How Much Does a U.S. Lawns Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a U.S. Lawns franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate U.S. startup ranges: $113,000 to $200,000 for a Standard Franchise and $71,500 to $150,000 for a Conversion Franchise. The Conversion Franchise range assumes an existing landscape business may already have acceptable premises, vehicles, equipment, or tools; the two formats should not be blended into one “typical” cost.

Standard Franchise $113,000–$200,000 Conversion Franchise $71,500–$150,000

What the totals include: the Initial Franchise Fee, four months of Grand Opening Advertising in the opening-cost schedule, training travel, real estate, a Service Vehicle and Trailer, equipment, tools and office items, plus Additional Funds for the first three months of operation.

What they do not mean: neither range is the same as the amount of liquid cash required, and neither converts the ongoing Royalty or Marketing Contribution into an annual dollar cost.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: U.S. Lawns, Inc., a Florida corporation and a subsidiary of Clintar, Inc. d/b/a EverSmith Brands. The FDD was issued April 1, 2026. Cost analysis uses Item 5, pages 12–13; Item 6, pages 13–19; Item 7, pages 19–23; and cost-relevant portions of Items 8 and 10. Information and public pages were checked July 21, 2026. The parent relationship is also shown on the EverSmith Brands portfolio page.

No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was found on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked. A Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions registration list identifies US LAWNS INC as an active registration.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $49,000 Standard Franchise; $39,000 for a Conversion Franchise.
Additional Funds $25,000–$100,000 $40,000–$100,000 Standard; $25,000–$60,000 Conversion; three months.
Royalty Fee 4%–6% Marginal sliding scale on monthly Gross Billings; 6% outside the Territory.
Marketing Contribution 2% or $625 Currently the lesser of 2% of Gross Billings or a $625 monthly cap.
Technology Fee $299/month Plus separate annual CRM and specified accounting-software charges.
Initial operating period 3 months Additional Funds exclude the franchisee’s salary.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pages 12–23.

Item 7 investment

What is included in the two initial investment ranges?

The opening-cost schedule separates a new operation from an eligible existing-business conversion because the latter may bring approved assets into the system. The category names below preserve the 2026 FDD structure, and the Total Estimated Initial Investment already includes the three-month operating allowance labeled Additional Funds.

2026 Item 7 estimated initial investment by cost category
Cost category Standard Franchise Conversion Franchise Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $49,000 $39,000 At signing; nonrefundable
Grand Opening Advertising $4,000 $4,000 Begins before opening; monthly
Training Expenses $2,500–$6,000 $2,500–$6,000 As incurred
Real Estate $3,000–$6,000 $0–$6,000 As agreed with third parties
Service Vehicle and Trailer $8,000–$12,500 $0–$12,500 Initial and lease payments
Equipment $4,000–$16,500 $0–$16,500 Lump sum or lease
Tools, Supplies, Office Equipment $2,500–$6,000 $1,000–$6,000 Before opening
Additional Funds — three months $40,000–$100,000 $25,000–$60,000 As incurred during operations
Total Estimated Initial Investment $113,000–$200,000 $71,500–$150,000 Multiple pre-opening and operating dates

Official FDD fact: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 19–23. The line-item endpoints reconcile to each disclosed total.

How should the endpoints be read?

The low and high endpoints are complete schedules, not separate menus from which the franchisor identifies one expected result. Each official endpoint is produced by adding the corresponding low or high amount for every category. That is why the disclosed totals reconcile exactly. A buyer may ultimately combine a lower quote in one category with a higher quote in another, but that personalized combination is not an official midpoint or an “average” published by the franchisor.

The recipient of each payment also matters. The cover states that $49,000 to $53,000 of the standard-format total and $39,000 to $43,000 of the conversion-format total must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. Most of the remaining capital goes to third parties such as landlords, vehicle or equipment providers, travel vendors, employees, insurers, utilities and suppliers. The overall range therefore should not be described as a single check payable to the franchisor.

For personal planning, a prospect can request written quotes and build a separate cash schedule that reflects the proposed market, equipment choices and credit terms. That exercise helps test whether the official range is adequate for the proposed operation, but it should remain clearly labeled as the buyer’s own budget rather than a replacement for the disclosure. If quote-based costs exceed a published endpoint, the higher buyer-specific amount is the relevant funding need.

Cost implication

A buyer should not assume that qualifying for the conversion format automatically produces the $71,500 low end. The FDD allows $0 for Real Estate, Service Vehicle and Trailer, and Equipment only when existing facilities and assets can be used and meet system standards.

Conversion asset effect

Why can the conversion format start at a lower amount?

The distinguishing cost feature is asset reuse. In the 2026 conversion schedule, three categories can fall to $0, while the upfront franchise payment, launch advertising, training travel, tools and the three-month operating allowance remain part of the capital plan.

Existing premises $0–$6,000

Real Estate can be $0 if the existing business can continue from its current approved office and storage arrangement.

Existing fleet $0–$12,500

A current vehicle and trailer can reduce the opening requirement if they conform to system specifications.

Existing equipment $0–$16,500

Commercial landscape equipment can be reused when it meets the franchisor’s standards.

Conversion franchisees must buy any missing equipment and tools within 90 days after signing. Item 8 also permits U.S. Lawns to set or change specifications for vehicles, computer systems, software, equipment, supplies and insurance. The official U.S. Lawns conversion information explains the conversion path, but the 2026 FDD controls the cost figures used here.

Payment timing

When is the startup money paid?

The capital is not paid in one transaction. The 2026 FDD schedules the Initial Franchise Fee at signing, then spreads third-party deposits, travel, equipment and operating costs across the pre-opening period and first three operating months.

1

Sign the Franchise Agreement

Pay the applicable Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum or through third-party financing if arranged. Item 5 says initial fees are due at signing, fully earned and nonrefundable.

2

Begin pre-opening advertising

Grand Opening Advertising starts at least 30 days before opening. The opening-cost table includes $4,000, covering the month before opening and the first three months after opening.

3

Pay training travel as incurred

The initial training fee is $0, but travel, lodging, meals and incidentals for one or two people over five days are estimated at $2,500 to $6,000.

4

Fund premises, vehicles and equipment

Security deposits, lease installments, purchases and tools are paid to third parties on the agreed schedule. Creditworthiness, lease terms, down payment and asset condition affect these amounts.

5

Use Additional Funds during the first three months

The Standard Franchise estimate is $40,000 to $100,000; the Conversion Franchise estimate is $25,000 to $60,000. These funds cover operating expenses and are already inside the disclosed opening total.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 12–13, and Item 7, pages 19–23.

Cash sequencing is important because the nonrefundable signing payment occurs before many third-party commitments. Deposits, travel and purchases may follow over several weeks, while some vehicle and equipment costs are represented by initial lease payments rather than full asset prices. The three-month operating reserve is not necessarily payable on opening day; it is expected to be available and used as expenses arise. Financing or leasing can change the timing of cash outflow, but it does not reduce the underlying obligation or make approval certain.

A useful internal schedule should distinguish four columns: amount due at signing, amount due before opening, amount due during the first three months, and commitments that continue after that period. This prevents a common mistake—treating the entire upper endpoint as an immediate payment—without understating the need to have enough capital available for later invoices and payroll.

High-end composition

What drives the $200,000 Standard Franchise high end?

At the maximum endpoint, the three-month operating allowance is the largest component. The chart below groups only compatible disclosed maximums and reconciles exactly to the disclosed $200,000 Standard Franchise high end; it is not a midpoint, recommended budget or typical allocation.

Composition of the $200,000 Standard Franchise maximum

Derived grouping of official 2026 opening-cost maximum amounts.

U.S. Lawns Standard Franchise high-end cost composition Additional Funds are 100000 dollars or 50 percent; Initial Franchise Fee is 49000 dollars or 24.5 percent; premises, vehicle and equipment are 35000 dollars or 17.5 percent; training and tools are 12000 dollars or 6 percent; Grand Opening Advertising is 4000 dollars or 2 percent. $200k maximum
Additional Funds — three months $100,000 · 50%
Initial Franchise Fee $49,000 · 24.5%
Real Estate + Vehicle/Trailer + Equipment $35,000 · 17.5%
Training Expenses + Tools/Office items $12,000 · 6%
Grand Opening Advertising included at launch $4,000 · 2%

Derived chart source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 19–23. Formula: $100,000 + $49,000 + ($6,000 + $12,500 + $16,500) + ($6,000 + $6,000) + $4,000 = $200,000.

Buyer verification

The $100,000 three-month operating allowance excludes the franchisee’s salary. A buyer who needs owner compensation or personal living reserves during the initial operating period must plan for that separately rather than treating the disclosed maximum as an all-in household cash requirement.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after opening?

The main recurring charges are the Royalty, Marketing Contribution and technology-related fees. The 2026 FDD also imposes minimum Royalty amounts after the first year and identifies several event-triggered fees that apply only in specified circumstances.

Core recurring charges in the 2026 FDD
Fee Amount or basis When paid Important condition
Royalty 6% of monthly Gross Billings through $62,500; 5% on the next tier through $125,000; 4% above $125,000 15th of each month for prior month 6% applies to work outside the Territory; 7% during default
Minimum Monthly Royalty $450 months 13–18; $550 months 19–24; $650 month 25 onward Monthly after first training anniversary Applies to each Territory; multi-pack timing may be adjusted
Marketing Contribution Lesser of 2% of Gross Billings or $625 per month 15th of each month for prior month May increase, but not above 3% or by more than 20% annually
Technology Fee Currently $299 per month 15th of each month May rise with 60 days’ notice, capped at 50% in 12 months
CRM and accounting software CRM $250–$450 annually; specified accounting software $215–$400 annually Annual subscription or supplier invoice Third-party pricing; subject to change
Regional Account Management Fee Currently 1%–10% of fees paid by the regional account Deducted from amounts owed to franchisee Only for Regional Accounts work

Official FDD facts: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 13–19. “Gross Billings” excludes sales taxes collected and paid to the proper authorities.

How does the sliding royalty basis work?

The three percentages are marginal tiers. Crossing a threshold does not retroactively apply the lower percentage to all monthly billings. The first band remains subject to the first rate, the next band uses the second rate, and only the amount above the upper threshold uses the third rate. The document defines the base as amounts billed during the calendar month, whether or not the customer has paid, with collected and remitted sales taxes excluded.

That definition creates a potential cash-timing issue: the fee can become due based on an invoice before the corresponding customer payment is received. Work performed outside the assigned area uses the stated outside-area rate regardless of the month’s total. Starting after the first anniversary of training, the disclosed minimum schedule may also create a floor. The agreement and monthly statement should be checked to confirm how the floor is applied against the calculated percentage amount.

The advertising charge uses a different formula and a monthly cap, so it should be modeled separately rather than added to the royalty percentage as though both always apply to the same full base. Technology subscriptions are fixed charges, while the regional-account charge depends on participation in that program. Keeping these bases separate avoids turning unlike obligations into a misleading single “all-in percentage.”

Format difference

For the first 365 days, an eligible conversion operator pays no Royalty on identified conversion customers and no Marketing Contribution, but it still pays Royalty on new customers. This is a temporary fee treatment, not a reduction of the official startup range.

Which charges are triggered by later events?

Renewal: currently $5,000, capped at 20% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, due when the renewal Franchise Agreement is signed. The disclosed renewal term is 10 years.

Transfer: currently $15,000 for the first agreement, reduced to $5,000 for a qualifying transfer to an existing U.S. Lawns franchisee, plus $2,500 for each additional agreement in the same transaction. The Item 6 footnote contains a different affiliate name, so the reduced-fee eligibility should be confirmed in writing.

Resale assistance: $10,000 plus any actual commission if U.S. Lawns finds a buyer; no resale-assistance fee is stated when the franchisee finds the buyer independently.

Additional training or convention: training may be charged up to $750 per day plus travel, although the current additional-training fee is $0; the annual convention fee is currently $0 and may not exceed $1,000.

Step-in management: 15% of Gross Sales plus expenses if the franchisor exercises its right to operate the business after events such as default, death, disability or prolonged absence.

Compliance and collection: possible audit costs, interest up to 18% annually, a current $25-per-occurrence-per-day late fee, bank and administrative NSF charges, and up to $1,000 per noncompliance occurrence.

Qualifications and financing

How much liquidity is required, and does U.S. Lawns finance the investment?

The 2026 FDD does not state a separate Net Worth or Liquid Capital minimum. A current official U.S. Lawns startup-requirements page, checked July 21, 2026, lists a $50,000 Liquid Asset Minimum and a 650 Credit Score Requirement for the displayed owner-operator and investor profiles. These are official supplemental qualifications, not total startup requirements, and the page does not disclose a Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold.

Total Investment
The complete Item 7 opening range for the applicable format: $113,000–$200,000 Standard or $71,500–$150,000 Conversion.
Liquid Asset Minimum
A public qualification figure of $50,000 on the official franchise site; it is not the same as the total cost and is not separately stated in the 2026 FDD.
Net Worth
No current amount was verified in the 2026 FDD or the cited official financial-qualification page.
Financing
Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.

These measures answer different underwriting questions. Liquid assets describe funds that can generally be accessed without selling long-term property; net worth is a balance-sheet measure; a credit score is a lender or lessor risk signal; and financing identifies the source and terms of borrowed capital. Meeting one threshold does not establish that the buyer can fund the applicable opening range.

The public liquidity figure should therefore be treated as a screening qualification, not as a statement that $50,000 is sufficient to open. Before signing, a financed buyer should have written lender or lessor terms showing the required down payment, interest rate, collateral, fees, repayment start date and any personal guarantee. A lender’s approval also does not change the nonrefundable character of the signing payment or the need for operating reserves.

Source conflict

The 2026 FDD’s Item 10 says the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing. Some public U.S. Lawns pages, including the official franchise FAQ, still use broader “financing available” language. For underwriting purposes, treat third-party loans or leases as buyer-arranged unless the franchisor supplies a written current program that is consistent with the FDD.

The opening-cost table permits the Initial Franchise Fee to be paid in a lump sum or financed and allows vehicles and equipment to be leased or financed through third parties. Approval, interest rates, down payments and collateral are not guaranteed by the franchisor. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise recommends separating the franchise price from financing needs and personal living reserves.

Disclosure conflicts

Are the veteran and first-responder discounts clear?

No. The 2026 FDD contains conflicting discount language. One Item 5 sentence says an honorably discharged veteran pays $44,000, a $5,000 reduction from the $49,000 Standard Franchise Fee. Later Item 5 language and the opening-cost table describe a $10,000 discount for qualified veterans and first responders, showing a $39,000 fee and a $103,000 to $190,000 Standard Franchise total.

FDD caveat

Because the discount changes both the upfront fee and the total investment endpoint, a veteran or first responder should request a written correction or amendment identifying the applicable fee, eligible format and revised disclosed total before signing or paying. The official public startup page currently shows a $44,000 Veteran Franchise Fee, which does not resolve the internal FDD conflict.

The FDD also states that the qualifying veteran or first responder must own at least 51% of the franchised business and satisfy service-verification criteria. The parent company’s veterans and first responders information confirms that discounted franchise fees are offered across the portfolio, but it does not replace the need for a corrected U.S. Lawns fee disclosure.

Unresolved costs

What does the official range not fully settle?

The official opening range is a franchisor estimate, not a guaranteed cash ceiling. Several obligations depend on the buyer’s assets, credit, contracts, geography and compliance after opening.

Owner compensation and living reserves: Additional Funds exclude the franchisee’s salary, and personal living expenses are not part of the disclosed opening categories.

Vehicle financing: the estimate assumes a specified lease structure, but actual deposits and payments vary with creditworthiness, interest rate, term, down payment, new-versus-used equipment and market conditions.

Large-property contracts: The FDD warns that a large property may require additional equipment, supplies and labor beyond the initial assumptions.

Insurance: the FDD prescribes liability, automobile, workers’ compensation and umbrella limits, but it does not provide one separate premium amount; U.S. Lawns may change required limits with notice.

System and supplier changes: Item 8 permits revised specifications and designated suppliers, which can create additional compliance costs after the initial opening budget.

Grand Opening Advertising after month three: The opening-cost table includes $4,000, while Item 5 requires $1,000 per month for the first year. The remaining eight months represent another disclosed operating obligation outside the four-month advertising provision.

Quote validation should follow the same categories and time periods used in the disclosure. For a vehicle or equipment lease, compare the deposit and first three payments rather than comparing a full purchase price with a short lease period. For premises, confirm whether the estimate captures the required deposit, first and last month’s rent, storage needs and local licenses. For insurance, obtain a quote against the stated liability and vehicle limits rather than using a generic small-business premium.

The same discipline applies to software and required suppliers. Confirm the current approved hardware, subscription terms, onboarding charges and renewal dates, then identify which amounts are already represented in the opening schedule. This does not alter the official range. It reveals whether the proposed operation has expenses that sit outside the assumptions, occur sooner than expected, or continue after the three-month period.

The FTC’s Franchise Rule requires the disclosure framework, but it does not make the estimate a guarantee or state approval. Confirm current supplier quotes, insurance premiums, lease terms and the exact opening schedule before committing funds.

Decision synthesis

What capital distinction matters most?

The core decision is format-specific: a 2026 Standard Franchise carries a disclosed $113,000 to $200,000 initial investment, while a Conversion Franchise carries $71,500 to $150,000. The lower conversion range depends on usable existing assets; the disclosed three-month operating allowance is already included in both totals and excludes owner salary. After opening, the buyer must separately model the Royalty sliding scale, Marketing Contribution, technology subscriptions, minimum Royalty schedule and conditional fees. The most important unresolved item is the conflicting veteran and first-responder discount, followed by confirmation of any third-party financing and the actual cost of required assets and insurance.