How much does a Tint World franchise cost?
The 2026 Tint World Franchise Disclosure Document discloses four investment paths. A Center Franchise Agreement carries a Total Estimated Initial Investment of $249,950 to $479,950. A Center with authorized Mobile Services is $264,950 to $499,950. A Multi-Unit Development Agreement is $289,900 to $629,750 for the development fee plus the first Center, while the corresponding Mobile Services path is $304,900 to $649,750. These ranges are not interchangeable, and the multi-unit totals do not fund every later Center in the development schedule. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–21.
This range applies to one leased Tint World Automotive Styling Center under the 2026 disclosure. It includes the $49,950 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $60,000 of Additional Funds for the first three post-opening months, but it does not resolve costs for purchased real estate, ground-up construction, premises above 5,000 square feet, or an owner’s salary.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Tint World, LLC, a Florida limited liability company. FDD issuance date: April 17, 2026. Formats reviewed: Center Franchise Agreement, Center plus Mobile Services, Multi-Unit Development Agreement for two to five Centers, and Multi-Unit Development Agreement plus Mobile Services. Cost evidence comes from Items 5, 6 and 7, with financing, systems, training and lifecycle terms checked in Items 10, 11 and 17. Information was checked on July 23, 2026.
The current U.S. offer is also reflected in Tint World’s official U.S. franchise information. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on a franchise-controlled public page, so all FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked.
Capital snapshot
The brand’s current franchise FAQ, checked July 23, 2026, still displays an older $239,950 to $449,950 leased-location range. The April 17, 2026 FDD range of $249,950 to $479,950 is the controlling cost disclosure used here.
What is included in the single-Center investment range?
The single-Center total combines the initial fee, premises costs, required store packages, opening inventory, professional and training expenses, and a three-month operating reserve. The largest disclosed variable is Lease Rent, Deposits, Leasehold Improvements at $70,000 to $210,000, and the FDD warns that actual premises costs can exceed the stated high end. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables A and notes, pp. 15–21.
Agreement, premises and physical setup
Most of this phase becomes payable at agreement signing or when the franchisor approves and the franchisee signs the lease.
| Expenditure | Low | High | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $49,950 | $49,950 | Lump sum when the agreement is signed |
| Lease Rent, Deposits, Leasehold Improvements | $70,000 | $210,000 | As incurred when the lease is signed |
| Showroom Displays, Furniture Package | $29,900 | $44,900 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Signage Brand Package | $7,000 | $18,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Equipment, Tools Package | $11,000 | $18,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
The premises note generally assumes a leased Center of 3,000 to 5,000 square feet. It describes typical Monthly Base Rent of approximately $4,000 to $8,000 and estimated prepaid rent and Security Deposits of $4,000 to $16,000, while warning that market rent, common-area charges, taxes, insurance, utilities and construction can be substantially higher. The leasehold estimate also assumes limited modification, possible tenant-improvement allowances and possible rent abatement. The FDD requires use of a designated supplier for architectural, design and bid-assistance services, but it does not disclose a separate fixed charge for that work.
Systems, inventory and launch packages
These packages establish the Center’s operating systems, customer-facing materials, opening stock and launch promotion. The $10,000 Grand Opening Event Promotion Package is paid to and administered through the National Advertising Fund.
| Expenditure | Low | High | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Administrative Merchandise, Window Graphics Package | $4,000 | $7,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Freight, Delivery Package | $2,000 | $5,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Software Technology Package | $5,000 | $5,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Computer Hardware, Phones Package | $4,000 | $5,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Initial Inventory, Supplies Package | $20,000 | $35,000 | Lump sum when the lease is signed |
| Grand Opening Event Promotion Package | $10,000 | $10,000 | Due when the lease is approved and signed |
Professional, training and initial operating costs
The three-month operating reserve is already included in the official total. It covers the first three post-opening months and may include rent, payroll, commissions, utilities, loan payments, insurance premiums, licenses, permits, advertising, recruitment, variable costs and supplies. The travel estimate assumes two attendees; Item 11 describes the initial program as 120 hours over three weeks.
| Expenditure | Low | High | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Insurance | $1,500 | $2,200 | When the lease is signed; estimate covers the first three months |
| Business Licenses | $600 | $900 | As incurred when the lease is signed |
| Accounting, Legal Expenses | $1,000 | $2,000 | As incurred |
| Travel, Living, Training Expenses | $3,000 | $5,000 | As incurred for two attendees |
| Miscellaneous Expense | $1,000 | $2,000 | As incurred |
| Additional Funds, Three Months | $30,000 | $60,000 | As incurred during startup and the first three post-opening months |
Largest single-Center investment ranges
The scale runs from $0 to $210,000. Each black marker is the disclosed low amount; each teal bar extends to the disclosed high amount.
Interpretation: premises costs account for the widest disclosed dollar range and can exceed $210,000 under the FDD’s own qualifications. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Table A and Notes 2–17, pp. 15–21.
The $249,950 low end assumes compatible premises, limited modifications, landlord concessions and a cost profile near the low bound of multiple categories. It is not a promised budget. The FDD specifically says a purchased building, land purchase or new building cannot be estimated and may cost substantially more.
How do Mobile Services and multi-unit commitments change the cost?
Mobile Services add a separate territory fee, a service-vehicle down payment, branded vehicle equipment and possible contractor licensing. Multi-unit development replaces the standard initial fee with a larger Multi-Unit Development Fee and obligates the developer to open two to five Centers on a Development Schedule. Tint World’s official ownership-program page distinguishes single-store, multi-store and conversion paths; the 2026 FDD supplies the controlling cost contracts.
2026 total investment ranges by development path
Scale: $0 to $650,000. The bar begins at the disclosed low and ends at the disclosed high. Multi-unit totals cover the development fee and first Center, not every required Center.
Interpretation: Mobile Services add $15,000 to the low and $20,000 to the high of the single-Center range. Multi-unit development produces the highest first-stage commitment because the full development fee is paid at signing. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables A–D, pp. 15–18.
Which Mobile Services costs are added?
The following amounts are specific to an authorized Mobile Services addendum. A franchisee cannot assume Mobile Services are included in the base Center agreement.
| Mobile Services expenditure | Low | High | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile Services Territory Fee | $10,000 | $10,000 | Due at addendum signing for an approved territory |
| Service Vehicle Lease Down Payment | $2,000 | $3,000 | At least one approved commercial-grade Service Vehicle |
| Mobile Brand Wrap, Equipment & Tools Package | $3,000 | $5,000 | Vehicle branding and field-service equipment |
| Contractor’s License and Bond | $0 | $2,000 | Only where local law requires it |
| Center + Mobile Services total | $264,950 | $499,950 | 2026 FDD Item 7, Table C |
Table C and its line-item arithmetic state a $264,950 low total for Center + Mobile Services. The FDD cover states $264,954, a $4 internal discrepancy. This article uses the detailed table total and preserves the discrepancy here rather than silently changing either figure.
Multi-Unit Development Fee ladder
The Multi-Unit Development Fee is fully earned, non-refundable and paid in full when the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is signed. It replaces the separate initial fee at that signing, but each later Center still requires its own then-current agreement and development investment.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 8, and Item 7, Notes 18–19, pp. 18–21. The four-Center total is a derived calculation from the disclosed formula; the other displayed totals are directly disclosed.
Does the conversion fee create a lower total investment?
Not necessarily. The disclosure reduces the Initial Franchise Fee to $24,950 for an approved pre-existing automotive styling center that the prospective franchisee already owns and operates. The FDD does not publish a separate conversion range, and Item 11 states that certain pre-opening services are not provided to Conversion Owners. A buyer therefore should not subtract $25,000 from the standard total and call the result a disclosed conversion investment. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 8, and Item 11, p. 32.
When is the startup money paid?
The largest cash commitments occur at agreement signing and lease signing, before the Center opens. The FTC requires the FDD to be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate; the FTC franchise-buying guide explains that disclosure timing and the need to request current updates.
Agreement signing
Pay the $49,950 standard initial fee for a Center, or the applicable $89,900 to $199,750 Multi-Unit Development Fee. An approved Mobile Services addendum adds a $10,000 territory fee. These fees are fully earned and non-refundable under the FDD.
Lease approval and signing
Lease deposits, Leasehold Improvements and most startup packages become due. The disclosure specifically makes the $5,000 Software Technology Package and minimum $10,000 Grand Opening Promotion payment due when the lease is approved and signed.
Training and pre-opening
Travel, lodging and meals for two training attendees are estimated at $3,000 to $5,000. The $500 weekly Startup Local Advertising Expenditure begins 30 days before opening and continues for at least 26 consecutive weeks after opening.
Opening and first three months
Use the included $30,000 to $60,000 operating reserve for disclosed startup and operating expenses. Owner salary and personal living expenses are excluded. Mobile Services advertising begins when Mobile Services operations begin.
Six months after opening and beyond
The Royalty Fee remains the greater of 6% of weekly Gross Revenues or the applicable weekly minimum; the $500 weekly minimum begins on the sixth-month anniversary of a new Center’s opening. Other weekly and monthly fees continue under the ongoing fee schedule.
Payment sequence sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 8–9; Item 6, pp. 10–15; Item 7, pp. 15–21. The FDD governs the payment amounts and deadlines.
Which fees continue after a Tint World Center opens?
The continuing cost structure is unusually important because the Royalty Fee and National Advertising Fund Fee each have a percentage basis and a weekly minimum. The FDD’s highlighted risks state that minimum royalty or advertising payments may be required regardless of sales levels. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–15.
| Scheduled fee or requirement | Amount and basis | Timing | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 6% of weekly Gross Revenues or $500 per week; minimum subject to CPI increases | Within five days after each weekly accounting period | Every Center; $500 minimum starts six months after opening |
| National Advertising Fund Fee | Greater of up to 6% of weekly Gross Revenues or $1,000 per week; minimum subject to CPI increases | Within five days after each weekly accounting period | Every Center while the NAF operates |
| Local Marketing Requirement | At least 2% of weekly Gross Revenues | Continuing | In addition to NAF contributions |
| Startup Local Advertising Expenditure | $500 per week | From 30 days before opening through at least 26 weeks after opening | New Center startup period |
| Technology Fee | Currently $1,000 per month; may increase on notice, up to $2,000 per month during the initial term, plus increases for added required technology | Within five days before month-end | Every Center |
| Center Operations POS Software License Fee | $249 per month | Within five days before month-end | Every Center |
| Accounting Services Fee | $400 per month | As incurred | Required designated accounting provider |
| Mobile Services POS Software License Fee | $299 per month | Within five days before month-end | Authorized Mobile Services |
| Mobile Services Advertising Expenditure | $500 per week, plus $250 per week for each Additional Territory; subject to CPI increases | Within five days after each weekly accounting period | Authorized Mobile Services, in addition to Center NAF fees |
| Computer System Maintenance, Repair and Updates | Estimated up to $2,000 per year | As required | Hardware, software and communications systems; actual costs may vary |
Scheduled fees: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–15. Computer-system maintenance, repair and update estimate: Item 11, p. 37.
The FDD uses “Gross Sales” and “Gross Revenues” for all revenue paid, accrued or derived from the Franchised Business, including third-party collections. This article does not convert percentage fees into annual dollars because the FDD does not disclose a universal sales base for that calculation.
Which operating fees arise only when triggered?
Several conditional charges depend on participation, a requested service or a compliance event rather than a fixed calendar schedule.
| Operating trigger | Disclosed charge | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Customer Referral Program | To be determined | Only if the franchisee elects to participate under then-current Brand Standards |
| Continuing Education | $500 per day, per person, plus transportation, lodging, meals and wages | When optional or mandatory supplemental training is provided |
| Franchise Convention | Currently $699 for up to two people, plus attendance costs | Due even if the franchisee does not attend; may double for unapproved nonattendance |
| Supplier Evaluation | $0 to $2,500 | When a franchisee asks the franchisor to evaluate an unapproved supplier |
| National & Fleet Account Processing | 5% of the total charge | Deducted from qualifying centrally collected account payments |
| Mystery Shopper | $100 per service | When a required evaluation is performed |
| Credit Card Payment Service | Up to 4% of the total charge | For designated merchant processing or credit-card payments to the franchisor |
| Product Purchases | Then-current product prices | Recurring minimum monthly stocking orders and required purchases from approved sources |
Which later events can create substantial additional charges?
Renewal, relocation, transfer, development delays, remodeling and resale can create material costs long after opening. Item 17 also requires compliance, training, releases, renovation where applicable and then-current agreements for certain lifecycle events. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–13, and Item 17, pp. 45–49.
| Lifecycle or compliance event | Disclosed charge | Trigger |
|---|---|---|
| Renewal Fee | 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | When a qualifying franchisee signs a successor agreement |
| Relocation Fee | 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | When the franchisor approves relocation and a relocation agreement is signed |
| Transfer Fee | 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | On a Center sale or material ownership-interest transfer |
| Development Schedule Extension | $10,000 per Center for one six-month extension | If the franchisor allows more time to open a required Center |
| Resale Assistance or Broker Referral | $25,000 | When requested assistance is provided or a broker/referral fee is incurred |
| Upgrade or Remodel of Center | Up to $30,000 | As reasonably required, but not more often than once every three years during the initial term |
| Brand Standards Manual Replacement | $5,000 | If the manual is lost or destroyed |
| Operations Non-Compliance | $500 to $1,000 per occurrence, plus inspection and re-inspection costs | Failure to comply with Brand Standards |
| Late Reporting | $100 per day | Continues until the required report is submitted |
| Insufficient Funds | $100 | Unsuccessful check or electronic funds transfer |
- Delinquent Royalty Fee The fee table states “10% if delinquent,” in addition to the separate late-payment interest provisions. The prospect should obtain the franchisor’s written explanation of how that delinquency rate is applied.
- Insurance default If the franchisor obtains required insurance after a franchisee fails to do so, the franchisee reimburses the cost plus a 20% administrative fee.
- Audit expenses The franchisee pays the cost of an audit if Gross Revenues were understated by more than 2% or required records and information were not maintained or supplied.
- Interest on late payments The lesser of 18% per year or the highest lawful commercial rate begins accruing ten days after the payment due date.
- Legal, professional and indemnification costs The FDD requires reimbursement of certain enforcement, breach, termination, claim, loss and defense expenses; amounts vary with the circumstances.
- Customer complaint reimbursement If the franchisor reimburses a dissatisfied customer or another Center, the franchisee must reimburse that amount.
- Liquidated damages after specified defaults The disclosed formula is the greater of 48 months of average monthly recurring fees or the recurring fees that would have been payable through the end of the term, payable within ten days after qualifying termination.
- Resale broker cost A buyer of an existing franchise may owe an unspecified third-party Transfer Broker Fee if the transaction triggers the franchisor’s obligation and the seller does not pay it.
How much cash and financial capacity may be required?
The official franchise site states minimum screening criteria of $200,000 in Liquid Capital, $450,000 in Net Worth and a 700+ Credit Score. Its ownership tool also displays a $50,000 Working Capital minimum. These are screening criteria, not the same as the opening estimate or its $30,000 to $60,000 three-month operating reserve. The current thresholds appear on the official minimum-requirements page and the official financial discovery tool.
The agreement also requires each owner of a corporation, limited liability company, partnership or other franchisee entity to provide a Personal Guarantee of financial and other obligations. The FDD contains conflicting spouse language: the cover’s highlighted risk says a spouse must sign a liability document, while Item 15 says a spouse is not required to sign unless involved in the business. That conflict should be resolved in writing before the agreements are executed. Source: 2026 FDD, highlighted risks and Item 15, p. v and pp. 43–44.
Does Tint World finance the franchise?
No direct or indirect financing is offered under Item 10, and the franchisor does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Item 11 says the franchisor may provide guidance and referrals to potential financing sources. The financing note states that an applicant using one of those lending sources may pay a $2,500 loan-packaging service fee to Tint World or a third-party source, plus a 4% convenience fee if paying by credit card.
The official financing-options page describes relationships with lenders and leasing companies. That relationship does not guarantee approval, terms or sufficient funding. The SBA Franchise Directory also states that directory placement is not an endorsement or approval and does not ensure business success. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 28; Item 11, pp. 29–37; financing note, p. 21.
What fee reduction is available to qualified veterans?
The 2026 FDD and the official veteran-incentive page state a one-time 10% discount on the initial franchise license fee for qualified veterans. Applied arithmetically to the standard $49,950 fee, the reduction would be $4,995, leaving $44,955. This is a derived calculation, not a separate FDD total, and it does not reduce Leasehold Improvements, equipment, inventory, the operating reserve or continuing fees. The FDD does not establish that the discount applies to the conversion fee or Multi-Unit Development Fee.
Which costs remain uncertain or outside the disclosed range?
The disclosed range is a structured estimate, not a cap. Premises condition, market rent, construction scope, landlord concessions, local licensing, optional equipment and future Brand Standards can materially change the amount. The following points should remain separate from the official range rather than being filled with unsupported local estimates.
- Premises above 5,000 square feet: the FDD says development costs may be significantly higher than the stated leasehold range.
- Purchased land, purchased buildings and ground-up construction: the FDD does not estimate these development costs.
- Lease extras: common-area maintenance, real-estate taxes, insurance, utilities, deposits and market-specific rent may exceed the assumptions.
- Signage exclusions: electricity, certain fees and taxes, added road signs, poles or monument enclosures can add cost.
- Optional shop equipment: the Equipment, Tools Package excludes an optional vehicle lift, tire-mounting machine and wheel-balancer equipment.
- Owner compensation: the three-month operating reserve excludes the owner’s salary and personal living expenses.
- Mobile territory expansion: an additional approved Mobile Services territory may require another fee, but the FDD does not state a universal amount.
- Conversion total: the FDD publishes a reduced conversion fee but no separate complete conversion investment range.
- Future Centers under a development agreement: each later Center uses the then-current offer and may cost more than the first Center estimate.
- Required personnel certifications: at least one employee must obtain and maintain specified ASE and MECP certifications within the stated period, but the FDD does not disclose a universal certification cost.
- Technology and remodel changes: required software, hardware and Brand Standards may change, creating upgrades beyond initial packages.
Before signing or paying, request the most recent FDD and any quarterly updates, reconcile the approved site and buildout scope to the FDD premises assumptions, and obtain written clarification of any format-specific fee. The official terms state that the FDD is provided after the prospect submits a profile and meets initial qualifications. The Minnesota Department of Commerce registration guidance explains that registration does not constitute approval, recommendation or endorsement.
What should a prospective franchisee take from the numbers?
A prospective U.S. buyer should treat $249,950 to $479,950 as the 2026 FDD range for one leased Tint World Center, not as the amount of cash automatically required or a maximum cost. Mobile Services raise the disclosed range to $264,950 to $499,950; multi-unit commitments require a larger non-refundable development payment and additional capital for every later Center. The primary uncertainty is the approved premises and Leasehold Improvements, followed by the operating cushion and required packages. Separately, the official website screens for $200,000 Liquid Capital and $450,000 in net worth, while weekly royalty, advertising and local-marketing obligations continue after opening.