification
Royalty Fee $1,250 per month Increases $50 on each annual Franchise Agreement anniversary; generally collected monthly
Technology Fee $165 per month Per Gym; franchisor may modify the fee and covered services after notice
Third-Party Required Software $249 per month Payment-processing and POS-related services, plus merchant-processing charges
Brand Development Fund Contribution Not currently assessed If activated on 30 days’ notice, no more than $350 per month
Local Advertising Requirement Not currently assessed If activated, no more than 2% of Gross Sales per month
Computer System updates $500–$1,500 per year Item 11 estimate for upgrades or improvements; excludes Technology Fee and third-party software

The Royalty Fee is a fixed monthly amount rather than a percentage royalty. Item 6 nevertheless states that recurring fees may be collected from the required EFT Account and that the collection interval can be changed after written notice. The FDD’s special-risk disclosure also describes mandatory minimum royalty or advertising payments regardless of sales levels.

Gross Sales includes revenue generated through the Gym and Premises from Approved Services, Approved Products, gift cards, authorized activities, certain tenant or subtenant consideration, and business-interruption insurance proceeds, subject to the FDD’s exclusions for specified taxes and bona fide refunds.
Required Purchases may include required software, POS systems, exercise equipment, supplies, Technology Fee services, and branded retail inventory obtained from Approved Suppliers. Item 8 estimates Required Purchases at approximately 70% to 90% of establishment costs and 50% to 75% of ongoing operating costs after start-up.
On-demand fitness services may in the future carry a charge of $3 per month per subscriber and/or a flat monthly fee, but the 2026 FDD does not state that this charge is currently imposed.

The official World Gym amenities page shows that services and amenities can differ by location. That operating flexibility matters for cost interpretation because items such as the Barbell Café, recovery areas, retail products, and equipment mix can affect the approved assets and supplies required for a particular Premises.

CONDITIONAL CHARGES

Which fees arise only after a renewal, transfer, default, or other trigger?

Item 6 includes several event-driven charges that are outside the normal opening budget and monthly fee schedule. Their impact depends on what happens during the Franchise Agreement or Development Agreement term.

  • Renewal: $2,500 before approval, plus required refresher training expenses and the franchisee’s cost to re-image, renovate, refurbish, and modernize the Gym. Item 17 permits two additional ten-year terms if renewal conditions are met.
  • Transfer: $5,000 for a Franchise Agreement transfer; $5,000 per undeveloped franchise for a Development Agreement transfer. Certain internal, death, disability, and approved financing-related transfers can be treated differently.
  • Relocation: up to $2,500 plus the franchisor’s actual site-evaluation costs, due before consent.
  • Alternative supplier or product evaluation: $500 plus out-of-pocket evaluation costs, if the franchisor agrees to review a proposed substitute.
  • Audit: the franchisor’s audit costs can be charged if an audit finds a misstatement of 2% or more of Gross Sales or another amount owed.
  • Late or failed payment: interest at 18% per year or the legal maximum, whichever is less; a declined-payment charge equal to the greater of $35 or actual expense.
  • Convention attendance: no registration fee is currently assessed, but the franchisee pays attendee expenses and may be charged up to $2,000 for failure to attend a required convention.
  • Default or abandonment management: 8% of Gross Sales during the management period plus reasonable costs and overhead if the franchisor or a third party operates the Gym.
  • Enforcement and indemnification: variable legal, defense, liability, and enforcement costs can be billed when the contractual trigger occurs.
FUNDING AND QUALIFICATIONS

Does World Gym disclose liquid capital, net worth, financing, or a discount?

The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. The official franchise inquiry form asks prospects to select an available-capital band, but it does not publish a required threshold. A buyer therefore should not treat the Additional Funds range, Initial Franchise Fee, or total Estimated Initial Investment as a disclosed liquidity qualification.

World Gym International, LLC and its affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee a franchisee’s obligations. Equipment and build-out may still be financed through independent lenders, but approval, down payment, interest, collateral, and repayment terms depend on the lender. The SBA 7(a) program overview describes a general third-party financing channel; it is not a World Gym financing commitment or assurance of eligibility.

The FDD offers a 15% discount on the applicable Initial Franchise Fee for qualifying honorably discharged veterans for their first Franchised Business. The discount reduces the Initial Franchise Fee only, not build-out, equipment, deposits, inventory, Additional Funds, or ongoing fees. The brand identifies itself with the VetFran program, whose program standards explain the general role of veteran franchise incentives.

SOURCE CONFLICT

As checked July 22, 2026, the official franchise page displayed an older broad investment range of $789,500 to $2,765,000 alongside current minimum statements of “Conversion: from $101,500” and “New Location: from $452,500.” The March 13, 2026 FDD provides the controlling current ranges used in this article. A prospect should ask the franchisor to reconcile any website figure with the FDD delivered before payment or signing.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What cost questions should be resolved before signing?

The central task is to turn the applicable Item 7 range into a site-specific cash schedule without blending New Gym, Conversion Gym, and Development Agreement assumptions. The following checks address the largest unresolved variables in the 2026 cost disclosures.

  • Confirm the format: obtain written confirmation that the proposed project is being priced as a New Gym, Conversion Gym, or Gym developed under a Development Agreement.
  • Reconcile the Premises: verify approved square footage, landlord contributions, rent deposits, tenant-improvement allowances, and whether any landlord credit is recovered through higher rent.
  • Separate asset price from cash due: identify which Fitness Equipment and build-out amounts are purchases, leases, financed balances, or down payments.
  • Price Required Purchases: obtain the current Approved Suppliers list, Required Software schedule, POS charges, equipment specifications, inventory requirements, and Barbell Café requirements, if applicable.
  • Test the first 90 days: verify staffing, wages and benefits, opening marketing, operating cash, and whether the Additional Funds estimate includes every owner-specific cash need.
  • Confirm future charges: request the current Royalty Fee anniversary schedule, Technology Fee, software invoices, training fees, renewal standards, transfer terms, and remodeling requirements.
  • Request the current disclosure: check for amendments and state-specific addenda before signing. The Minnesota franchise registration lookup explains how public state records can be checked, while the FTC franchise buyer guide explains the federal disclosure process.

Cost synthesis: the 2026 World Gym cost decision turns primarily on whether the buyer is creating a New Gym or converting an existing facility, followed by the approved Premises, Build-out and Leasehold Improvements, Fitness Equipment, and financing structure. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one component; Additional Funds are already included in each Item 7 total; and the Royalty Fee, Technology Fee, Required Software, potential advertising obligations, and event-triggered charges continue outside the opening range.