How much does a Weichert Realtors franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $77,300 to $359,800 to open one Weichert Office in the United States. Weichert Real Estate Affiliates, Inc. discloses the same total range for a Non-Conversion Office and a Conversion Office. The range already includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $100,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months.
Estimated Initial Investment for one Initial Office. The 2026 startup tables use the same range for the Non-Conversion Office and Conversion Office, although the conversion footnotes explain that existing premises, equipment, licenses, software or signage support may reduce particular line items. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–25.
Capital snapshot
The startup total is only one part of the capital decision. The 2026 disclosures separately identify the signing payment, a three-month operating allowance, percentage-based ongoing charges and a tangible-net-worth threshold.
What is included in the $77,300 to $359,800 range?
For either 2026 initial-office format, the disclosed total combines the signing fee, premises, remodeling, inventory, office systems, signage, professional and regulatory expenses, insurance, deposits and a three-month operating allowance. The largest high-end amounts are $100,000 for that allowance, $75,000 for construction and leasehold work, and $60,000 for office equipment, supplies, decor, fixtures and furnishings.
The two startup tables do not disclose different total ranges. Both the Non-Conversion Office and Conversion Office are $77,300 to $359,800. The practical difference appears in the footnotes: an existing brokerage may already satisfy premises, equipment, software, entity, license or permit requirements, and Exhibit A may provide a signage conversion allocation. No conversion credit should be assumed unless it appears in the signed agreement exhibit.
Floating bars show each disclosed low and high amount on a common $0 to $100,000 scale for one first office.
Interpretation: most of the spread is tied to premises, physical office setup and opening capital rather than the fixed signing fee.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–25. Values are official ranges; bar positions are proportional display calculations.
Premises and physical setup
These categories are paid to landlords, contractors and suppliers as their contracts require. The 2026 startup table uses three months of rent and states that new premises generally must contain at least 1,200 square feet unless Weichert gives prior written approval for less space.
| Startup category | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Property | $3,600–$21,600 | As landlord requires | Landlord |
| Construction/Remodeling/Leasehold Improvement | $0–$75,000 | As contractor or landlord requires | Contractor or landlord |
| Inventory: yard signs, riders and related items | $7,500–$15,000 | When incurred | Seller |
| Office Equipment & Supplies; Decor, Fixtures & Furnishings | $0–$60,000 | As supplier requires | Seller |
| Computer Hardware and Software | $0–$12,000 | As supplier requires | Seller |
| Signs | $5,000–$20,000 | As supplier requires | Seller |
| Security Deposits | $0–$7,200 | As suppliers require | Sellers |
Professional, regulatory, coverage and operating capital
The remaining categories include entity and professional work, licenses, insurance and the three-month operating cushion. That operating allowance is already part of the official total and must not be added again.
| Startup category | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing, subject to permitted installments | Weichert Real Estate Affiliates, Inc. |
| Organizational Expense | $0–$5,000 | As agreed | Accountant or attorney |
| Permits and Licenses | $200–$2,000 | As agency requires | Government agency |
| Insurance | $6,000–$17,000 | Before opening | Insurance agent |
| Additional Funds, 3 months | $30,000–$100,000 | Payroll weekly; other purchases under agreed terms | Employees and suppliers |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $77,300–$359,800 | Official total for either the Non-Conversion or Conversion Initial Office | |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–25. The three-month allowance is based on staff salaries and operating expenses. It includes an estimated $0 to $20,000 of payroll for zero to three initial full-time employees plus potential administrative expense associated with independent-contractor real estate agents. The disclosure does not state that owner compensation is included.
What is paid to Weichert at signing?
Under the 2026 FDD, the $25,000 initial fee for the first office is generally due in full when the agreement is signed. Weichert may permit installments; the first payment is due at signing and the balance must be paid by the Initial Office Impact Date.
An extra office approved before the parties sign the first agreement carries a nonrefundable $12,500 Additional Office Fee, also due at signing. A later office requires Weichert’s approval and the then-current agreement and fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 10–11; Item 7, pp. 22–25.
The initial fee is otherwise nonrefundable, but the disclosure describes a full-refund condition: within 60 days after the first 14 months of operation, Weichert will refund it if the first office has paid at least $60,000 in verified royalties during that period. There is no partial refund below the threshold, and the provision is expressly not a representation of the disclosed revenue base. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 11.
When does the money have to be available?
The cash requirement is staged rather than paid as one check. The contract payment, premises work, pre-opening purchases and three-month operating capital reach different payees at different times.
- Agreement signingPay the $25,000 initial fee, or the permitted first installment, plus $12,500 for each extra office already approved for inclusion. These payments go to the franchisor.
- Within 30 days after the franchisor signsEstablish the designated segregated Bank Account with electronic-debit capacity. The fee rules require a continuous minimum balance of at least $1,500, or a higher amount Weichert reasonably considers necessary.
- Premises and office conversion or build-outPay rent, deposits, remodeling, furniture, equipment, computers, inventory and signs according to landlord, contractor and supplier terms. Conversion assets count only if they satisfy current standards.
- Before openingPlace required insurance, obtain licenses and permits, install required systems and complete opening requirements. The startup insurance estimate is $6,000 to $17,000.
- Opening date and first three monthsRoyalty, marketing and other charges begin accruing when operations actually start or on the Initial Office Impact Date, whichever occurs first. The startup total includes a $30,000 to $100,000 operating allowance for the first three months.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 11; Item 6, pp. 16–17; Item 7, pp. 22–25.
Which fees continue after the office opens?
Under the 2026 FDD, the principal recurring charges per Office are a Continuing Royalty equal to 6% of Gross Revenues or the applicable monthly minimum, whichever is greater, and a Marketing Fee equal to 2% of Gross Revenues, subject to a monthly minimum and maximum. Both are electronically debited from the designated account, with month-end adjustments for the applicable thresholds.
Bars compare the disclosed monthly dollar thresholds on a common scale ending at the 2026 marketing maximum of $1,506.91.
Interpretation: the first two months have no minimum royalty, but the 6% charge still applies; later royalty and marketing thresholds are calculated separately for each Office.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12 and 16–17. Bar lengths are proportional display calculations. The FDD permits annual CPI increases to the royalty minimum and marketing minimum/maximum.
| Recurring or operating fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Local Brokers Council | $300–$3,000 per year | As established by the Council | Special assessments may be up to $500 per Office per month unless the Council increases them under its bylaws |
| Required additional or subsequent Leadership Academy trainee | $950 per person | Before training | Tuition and materials included; salary, transportation, meals, lodging and living expenses remain the franchisee’s cost |
| Fast Track Training | Up to $199 per required new sales associate | Before training | Other employee and travel-related expenses remain extra |
| Management Retreat or Convention | Up to $999 per attendee, plus travel and lodging | As incurred | Franchisee and Business Manager must attend when Weichert holds the event |
| Products or services bought from Weichert or affiliates | Prices set by seller | When required by seller | Applies when the franchisee chooses or is required to obtain the applicable product or service |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12–21. “Gross Revenues” is the defined fee base and includes revenues from the Franchised Business, including the Initial Office and approved Additional, Administrative, Temporary and Satellite Offices, subject to the specific exclusions and timing rules in the FDD.
Which charges are conditional rather than routine?
Several fees arise only after a specific event, optional program, default, transfer or usage threshold. They should not be inserted into every startup budget, but the triggering contract should be reviewed before assuming they will never apply.
- Technology usage and optional featuresThe base versions of BrokerSumo and myWeichert are provided without charge, subject to limits. Current overage rates include $2 per 1,000 contacts, $2 per 1,000 emails, $2 per 100 texts and $2 per 30 phone minutes over the stated limits. Optional Listing Machine, Social and Design Center features cost the greater of $199 per month per company or $7 per user per month. Reinstatement may cost $399.
- Referral and relocation programsWeichert Workforce Mobility referrals carry 37.5% to 45% of Gross Revenues from the referred transaction; Weichert Referral Associates and Weichert Lead Network referrals carry 37.5%. Weichert Broker Network membership is market-dependent and capped at $3,000 per year, with transaction referral charges also applying.
- Late payment and audit eventsA $35 Administrative Fee may apply per failed, missed or postponed payment, plus the maximum lawful late charge or 4% above prime when no legal maximum exists. An audit underpayment of at least 2% can shift audit cost and interest to the franchisee; cancelling or rescheduling an audit costs $500.
- Transfer and contract changesThe standard Transfer Fee is $7,500. A qualifying transfer to a newly formed entity within 12 months while retaining 100% ownership and control uses a $750 legal and administrative fee instead. A requested contract change may carry a $250 Processing Fee.
- Default or premature terminationLiquidated Damages use the disclosed formula based on remaining months, historical royalty and marketing amounts, applicable minimums and an 8% present-value discount. Payment is due within 10 days after a covered termination. Attorneys’ fees, audit costs and other enforcement expenses can also apply.
- Death or disability managementIf Weichert operates the Business temporarily, the Management Fee is the greater of twice the assigned operator’s salary or 10% of weekly Gross Revenues, in addition to royalty and marketing charges.
Source: FDD Item 6, pp. 14–21; Item 17, pp. 53–57.
How do extra office types change the fee contract?
The 2026 disclosure uses several office labels with different fee consequences. The fee for an Additional Office is not interchangeable with the smaller Administrative, Temporary or Satellite charges, and an administrative location becomes an extra office if client services are provided from it.
Additional Office
$12,500Per office when approved before the initial agreement is signed. Later locations use the then-current agreement and extra-office fee.
Administrative Office
Up to $1,000Charged when the approved location opens. If it provides Services, Ancillary Services or Products to clients, it becomes an extra office and the $12,500 fee applies.
Temporary Office
Up to $2,000/yearAnnual administrative charge for an approved temporary location opened after the first office.
Satellite Office
$199/monthMonthly fee for a minimum of 12 months; requirements may be lower under the satellite addendum.
Seasonal Office
Then-current feeTreated as an extra office and may be closed no more than six months per calendar year with prior written approval.
Multiple offices at opening
Above one-office rangeThe startup estimate covers one first office and states that opening another at the same time will likely increase expenses.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, p. 3; Item 5, p. 11; Item 6, pp. 12 and 15–16; Item 7, p. 22.
Is the startup range the same as the financial qualification?
No. The 2026 Estimated Initial Investment of $77,300 to $359,800 is a startup-cost range for one first office. Separately, the disclosure limits the offer to franchisees with tangible net worth above $150,000, excluding the agreement interest, retirement investment accounts and principal residences.
- Minimum Net Worth RequirementMore than $150,000 in qualifying tangible assets, maintained throughout the contract term. If the threshold is not maintained, the franchisee must obtain an acceptable guarantor for the deficiency.
- Adequate reserves and working capitalThe agreement requires reserves sufficient to cover obligations, risks and contingencies for at least three months. Those reserves may be cash deposits or lines of credit.
- Liquid capital and non-borrowed fundsThe 2026 disclosure does not state a separate minimum liquid-capital amount or minimum non-borrowed-funds amount. The disclosed reserve requirement should not be converted into either figure.
- Personal GuaranteeAll owners of a franchisee business entity must guarantee the financial obligations under the agreement. Principal financiers may also be required to sign a Guarantee case by case.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, p. 3; Item 15, pp. 50–51; Franchise Agreement §7.15, agreement pp. 21–22.
The franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. External financing approval should not be assumed from the franchise offer. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 30.
Which costs remain uncertain after reading the startup table?
The 2026 startup table gives the official range, but it cannot settle local rent, landlord contributions, construction scope, supplier pricing, staffing, insurance underwriting or the value of usable conversion assets. Those variables determine where a first office falls inside the range.
The 2026 FDD contains two insurance ranges. Item 7 uses $6,000 to $17,000 for insurance in the startup total, while Item 6 lists an estimated annual premium of $0 to $6,500 if the franchisee already maintains sufficient insurance. The document does not reconcile the two figures. For startup budgeting, preserve the range used in the official total and verify the required policy package and any credit for existing coverage directly with Weichert and the insurer.
- Conversion credits and existing assetsConfirm in writing which furniture, computers, signs, permits, licenses and premises satisfy current standards, and whether Exhibit A includes a signage conversion allocation.
- Premises assumptionsCheck local rent, security deposits, tenant improvements and landlord contributions against the FDD’s minimum-space and layout requirements.
- Three-month funds coverageIdentify the salaries and operating expenses included in the three-month plan. The FDD does not say that owner compensation is included.
- Approved Supplier purchasesItem 8 estimates required purchases at 3% to 10% of the cost to establish a Weichert Business and about 5% of operating expenses; verify current specifications, suppliers and pricing.
- Post-term and transfer costsBudget for any required office upgrade on transfer, de-identification and remodeling after expiration or termination, and continued royalty and marketing payments on Pendings under the disclosed fee rules.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13 and 17–18; Item 7, pp. 22–25; Item 8, pp. 26–28; Item 17, pp. 54–57.
What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing capital?
Use the current disclosure and attached agreement to reconcile the specific office, territory and payment schedule being offered. The most important check is whether the signed exhibits change any assumption used in the one-office startup range.
- Match the legal entity and dateConfirm that the offer is from Weichert Real Estate Affiliates, Inc. under a current U.S. disclosure document and review any state-specific addendum applicable to the transaction.
- Identify the office contractList the Initial Office and every Additional, Administrative, Temporary, Satellite or Seasonal Office, with the applicable agreement and fee for each.
- Reconcile the opening scheduleConfirm the Initial Office Impact Date, installment schedule, premises milestones, insurance placement and the date recurring fees begin.
- Price every conditional obligationReview technology limits, referral programs, Council assessments, training attendance, transfer conditions and default remedies that could apply to the planned operation.
- Preserve the federal review periodThe disclosure states that it must be received at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The Federal Trade Commission franchise-buying guide explains the disclosure review process.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 startup range is $77,300 to $359,800 for one Weichert Initial Office, whether non-conversion or conversion. The fixed $25,000 signing fee is only one component; premises, office setup and the $30,000 to $100,000 three-month allowance drive much of the variation. The separate financial qualification is tangible net worth above $150,000, while the recurring contract adds a 6% royalty, a 2% marketing charge and office-specific thresholds and conditional charges. The unresolved buyer-specific question is how much of the existing brokerage infrastructure qualifies for conversion credit under the signed exhibits and current standards.