How much does a Good Feet Store franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $265,767 to $637,892 to establish one new Good Feet Store in the United States. The range excludes the cost of purchasing real estate. It assumes an approximately 1,500- to 2,000-square-foot Store in an average-cost area, located in a free-standing building, strip mall, or enclosed mall.
Estimated Initial Investment for one new Good Feet Store under the 2026 FDD. The total already includes a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds for pre-opening expenses and the first three months of operation. FDD Item 7, pages 12–16.
The FDD provides one Item 7 range for the standard retail Store. An Area Development Agreement is a separate development path, not a cheaper unit format. An affiliate-owned Store resale also has a separately negotiated asset price rather than a standardized Item 7 purchase-price range.
- Legal franchisor
- Good Feet Worldwide, LLC; parent company MPRBrands, LLC.
- Document basis
- 2026 U.S. FDD issued May 19, 2026; Items 5, 6, and 7, plus cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11, 15, and 17.
- Store basis
- One new Good Feet Store, approximately 1,500–2,000 square feet, in an average-cost U.S. area.
- Pages used
- Item 5 page 6; Item 6 pages 7–11; Item 7 pages 12–16; Item 10 page 25; Item 11 pages 29–35; personal guarantee disclosure page 48; Item 17 pages 49–52.
- Checked
- July 22, 2026. See the brand’s official U.S. franchise information and official corporate contact information.
What is included in the $265,767 to $637,892 range?
The official total combines the Initial Franchise Fee, premises and build-out costs, the Information System, opening inventory, training-related expenses, Grand Opening Advertising, and Additional Funds. The largest disclosed range is Construction Cost at $80,000 to $300,000.
Premises, systems, and setup payments
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 amount | When due | Payment destination |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed | Good Feet Worldwide, LLC |
| Exterior Signage | $10,000–$25,000 | When the order is placed | Supplier |
| Construction Cost | $80,000–$300,000 | As required by the supplier | Supplier |
| Information System | $12,000–$16,000 | As arranged | Supplier or lessor |
| Rent / Security Deposit | $2,500–$10,000 | As required | Lessor, utilities, insurer, and others |
| Store Décor Package | $41,117–$44,642 | As required | Supplier |
| Store Design / Architecture | $2,000–$20,000 | When the order is placed | Supplier |
Training, opening, and operating reserve
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 amount | When due | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Inventory | $55,000–$85,000 | When training is attended | Arch supports, sales aids, shoes, socks, accessories, and specified Products |
| Initial Training | $0–$750 | When the training date is scheduled | No fee for the first two attendees; $750 for each additional attendee |
| Travel, Room, and Board | $1,500–$3,000 | Before and during training | Travel and living costs for required training |
| Miscellaneous | $750–$7,000 | As needed | Licenses, permits, legal, accounting, and government charges |
| Insurance and Bonds | $900–$1,500 | As needed | Required third-party insurance and bonding |
| Grand Opening Advertising / Market Introduction Program | $5,000–$20,000 | As required | Program typically begins seven days before and extends 60 days after opening |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $30,000–$80,000 | As needed | Payroll, additional rent, utilities, and supplies; no owner draw or salary |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 12–16. Except for some deposits, the FDD states that the listed expenditures are not refundable.
Each bar uses the same $0–$300,000 scale. Exact low and high values are shown beside each category.
Interpretation: Construction Cost creates the widest dollar spread in the official range. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 12–16. Values are official FDD ranges; no midpoint or typical case is used.
The construction high is $220,000 above the construction low. Site condition, landlord contribution, local code, material and labor availability, freight, taxes, and Store size are specifically named FDD variables. A lease proposal cannot be evaluated from base rent alone.
When is the franchise money paid?
The investment is paid in stages rather than as one check. The first fixed payment is normally the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee at Franchise Agreement signing. An Area Development Agreement creates an earlier, separate Development Fee.
These phase labels are a derived planning view, not franchisor-defined categories. The grouped low and high amounts reconcile exactly to the official Item 7 total.
Derived calculation: Premises, systems, and setup combines Exterior Signage, Construction Cost, Information System, Rent / Security Deposit, Store Décor Package, and Store Design / Architecture. Training and opening combines Initial Inventory, Initial Training, travel, Miscellaneous, Insurance and Bonds, and the Grand Opening program. Adding all four phase lows equals $265,767; adding all four phase highs equals $637,892. Source inputs: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 12–16.
Area Development Agreement arithmetic needs written confirmation
Item 7 states that the Development Fee is $10,000 per committed Store and says that amount is added to both ends of the new-Store range. However, the one-Store example on FDD page 14 repeats the base $265,767–$637,892 range rather than increasing it.
Direct arithmetic from the disclosed base range and one $10,000 Development Fee produces $275,767–$647,892. That is a derived calculation, not a corrected franchisor estimate. The FDD text does not reconcile, so the intended ADA total and payment schedule should be confirmed in writing before signing.
Which fees continue after a Good Feet Store opens?
The principal continuing obligations are the Continuing Service Fee, Advertising Fund contribution, local advertising or Area Cooperative spending, Technology charges, and required Product purchases. These obligations use different bases and should not be combined into a single percentage.
| Continuing obligation | 2026 basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Service Fee | 2.5% of monthly Gross Sales | 15th day for prior-month Gross Sales | Scheduled by the FDD to increase from 1.75% on July 1, 2026; future increases are permitted under disclosed notice rules |
| Advertising Fund | Lesser of $1,975 or 3% of monthly Gross Sales | 15th day for prior-month Gross Sales | Separate from local advertising or Area Cooperative spending |
| Local advertising | Greater of $10,000 or 20% of monthly Gross Sales | Monthly DMA spending | An alternative amount requires franchisor approval; aggregate treatment may apply to affiliated Stores in the same DMA |
| Area Advertising Cooperative | At least the greater of $10,000 or 20% of monthly Gross Sales | 15th day of each month | Substitutes for the local advertising requirement if a Cooperative applies, but remains additional to the Advertising Fund |
| Technology | Currently $700 per month | Monthly as incurred | May rise to $2,500 per month in the first five years and $5,000 per month in years six through ten of a 10-year term |
| Product Purchases | Then-current supplier prices | As required under Item 8 | Product requirements must be purchased from DOL, ING Source, affiliates, and approved vendors |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pages 7–11; Item 8, pages 16–22; Item 11, pages 29–32.
- Gross Sales
- Revenue from operating the Store, excluding taxes collected and paid to a taxing authority, and reduced by refunds or credits when the original amount was included.
- Electronic Account
- The franchisee must authorize automatic debits for Products and other amounts due and keep sufficient funds available on each due date.
The local advertising obligation and an Area Cooperative contribution are alternatives, not two simultaneous 20% obligations. Either remains in addition to the Advertising Fund. The 2026 FDD states that no Area Cooperatives existed as of its issuance date, but the obligation can apply if one is later established for the DMA.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 includes training, supplier, transfer, renewal, audit, late-payment, reimbursement, and default-related charges that are not part of the standard monthly fee stack. Their cost depends on the triggering event.
Item 17 also requires at least 180 days’ renewal notice and allows materially different renewal terms, including increased fees. A relocation may be required in specified circumstances, but the 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Relocation Fee. Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pages 8–11; Item 7, pages 13–15; Item 17, pages 49–52.
Does the 2026 FDD state a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement is stated in the 2026 FDD. The Estimated Initial Investment, Initial Franchise Fee, and Additional Funds range therefore should not be presented as a franchisor-published cash qualification.
The FDD does disclose a separate liability point: owners of a franchisee entity must personally guarantee the entity’s obligations under the Franchise Agreement and agree to be personally bound by monetary and non-monetary provisions. A spouse need not sign unless the spouse is also an owner. FDD page 48.
Does Good Feet finance the initial investment?
No. Item 10 states that Good Feet Worldwide does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. Third-party financing approval will depend on the lender, borrower creditworthiness, collateral, and current lending policy. The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility tool, not a financing approval or endorsement.
Any Liquid Capital or Net Worth figure shown by a broker, directory, or older profile should be verified directly with Good Feet Worldwide in writing. The current FDD does not supply those thresholds.
- Obtain the franchisor’s current written Liquid Capital, Net Worth, equity, and collateral expectations, if any.
- Ask a lender which Item 7 categories can be financed and how much borrower equity must remain unborrowed.
- Get site-specific quotes for Construction Cost, Exterior Signage, Store Design / Architecture, the Information System, and the Store Décor Package.
- Confirm whether the DMA has an Area Cooperative and whether a lower local advertising amount has been approved for the proposed Store.
- Resolve the one-Store ADA arithmetic conflict and obtain the Development Fee schedule in the final agreements.
- Ask for the most current FDD and quarterly updates before signing. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the disclosure process, and the FTC’s FDD review guidance explains the 14-day review period.
What can push the required capital beyond the headline range?
The Item 7 range is a standardized estimate for a new Store in an average-cost area. It does not eliminate site-specific expenses, owner living needs, ongoing inventory purchases, or future remodel obligations.
- Real estate purchase costs: expressly excluded from the $265,767–$637,892 total.
- Owner compensation: Additional Funds include payroll but exclude any draw or salary for the owner.
- High-cost or unusual sites: construction can vary with existing conditions, local code, landlord contribution, material and labor availability, freight, delivery, and taxes.
- Additional signage: the estimate assumes one exterior sign; pylon, monument, or extra façade signage can create additional signage and construction costs.
- Post-opening Product purchases: the opening inventory range does not cap later purchases from DOL, ING Source, affiliates, or approved suppliers at then-current prices.
- Affiliate-owned Store acquisition: an asset purchase price is negotiated separately and does not use the new-Store Item 7 payment structure.
- Renewal condition: future Information System, Store Décor Package, remodel, redecoration, and possible relocation costs depend on then-current standards and Store condition.
Does the veteran discount reduce every startup cost?
No. The 2026 FDD provides a 25% discount on the Initial Franchise Fee and the initial Product order for a qualifying honorably discharged U.S. veteran who owns at least 51% of the franchise. It does not state that Construction Cost, rent, the Information System, Store Décor Package, travel, permits, insurance, Grand Opening Advertising, or Additional Funds are discounted. The IFA VetFran program information explains the broader veteran-incentive program; the Good Feet discount terms are governed by the current FDD and final agreements.
What is the central capital decision?
The verified 2026 new-Store investment range is $265,767 to $637,892, with Construction Cost producing the largest disclosed variation. That total is different from the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $80,000 to $110,000 stated on the FDD cover as the amount paid to the franchisor or an affiliate, and any unstated Liquid Capital or Net Worth qualification.
The most consequential items to resolve before signing are the site-specific build-out budget, the monthly local advertising or Area Cooperative obligation, the absence of a published cash-qualification threshold, and the unreconciled Area Development Agreement example. Those issues determine whether the official range is usable for the proposed Store and development structure.