How much does a Workout Anytime franchise cost in 2026?
Workout Anytime’s April 30, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives three separate single-club investment ranges: $1,091,700 to $1,411,900 for the Core model, $1,386,200 to $1,795,400 for the Plus model, and $1,931,200 to $2,305,400 for the XL model. The ranges cannot be blended because each model uses a different approved footprint, build-out allowance, equipment package, rent assumption, and low-voltage package.
The full span across the Core, Plus, and XL single-club models in the 2026 FDD. It includes a $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $40,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds, but the detailed marketing disclosures require separate reconciliation before a buyer treats the Item 7 total as a complete cash schedule. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–23.
- Legal franchisor
- Workout Anytime Franchising Systems, LLC, a Georgia limited liability company; parent company Workout Anytime Global, LLC.
- FDD basis
- U.S. FDD issued April 30, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17.
- Unit formats
- Core: 8,000–12,000 sq. ft.; Plus: 12,000–16,000 sq. ft.; XL: 16,000–20,000 sq. ft.
- Information checked
- July 14, 2026. See the official U.S. franchise opportunity page and official corporate website.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item and page references.
The official franchise website checked July 14, 2026 still displayed a $45,000 franchise fee and a $1,060,850 to $1,840,550 investment range. Those figures do not match the later April 30, 2026 FDD, which controls the figures in this article. A prospective franchisee should ask Workout Anytime to reconcile the public page with the current disclosure document in writing.
Why does the investment range change by model?
The model choice changes the approved square footage and, with it, the largest Item 7 categories. The 2026 FDD says the Core, Plus, and XL models otherwise follow the same brand standards and operating obligations, but larger premises increase disclosed rent, build-out, equipment, and access-system costs.
Core
8,000–12,000 sq. ft.
Build-out: $524,000–$657,000. Initial Equipment Package: $393,500–$450,000.
Plus
12,000–16,000 sq. ft.
Build-out: $676,000–$909,000. Initial Equipment Package: $513,000–$566,000.
XL
16,000–20,000 sq. ft.
Build-out: $1,110,000–$1,313,000. Initial Equipment Package: $606,000–$660,000.
Each bar starts at the disclosed low amount and ends at the disclosed high amount on a $0 to $2.4 million scale.
Interpretation: model selection moves the entire capital range upward; it is not merely a small equipment upgrade. Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–23. Official figures; bar positions are proportional renderings of the disclosed ranges.
Maximum Item 7 amounts only. Bars begin at zero and use the XL build-out maximum of $1,313,000 as the scale maximum.
Interpretation: real estate improvements are the largest disclosed high-end driver, while the Initial Equipment Package is also substantial and rises with the model. Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–23. Equipment requirements are also described through the official franchise support page and the official Matrix Fitness website.
What is included in the total initial investment?
The Item 7 totals include the Initial Franchise Fee, training travel, premises costs, build-out, architect fees, furniture, the Initial Equipment Package, low-voltage and door-access systems, signage, an advertising line, deposits and permits, insurance, and Additional Funds. The same categories apply to all three models, but the disclosed amounts differ where square footage or equipment scope changes.
| Premises and equipment category | Core | Plus | XL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rent and Security Deposit | $16,000–$24,000 | $24,000–$32,000 | $32,000–$40,000 |
| Real Estate Improvements / Build-out | $524,000–$657,000 | $676,000–$909,000 | $1,110,000–$1,313,000 |
| Architect Fees | $9,000–$18,000 | $9,000–$18,000 | $9,000–$18,000 |
| Furniture / Office Equipment and Supplies | $9,000–$18,000 | $9,000–$18,000 | $9,000–$18,000 |
| Initial Equipment Package | $393,500–$450,000 | $513,000–$566,000 | $606,000–$660,000 |
| Low Voltage AV and Door Access | $20,000–$40,500 | $35,000–$48,000 | $45,000–$52,000 |
Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–23. Build-out may be reduced by a landlord improvement allowance, but the FDD does not guarantee one. Approved architects, contractors, vendors, and plans are required.
| Opening and working-capital category | Core | Plus | XL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $35,000 | $35,000 | $35,000 |
| Training Travel and Living Expenses | $1,200–$2,400 | $1,200–$2,400 | $1,200–$2,400 |
| Signage: Exterior Club and Interior Graphics | $20,000–$40,000 | $20,000–$40,000 | $20,000–$40,000 |
| Advertising + Start Strong | $16,000–$24,000 | $16,000–$24,000 | $16,000–$24,000 |
| Deposits and Permits | $2,000–$5,000 | $2,000–$5,000 | $2,000–$5,000 |
| Insurance | $6,000–$18,000 | $6,000–$18,000 | $6,000–$18,000 |
| Additional Funds | $40,000–$80,000 | $40,000–$80,000 | $40,000–$80,000 |
Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–23. The $40,000 to $80,000 Additional Funds line is already included in each official total and should not be added again.
Item 7 lists only $16,000 to $24,000 for “Advertising + Start Strong,” while Item 6 and Item 11 require at least $30,000 during the 90 days before opening and another $30,000 during the first 90 days after opening. The FDD also requires Local Advertising. Because those amounts do not transparently reconcile, the buyer should obtain a written, model-specific schedule showing which marketing payments are inside the Item 7 total and which are additional.
Which fees continue after signing and opening?
The principal percentage fees begin when membership pre-sales start, not when the doors open. The Monthly Royalty Fee is 6% of Gross Revenues, and the Brand Development Fee is 2% of monthly Gross Revenues collected for the club. Technology, software, local marketing, maintenance, inspection, and convention obligations are separate.
| Recurring fee or spend | Amount or basis | When due | Important context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Revenues | By the 10th day of each month, starting with membership pre-sales | Gross Revenues broadly includes club-related products, services, online receipts, insurance proceeds, barter value, and vendor payments, subject to stated exclusions. |
| Brand Development Fee | 2% of monthly Gross Revenues | By the 10th day of each month, starting with membership pre-sales | The FDD states the franchisor may increase the fee on 30 days’ written notice. |
| Local Advertising | $4,000 per month initially; later the greater of $2,000 per month or 5% of Gross Revenues | As incurred | Item 6’s table and its footnote use different descriptions of the initial timing; Item 11 says it begins with pre-sales and runs until 12 months from the Franchise Agreement effective date. |
| Technology Package | Currently $595–$795 per month | By the 10th day monthly, starting with pre-sales | Covers franchisor-managed web, email, intranet, and other technology platforms. |
| Software Bundle Fee | $325–$525 per month | As billed by vendor | Paid to ABC Fitness Solutions for DataTrak, MyiCLUB Online, GymSales, app, door access, and antivirus-related services. |
| Local Marketing Cooperative | Set by franchisor, not above the Local Advertising requirement | Upon demand if established | The FDD says participation may be required; no cooperatives were in place as of December 31, 2025. |
Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–14, and Item 11, pp. 33–38. The official franchise FAQ also describes the 6% royalty, 2% Brand Development Fee, and local marketing requirement. Vendor context: ABC Fitness.
| Periodic operating obligation | Disclosed amount | Frequency or trigger | Cost limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inspection Fee | $150–$250 | Per quarter, upon demand | Separate from remedial costs or deficiency charges. |
| Preventative Equipment Maintenance | $400–$1,200 | At least twice per year | Provider may charge additional uncontrolled costs up to $5,000; repairs may be separate. |
| Computer Upgrades and Maintenance | $0–$2,000 | As incurred | Item 11 says there is no contractual limit on upgrade frequency or cost. |
| Annual Convention Fee | $500–$895 per attendee | At registration or one week after the convention if absent | Payable whether or not the attendee goes; amount may rise up to 5% annually. |
| Music Licensing Fees | Approximately $350–$550, or vendor charge up to $2,000 | As billed by vendor | Applies to licensed music or other media used at the Club. |
| Door Control Fee | $599 one time, or vendor charge up to $2,000 | As billed by vendor | Paid to the approved payment-processing vendor. |
When is the money paid?
Cash is committed in stages, but several obligations begin before opening. The FDD estimates a typical 9-to-12-month period from signing or first payment to opening, and the Franchise Agreement generally requires the Club to open within 12 months.
Before signing or paying
The FDD states that the disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or a payment is made to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the federal disclosure framework.
At agreement signing
A single-club buyer pays the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee. A two-club Development Agreement uses a $55,000 Development Fee: $35,000 for the first Club plus $20,000 for the additional Club. These payments are described as fully earned and nonrefundable.
During site approval, design, and construction
Rent and deposits, build-out, architect fees, furniture, equipment, low-voltage systems, signage, permits, insurance, and training travel are paid to landlords, contractors, approved vendors, the franchisor, or other payees as arranged and incurred. Development Agreement site acceptance is generally required within 120 days.
When membership pre-sales begin
The 6% Monthly Royalty Fee, 2% Brand Development Fee, and $595 to $795 Technology Package begin. Local Advertising also starts under the detailed FDD language, although Item 6 contains inconsistent descriptions of its initial timing.
During the launch window
Grand Opening Marketing requires at least $30,000 in the 90 days before opening and at least $30,000 in the first 90 days after opening. Additional Funds are intended to cover the pre-sale period and at least three months after opening, approximately six months in total.
Does the Development Agreement range cover two fully opened clubs?
No clear two-club build-out budget is disclosed. Workout Anytime requires at least two Clubs under the Development Agreement, but Item 7 Tables D through F add the $55,000 Development Fee to the first outlet’s investment after removing the first outlet’s $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The resulting figures are therefore only $20,000 above the corresponding single-club totals.
| Development path | Item 7 range | What the table includes | What remains unresolved |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two Core Clubs | $1,111,700–$1,431,900 | $55,000 Development Fee plus first Core outlet investment less its $35,000 fee | Separate capital needed to acquire, build, equip, and open the second Core Club |
| Two Plus Clubs | $1,406,200–$1,815,400 | $55,000 Development Fee plus first Plus outlet investment less its $35,000 fee | Separate capital needed to acquire, build, equip, and open the second Plus Club |
| Two XL Clubs | $1,951,200–$2,325,400 | $55,000 Development Fee plus first XL outlet investment less its $35,000 fee | Separate capital needed to acquire, build, equip, and open the second XL Club |
Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 6, and Item 7, pp. 24–25. The Development Fee formula is $35,000 for the first Club plus $20,000 for each Club after the first.
A prospect should not treat the Development Agreement’s Item 7 table as the cash needed to open two completed Clubs. Request a separate site-by-site capital schedule for every committed Club, including timing, model, construction assumptions, equipment, Additional Funds, and the opening deadline.
How much liquid capital or net worth is required?
The April 30, 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. The official opportunity page checked July 14, 2026 displayed “Minimum Liquid Capital” of $400,000, while the official FAQ described $400,000 as an amount “often at least” recommended for working capital. Because those pages also show investment figures that conflict with the 2026 FDD, the $400,000 figure should be verified directly and in writing.
The model-specific Item 7 range to establish and begin operating one Club. It is not the same as a liquidity qualification.
Cash or readily available funds. The official website displays $400,000, but the current FDD does not state that threshold.
Assets minus liabilities. No minimum is disclosed in the current FDD, and net worth is not equivalent to cash available for construction and opening.
The $40,000 to $80,000 Item 7 estimate for approximately six months covering pre-sale and at least three months after opening. It is already inside the total.
Does Workout Anytime offer financing?
Item 10 says no: Workout Anytime does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. The official FAQ says the franchisor may introduce qualified candidates to lenders familiar with the model and to SBA resources; an introduction is not franchisor financing or approval. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan overview explains that participating lenders—not the franchisor—approve and manage SBA-backed loans. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 31.
Is there a veteran discount?
Verified U.S. veterans may receive a 50% discount on the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee, reducing that fee to $17,500 after qualifying service documentation is submitted. The discount applies only to the Initial Franchise Fee and does not reduce build-out, equipment, technology, marketing, rent, insurance, Additional Funds, or other Item 7 categories. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 6, and Item 7 notes, pp. 16, 19, and 22.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Workout Anytime’s Item 6 includes significant charges that are not part of ordinary monthly operations. They can arise from renewal, transfer, relocation, delayed development, noncompliance, additional support, underreporting, default, or termination.
Source: Workout Anytime 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–14, and Item 17, pp. 50–54. Item 8 also permits the franchisor to charge the costs it incurs to evaluate a requested alternative supplier or product, whether or not the request is approved.
What should be confirmed before relying on the disclosed total?
The official Item 7 totals are the correct starting point, but several material cash obligations require a written reconciliation for the selected model and site.
What capital question matters most?
A single Workout Anytime Club requires an official 2026 Item 7 investment of $1,091,700 to $2,305,400, depending on whether the approved model is Core, Plus, or XL. The largest range drivers are Real Estate Improvements / Build-out and the Initial Equipment Package. That total is distinct from the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee, any website-stated Liquid Capital screen, and the percentage and fixed fees that begin during pre-sales or continue after opening.
The most important unresolved issue is not the model label; it is whether the signed cash schedule fully reconciles Item 7 with Grand Opening Marketing, Local Advertising, the pre-sale start of recurring fees, and—where applicable—the cost of every additional Club under a Development Agreement.